Matthew Scharenberg

It's a compliment pure and simple
Glad you took it that way as it wasn't a criticism just that based on the 118 pages I was looking for what he could offer. Not saying he hasn't got it just that I haven't seen it.
For example Marsh has surprised me early on and expectations weren't that high on him.
I love it when young players show potential.

Do you know what my biggest gripe with our current game plan is? Our propensity to overcommit at the contest allowing loose ones on the outside.

Here we have a player that naturally reads the play so doesn't commit to every contest like it's life or death and he gets called out on it. Let's allow him to settle and hope he re-signs then give it 12 months to sit in judgement.

It's completely fine to be an "outside" player, every team needs some of them... but when it's your opponent and your time to go you still have to go just as hard as anyone else.

People complaining about the berg, he will have a wonderfiul pre season and we will all see a jet.
Hes going to be a future star. Cant wait. Love the bergermeister

Get over it

You have made 8 posts in this thread on the last page all having a sook that people are giving their opinions on Scharenberg.

Maybe it's you who needs to grow up and get over it?

Seriously people who spit the dummy when others aren't completely positive about absolutely everything is getting old.

Scharenberg performances in the few games he has played have literally shocked me. He looks as soft and disinterested as any player I have seen in an AFL game. His body language is atrocious, he doesn't break out of a jog and he tackles like a limp lettuce. I cannot believe the hype I have heard about this bloke. Possessions mean nothing. Marsh had three or four tonight and looked fantastic. I don't care what he might become-right now he is pathetic.
I dont want to attack you but can you seriously contemplate a 19 yr old playing his 3rd game off long term injuries.

I thought he was he was very promising tonight

Thanks. Talent isn't required when it comes to running, chasing, tackling and competing. Everyone gets judged on their performance whether it be their first or 300th game. If you think he has been impressive in his attack on the pill or his willingness to chase and do the one percenters then I'd like you to provide some examples. In the last five minutes of the game he dived on a loose ball at the feet of an opponent and it was the first act of desperation I had seen all night.

He may improve. My assessment is based on his three games, and they have been quite unimpressive in the areas that matter most.

Agree to disagree........I will never bag a three game player.

His effort was fine by me.

Interested what your thoughts on Selwood are by your judgment scale??????????

I think the guy is super talented but he does seem to lack intensity. You could argue the same with Pendlebury early on in his career. Given that he has no real preseason and may need more confidence in his body I would be giving him the benefit of doubt. I think he has the potential to be an A grader whether he reaches that level is up to him.

Glad you took it that way as it wasn't a criticism just that based on the 118 pages I was looking for what he could offer. Not saying he hasn't got it just that I haven't seen it.
For example Marsh has surprised me early on and expectations weren't that high on him.
I love it when young players show potential.
And at the end of the day that is what is exciting, like some of Maynards plays tonight Maggie5 like you I love the it all

You have no idea, seriously!
If you can't see that this bloke reads the play well, has good disposal and makes the right decisions you don't know a thing about football.

He didn't use the ball particularly well and I don't think he won a contested possession. If you think what he served up tonight was impressive then you clearly have no idea. Maynard is a good user of the pill but he can contest one on one, tackles like his life depends upon it and does everything with 100% commitment-now that is impressive.

You have made 8 posts in this thread on the last page all having a sook that people are giving their opinions on Scharenberg.

Maybe it's you who needs to grow up and get over it?

Seriously people who spit the dummy when others aren't completely positive about absolutely everything is getting old.
I am old

Hine rarely makes mistakes in the top end of the draft. Once we get his good mate Aish in they'll both kick ass. At this stage I wouldn't be worried. He's had zero preseasons and a very interrupted start to his career and we know that the step up from VFL to AFL is big. He is silk guys, be patient.

I reckon Scharenberg did look a bit off the boil but fitness is massive. It's that thing again about reality and hope. We hope he would be running like the Terminator but the reality is he has had no pre-season. Need a proper sample after a full pre-season.

It's completely fine to be an "outside" player, every team needs some of them... but when it's your opponent and your time to go you still have to go just as hard as anyone else.

Which contests did he get caught out on as you've described tonight? My only criticism was in the first few minutes when he sagged too far off Menzel so didn't have touch at the contest allowing Menzel to leap at the ball.

Aside from that I didn't see any contests as you've described myself. Maybe that was due to being at ground level...

Do you know what my biggest gripe with our current game plan is? Our propensity to overcommit at the contest allowing loose ones on the outside.

Here we have a player that naturally reads the play so doesn't commit to every contest like it's life or death and he gets called out on it. Let's allow him to settle and hope he re-signs then give it 12 months to sit in judgement.
No-ne is saying he won't or can't improve. No-one has a crystal ball. I can only judge a player on what he produces NOW. Marsh looks to be a versatile, athletic, courageous player who relishes the physical side of the game and he has played three games. There is a huge difference between a Langdon type who is an excellent reader of the play and intercepts countless forward thrusts whilst continually backing into packs and putting his body on the line for his team and someone who hangs out and floats through a game hoping to get soft possessions in space. Pendles often plays as an outside player but you would never question his courage or commitment.

He didn't use the ball particularly well and I don't think he won a contested possession. If you think what he served up tonight was impressive then you clearly have no idea. Maynard is a good user of the pill but he can contest one on one, tackles like his life depends upon it and does everything with 100% commitment-now that is impressive.

Maynard missed at least three targets that I remember.........but I could see what he was trying to do so no hanging noose for him tonight.

All I am saying is how can you judge a three game kid?

No need to reply like I said we will agree to disagree.

Which contests did he get caught out on as you've described tonight? My only criticism was in the first few minutes when he sagged too far off Menzel so didn't have touch at the contest allowing Menzel to leap at the ball.

Aside from that I didn't see any contests as you've described myself. Maybe that was due to being at ground level...

I can't remember every contest off the top of my head at the moment, he seemed to get burnt by Menzel early and Motlop late.. whenever he was near the footy he really didn't go hard at it, a few times players easily got around him when he should of put on a lot more defensive pressure.

Anyway, no point going into too much detail at this point as he is coming off an ACL, entirely possible he is a completely different player next year.

Did you see his effort when Motlop ran around the boundary line and snapped that goal. Insipid is an understatement.

I can't remember every contest off the top of my head at the moment, he seemed to get burnt by Menzel early and Motlop late.. whenever he was near the footy he really didn't go hard at it, a few times players easily got around him when he should of put on a lot more defensive pressure.

Anyway, no point going into too much detail at this point as he is coming off an ACL, entirely possible he is a completely different player next year.

Menzel was coming off four knee reconstructions. He attacked the pill with ferocity.

He didn't play well tonight. If he was pick 70 we would be questioning his future.
Having said this, he does look unfit and unable to give repeated efforts so may improve over preseason. We could keep him or lose and I don't think I would be too fussed either way.

His huge problem is his lack of leg speed. He is genuinely Rickman slow atm. Hope that too improves over the off season.

I think your last point is quite pertinent, however I think you're being harsh critiquing any player that get's burned off by Motlop let alone a guy so early into his career. Motlop has serious wheels so there was no shame in that, IMO.