New skip 08

Jun 18, 2008
ararat
Melbourne storm
Good point practice match is not a good way to compare sides taty had players out and navare had there roosters and rebels players out of the sides aswell so emagine if navare had them in it might of been 50goals win...i watched both leagues this year and taty seniors would of missed out in finals at lexton plains but who cares...they are still the team to beat this year in the mininera dfl coming of three premierships what a effort...good luck to whoever beats them

True coach i think i've been told on this one, and true they are the best side in the comp and it will take a chammpion team to beat Taty's team of champions, but who knows player loses, retirements, might just bring taty back a bit.

Any truth to sonny walton signing the assitant coaching job under doug

Re: Mininera and District FL

any news on how bolac, rovers, worndoo or caramut are going bloods and if anyone has signed on? seems there is enough said about the others on here... heard a rumour that mayb a certain ex afl rookie 2 return to bolac... dont think its true but if so would bring some other decent guys with him i would of thought...

Don't know much about any of them really mate, apart from W-Mort having a real struggle. O'Sullivan going again at Mut's, and they had a crack at Jumbo to be assistant.....no go though.
Don't know about Rovers & Byrnesy(?).......Bolac who knows, but you would think it a big backward move for Clingan, Ottos etc to come back to this league.

Don't know much about any of them really mate, apart from W-Mort having a real struggle. O'Sullivan going again at Mut's, and they had a crack at Jumbo to be assistant.....no go though.
Don't know about Rovers & Byrnesy(?).......Bolac who knows, but you would think it a big backward move for Clingan, Ottos etc to come back to this league.

yeah you would think they would try and play the highest football available

The Otto boys will stay in ballarat they love it 2 much down there! but no doubt Bolac r having a real crack at them. Bolac should b cashed up this year with having a couple of quiet years.

yeah you would think they would try and play the highest football available

thing's have changed over the years old skip!!...as in the ways to get in to the afl.. and 1 of the things they have changed is the height of the players.. these days there look for a player with good skill and a lot flare and hardness at the ball ect ect... don't get me wrong old skip, the littlest players are the 1's that go hardest at the ball.. and i think if a player is good then they deserve a spot in an AFL side...so yeah when i see ya next i will tell you more k haha.. to much to write in a post and above is justa bit of info i heard from some1 who selects for rebels...

and i started running with big hawk haha...should come along one time :thumbsu:

Re: Mininera and District FL Part 2

Who are they players going to be to watch in season 09, including new recruits.

you would think every one would have a look at matty rae being the new moyston coach, maybe steve butler could be one to watch, good set of hands and would slot nicely into moyston senior side :thumbsu:

haha...totally agree old skip...u are always right..never say a bad thing haha:D

Y dont u 2 lovers get a room. Come on mate moyston must b going bad if Butler getting a game in the 1s. But saying that they have picked up Will Bell :D

why don't you think he is good enough to get a game in the ones:confused: yeah but did will get the assitant coaching job

Players 2 watch this year r Grant Ewing Penshurst, Pat Hoey Lake Bolac, Sonny Walton Tatyoon, thats if they have signed!

i reckon sonny will sign with his brother being coach, was a bit surprised that he left taty this year and went to Great western

Hey MDFL
Im a bit slow on this new player/coach for moyston Matt Rea is it??

Heard off the Ballarat board he is a bit over rated.... any truth to this??
Any one ever seen him play before?

Also heard he isn't that good of a maths teacher BH23 looking at you there

The Demons need to recruit a couple of players just to support the younger guys. They also gotta try and keep the younger guys which is a feat in itself.

yes its very hard to get the younger guys to stay around anymore they all seem to go where there mates go and if one goes somewhere else they all go

Who are they players going to be to watch in season 09, including new recruits.
all you guys are kidding yourselves, when grant ewing gets going he will totally tear games apart, and there is not a thing you can do about it. he will win the lewis medal!!!! i saw him play against hamilton 3 times in 2008, twice he dragged imperials over the line. he is the complete package!!!!!he kicked 12 goals on a bloke called merrett from west gambier who was selected in the all australia country team on a half back flank, he made him look like a school kid!!!!watch out for the bombers in 2009.

sounds like he's a gun

He has played with Penshurst before, winning a League Medal back in 2001 for all you posters too young to remember.
Worse still, is that, he's a much more rounded and better equiped player than back then.
Good luck to all the MDFL defenders if he decides to play himself close to goal........150 plus beckoning!!

the dees are having a look at young local bernard mcleod.
Some might remember his brother nathan, nicknamed boo.
He has played all his junior footy in the hampden league

He has played with Penshurst before, winning a League Medal back in 2001 for all you posters too young to remember.
Worse still, is that, he's a much more rounded and better equiped player than back then.
Good luck to all the MDFL defenders if he decides to play himself close to goal........150 plus beckoning!!

id say at least bloods, as long as they get a couple of decent mids 2 get the ball down to him... lets face it last year they were rubbish... but im sure they are going in droves to penshurst with their couple of big recruits...

Mininera and District FL - Pre Season 2009