Mitch Hahn

RoyBoyTurnedDog

May 23, 2008
How do people think the addition of Barry Hall to the list will affect Mitch Hahn? Personally, I look forward to seeing him play without having the opposition's best tall defender on him all game. He could either flourish without the attention next season, or struggle for opportunities in the shadow of Barry Hall. Should he play at CHF (or do we put Murphy there) or in a pocket (or even a flank)? Thoughts?

I was just about to post something similiar. I think Hahn is not really required unless its for injuries. I dont see him getting many games next season as the forward line needs more sm,all defensive type forwards. Currently, we only have Gia, Aka and maybe Hill (needs to improve, but can leap and crumb). So, that leaves Hall, Murphy and Johnson. If Guy O Keefe can improve his fitness over the break, he could come into the forward line to provide another crumbing aspect. There is also the possibility of Everitt coming in the forward line.

I worry about Hahn and I wouldn't be relying on him for much longer. I think he was playing injured for most of the year if the paper is to go by anything. He really had a poor year by his standards and be needs to stay injury free.

Hahn's our best player in terms of defencive pressure in the forward line. I'd much rather keep him for 22 games this season.

I think he will thrive, he will out body all of his opponents much easier now, and all you bulldogs supporters know how well we play when he kicked 3-4, we either win by heaps or defeat a good side.

Hahn's our best player in terms of defencive pressure in the forward line. I'd much rather keep him for 22 games this season.

True. But if we are to challenge the likes of St Kilda, we need a big emphasis on forward defensive pressure from all our forwards. I don't think we can have the luxury on picking a forward for his defensive pressure alone.

In a perfect world, Hahn wouldn't be in the side as younger players or better forwards would have replaced him. But he has a lot of admirable qualities and has the sort of spirit that you love in players. So with my head I am hoping he will be gradually replaced but with my heart I don't mind seeing him out there. If that makes any sense.

I love Mith. reckon he often makes something out of nothing.

But over the last year and a half I just dont rekon he does enough. He need to step up early and understand what his role is going to be. Having a 2nd or 3rd defender will help him. But I am worried.

We need Mitch. If he plays a good game we will win. He's good for a few goals a game and brings alot of defensive pressure. He's very important to our team and Rocket also knows that, he will play all 22 barring injury

This is a relevant point. When Mitch plays well the team performs well. He was very good in the round 21 win over Geelong.

The addition of Hall will help Mitch as he is likely to have an opponent he can beat for strength. Remember his performance in the Essendon game.

Everitt or Grant cannot replace his strength in the contest.

U gotta :heart: Mith Hahn. He goes in hard, kicks important goals when needed (mongrel kicks or not LoL:p), defensive pressure is fantastic, etc. He's a very valuable player to the 22 man squad. We need him. Sure he has up and down games but hey, we all do.

Keep him at CHF for most of the year. If he has a few bad games in a row, easy 2 replace him with either Roughead, Grant, Bouman, etc.

Could Hahn play a different role other than defensive forward. He has had some good games but inconsistent imo.

1. Could he play half back where he could run straight and hard.
2. Could he play a lock-down role ala Cameron Ling. He's a big body who could also be handy around packs. Has he the stamina?

Any thoughts?

I we had have played in the wet on grand final day Mitch Hahn would have been our most valuable player bar none.

For this reason he needs to be in our forward line.

I said this during Trade week, If we got one of Dowler Thorpe Reid Walker along with Hall, I thought it might be an idea to Trade Hahn, to free up money and his trade value would have been ok.

But the Club knows best and im Sure Eade will have his plans for him and all other players.

I think him and Murph will play that CHF role with Hall Deeper and maybe even Grant Playing 1-10 games in a pocket next to Hall, even with Everitt playing on a win and floating down across the HF line to provide another Tall down there.

I think Johnsons role will change more next year pushing more up the ground.

Could Hahn play a different role other than defensive forward. He has had some good games but inconsistent imo.

1. Could he play half back where he could run straight and hard.
2. Could he play a lock-down role ala Cameron Ling. He's a big body who could also be handy around packs. Has he the stamina?

Any thoughts?

If he can haul that frame around in the midfield for any length of time, he is a freak. He is up around 95-100kg isn't he? Maybe a Mark West type role crashing through the centre bounces? :D

I find some of these posts staggering. Hahn is one who really steps up in big games. When pressure is at its fiercest, Hahn is invaluable. There are a few others from Hahn's draft class who don't perform quite as well in the big games.

mitch hahn never was and never will be the power forward we needed, but that doesn't mean he shouldn't be a required player.
now that barry hall has arrived, i think that it will free mitch up and he will feel under less pressure.
the addition of hall also adds to our physical prescence in the forward line, espeically in pack marks, which will obviously help mitch.
i'd have mitch in my forward line ANY day over josh hill!

mitch has real guts and i admire him as a player and i think he'll have a ripper next year:)

Mitch Hahn