MCDFNL 2025 discussion

[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]]" data-quote="Grimmett" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
So now I'm confused. Or better to say, more confused than usual,. Giants already have a coach? What's the Wridgway connection?

Like I said, could be a storm in a teacup. I just saw a giants hat on the table… could’ve been a GWS hat, who knows.

I don’t think the Snowy Walker appointment has inspired much confidence at the Giants. Surely they don’t knife a favourite son tho in favour of another coach at this point?

I’ll attempt a bit of an around the grounds, although im fairly well out of the loop with most clubs these days.

Natte - Fairly quiet on the recruiting and resigning front. Cameron out the door hurts. They seem to do their business once the season concludes.

Trentham - retained most and recruited a few more Dads army type players. Can it get them over the hump? New coach Adamson well credentialed to take over from Raak, who did a pretty good job overall.

Harcourt - Team to beat I reckon. Picked up a couple of handy players and have good retention. Will be stinging after not making finals last year.

Lexton - I expect them to fall. Sargent and McLean back to Skipton and struggling to recruit im hearing.

Dunolly - Should be pushing top 4. Picked up some more outside speed and haven’t lost too much.

Carisbrook - seem to have lost their aura of late. They’ve gone local with their coaching appointment and only a couple of recruits thus far. Key players aren’t getting any younger.

Maldon - not a bad side but too slow on the bigger decks. Haven’t heard much.

Newstead - Picked up a new off field coach who seems well respected. If they can have some luck with injuries to last years recruits they could push into the 8.

Talbot - Been in football no man’s land for a while in the senior comp, judging by recent results. Bit of buzz on the internet about their recruiting but time will tell. Don’t know much about the new coach. Hind boys go ok but one of them is old. Britten not a bad recruit from Maryborough.

Navarre - Merger seems off. Most of their premiership stars have finished up now. Couple of handy young blokes coming through in Olly Notting. Don’t expect them to feature in finals.

Giants - I expect their performance to nose dive this season. Coaching appointment from last season has set them back years. Lot of disgruntled players and we’ve already seen Bates jump ship. New coach is a club stalwart but doubtful he can recruit. I really hope they can find a way to turn this around and get the club firing sooner rather than later.

Avoca - Been quiet. Expecting the same standard of team to be rolled out. Club has great facilities and a decent sized town, unsure why they don’t perform better at senior level.

Creek - the positive is they played better last year. Retained their coach. Have only announced one recruit on social media, a back man, so he’ll be busy and earn his cash. Not sure what the answer for them is going forward.

I’ll attempt a bit of an around the grounds, although im fairly well out of the loop with most clubs these days.

Natte - Fairly quiet on the recruiting and resigning front. Cameron out the door hurts. They seem to do their business once the season concludes.

Trentham - retained most and recruited a few more Dads army type players. Can it get them over the hump? New coach Adamson well credentialed to take over from Raak, who did a pretty good job overall.

Harcourt - Team to beat I reckon. Picked up a couple of handy players and have good retention. Will be stinging after not making finals last year.

Lexton - I expect them to fall. Sargent and McLean back to Skipton and struggling to recruit im hearing.

Dunolly - Should be pushing top 4. Picked up some more outside speed and haven’t lost too much.

Carisbrook - seem to have lost their aura of late. They’ve gone local with their coaching appointment and only a couple of recruits thus far. Key players aren’t getting any younger.

Newstead - Picked up a new off field coach who seems well respected. If they can have some luck with injuries to last years recruits they could push into the 8.

Talbot - Been in football no man’s land for a while in the senior comp, judging by recent results. Bit of buzz on the internet about their recruiting but time will tell. Don’t know much about the new coach. Hind boys go ok but one of them is old. Britten not a bad recruit from Maryborough.

Navarre - Merger seems off. Most of their premiership stars have finished up now. Couple of handy young blokes coming through in Olly Notting. Don’t expect them to feature in finals.

Giants - I expect their performance to nose dive this season. Coaching appointment from last season has set them back years. Lot of disgruntled players and we’ve already seen Bates jump ship. New coach is a club stalwart but doubtful he can recruit. I really hope they can find a way to turn this around and get the club firing sooner rather than later.

Avoca - Been quiet. Expecting the same standard of team to be rolled out. Club has great facilities and a decent sized town, unsure why they don’t perform better at senior level.

Creek - the positive is they played better last year. Retained their coach. Have only announced one recruit on social media, a back man, so he’ll be busy and earn his cash. Not sure what the answer for them is going forward.
Im backing Newstead in to make the 8 again and improve. I reckon Dunolly could be a real smoky this year if they have some luck with injuries.

Really not sure how long Navarre can hold on for. Resorted back to Kyle Hendy as senior coach which shows me they didn’t attract must interest for the senior coaching position. Next to no players left from their successful run all retired or playing else where.
Struggling to recruit players to travel to play along with desperately needing to improve their facilities. It would be a very sad day for football if that decision was ever made. Been a very successful club for an extremely long time.

Really not sure how long Navarre can hold on for. Resorted back to Kyle Hendy as senior coach which shows me they didn’t attract must interest for the senior coaching position. Next to no players left from their successful run all retired or playing else where.
Struggling to recruit players to travel to play along with desperately needing to improve their facilities. It would be a very sad day for football if that decision was ever made. Been a very successful club for an extremely long time.

They’re a fairly well run club. I think they’ve had a bit of a clean out on the committee in the last year or two. Few of the old school ones have been weeded out. It’s tough work in country footy for “towns” like Navarre with next to no kids and the tyranny of distance.

I agree on the Hendy appointment.

Got an early tip for the ladder finishing positions for next season Chimp?

I’ll go as far and say the top 3 in no order will be
Harcourt
Talbot
Natte. I think talbots recruits are well above the class of MCDFNL and they should really dominate most sides.

Still think Natte will be cooking up a recruit or two to replace Cameron.
A watch this space.

Master, great effort punching this out, some great topics for discussion.

Here’s my perspective on a couple of things.

Harcourt- They played in a preliminary final, they didn’t miss finals. A change in coach last year, some key players departing, new recruits arriving, injuries to key players late hampered their chances at three in a row. They’ll bounce back.

Natte- They still deserve the title of the team to beat. Regnong premiers who won in an emphatic style. Although they’ve lost a couple, they know how to recruit.

Dunolly- I’m always bullish on them, particularly when Goodwin was in charge. But after watching them a couple of times I would say their bottom 10 aren’t anywhere near good enough to be a genuine threat. Way too many passengers who get a bit ahead of themselves by bullying the lower teams.

Newstead- Ran over a black cat last year, big injuries to key players hurt them. Although they’ve lost a top tier player or two, don’t take them lightly next season.

Maldon- There’s been an exodus of some real talent, losing Brodie Leonard-Shannon leaves a massive hole. I question their ability to recruit for next season…

Lexton- May have a lost a couple but from what I’ve heard around the traps they’ve also picked up a few, more notably a jet ruckman.

Trentham- As I’ve stated in previous posts, they promise a world and deliver an atlas, year after year. The most vocal of crowds who don’t often have much to crow about come September. They’ve got some top tier talent on their list, if Adamson gets them fit and pushing for their best footy they can do some serious damage… it’s a big if though.

Talbot- Massive hype and big social media presence around their recruits. I’m no mathematician but I reckon they’ll be tight on points. Seemed to have stacked their top tier but the gap between them and their bottom feeders is daylight. It’ll be a juggling act to manage points.

The rest- Can’t add too much more to what you’ve already said.

Master, great effort punching this out, some great topics for discussion.

Here’s my perspective on a couple of things.

Harcourt- They played in a preliminary final, they didn’t miss finals. A change in coach last year, some key players departing, new recruits arriving, injuries to key players late hampered their chances at three in a row. They’ll bounce back.

Natte- They still deserve the title of the team to beat. Regnong premiers who won in an emphatic style. Although they’ve lost a couple, they know how to recruit.

Dunolly- I’m always bullish on them, particularly when Goodwin was in charge. But after watching them a couple of times I would say their bottom 10 aren’t anywhere near good enough to be a genuine threat. Way too many passengers who get a bit ahead of themselves by bullying the lower teams.

Newstead- Ran over a black cat last year, big injuries to key players hurt them. Although they’ve lost a top tier player or two, don’t take them lightly next season.

Maldon- There’s been an exodus of some real talent, losing Brodie Leonard-Shannon leaves a massive hole. I question their ability to recruit for next season…

Lexton- May have a lost a couple but from what I’ve heard around the traps they’ve also picked up a few, more notably a jet ruckman.

Trentham- As I’ve stated in previous posts, they promise a world and deliver an atlas, year after year. The most vocal of crowds who don’t often have much to crow about come September. They’ve got some top tier talent on their list, if Adamson gets them fit and pushing for their best footy they can do some serious damage… it’s a big if though.

Talbot- Massive hype and big social media presence around their recruits. I’m no mathematician but I reckon they’ll be tight on points. Seemed to have stacked their top tier but the gap between them and their bottom feeders is daylight. It’ll be a juggling act to manage points.

The rest- Can’t add too much more to what you’ve already said.

Yeah sorry meant prelim elimination for Harcourt.

Didn’t realise Leonard-Shannon was gone from Maldon. That’s huge? Who else left. I feel like Maldon had their big push and couldn’t quite get to the mark. Might drop off again now.

Who’s the ruckman at Lexton?

I had a Quick Look through Talbot’s points from last season and they played most of the year on very low points with lots of 1 pointers. Be interesting to see how the points play out. I agree there’s a big difference between their top tier and the rest.

I’ll go as far and say the top 3 in no order will be
Harcourt
Talbot
Natte. I think talbots recruits are well above the class of MCDFNL and they should really dominate most sides.

Still think Natte will be cooking up a recruit or two to replace Cameron.
A watch this space.

Would be a massive leap for Talbot to finish top 3. They lacked any real stars last couple of seasons. Which of their recruits are worth keeping an eye on?

Yeah sorry meant prelim elimination for Harcourt.

Didn’t realise Leonard-Shannon was gone from Maldon. That’s huge? Who else left. I feel like Maldon had their big push and couldn’t quite get to the mark. Might drop off again now.

Who’s the ruckman at Lexton?

I had a Quick Look through Talbot’s points from last season and they played most of the year on very low points with lots of 1 pointers. Be interesting to see how the points play out. I agree there’s a big difference between their top tier and the rest.
Seb Greene has also left

They’re a fairly well run club. I think they’ve had a bit of a clean out on the committee in the last year or two. Few of the old school ones have been weeded out. It’s tough work in country footy for “towns” like Navarre with next to no kids and the tyranny of distance.

I agree on the Hendy appointment.

Got an early tip for the ladder finishing positions for next season Chimp?
Juniors are the complete focus out there atm.
To say the “old ones”weeded out is a plain call.
A lot of those had done 30-50yrs service you will find and presided over a number of extremely successful eras.
The thought was some younger ones needed to come in to do the heavy lifting into the future.
Most clubs wouldn’t hold a candle to their success they have had out there!!!

069d7e8fc1befb0b81d09ab60cb24192.jpg

Interesting decision this one. I watched him play at Rokewood once this year and couldn’t hold his spot in their senior side. Ok tap ruckman but very limited otherwise.

069d7e8fc1befb0b81d09ab60cb24192.jpg

Interesting decision this one. I watched him play at Rokewood once this year and couldn’t hold his spot in their senior side. Ok tap ruckman but very limited otherwise.

From what I watched last year, their lack of ruckman made things difficult. The services of Frost was always going to be hard to replace. The games I watched Gartside went through the ruck, in my opinion he’s one of the best players in the comp, but he’s not a ruckman. Harcourt’s midfield brigade are bloody good, if they’re getting the service from an ‘ok tap ruckman’ they’ll go very well.

I wonder how many points he’ll be having played at Avoca…

Juniors are the complete focus out there atm.
To say the “old ones”weeded out is a plain call.
A lot of those had done 30-50yrs service you will find and presided over a number of extremely successful eras.
The thought was some younger ones needed to come in to do the heavy lifting into the future.
Most clubs wouldn’t hold a candle to their success they have had out there!!!
You’ve only got to look at the walls in the socials rooms to see how successful they have been. Very impressive.

From what I watched last year, their lack of ruckman made things difficult. The services of Frost was always going to be hard to replace. The games I watched Gartside went through the ruck, in my opinion he’s one of the best players in the comp, but he’s not a ruckman. Harcourt’s midfield brigade are bloody good, if they’re getting the service from an ‘ok tap ruckman’ they’ll go very well.

I wonder how many points he’ll be having played at Avoca…

4 pointer

Does anyone have any inside knowledge on the challenges and issues that Campbells Creek has and why they can’t get any traction on the Bendigo area?

I hate kicking clubs when they’re down as I love to see a thriving footy community in the area, but they’ve just announced their second off season recruit and he played 10 games for the Giants reserves last season…..

Mate ….
With out trying to sound like a complete smart ass it comes down to $$. If you are even are only a half decent footballer in Bendigo / Ballarat and you get a call from campbells creek about potentially going there you are going to turn it down pretty fast unless it’s some seriously good coin.
Successful clubs only find it easier to pursue players and we are not kidding our selfs here they have been struggling for a very long time.

Giants will implode - not good from all reports.

[emoji[emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="johnnymossop" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Giants will implode - not good from all reports.

As someone with a few ties with Maryborough clubs, particularly Rovers, I’m really disappointed with how this has all turned out. Had the opportunity to build something great if everyone got on the same page initially.

Mate ….
With out trying to sound like a complete smart ass it comes down to $$. If you are even are only a half decent footballer in Bendigo / Ballarat and you get a call from campbells creek about potentially going there you are going to turn it down pretty fast unless it’s some seriously good coin.
Successful clubs only find it easier to pursue players and we are not kidding our selfs here they have been struggling for a very long time.

The success of a sporting club involves more than the win-loss margin. It’s no secret that money is involved in recruiting, but clubs who may not be succeeding on-field can still create an inclusive environment and culture that brings the community together, gets supporters through the gates and sponsors onboard, which will obviously increase the revenue.

There could be a multitude of reasons, that run a lot deeper than on-field performance, to justify why clubs find it difficult to attract players.

MCDFNL 2025 discussion