McGinnity to be sanctioned for insulting a players mother

Langdon reckons it was something to do with Mum being a "working girl "
shocked-Monkey.jpg

People need to go watch the Nick Duigan interview on OWAAT from last night, on sledging and how it should be handled.

500 posts on this non issue?

No wonder the media continually serve us up this garbage.

I think Pettard will be better suited to a nicer game, like soccer or something.

Honestly @ people trying to defend him, there is no defending him.

This is a mans sport, a physical contact sport. If you can't handle a very common mum joke then you should stay at home and take up knitting. Sledging happens in every game, from every team. You are dreaming if you think there is a player in the afl that hasn't sledged.

Mcginnity shouldn't have had to appologise, he shouldnt have been suspended and Pettard shouldnt have had a cry to the umpires. End of story.

A player that has worked hard on his game to get a spot in the eagles lineup is now missing a week because of the weakness of Pettard. He should be ashamed of himself.

People need to go watch the Nick Duigan interview on OWAAT from last night, on sledging and how it should be handled.

People and players need to turn to one of the smallest men to ever play the game for a touch of the old HTFU.

When asked if he was ever racially villified, he replied that he was called "a dirty wog" and other such taunts on regular occasion, but he never once allowed his opponents the pleasure of seeing him get upset, because he refused to let his opponents mentally get it over him.

There's a few primadonnas out there in society that need to take a leaf out of Libbas book.

as if this trivial mindless sledging doesnt go on in every game every week coast to coast..and as if petterd hasnt heard similar since shooldays..what is he a virginal choirboy?...its pathetic..should stay on the field.

i'm not even really protecting mcginnity..it just happens in every game every week-with every club-so what is this all about?
besides what did petterd do or say to get mcginnity riled up with a tasteless comeback?

Shouldn't McBurney take some heat as well?

Early reports were the incident was brought to the attention of the AFL by an umpires report.

Did he make this report under his own steam, or did Pettard ask for it to be reported?

If Pettard was just sooking 'He said something bad about my mum', McBurney should have said 'Do you want to report it officially or do you want to HTFU?'

Shouldn't McBurney take some heat as well?

Early reports were the incident was brought to the attention of the AFL by an umpires report.

Did he make this report under his own steam, or did Pettard ask for it to be reported?

If Pettard was just sooking 'He said something bad about my mum', McBurney should have said 'Do you want to report it officially or do you want to HTFU?'

I don't think we can be sure about that. We do know that the umps heard it and we do know that Petterd may have assisted in the identification of McGinnity as the abuser at the time.

Whether they may have asked him that last bit - who really knows?

I truly think Ricky Petterd will come out of this far worse than McGinnity, and I say that with absolutely no bias towards either team.

What a little sook, seriously. Give me strength. Bruise-free mentally and physically

Pettard's going to cop it (deservedly) from now and especially @ Patersons in the future. Stuff like this should stay on the field to stop this mega over-reaction from the media, the AFL and other groups.

Eddie Maguire should butt out, seems like he is just trying to one up Jeff Kennett as usual.

Willing to lay all three of my sweaty, inflamed testicles on the line that anyone defending Petterd couldn't have played football past U11's.

Of the probable 500 sledges so far this season that we haven't heard about, McGinnity is suspended only because Petterd was too dim-witted to think of a decent comeback, which is as far as it should have gone.

The masculine nature of league football just took two large steps backwards.

Correct. Most non-cry babies would just return serve with a comeback

e.g

Player A "I ****** your mum"

Player B "No you didn't, mum said you blew in pants before you had the chance!"

Honestly if anyone has played football and NOT copped a sledge about there mum or other family member clearly they weren't trying very hard... Couldn't count how many sledges i copped, about me, my mum, dad, teammates, coach, girlfriends, who cares, its football, bite back, or shutup and go and get the footy, dont complain. This is a sad, sad day for footy.
If not for ABC cutting off coverage i would probably start exclusively watching VFL.

What started the exchange ?
Are we to believe nothing was said to McGinnity ?

Yes Im sure McGinnity said something for no reason:rolleyes:

Correct. Most non-cry babies would just return serve with a comeback

e.g

Player A "I ****** your mum"

Player B "No you didn't, mum said you blew in pants before you had the chance!"

Is there a reason his mum was brought up in the first place is she a former penthouse pet or something.

I reckon Pettard would probably have been taken aback it's not everyday someone has a crack (haha) at your mum.

If someone said that to me in a similar situation I would have probably laughed if not said "your mum's probably hotter why don't you start there"

Honestly if anyone has played football and NOT copped a sledge about there mum or other family member clearly they weren't trying very hard... Couldn't count how many sledges i copped, about me, my mum, dad, teammates, coach, girlfriends, who cares, its football, bite back, or shutup and go and get the footy, dont complain. This is a sad, sad day for footy.
If not for ABC cutting off coverage i would probably start exclusively watching VFL.

That was the true dog act of the week

What started the exchange ?
Are we to believe nothing was said to McGinnity ?

Yes Im sure McGinnity said something for no reason:rolleyes:
Supposedly had been at eachother all day, but Ricky and the ump felt this overstepped the line

McGrath: "So what does Brian Lara's dick taste like?"
Sarwan: "I don't know. Ask your wife. "
McGrath (losing it): "If you ever ****ing mention my wife again, I'll ****ing rip your ****ing throat out."

Demetriou would probably give him life...
If that is a true story McGrath was asking for it saying something like that to him in the first place.