Mitch Hahn Delisted

My apologies everyone, I made a mistake mixing up the rule for those who nominate for the ND/PSD voluntarily and those actively moved on by their clubs.

All the best for what ever you do in the future Mitch! A great clubman, loved watching him shrug tackles, throw it on his boot and watch it wobble through :D

Good decision by the club also, the tough calls need to be made by the club if we are to go that step futher, and IMO Mitch wouldn't be able to play to the level needed to win us a flag. Time for someone else to have a go.

pretty sad to see the name "Hahn" with the words "Delisted" behind it - The day's of loyal, passionate team players deciding when to pull the plug is definitely over - thats AFL for you now, pretty cut throat

:(

It's the right call but it's still sad, he has been an excellent and loyal clubman, has constantly put his body on the line for us and has played some ripper games.

Thanks for everything and all the very best Mitch, I don't think you should play on elsewhere but wish you well if you do and would not begrudge any success you have elsewhere.

Sad to see such a tough nut finish his career... All the best but hopefully we pick him up for one year..

Does this mean our forward line besides Hall will consist of Jones,Hooper,Grant,Vez? Young i see but i like..

Good luck with whatever you do now Mitch. I'm sad to see you go - I remember your first games for the club and thinking you could win a Brownlow :)

Well done.

Always sad to see a club favourite go.

Never a player with much media fare, just played his role.

If he has played his last AFL game...its sad to know he will never be given a proper afl like send off, getting carried of the ground on a mates shoulder.

Congrats mitch on a great career.....Just a question how the hell could we be under salary cap pressure imo we have half dozen good players 370-450k mark all the rest a middle of the road :rolleyes:

Eagleton and Akermanis weren't on big money and Johnson was on the veterans list which reduces his salary by 50%. The simple answer is some players like Like probably earn more next season than last season depending on how contracts are structured. Sherman wouldn't have come cheaply either.

Farewell to the:

"Ute in a garage of Ferraris"

The right call no doubt, but one that I am very sad about. Hahn was a fantastic player, and always seemed to lift his game for finals (even this year in the Prelim).

Will always remember the devastation of his ACL injury vs Brisbane at the Gabba when we had that terrible run of knees, and also his tremendous 'bullocking' work.

All the best for the future Hahn'y. Hope you get a run with the Suns for 2011, no doubt they could use a player of your ilk next year.

Good career, I remember seeing one of his first games at Princes Park and he dominated out of the middle.

Does this mean a change of strategy by the club, no longer punting on giving good servants an "extra year" in hope they will capture form of the past ???

Perhaps we are hearing the Dogs admit to the failed Aker / Eagle extra year experiment ?

You could be right. I wouldn't mind seeing Mitch get one last season, seeing as he played his best footy in 08-09.

My favourite memory was when he blasted Essendon away with 6 goals in 2008. Especially the 3 (out of 9) in the 3rd quarter rampage at the Lockett end. He ended up being a decent kick for goal after early troubles. Farewell Mitch :thumbsu:

Had a good carreer with us and is very popoular with his team mates. I bit bemused with his delisting, , I reckon Mitch would be more vaule that pick 73, hope he get picked up GC or maybe even the swans

You and I both!! It was a while ago in here I claimed discussion re Hahn was "old news" after reading he had been offered a 1 year deal. Pigdog challenged the claim, so I waited. Unlike me to take as gospel ANY media reports, but this time I was caught out!! Oh well.

Perhaps a tad gun shy following the Aker/Eagle/Johnno sagas, however, I too think he would have offered good insurance. With a battered body, the new I/C rules may have lead to him becoming a decent "sub", as those players will have less "game time" than the other 21. But.... he would be taking a spot from a young'un, so as long as the parting is amicable, probably a good (and tough) call!

I also believe he'd be handy for the Suns in their maiden season, and iirc, he is a native banana bender.

hooroo....

Sad to see but the right decision was made. A type of player every club must have. And probably was more important than everyone thinks when he was up and running. Thankyou Mitch for your non stop efforts

That's a pretty simplistic view and can be countered with:

If we had everyone kick the ball like Mitch we wouldn't win a game.

And if everyone attacked the ball like Gilbee (who kicks well) we wouldnt win a game either. You need a mix of skill and ticker in your side and mitch has heaps of ticker. My hat goes off to mitch as i have great respect for what he has sacrificed for the dogs. Better to go a year early with all our praise than a year too long with daggers in your back.
I personally see more merit in giving Mitch an extra year compared to eagleton last year but i am also glad we have cleaned the cupboard out with respect to players with low leg speed.
Hopefully jones can take advantage of Mitchs unfortunate demise.
Enjoy your retirement and IF someone did pick you up i would love you to have a great 2011 season.

Mitch Hahn Delisted