McVeigh OUT

Mr Mosquito

Sep 18, 2007
just heard on the 7 morning news that McVeigh reinjured his ankle during last weeks game and that he will not line up 2moro.

Would like to see Houli come in by think it will most likely be Dyson

Not what we need:confused:

Can confirm, the report also on the radio that he has suffered a minor ankle injury during the game against North Melbourne and would miss the Anzac day match against Collingwood. No information on how long he will be out but a huge blow for the club.

Just a matter of who will replace him.
My thoughts are that Houli will get a run or they will keep Dyson in the side.

Was saying to a mate last night that it is to good to be true.

Surely the nightmare cant be over.

Some way, somehow either Nash or Dyson will remain in the team and the nightmare will continue for another week.

Im picking that the love child will come in for Spike :(:mad::thumbsdown:

This is the first mistake that our fitness and conditioning staff have made all year with players. It's disappointing that he has reinjured the same ankle after only one match.

Dyson will come in I would think. Atleast that is only 5 new players into the side. If Houli comes in that is 6 and way too many IMHO.

get your facts right ppl. he will undergo fitness tests right up to the cut off time on gameday. it pulled up sore after the game. he is not an official OUT until 1PM Saturday.

and besides a couple of jabs with a needle do wonders!

/fingers crossed!

This is the first mistake that our fitness and conditioning staff have made all year with players. It's disappointing that he has reinjured the same ankle after only one match.

How is it a mistake??:confused:
Ankle injuries are not like hamstrings and other soft tissue injuries, they can be rolled at any time.

How is it a mistake??:confused:
Ankle injuries are not like hamstrings and other soft tissue injuries, they can be rolled at any time.

It was an injury that kept him out of football for the best part of 2 months. That is a serious ankle injury. He looked to be operating at 60% on the weekend and now we find out he has reinjured the same ankle. Obviously he has come back a week or so too early, for this to occur. I don't recall any incident during the game against North Melbourne in which he specifically injured the ankle again, unless ofcourse it is the new curse of players getting injured during the week at training?

As I said it is the first mistake they have made because they have been cautious in bringing players back and wanting them to 'make an impact' from their return. If Lonergan played VFL last week after only missing 2 games (and stiil able to do a lot of running), perhaps McVeigh should've had a game in the two's also.

hmmm... and to think there were some here who wanted him to come back a week earlier even than he did? *cough*Kelvin*cough* ;)

Who said I wanted him back a week earlier. I said if he's ready then play him. McVeigh at %80 is a better option that half our list. He was ready physically to play against North because he was training well the whole week.

He was almost ready for Freo but they decided to take the cautious approach.

Get your facts right before you come on and sprout utter dribble. :rolleyes:

Who said I wanted him back a week earlier. I said if he's ready then play him. McVeigh at %80 is a better option that half our list. He was ready physically to play against North because he was training well the whole week.

He was almost ready for Freo but they decided to take the cautious approach.

Get your facts right before you come on and sprout utter dribble. :rolleyes:

aww what's the matter diddums, get up on the wrong side of bed? What's happened to the competitive troll we all love so much? Can give it but can't take it?

Face it, he wasn't ready to play. You berated the EFC for not being capable of bringing players back early, and you had a big sook about other clubs somehow managing to do it. Yet McVeigh obviously wasn't ready physically then, despite training well, and it looks like he should have waited yet another week.

Imagine the crap you would have come out with if that had happened!

You try to draw conclusions when you haven't even seen games; and you think you know more than the coaching staff, and their "rookie coach" who makes "schoolboy mistakes"... ouch :eek: So just who is spouting dribble again?

Why don't you take this opportunity to rectify it all? You can 'fess here and now. I'm sure everyone will understand - no-one's right all the time. Some more so than others ;)

aww what's the matter diddums, get up on the wrong side of bed? What's happened to the competitive troll we all love so much? Can give it but can't take it?

Face it, he wasn't ready to play. You berated the EFC for not being capable of bringing players back early, and you had a big sook about other clubs somehow managing to do it. Yet McVeigh obviously wasn't ready physically then, despite training well, and it looks like he should have waited yet another week.

Imagine the crap you would have come out with if that had happened!

You try to draw conclusions when you haven't even seen games; and you think you know more than the coaching staff, and their "rookie coach" who makes "schoolboy mistakes"... ouch :eek: So just who is spouting dribble again?

Why don't you take this opportunity to rectify it all? You can 'fess here and now. I'm sure everyone will understand - no-one's right all the time. Some more so than others ;)

He trainied strongly for 2 weeks. They did give him an extra week. What more do you need. :confused: Another week :confused: Make him come through the VFL :confused:. It's an ankle that many players carry and get taped up. It's standard practice for that type of injury. I usually give the club a kick up the arse for injuries but there's not much that can be done on this. Hell, he might even play as they'll give him to the last minute to get it ready.

Your just wasting your time arguing with me for the sake of it. At least put up some sort of argument or evidence to suggest they shouldn't have instead of being a hindsight expert.

I made a comment as to how other clubs get their injured players up to play good games against us and you feel you need to attack me about it when it happens time and again. I've seen you runaway from the thread when Hale came back from being knocked out and highly unlikely to play yet kick 4 goals and be a matchwinner. :rolleyes:

...or it could be Big Daddy Knights foxing with Ye Olde Malthouse. :thumbsu:

If not, this is so s***.
At least, for a couple of days, we got to see what we might have been.:(
we were foxing on medhurst and rocca, they have trained all week

Didak on the other hand......

lol stop joking about didak i need him to play for me in dt or im screwed all ready skipworth down
im not actually joking, if we make a late change it will more likely be him then rocca or medhurst

rocca got a knock by his own admission was hard, but tht wont keep him out (possibly weather)
medhurst hit his head, but ive seen people smacked harder and play the next week. he came back on and kicked the sealer more or less while he was "out"
Didak sat out a quarter and half and has been supposedly AWOL at training

also we often bring in our second EMG which in this case is a small/medium forward call Maccaffer

He trainied strongly for 2 weeks. They did give him an extra week. What more do you need. :confused: Another week :confused: Make him come through the VFL :confused:. It's an ankle that many players carry and get taped up. It's standard practice for that type of injury. I usually give the club a kick up the arse for injuries but there's not much that can be done on this. Hell, he might even play as they'll give him to the last minute to get it ready.

Your just wasting your time arguing with me for the sake of it. At least put up some sort of argument or evidence to suggest they shouldn't have instead of being a hindsight expert.

I made a comment as to how other clubs get their injured players up to play good games against us and you feel you need to attack me about it when it happens time and again. I've seen you runaway from the thread when Hale came back from being knocked out and highly unlikely to play yet kick 4 goals and be a matchwinner. :rolleyes:

"attack you"? Wow, for an argumentative poster, you're still a bit sensitive on this issue for some reason...

I merely made a comment about your irrational whinging about our record with bringing players back from injury relative to other clubs; and surprise surprise, you’re still doing it.

I don’t consider myself an “expert”, and never pretend to, unlike yourself.

As for me “running away” from the other thread, well... you’re really floundering if you think that. I don’t run away from anything, least of all completely irrelevant, irrational comments that don't even merit discussion. I mean, who seriously thinks that every other club manages to miraculously bring players back early, except for Essendon?

I just think you should occasionally recognise that the professionals know a hell of a lot more that you do ;)

:D

Ohhhhh the hypocrisy. Pretty sure you said he wasnt' ready to play further up this thread. :confused: Maybe you should leave things to the professionals. ;)

How about you stop trying to find every and any angle to knock me down and just discuss the footy at hand like the rest of us.

:D

Ohhhhh the hypocrisy. Pretty sure you said he wasnt' ready to play further up this thread. :confused: Maybe you should leave things to the professionals. ;)

How about you stop trying to find every and any angle to knock me down and just discuss the footy at hand like the rest of us.

oh come off it kelvin, I think you've over-reacted a fair degree to what was really a pretty tame little dig at you in this thread.

Don't take it so personally. You know as well as I do that you like to be "controversial". I've said before I agree strongly with you on some things, and disagree vehemently on other things. I certainly didn't think you'd shirk from robust footy discussion; which is what this is, despite what you may think.

If it makes you feel better, I specifically remember making a post on the Main Board recently where I stated that I agreed with you 100% - I can dig it up if you like?

However, I suspect you're not as thin-skinned as you're coming across in this thread, so I don't think I need bother, hmmm? :p

i have been attending essendon training sessions regularly.

mcveigh had been training very strongly and they opted to give him an extra week of conditioning for fitness (his ankle appeared fine). his running and kicking looked very good at training. the medical team did all they could - he then played and unfortunately rolled the ankle again. can happen to any player from any club.

i was at training this morning and mcveigh took no part - he looked p!ssed off after talking with doc reid when pointing to a particular spot. mcveigh walked with welsh a little and didn't even break into a jog.

all 3 emergencies trained.

well if the weather is going to be wet tomorrow, i think I'd almost rather have Dyson out of any of the emergencies if Spike doesn't get up. Ricky has actually shown a bit this year in terms of going in after the contested ball, whereas in recent years he would squib when it came to contests. and if collingwood are going to try and make it a scrap and affect our free flowing style (which is almost a certainty) then I'd rather Dyson than Houli or Nash tbh.

of course, Spike would still be the best option in this scenario ;)

McVeigh OUT