Most rigged umpiring I've seen for a while.....

How do you reckon Mundy went today?

Pretty poor. Biggest game for the club in a while, our highest paid midfielder, and 18 disposals? Thankfully we have players like Fyfe and Barlow able to step up and shoulder the burden so that bit players like Mundy can take that secondary role. Hill did fairly well today too I thought, and that goal at the end may be just the confidence boost he needs to take the next step.

Please listen to his presser again. At no stage does he blame the umps. Its more directed at his team for giving them away.

If he wasn't sooking about the umps he wouldn't use the term 'soft', and instead would use the term 'undisciplined' to describe his team giving them away.

Soft free kicks imply that there was nothing in them and they shouldn't have been payed.

Geelong hammered out 4 quarters of gigantic effort this arvo and our mob matched and bettered it again and again and again.
Can we please lobby Eyebrows and see if we can have the Cattery as our Victorian home ground!It will not only help the Geelong economy but we seem to win fairly easily on that ground,

If he wasn't sooking about the umps he wouldn't use the term 'soft', and instead would use the term 'undisciplined' to describe his team giving them away.

Soft free kicks imply that there was nothing in them and they shouldn't have been payed.
I know the Scott's have a history of whinging but it seemed clear to me from his presser that C. Scott was disappointed with giving away soft frees.
Anyways, how good was RTB's presser? Knob head junior journos will learn to steer clear soon enough !

If anyone's interested, take a look at this page on FB 'Troy Pannell - The biggest disgrace in AFL history'

It actually came back confirmed touched. They must have better hd than me.

Just watched it again. You're right. They said "Umpires Call.." then "review completed confirmed touched"

That aside I knew it was touched I just didn't like the fact the umpire changed his mind before the review. Dodgy as anything

Yeah I agree to a point but then you can look at just how hard Freo worked into the game and then to hold the lead.

Overall I think the umps did a good job with one or two shockers, just like Freo made a couple of shocker kicks out of defence. Overall I am stoked with today.
Umpires were shocking! How you think they did an overall good job is beyond believing. Freo beat the umpires, cats, crowd and AFL. This from a Hawk fan.

Thanks - and spot on.

I think it's all in the eye of the beholder - ask a Geelong fan and they'd think that Freo got a few 50/50 frees in front of goal at clinch moments (e.g., Sandilands elbows Lonergan in the head, Lonergan holds his shirt, free goes to Sandilands).

End of the day, the better team won. Umpires didn't impact the outcome.

If the Sandi \Lonergan free was 50/50 then you must have your Cats glasses on, I thought the that was a free kick every day of the week and there should have been another one 5 minutes later.

I actually thought that the first one to Sandi wasnt really there but the one a couple of minutes later in the goal square that wasnt given to Sandi should have been given. It sort of evened itself out in that instance. Overall I thought some of the holding the ball decisions were mystifying! There was a one given against Chapman late in the last quater that was given against him where neither player was really laying a tackle they both had a decent purchase on the ball at the same time.
Again though decisions like that evened up a couple against Freo on the edge of the centre square where we got pinged that should have been ball ups.

What I was trying to say is that you could have called that incident a free both ways, so in a final in particular (when scores were level IIRC) the umpires should have let it go. There's other examples too - e.g., the Pavlich free in the first quarter which just isn't the way finals should be umpired.

We had a fair few go our way too, I'm not trying to say that we were robbed, but I think at the end of the day the umpiring didn't decide the outcome.

Evened out for the second half but not over the whole match. Neutral umpiring over the game would have delivered about a 4 to 5 goal win.

The first free kick and report against Dawson at the start always has the potential to destabilise a team and put you on the back foot immediately. No player wants to be suspended in the finals, and it sent a really clear message that Dawson was going to cop scrutiny from the umps. I think he will be cleared as there seemed to be no contact at all, and that should be a big problem for the umpire involved.

We had a fair few go our way too, I'm not trying to say that we were robbed, but I think at the end of the day the umpiring didn't decide the outcome.

What is your spin on the Dawson free and report? Wouldn't have any issues with Lonergan getting pinged for nothing, and then reported?

And what's your spin on your coach having a nice old whinge about the free kicks after the game?

Well you guys can top this thread off with a good old Scott sook.

Within the first minute of his presser he had a sook about us getting soft free kicks resulting in goals.

I thought he was more sooking about Freo having huge key forward targets like Pav and Sandi.
You see, in his mind it isn't fair for Fremantle to have a huge player like Sandilands standing in the forward line.... It's just not football.

It reminded me of the presser Mark thompson did after Fremantle beat them when Crowley debuted at Kardinya way back.
He said " If you want to call that good football then go ahead " .

The first free kick and report against Dawson at the start always has the potential to destabilise a team and put you on the back foot immediately. No player wants to be suspended in the finals, and it sent a really clear message that Dawson was going to cop scrutiny from the umps. I think he will be cleared as there seemed to be no contact at all, and that should be a big problem for the umpire involved.
He was a dirty campaigner that ump, so ****ing smug about it too.

No it was 28 , but it was Troy Pannell... the guy who looks like the comedian Peter Moon and just as funny.

Yes, I got a bit confused over the names. He's as big a knob jockey as McBurney and I'd rate Peter Mooney higher as an umpire as well....assuming he was doing a double act with Steve Vizard

It was disgraceful.

Troy Pannell and Shane McInerney were deplorable all day and Matt Stevic wasn't much better either.

Now watch the MRP destroy us this week.

Memories, can I please get your official stance on Suban v Robinson this season?

Suban has had his best season at Freo this year. Mitch Robinson just single hanhedly won a final for Carlton. So they are both doing pretty good at the moment. Robinson has clearly had the better career to date though, not sure why people keep bringing this up when it's obvious Robinson has been a better pick for the entire time.

We have Suban now so we make do with what we have, stop living in the past. We all wonder what Freo would have become if Robinson was on the team (premiership in 2010?) but it's just painful to think about such things.

Wow. I thought we had it bad with the umpiring in the first qtr. Carlton are getting absolutely shafted by the umpires against the Tigers.
Put the whistle away in finals.

Yep, they still won a bit like Freo. Amazingly.

To Scotts defence, not sure he was talking about soft free kicks, more so soft goals that Geelong
allowed us to score, where as the difference is that We didn't allow them any. Only saw the edited
press conference, but that was always my take.

We have Suban now so we make do with what we have, stop living in the past. We all wonder what Freo would have become if Robinson was on the team (premiership in 2010?) but it's just painful to think about such things.

I don't think Robinson would have been good enough to over turn a 69pt deficit against the cats in 2010, he's not that good

Most rigged umpiring I've seen for a while.....