Murray FL 2013/14

No not true.
But your right its not the point. The point is, after the charges the Rovers decided to try and help this young fella (against the wishes of some members) out and help him through this tough time. It was their obligation as he was an employee of the footy club. The club wanted the bloke to be playing for Roves. Now instead on honouring his side of the contract and play footy for his contracted club, the player decided that because of his actions he didn't want the shame of being in the public eye in the Deni community and decided to turn his back on his commitments. That is the point. If your happy to put your hand out for the money and signup for a 1 year, 2 year or how ever long the deal you should honour it.

That is an opinion right? Or is that, like, a fact?

Completely agree with you Mac. Sign a contract obey the contract. Country footy (sadly) is ruled by money. Wasn't ur point I was arguing. It was wilty's. I'm still not sure if he is going on about the player being contracted or the player being charged. That's why I said at the end of my first post. "Am I missing the point"
Are the contracts legally done by a lawyer ? Do rovers have to pay money to player even though he has left the club ?

Completely agree with you Mac. Sign a contract obey the contract. Country footy (sadly) is ruled by money. Wasn't ur point I was arguing. It was wilty's. I'm still not sure if he is going on about the player being contracted or the player being charged. That's why I said at the end of my first post. "Am I missing the point"

I'll extend on my thoughts. It's the combination.
Hypothetically, I would as a parent be bitterly disappointed if rams went to the extent Finley have to dispute a contract especially based on these circumstances. What does that tell my son about first honouring contracts, second your clubs view on drug use and third respect for another club.

That said I can understand maybe the need for him to be elsewhere. So go to Finley but I would have liked Finley to show respect for contracts also and tell him he was more than welcome to be at the club train whatever but we won't be contesting the contract. The charges just makes by opinion even firmer as I would like that message sent loud and clear.

Yes there are circumstances but I thought his wishes could have been met to a degree but the greater message that club contracts should be honoured also met. The drug charges made my opinion even stronger and in my opinion clubs needed to be even tougher to meet that.

A couple of good messages could have been sent.

Because...

Are the contracts legally done by a lawyer ? Do rovers have to pay money to player even though he has left the club ?

This is what we don't want!!!

Before I respond is that a serious question?

You are obviously close to he coal face of this problem,the questions are serious because I have been involved with plenty of footy contracts that just stand up in the courts

What about the
You are obviously close to he coal face of this problem,the questions are serious because I have been involved with plenty of footy contracts that just stand up in the courts

What about the fact that other players would have to stand out that are currently playing for the player to have been able to fullfill the contract ???

What about "woulilietoyou" saying that while being held to the contract the player would not of been played due to sponsor backlash.

I'm done with this issue because only a fool argues with fools

I think you find the bloke you are refering to isn't charged with dealing. But besides the point. Rovers wanted Smally playing for them, they were willing to full fill their commitment and help the kid out. That's my point.
Ive had my say. It just gets me a little that players (and not just in this case) are happy to put their hand out for money but don't appreciate the responsibility of being an employee of the footy club. Some of these players just think its fee money for having a kick of footy. When there is a bit more a stake from the clubs point of view.

would indicate that POTENTIALLY the club has employed the wrong player

What about the

What about the fact that other players would have to stand out that are currently playing for the player to have been able to fullfill the contract ???

What about "woulilietoyou" saying that while being held to the contract the player would not of been played due to sponsor backlash.

I'm done with this issue because only a fool argues with fools
Yes Bigkev there are issues everywhere. It could be worse. Managing footballers is one thing. Imagine those poor pricks trying to manage netballers........

would indicate that POTENTIALLY the club has employed the wrong player
Toxic your exactly right. If this particular player was a so so player there would be no problem. The fact he is a gun and paid it only makes sense there will be problems. There never seems to be problems with the 15th or 16th player of your side that turns up and trains his heart out week after week, its only the good ones that cause clubs head aches.

Haha, na mate, just trying to keep up with current events. Not to stir the pot, but just on the Finley recruit in question (no idea who he is) does he have family ties with the club?
As far as rumba recruits go Im pretty sure most are coming back to the club, and 1 new comer. I don't like it but, I think clearances should close a lot earlier, and players should have to honour contracts unless there's understandable circumstances other then "I received a better offer". But that's just my personal opinion.

Whoa wee, pretty pumped for the match this weekend against the Cats, we've been hit with injuries, but we won't use that as excuses and are goin in to it to win!!!! Tipping by about 3 goals (hopefully).

Our coach is very wary of Finley, saying they don't have a weak link across the whole ground.
The only REALLY SHITTY POINT to the lead up to this round is the council barring teams from using the ovals due to the rain- what other teams have copped this? And what are some of the alternatives clubs have sourced?
But when are you going to let us know about your new recruit....last years best and fairest winner........

Yes Bigkev there are issues everywhere. It could be worse. Managing footballers is one thing. Imagine those poor pricks trying to manage netballers........

Yeah 60 plus like me bigkev imagine that!! :eek::eek:
But yeah Mac those top echelon of players are a team managers worst nightmare don't I know that!! ;):D:D

But when are you going to let us know about your new recruit....last years best and fairest winner........

Mate I've learnt my lesson about speaking too soon ;)

But on a sadder note, I finally looked up jerilderi on a map.......... WTF IS THAT ABOUT???? Surely they could of found a venue closer to Victoria?????????!!!! Talk about a home ground advantage. i havent had to do a trip like that since the CGFL........Don't get me wrong we'll play them on a cow paddock if we had to, but f$&k me that's a long way away...... Do they still play under the same rules up there!!!!! F$&k it just give finley the points and we'll all have a good sleep in! (Ps, I'm only complaining because I gotta leave early to get my daughter to the unders netball!!)

A
Mate I've learnt my lesson about speaking too soon ;)

But on a sadder note, I finally looked up jerilderi on a map.......... WTF IS THAT ABOUT???? Surely they could of found a venue closer to Victoria?????????!!!! Talk about a home ground advantage. i havent had to do a trip like that since the CGFL........Don't get me wrong we'll play them on a cow paddock if we had to, but f$&k me that's a long way away...... Do they still play under the same rules up there!!!!! F$&k it just give finley the points and we'll all have a good sleep in! (Ps, I'm only complaining because I gotta leave early to get my daughter to the unders netball!!)

It's only another 20 minutes from Finley and is a good set up.

The Cats havnt had a home ground advantage yet this year ;) lol look out when they get home though.

Sides looking strong only 4 missing from what is probably considered there strongest side.

A

It's only another 20 minutes from Finley and is a good set up.

The Cats havnt had a home ground advantage yet this year ;) lol look out when they get home though.

Sides looking strong only 4 missing from what is probably considered there strongest side.
Finley looked impressive in wet and windy they like a closed in game, but rumba were impressive when it was dry and open. Finley have 4 possibly out of best side but rumba have a few missing also. Finley still have to keep improving if have any chance of breaking long drought. Deni at deni in three weeks will there biggest test especially if dry

Finley were too good for us yesterday. Take nothing away from them they got the points and deserved them. But i dont think it was a case of either team being "better" then the other. both teams i think were very evenly matched. But I think both teams adapted to the conditions fairly well, Finley just capitalise on our silly free kicks, and we fell away badly due to injuries.
Not sure how many we have to come back in but we got confidence from knowing we got so close even though we were so undermanned.
The travel played a factor as well, it might not haw been their home ground but it was definitely a home ground advantage for them.
All in all it was a horrible day, cold, wet, windy and long.

What's the go with the changes to the MFL site (sporting pulse) I can't clink on any of the games to see who kicked goals/ got in the bests!?!?

Glad it wasn't just me?? Apparently the app hasn't changed?
It's sporting pulse picola league has changed as well.

Click on match centre

Been having a quick look through the rest of the draw and who supposedly gets 'easy' games. Whilst i think the bottom four teams, can and will (except Cobram) have a major say on who makes finals. You would expect teams vying for a finals spot to beat them. So saying that, Finley,Rumba,Mulwala and Barooga play all four bottom teams again. This should guarantee them (except Barooga) a good finals position. Next Echuca United and Nathalia play three of these teams. Whilst Deni and Moama only play one of these teams again, making their road to finals pretty tough. Thats not necessarily a bad thing but any drop in form will cost teams dearly and there could be big rewards for any team that gets a run on.
I think the comp this year is the most even ive seen in my last eleven years of involvement. Its a pity when the comp is like this that all teams dont get to play each other twice. Anyway looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds. Go Rams !

Been having a quick look through the rest of the draw and who supposedly gets 'easy' games. Whilst i think the bottom four teams, can and will (except Cobram) have a major say on who makes finals. You would expect teams vying for a finals spot to beat them. So saying that, Finley,Rumba,Mulwala and Barooga play all four bottom teams again. This should guarantee them (except Barooga) a good finals position. Next Echuca United and Nathalia play three of these teams. Whilst Deni and Moama only play one of these teams again, making their road to finals pretty tough. Thats not necessarily a bad thing but any drop in form will cost teams dearly and there could be big rewards for any team that gets a run on.
I think the comp this year is the most even ive seen in my last eleven years of involvement. Its a pity when the comp is like this that all teams dont get to play each other twice. Anyway looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds. Go Rams !

Anyone want to pick a final top 6. Should be interesting.

I'll go:
1: Echuca
2: Finley
3: Rumba
4: Mulwala
5: Barooga
6: Nathalia

And a ripper finals series

Anyone want to pick a final top 6. Should be interesting.

I'll go:
1: Echuca
2: Finley
3: Rumba
4: Mulwala
5: Barooga
6: Nathalia

And a ripper finals series
I'll go with echuca ,Finley ,deniliquin, rumba ,barooga, mulwala, my thinking deni will make it league medallist back in their line up , but I will tell you more after Finley play them in two weeks

Round 12 5th July 2014
Finley v Numurkah 70 points
Rumbalara v Congupna 40
Nathalia v Cobram 150 points
Mulwala v Deniliquin 22
Barooga v Moama 5 points
Sunday 6th July
Echuca United
v Tongala 60

Although I hope moama get up

I see that rumba have added a few boys before clearances closed. Ex bnf Levi power, Dylan Kerr, Edward Darcy (ex essendon, current NFL player) and Jayden Lovett. Goodgolly, how is brad dicks knee?

Yeah Dicky's knee isn't good unfortunately. I'm not 100% what damage he's done, but it's a couple of ligaments and he's gone for the rest of the season at the very least.
I don't know if Jayden Lovett will get a look in something to do with a disagreement at his last club, and I've never met Edward Darcy, I wouldn't have brought him in and I don't agree with having him play if he does. Levi's moved back to the area and Dylan was chased to boost the on baller stocks. Things are starting to get fairly tense around the senior group, particularly because of the "late" inclusions..... Not quiet the way I would of done it, but I'll wait and see