Merged Trade/Delistings threads - Part 2

Preferred trade option

• Pick 23 + Lovett for Alipate Carlile

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Pick 5 + Lovett + Pick 39 for Daniel Kerr

• Pick 23 + Lovett for Nick Dal Santo

• Pick 39 + Lovett for Freo's 2nd pick (?19)

2nd Ruckman

I thought I'd just put it out there, but are there others thinking that we could go after a current ruckman at another club as a backup for Hille?

I could be mad, but would Jeff White be worth going after and getting rid of Laycock? Of course this depends on what he would cost but if he went into the PSD would he be worth getting?

Re: 2nd Ruckman

I thought I'd just put it out there, but are there others thinking that we could go after a current ruckman at another club as a backup for Hille?

I could be mad, but would Jeff White be worth going after and getting rid of Laycock? Of course this depends on what he would cost but if he went into the PSD would he be worth getting?

Replace White with Warnock and I think you would've got a little more support. ;)

Laycock can definately still make it. Sign him on a one year contract, keep him on notice and see how next year goes. If the right offer comes up, I would not be opposed to trading him. I have alot of faith in Bellchambers. He has been solid all year for Bendigo, and just needs a bit of time to develop.

Yeah your dead right about Dyson, I mean the guy must have only played about 3 games this year. I swear I havent sighted him in any others. :rolleyes:

Look closely. He's running around in the "anti-play" (Parts of the ground to which the ball won't go). Either that, or he's running right next to another Essendon player who has the ball... just like a shadow, but not quite as useful. Ricky doesn't often show up on the TV coverage, but when he does, you'll notice he has a very intense and serious look on his face. That's gotta count for something! :eek:

That said, last week, at least he didn't turn the ball over with every touch and was far from our worst.... although his efficiency is still thereabouts!

You have my vote! ;) :D

I still think Laycock will come good and be a very good player for us. I admit that I thought he would move quicker in that direction this year, but it can be a slow process with the big fellas. We just need to be patient (like we were with Hille).... and be grateful that Hille has taken the massive step forward that he has. If we trade him prematurely, I reckon it will come back and haunt us. We've invested the time in him already and now he's finally got his body right. The rest will come.

hows about we secure Jeff white for one of two years and give belchambers a few years to develop.. Looks as though jeff will be available adn will give a better chop out to David Hille then Laycok does

And what if Bellchamber's doesn't develop well enough?
We'd be screwed when Hille retires a couple of years after.

OK PEOPLE: END OF YEAR:

DELISTED:
Courtney Johns: Finished, no more patience with the big fella

RETIREES
Mal Michel: Finished, playing out the season
Jason Johnson: Injury riddled and looks slow, not apart of the future vision.

2009 RETIREES:
Dustin Fletcher: Time will come

A few statements for a few 'iffy' players.

Jason Laycock: Will not leave hille with one untried backup ruckmen, and has steadily improved, is still only 24.

Andrew Lee: Still only 22, knight has not really seen him play, with Fletcher and Michael retiements pending soon, i think they will not let go a tall position prospect go.

Damian Peverill: Has shown enough in his return to the senior side of late, to suggest he may stay on for another yearly contract.

Adam Ramanauskas: Am not sure where rama is at with his footy, seems to be found wanting lately, and with the new breed of bombers having more to offer the team, he may be found wanting a place in the seniors next year.

These are just what I feel may happen, Dyson is contracted until 2009, so unfortunatley is not going anywhere.

Retired:

Trade Bait:

J. Nash (Good skills, but unaccountable, if no one wants him, we keep him)

I don't get the bagging of this kid. He has tremendous skill for a kid his age and there is an amazing amount of upside in Nash. Apart from the top notch young AFL players (Cotchin, Gibbs and Selwood), most young players need time to develop there decision making.

In saying that, he's SA boy who could be a good straight swap for either Reilly or Knights (Vic boys). Win/win situation for both clubs.

Retired:

Trade Bait:

I don't get the bagging of this kid. He has tremendous skill for a kid his age and there is an amazing amount of upside in Nash. Apart from the top notch young AFL players (Cotchin, Gibbs and Selwood), most young players need time to develop there decision making.

In saying that, he's SA boy who could be a good straight swap for either Reilly or Knights (Vic boys). Win/win situation for both clubs.

If you think that the Crows would be happy to swap Knights for Nash then you had better realign your thinking cap ;)

OK PEOPLE: END OF YEAR:

DELISTED:
Courtney Johns: Finished, no more patience with the big fella

RETIREES
Mal Michel: Finished, playing out the season
Jason Johnson: Injury riddled and looks slow, not apart of the future vision.

2009 RETIREES:
Dustin Fletcher: Time will come

A few statements for a few 'iffy' players.

Jason Laycock: Will not leave hille with one untried backup ruckmen, and has steadily improved, is still only 24.

Andrew Lee: Still only 22, knight has not really seen him play, with Fletcher and Michael retiements pending soon, i think they will not let go a tall position prospect go.

Damian Peverill: Has shown enough in his return to the senior side of late, to suggest he may stay on for another yearly contract.

Adam Ramanauskas: Am not sure where rama is at with his footy, seems to be found wanting lately, and with the new breed of bombers having more to offer the team, he may be found wanting a place in the seniors next year.

These are just what I feel may happen, Dyson is contracted until 2009, so unfortunatley is not going anywhere.

Pev is finished as well. If McVeigh,Hislop,Houli or Hocking where all fully fit he would not be in the side.
Just on Lee you are forgeting that Knights had been coaching Bendigo for the whole time that Lee has actually played in the VFL. Pretty sure he has seen him play ;)

If you think that the Crows would be happy to swap Knights for Nash then you had better realign your thinking cap ;)

Yep, you are right. Coming from Adelaide I've seen a lot of Knights and he can potentially be a top-line midfielder. Wishful thinking may be!!! Reilly would be a good swap though, the Crows don't have seemed to have got the best out of Reilly. He would add some speed and silk to our midfield. A good partner for Stanton (not at Stanton's standard atm, but could be as good if he stayed fit for a whole season).

Knights can find the ball 30 times a match no problem, but he is still burning a lot of ball.

1/ David Hille still has at least 5 years of football left in him.
2/ Can we forget about Jeff White, he isn't even an option. Can't even get a game in the 16th ranked team. He's finished.

The White idea is not as bad as it sounds if we can get him cheap. He is not getting a game at Melbourne at the moment because the Demons are not all that interested in winning games. Their focus is developing the ruckman they have who are in the 22 to 24 year old bracket.
We have to draft another ruckman this year at some stage of the draft but that will still put our next level of ruckman 3 ot 40 years away.
We will have to decide if we continue down the Laycock road or we go after an experienced ruckman to play second string to Hille for a couple of seasons. White could be that cheap option.
I have pretty much discounted Ryder as a ruck option becasue i think he fills our defensive roles better and will be better as a defender than he will ever be as a round the ground ruckman.

Trade Bait:

Mate, I completely understand that there is a lot of upside with this kid. But admittedly, there is a down side to him as well. First of all, where is his position in the best 22? He is a streaming HBF really, you'd assume Courtney Dempsey and David Myers would be the two HBF's in the best 22. Now having said this, he'd be a great depth player definitely. The slight criticism I had for Nash was that he is fairly unaccountable. You don't generally seeing him chasing, or manning up in defense when the ball goes the other way. How many times, when the opposition or on the counter, a mark is taken on the 50, then you more often than not see a spare opposition player all on his own providing an uncontested target for an easy shot on goal. I'd just like to see him have more of a presence when the ball comes back down his end. That's the only criticism I have for him, because I think his skills are just fantastic, and his game today against the Pies was one of the best I've seen all year, and in his career.

Elevate Atkinson and give him a one year deal.

Retire:
Mal
Pev
JJ
Rama

De-list:
Johns
Lee
Dick (rookie)
Chartres (rookie)

Traid Bait
Lovett

Not a huge cleanout and i don't think we'll be overly active during trade week. Nash and Monfries were talked up as potential trade bait but i think they've been great (especially Angus) in recent weeks

Elevate Atkinson and give him a one year deal.

Retire:
Mal
Pev
JJ
Rama

De-list:
Johns
Lee
Dick (rookie)
Chartres (rookie)

Traid Bait
Lovett

Not a huge cleanout and i don't think we'll be overly active during trade week. Nash and Monfries were talked up as potential trade bait but i think they've been great (especially Angus) in recent weeks

That is 6 changes - seems like a pretty big clean out to me. :confused:

I reckon Pev has been great lately and may have earned himself one more season.

Our good form is making the end of year changes very difficult. We most probably have to make 4 but could get away with 3 if needed. Only two definites would be JJ and Johns.

Retire :
JJ
Mal ?

Delist
Johns
Williams ?

The doubtful list would include Pev, Mal, Rama and Williams.

Lee will be safe I think.

Pev is finished as well. If McVeigh,Hislop,Houli or Hocking where all fully fit he would not be in the side.
Just on Lee you are forgeting that Knights had been coaching Bendigo for the whole time that Lee has actually played in the VFL. Pretty sure he has seen him play ;)

I was unaware of this, sorry:eek:. I just feel with the clean out of talls in the next couple of years, that we may stick with him, and let him string together a few games, and see where he comes along, ok, it may be this year, but give the kid (22y.o) a go.

As for Peverill, I feel he will be a good depth player for us, until the likes of Hisop, Hocking, Houli and all the young kids are all ready to play alongside each other. He still is only 29.

I am also having some suspicionas over Rama, after yesterdays game, he seems to get lost in space a few times. And really isnt 'owning' a position to make his own. FP - No good really, searching for kicks on the wing. BP - Too slow for the genuine 'small forwards'.

Re: Lovett?

Any chane we should trade Lovett?:confused:

If it was up to me we would, haha.
But I guess SOMETIMES he is a valuable asset to our team.

There isn't enough room for him, Winderlich, Dempsey, Davey, Jetta and so on.. in our team.

I think either Lovett or Winderlich should be offered as traid bait as they both have some trade value.
I'd prefer to trade Lovett though as he is older and probably has more value than Winders.

Thoughts? ;)

We dont want to be hanging onto depth players coming into this draft. It is one draft where you will want to take 5 picks.
Yes Pev has been ok in recent weeks but he does not break the game open or really run the lines hard. A lot of his possessions and little give and go handballs or rushed kicks. He does not send any real fear into the opposition despite the fact he has been reasonably good since he has come back into the side.
This whole hang onto him as a depth player is garbage. Hocking, Lonergan,Houli, Myers, Magin, Winderlich and Hislop have to provide the depth in this area behind McVeigh,Watson and Welsh (on recent form). The depth players need to be young blokes on the rise followed up by your draftee's and not older blokes at the end of the road.

I think I read somewhere that we have to cut our list to 35 for the first list lodgement excluding rookie listed players. Did I completely mis-read this? Can someone please clarify?

I see no one knows how this all works? If we do have to cut the list down, then I sadly think Pev has to go. If we don't, I think Pev has done enough for another contract...