Most famous musicians/bands you've ever met?

Met Deep Purple at the Melbourne Grand Prix one year, they were in the same box as us.

Nick Cave tried to start a conversation with my mate and I at a Cafe in Essouira Morrocco one morning back in the late 90's. Problem was it was our last day in Morrocco and we'd smoked as much of the hash we had as we humanly could (still didn't finish it) and had that Way too stoned in the morning feeling and thus basically ignored him.

Used to live with Sia - apparently she's kind of famous now.

Also shared a funny cig with The Radiators many moons ago.

That's funny.

Used to see quite a bit of one of the Aussie Crawl boys. (as above)
Went to dinner and a few parties with the lead singer of Real Life. Always plenty of his ilk type friends around.
Heaps of hotel room stories when I used to travel regularly. A few interesting stories amongst that grouping.

No close contact with Internationals though.

That's funny.

Went to dinner and a few parties with the lead singer of Real Life. Always plenty of his ilk type friends around.
Heaps of hotel room stories when I used to travel regularly. A few interesting stories amongst that grouping.

Anyone ever send him that angel?

Darren Cross from Gerling cooked my lunch a few times. Awesome bloke.

That's funny.

Used to see him in Werribee when I was a teen. Think he may have lived there

One for the old hippies...

I went to a Yothu Yindi concert in San Francisco in the early 90's as the guest of Bob Weir, the guitarist with the Grateful Dead. Had a good chat, nice guy.

The drummer from Boom Crash Opera delivered a pizza and garlic bread to my joint last Sunday night. Great guy.

Remember seeing Boom Crash Opera at the old Herdsman Hotel back in the 90s, we were standing right up at the front of the stage and we poured them a few beers from the jugs we had between songs. They were all top blokes and happy to have a chat and a joke with us. Was a cracking gig too, underrated band.

Former drummer for Sting and consistently Top 10 in the world rated drummer, Vinnie Colaiuta. A mate of mine was his drum tech on a jazz tour he was doing around Australia with some guys whose names escape me. One day before a gig in Adelaide, a group of us were invited to go have lunch with him. He just said the more the merrier.

Coolest guy ever. Had more stories than the Empire State Building. No pretentiousness whatsoever. Was just one of the guys. It's nice when a person you look up to turns out to be a awesome person as well.

And then we got free tickets to his gig that night. Was a good day.

Former drummer for Sting and consistently Top 10 in the world rated drummer, Vinnie Colaiuta. A mate of mine was his drum tech on a jazz tour he was doing around Australia with some guys whose names escape me. One day before a gig in Adelaide, a group of us were invited to go have lunch with him. He just said the more the merrier.

Coolest guy ever. Had more stories than the Empire State Building. No pretentiousness whatsoever. Was just one of the guys. It's nice when a person you look up to turns out to be a awesome person as well.

And then we got free tickets to his gig that night. Was a good day.

Did he have much to say about Sting? Ive heard hes the biggest arse of humankind. Was told that the band were writing the music to one of his albums. It took weeks, then Sting came in heard one listen and just deleted the whole thing.

There were a few stories about Sting. Probably shouldn't let them out of the bag in an open forum like this though. Not sure about the story you are talking about, but there was one time on Mercury Falling when Vinnie had laid down a drum track and was told it was rubbish and Sting told him to redo it, so he did it almost exactly the same and two days later Sting told him it was awesome. Must have been having a bad day or something.

Not to mention drumming for the late great Frank Zappa. Immortalised in "Catholic Girls"
Apparently Frank was crazy, but everybody already knows that.

Met one of the blokes from the Force MDs on the Staten Island ferry in the early 90s. I just checked on wiki and they come from SI, so my brother probably wasn't bulsh*tting me when introducing me to him.

My brother was a roadie/security bloke in America and I have a copy of Time magazine with a photo of him on stage with the Beastie Boys about to grab a fan who got on the stage.

Supported Mental As Anything in Mt Isa in 1999. Reg Mombassa's amp blew up on stage and he had to use mine. Had a few shots backstage later and a good yarn...most vivid memory of the gig was being onstage for soundcheck, and seeing their set list taped to the keyboard...I knew every song on it, almost well enough to sing their gig myself, but I've never owned a MAA album or even been a fan...now THAT'S a career...

Supported Bob Geldof when he did a tour with the Happy Hippy Band or whatever it was in 1993. Because he was fronting a band of 7 international musicians, local muso's union rules said he had to be supported by 7 locals, so 4-piece vocal group Tiddas were hired, and a mate of mine who was big in the union got my other mate on harp and myself on guitar to bash something together...Geldof's guitarist told me he loved my Little Wing. Was standing about 2 metres away from Geldof earlier in the afternoon, just hanging, even had the camera, but didn't have the guts to say how about a photo! I was a bit less outgoing back then...!

Supported Yothu Yindi in 1994..kind of...a very tenuous story here - me and another guy played in a duo early on the Saturday morning of a two-day concert (Launceston's Basin Concert), and we were allowed access anywhere we wanted the entire time until 4pm on the Sunday, when everyone was thrown out to make way for YY...! Nearly...

Met Paul Gilbert in 2007. Great bloke.

Met Tommy Emmanuel twice, once at a clinic where he was pretty cool, and the other at the after-party when they filmed his This Is Your Life story after a Gold Coast concert. He was smashed, so was I (heh...free beer everywhere), and I was there with 2 high ranking members of his fan club, which was how we got into this party...those 2 were standing there patiently waiting with merchandise they'd just bought and their cameras while he kept fobbing them off - so intoxicated me thought "f this", grabbed him by the arm and marched him over to get this damned photo taken...! Met Troy Cassar Daley, who is an absolute class act and I won't hear a bad word against him! Also ran into that kid Mark Knopfler discovered as a 7yo playing guitar, who got famous as a guitar playing prodigy...all grown up but was still about 4'8...forgot his name...

Used to work for Johnny Diesel's brother when he had a music shop in Devonport...

My old Social Psych teacher in Tassie in the late 1980's at school was the brother of Laurence Tolhurst, of The Cure...

Met one of the members of Mother Goose only a couple of weeks ago at a wedding (remember Shirl's Neighbourhood?)...!

Aaand - my wife is from Clacton-On-Sea in England, the hometown of Sade. Apparently, the two of them dated the same bloke...!

Also, I moved to the Gold Coast in 1996 with my gf at the time. My flatmate was an investor in the recording studio that had just done the Screaming Jets previous album, and he invited all of us to the Jets gig at the Playhouse on the Coast. I didn't go. Long story short - my gf ran off with the SJ's sound guy...! Last I heard, she was divorced and still living in Newcastle...!

Lastly, the guy who plays keyboards in the band on Weekend Sunrise (Darryl Beaton), is an old mate of mine from uni. He is currently in that recording stable that does the reality show albums, so lately he's been working with Guy Sebastian (played with him at the last Arias, the only time I've ever liked Who's That Girl"!), Jessica Mauboy, and Jack Vidgen - he's the keyboardist on all their albums...

I was friends with Sean Kelly of 'Models' for about three years. Lost contact with him after that. Lovely man, underrated guitarist and songwriter. Sadly for him, a Richmond tragic.

Helped save Ross Hannaford of 'Daddy Cool' fame's life while he lay on a nature strip in Toorak, after he'd O.D.'d on morphine. Shouldn't have bothered.

Knocked around with Max Merritt for about 4 months, during the mid-60s. A true legend and top bloke, whose life has been undeservedly beset by tragedy.

Met Tex Perkins as I was walking out of a record store with a Beasts of Bourbon CD. He signed it for me. Nice guy.

Also met the bass player for Eddy Current and had a few beers with him. He invited me and footyhead07 to an after party but we were so drunk by that stage we had started a gravy skolling Comp between bands

Not to mention drumming for the late great Frank Zappa. Immortalised in "Catholic Girls"

:D

Love the slack, dumb, Italian-Brooklyn accent on the woman.

"Warren Cucurullo...Vinnie Colaiuta"

I was at Basement Discs once waiting for Richard Thompson to do a signing/playing session, but he was 20 minutes late, and I had to leave.

I then found him on Collins St looking completely lost, so introduced myself and gave him an escort to the shop

Most famous musicians/bands you've ever met?