Maybe the Hawks wont do so great!!

rb214

Aug 15, 2005
melbourne
Below is the top 30 for the 2002 draft tell me how many players are actually half decent to come out of it.
And this years is a crap draft, below is clear proof that the draft is not a be all and end all i would take now maybe 4 players below in retrospect maybe!!

Round 1 1 St Kilda BRENDON GODDARD GIPPSLAND POWER 20/05/1985 189cm 82kg
Round 1 2 Kangaroos DANIEL WELLS PEEL THUNDER 03/02/1985 179.5cm 72kg
Round 1 3 Brisbane Lions JARED BRENNAN SOUTHERN DISTRICTS 28/07/1984 192.5cm 82kg
Round 1 4 Western Bulldogs TIMOTHY WALSH NORTHERN KNIGHTS 14/05/1985 194.5cm 83kg
Round 1 5 Sydney JARRAD MCVEIGH NSW/ACT RAMS 07/04/1985 184cm 70kg
Round 1 6 Port Adelaide STEVEN SALOPEK DANDENONG STINGRAYS 21/06/1985 183cm 82kg
Round 1 7 Geelong ANDREW MACKIE GLENELG 07/08/1984 191.8cm 74kg
Round 1 8 Hawthorn LUKE BRENNAN NORTH BALLARAT REBELS 03/03/1985 185cm 85kg
Round 1 9 Kangaroos HAMISH MCINTOSH MURRAY BUSHRANGERS 04/09/1984 201.8cm 100.5kg
Round 1 10 Essendon JASON LAYCOCK TASSIE MARINERS 04/11/1984 198.2cm 90kg
Round 1 11 Essendon JASON WINDERLICH GIPPSLAND POWER 10/10/1984 184cm 74kg
Round 1 12 Richmond JAY SCHULZ WOODVILLE WEST TORRENS 18/04/1985 191.5cm 86kg
Round 1 13 Fremantle BYRON SCHAMMER WEST ADELAIDE 21/06/1985 175cm 73kg
Round 1 14 Melbourne DANIEL BELL GLENELG 13/04/1985 186cm 82kg
1 15 Melbourne NICHOLAS SMITH NORWOOD 27/08/1984 195.8cm 92kg
Round 2 16 Port Adelaide STEPHEN GILHAM OAKLEIGH CHARGERS 02/09/1984 190.5cm 76kg
Round 2 17 Western Bulldogs CAMERON FAULKNER CENTRAL DISTRICT 22/05/1984 177cm 71kg
Round 2 18 Kangaroos KRIS SHORE EASTERN RANGES 23/03/1985 189cm 80kg
Round 2 19 Brisbane Lions TROY SELWOOD BENDIGO PIONEERS 01/05/1984 187.5cm 76kg
Round 2 20 Western Bulldogs WILLIAM MINSON NORWOOD 11/04/1985
Round 2 21 Collingwood BOWMAN NIXON CALDER CANNONS 25/07/1984 190cm 86kg
Round 2 22 St Kilda MATTHEW FERGUSON GIPPSLAND POWER 01/10/1984 187cm 81kg
Round 2 23 Geelong TOM LONERGAN CALDER CANNONS 17/05/1984 194cm 80kg
Round 2 24 West Coast PAUL JOHNSON DANDENONG STINGRAYS 26/06/1984 197cm 98kg
Round 2 25 Kangaroos CALLUM URCH WESTERN JETS 21/07/1984 184cm 80kg
Round 2 26 Melbourne JARED RIVERS NORTH ADELAIDE 18/10/1984 190.5cm 82.8kg
Round 2 27 Essendon DARREN WALSH SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS 27/12/1984 184.4cm 74kg
Round 2 28 Essendon TRISTAN CARTLEDGE NORTH BALLARAT REBELS 11/06/1985 196.6cm 86kg
Round 2 29 Collingwood LUKE SHACKLETON TASSIE MARINERS 17/11/1984 179cm 90.5kg
Round 2 30 Brisbane Lions DANIEL MERRETT SOUTHPORT 12/12/1984 193.6cm 91.5kg

Looking at that I can see why Swabbie & Co was so excited when Byron Schammer were stiil there at 13 that they blurted out his name without even pretending to be cool.

Freo had 4 picks below 27 in 2003 and only one of them (Mundy @ 19) has come on enough to be a first 22 player.

Brett Peake at 43 in the same draft has leapfrogged the others.

rb214 said:
Below is the top 30 for the 2002 draft tell me how many players are actually half decent to come out of it.
And this years is a crap draft, below is clear proof that the draft is not a be all and end all i would take now maybe 4 players below in retrospect maybe!!

Round 1 3 Brisbane Lions JARED BRENNAN SOUTHERN DISTRICTS 28/07/1984 192.5cm 82kg
Round 1 4 Western Bulldogs TIMOTHY WALSH NORTHERN KNIGHTS 14/05/1985 194.5cm 83kg
Round 1 6 Port Adelaide STEVEN SALOPEK DANDENONG STINGRAYS 21/06/1985 183cm 82kg
Round 1 9 Kangaroos HAMISH MCINTOSH MURRAY BUSHRANGERS 04/09/1984 201.8cm 100.5kg
Round 2 16 Port Adelaide STEPHEN GILHAM OAKLEIGH CHARGERS 02/09/1984 190.5cm 76kg
Round 2 17 Western Bulldogs CAMERON FAULKNER CENTRAL DISTRICT 22/05/1984 177cm 71kg
Round 2 28 Essendon TRISTAN CARTLEDGE NORTH BALLARAT REBELS 11/06/1985 196.6cm 86kg

I shouldnt bother wasting my time replying to this but you do realise that the reason people say that years draft was crap was because in the following two years few of those players made a big impact in the AFL. You are saying this years draft is crap based on what ... none of them have played one minute in an actual AFL game and you are coming out saying "hey guys its a crap draft!" . Think before you post next time ...

philhawk said:
I shouldnt bother wasting my time replying to this but you do realise that the reason people say that years draft was crap was because in the following two years few of those players made a big impact in the AFL. You are saying this years draft is crap based on what ... none of them have played one minute in an actual AFL game and you are coming out saying "hey guys its a crap draft!" . Think before you post next time ...

Im going on what recruiting experts are saying tell me what draft picks under thirty do the Hawks have this year??

philhawk said:

Even Shifter Sheahan said this draft wasnt as strong as other years. Of course this was in between all his tripe about every player being the next Hird and Judd.

Its common knowledge that this draft isnt strong, many experts have said that you could easily do better with picks in the 30's as in the teens.

Ok Hypothetically lets see how the hawks will do in this draft I know the have pick 4,18,24 I think so that means
TIMOTHY WALSH
KRIS SHORE
PAUL JOHNSON

Wow that was worth a bottom finish Hawks. Well done

rb214 said:
Ok Hypothetically lets see how the hawks will do in this draft I know the have pick 4,18,24 I think so that means
TIMOTHY WALSH
KRIS SHORE
PAUL JOHNSON

Wow that was worth a bottom finish Hawks. Well done

Could be worse could be Jade Rawlings , Lance Picione and Jon Hay

philhawk said:
funny you should mention your "recruitment expert" buddies , most "experts" as you put it say this is an even draft , FYI hawks have 3,6,14,18,22,36 ( used for Travis Tuck ) - not a bad haul for us this year ....
Ok captain inverted """""""" maybe you will get one or two players out of it it will take more than that to get you off the bottom of the ladder.

Want young talent how about
Hale, Jones, Wells, Trotter, Harris, Smith, Perry, McIntosh, Firrito

Hearts to hearts said:
I'd like to say that rb does not represent me.

dw we all know that , rb could you be any more stupid , different year , different drafts different people , so when the dogs got ryan griffin last year they picked up chris judd? no , obviously not , griffen will be awesome but judd is in a league of his own . seriously dont post if you dont know what your talking about

knob

philhawk said:
dw we all know that , rb could you be any more stupid , different year , different drafts different people , so when the dogs got ryan griffin last year they picked up chris judd? no , obviously not , griffen will be awesome but judd is in a league of his own . seriously dont post if you dont know what your talking about

knob[/QUOT

No it means relying on the draft to get superstars doesnt always work. Clubs make stars when a player comes to North from Hawthorn they are more likely to perform because there not around ********ers.

philhawk said:
funny you should mention your "recruitment expert" buddies , most "experts" as you put it say this is an even draft , FYI hawks have 3,6,14,18,22,36 ( used for Travis Tuck ) - not a bad haul for us this year ....

Yeh, I know which draft picks you have. They look good on paper, but have alook at the players you would have picked up in the 2000 and 2002 draft with those picks. They are the drafts which this one is being compared to by people who are in a position to judge (not people on here).

If you had those picks in next years draft, I would be much more confident if I was a hawks supporter.

theorangeapple said:
Yeh, I know which draft picks you have. They look good on paper, but have alook at the players you would have picked up in the 2000 and 2002 draft with those picks. They are the drafts which this one is being compared to by people who are in a position to judge (not people on here).

If you had those picks in next years draft, I would be much more confident if I was a hawks supporter.

good point , but hey all we can do is hope for the best :D

philhawk said:
rb214 said:
haha now your turning against fellow supporters because they dont believe the mindless crap your put in in your stupid posts?

Why you laughing ******** looking forward to seeing your team get spanked again this year. I would be embaraced to wear that Hawthorn jumper. As for that "fellow" supporter his one of those dicks that brings a flask to the football.

RIPPER_46 said:
Looking at that I can see why Swabbie & Co was so excited when Byron Schammer were stiil there at 13 that they blurted out his name without even pretending to be cool.

Freo had 4 picks below 27 in 2003 and only one of them (Mundy @ 19) has come on enough to be a first 22 player.

Brett Peake at 43 in the same draft has leapfrogged the others.

I think we will end up with 3 out of 4 from that draft.
Dunn at 10 will end up a very good player IMO
Murphy at 12 has shown a little but needs to develop further, will be a very good player aswell.
Mundy at 19 star in the making
Campbell at 24 well im having serious doubts now.

But they have only actualy spent 2 years in the system and still have plenty of time to prove themselves as good/great players.

rb214 said:
philhawk said:
Why you laughing ******** looking forward to seeing your team get spanked again this year. I would be embaraced to wear that Hawthorn jumper. As for that "fellow" supporter his one of those dicks that brings a flask to the football.

Your right , I really enjoyed my team make the top 8 without actually getting anywhere and getting spanked in the first week of the finals. I would be "embaraced" not knowing how to spell embarrassed

rb214 said:

Out of those players these are the ones i'd like to have on my list at the moment.

Mmm 7/30 ******** draft really.

That's the risk of going heavily with youth.

The thing is, we've all seen what guys like Rawlings and Hay can do and it's not good enough. Rawlings should have retired and Hay is a headcase.

Said all along that Hay is worth no more than a third round pick.

Couldn't care less who we draft with those picks. Offloading Hay onto an unsuspecting rival club is all I wanted from this trade period. To get two first rounders is insane.

What I would like to know, is when Hawthorn's Youth Policy will end? Personally, I dont think they will do much for a few years, which isnt a bad thing if it turns around and they start competeing for the flag, But if they keep getting youngies for a few more years, well how do you get a real balance of players with Experience (games wise and success wise)?
everyone keeps comparing what North went after, to Hawthorn wanting Early Draft picks, But we have got quite a few Young up and comers. Rawling comes to the Club, will do great things there (whether that be as a clubman, a player or both) he's happy cause his with his bro, and the place he wanted to be 2 years ago, And Jon Hay, well every Hawks Supporter says he's a headcase, well He may be that way cause of the way he was treated by the Hawks (only speculating, not implying!) Having said all that, we also got a coupke of youngsters this week, that have both had a few solid pre seasons and had the taste of what AFL is like.

N!

Mate, you are a tool.
The Hawks have done what they believe is best for their club. If it doesnt work, we will have another coach and a few more years of misery. They are not going to die wondering.
We will have a very high profile Prez in Kennett, mult-million dollar training facilities while retaining several $M in cash reserves. Yes, we are crap on the field, off field we have never been in better shape.

If the Roo's didnt have great on-field spirit, they could be out of business by now.
Have you got anything constructive to ad???

rb214 said:
Ok captain inverted """""""" maybe you will get one or two players out of it it will take more than that to get you off the bottom of the ladder.

Want young talent how about
Hale, Jones, Wells, Trotter, Harris, Smith, Perry, McIntosh, Firrito

Roughead, Franklin, Lewis, Hodge, Mitchell, Brown, Miller and Thurgood. I think everyone knows who has the better future.

Also, maybe you're getting defensive because you're ********ed off you don't have a draft pick until 28 and have recruited hacks like Hay, Rawlings and Powell (?). Maybe your future doesn't look so bright because you'll have to be replacing Archer, Rocca, Rawlings, Simpson, etc.

Maybe the Hawks wont do so great!!