McPharlin update

I know WC have Kennedy and Darling as major dangers, but I just don't think it's worth the risk. And rest him against North as well the following week, to keep him away from that Etihad surface. Would then play him in only one of the last two games (not sure which one, depends if we need to beat Port or not to finish top 2). Need to keep McPharlin fresh, would be madness to play roulette with his fitness heading into the finals.

Didn't see him after the game but he had ice on his calf at 3/4 time. Maybe just precautionary as there was no obvious limp or anything.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Didn't see him after the game but he had ice on his calf at 3/4 time. Maybe just precautionary as there was no obvious limp or anything.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

corky standard is whack some ice on it.

having said that i doubt he will play next week and prolly week after. Lukey will be wrapped in cotton wool no doubt.

corky standard is whack some ice on it.

having said that i doubt he will play next week and prolly week after. Lukey will be wrapped in cotton wool no doubt.

Agreed and I am fine with that. Probably would have had a spell this week if it wasn't for Dawson getting suspended.

If Johnson is right to play, McPharlin can rest the next 2 weeks as Dawson is available next week.
If not, swing Pearce back and tabs in to play fwd.
Silvagni & Pearce v Darling & Kennedy is a little worrying though.. Think we need Johnson..

Rest this week and presuming next week too cause we play at Etihad(?) again.

Then play versus Melbourne and rest again cause of the potential for 2x 6 day breaks.

That's a lot of rest. I think if he's right to play against the Eagles he should play. Then rest play rest again.

Docklands is the hardest track underfoot in competition. After six weeks or so of soft grounds no wonder the Que for scans goes out the door. We have one more game at Colonial / Telstra / Ethiad and we can't afford any soft tissues from this surface.

Sent from my iPad Air using Tapatalk

Docklands is the hardest track underfoot in competition. After six weeks or so of soft grounds no wonder the Que for scans goes out the door. We have one more game at Colonial / Telstra / Ethiad and we can't afford any soft tissues from this surface.

Sent from my iPad Air using Tapatalk

It's interesting that Ross is particularly critical of Etihad's surface - and he would know that ground better than most. All things being equal, I think he'd like to "rest" players from that surface more than any other.

Mcpharlin in a presser said that he had a break earlier in the season and with the modified training is feeling great .If he has any soreness or ill effect from the cork then rest him this week and keep Silvagni playing . Alex Pearce or Mayne can go back and Fyfe can play CHF .
Once Dawson , Johnson , Mcpharlin and Ballas are right to go the selectors are going to have nightmares trying to decide who plays and who gets dropped .
With Peel playing finals for the first time in their history we will have backup players match fit into the second week of the finals .
Blakely , Weller, Langdon, Ballard , Hannath and Grey will get a taste of finals footy so its all good from here on.

going to be interesting at selection in a week when in theory, McPharlin, Dawson, Johnson and Silvagni are all available.
Personally I reckon Silvagni deserves the nod over Dawson just for the fact that Dawson got himself suspended first game back and let the team down.
Silvering looks in ripper touch and hardly put a foot wrong on Sunday. Deserves to hold his place.

going to be interesting at selection in a week when in theory, McPharlin, Dawson, Johnson and Silvagni are all available.
Personally I reckon Silvagni deserves the nod over Dawson just for the fact that Dawson got himself suspended first game back and let the team down.
Silvering looks in ripper touch and hardly put a foot wrong on Sunday. Deserves to hold his place.
We have one more Dawson week off suspended, don't we?

The players are being given an extra day to recover today due to their flight back to Perth being delayed by 2 hours.

Ross didn't mention Luke getting scans though and said that when the players return on Wednesday, they will see how he has pulled up then.

If he can complete training this week he should play.

thats why I said in a week. This time next week they will al be vying for selection.
Not a bad effort to have an available list (minus ballas) come finals. The only concern would be minutes played together getting some form in the run home.

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

If Johnson is right to play, McPharlin can rest the next 2 weeks as Dawson is available next week.
If not, swing Pearce back and tabs in to play fwd.
Silvagni & Pearce v Darling & Kennedy is a little worrying though.. Think we need Johnson..

I am torn about this. I want A Pearce to get time in the forward line, and I want McPharlin to have a rest.

Based on training reports Johnson is cherry ripe so he should be fine, but if there is doubt I would play T Smith.

I am torn about this. I want A Pearce to get time in the forward line, and I want McPharlin to have a rest.

Based on training reports Johnson is cherry ripe so he should be fine, but if there is doubt I would play T Smith.

Yeah, just shows how stupid Dawson's elbow was. With Dawson available McPharlin is rested

McPharlin update