Opinion Moloney/Stringer

I reckon Simpkin's gotta be a starter next season, that's twice he's been given the subs vest lately, and twice he's had 9 possessions from a quarter of footy in both.

Think the match committee have got to give him a go or he'll be gone, but we do need a Moloney type.
Realistically our younger ones are at least another season away and just haven't got the bulk needed for the inside role at AFL level.

If Simpkin is a starter next season, we are well and truly stuffed.

Has trouble keeping his feet in the contest and fumbles the ball more than any player in the hoops that I've seen in a long, long time. He may have had 9 possies against Freo, but his 2 basic fumbles in the middle of the ground (3rd qtr & 4th qtr) just as Geelong were getting on roll were poor and cost us a goal both times. Noticed this in the pre-season match he played and also in his debut game against W.B.

Depth player at best, and one of those who can dominate in the VFL, but not up to it at the highest level
I hope he proves me wrong but I just can't see it happening.

Moloney is average as a player, less than average as a leader.

let's put some game time in to the list we have first before hitting panic stations

has everyone forgotten that Chris Scott said at the start of the season that he was building a team for 2015???:??

If Simpkin is a starter next season, we are well and truly stuffed.

Has trouble keeping his feet in the contest and fumbles the ball more than any player in the hoops that I've seen in a long, long time. He may have had 9 possies against Freo, but his 2 basic fumbles in the middle of the ground (3rd qtr & 4th qtr) just as Geelong were getting on roll were poor and cost us a goal both times. Noticed this in the pre-season match he played and also in his debut game against W.B.

Depth player at best, and one of those who can dominate in the VFL, but not up to it at the highest level
I hope he proves me wrong but I just can't see it happening.

I agree with this on Saturdays performance. Was very costly.

has everyone forgotten that Chris Scott said at the start of the season that he was building a team for 2015???:??

Which is why I very much doubt that Scott would even bother looking at a 29 year old player like Moloney. He would hardly fit into Scott's plan for 2015.

Good point!

However, if it was thought he could fill a useful in-and-under role while our newbies are gaining experience and he came at a reasonable price then perhaps it’s worth consideration. He still possesses handy leg speed.

Agree that the rejuvenation process is the main game though.

Good point!

However, if it was thought he could fill a useful in-and-under role while our newbies are gaining experience and he came at a reasonable price then perhaps it’s worth consideration. He still possesses handy leg speed.

Seriously AM, I would be disappointed if Baloney ended up back at the Cats. A waste of a spot on the list in my opinion.

Understand your viewpoint.

Reckon he has 2 or 3 years left. Still has pace. Is an experienced in-and –under player who would give the likes of Selwood and Jimmeh a chop out. In a good side would be a much better player than he showed at Melbourne.

If we could get him at the right price, he’s worth a look.

Think the odds of it coming to fruition are longish. So you can rest easy.:)

The problem with getting Moloney is that while he could play a Joel Corey type role, he doesn't tackle as much or as well as Joel, doesn't get as much of the ball, is 9 cm shorter, doesn't mark as well and doesn't kick goals. Moloney would appear to have more pace, but you'd want to see him lift the defensive pressure stuff, chasing etc., if he were playing with us, like I assume Neeld has been trying to get him to do.

He's still a few years too old, but is an underrated player on this board. He was damn good in 2004, and would have developed nicely had he stayed at the Cattery.

Next season is the year 2013. Almost a decade has passed since then.

Not suggesting that we have him back by any means, but more so suggesting that some of the dismissive criticism of him here is a little over the top. He wound up in the wrong environment and could have been as good as Kelly had he stayed here.

IMO, we'd be going backwards if we went after Moloney. Nice bloke sure, but not good enough for the hoops. IIRC, he led the league in clangers for a few seasons there and I don't think his disposal has improved much at all. Gets it and bombs it long is his MO - we need classy ball users, not clanger kings. He has grunt, I'll give him that, but his turnovers are far too costly for mine.

Good point!

Gotta be the first time ive heard Moloney and leg speed mentioned in the same sentence. He is slow as a turtle and a huge liability defensively.

His defensive attitude and finger pointing at anyone but himself on the ground, not to mention his lack of leadership off it (drinking) make me pleased that i wont see him again in Melbourne jumper. Would have thought you wouldnt want anyone like this near your club with the culture you have built over the last 10 years.

Games gone past him.

Gotta be the first time ive heard Moloney and leg speed mentioned in the same sentence. He is slow as a turtle and a huge liability defensively.

His defensive attitude and finger pointing at anyone but himself on the ground, not to mention his lack of leadership off it (drinking) make me pleased that i wont see him again in Melbourne jumper. Would have thought you wouldnt want anyone like this near your club with the culture you have built over the last 10 years.

Games gone past him.
Geez! You really don’t rate him at all. What have you guys done to him since he left us?:eek:

It’s not long ago he was in your leadership group and talked of in captaincy terms. He’s apparently fallen a long way in a very short time.

I’d still have a look at him at the right price. However, I somehow think we’ll pass.

Take your point on his pace.

Games gone past him.

I think you've just put him out of a job, "at least on this board", when I hear out of the horses mouth I listen!

But, can you tell me about Rivers and Gysberts IYO.

Not suggesting that we have him back by any means, but more so suggesting that some of the dismissive criticism of him here is a little over the top. He wound up in the wrong environment and could have been as good as Kelly had he stayed here.

Not sure about that. Plenty of lower sides still have great players. Ablett has shown quite vividly you can maintain your own high standards even when the side you play in is complete rubbish. Personally I think too much emphasis is placed on the surroundings, ultimately it's up to each individual player to get the most out of himself. If they don't they're just not good enough.

Well if he can help out Selly, and harden up our ball extraction, any that don't like him better look in the mirror and learn to live and let live.

I'm sure if he's in there 'busting his chops' any issues would be quickly forgotten.

Is Sylvia a free agent?
The last thing we need to be doing is filling our list with a bunch of Melbourne Hacks. May I remind everyone that Melbourne won 4 games this year. 2 of them were against GWS, and one against GC. I keep hearing the names Rivers, Moloney, Sylvia, these blokes wouldnt play for Melbourne, why on earth would they play for us. They just dont have a winning attitude

There's only a handful of players that I'd take from Melbourne and none of them have been mentioned about potentially coming to the Cats. Gysberts is the only possible exception, but having said that he is also the least likely to wind up here. Nathan Jones, Mitch Clark, James Frawley, Jeremy Howe and possibly Mark Jamar are the only players I can think of from the top of my head who I'd be interested in, and of course they are all off the table. So how about we just go and draft some more young guns whilst we let the crap clubs and Sydney draft recycled players.

The last thing we need to be doing is filling our list with a bunch of Melbourne Hacks. May I remind everyone that Melbourne won 4 games this year. 2 of them were against GWS, and one against GC. I keep hearing the names Rivers, Moloney, Sylvia, these blokes wouldnt play for Melbourne, why on earth would they play for us. They just dont have a winning attitude
So on that basis you wouldn't have Gazza, Caddy, Boak or Toby Green? Understand what you are saying, but we also would not have taken Otto either.

Otto won an AA at Richmond, a far cry from the melbourne "leadership" group ....

not what I said at all mate...Id definately have Gazza back, and Id have Toby greene, because they have a crack. Boak.......the guy just admitting doing over Port Adelaide for the second time, so in his case, an even bigger no!
We dont do things like that down at the Cattery, we build our own, or we bring in Goers to compliment what we already have. Maybe you should pay attention to some constructive opinions rather than being a one eyed, blinded groupie.......Just sayin!

Opinion Moloney/Stringer