• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Murray Football League (Part 1)

Re: Murray Football League

had a flick thru todays pastoral times (deni's local rag) and was interested by this letter on the back page:

Sir,
May I through your newspaper express how disgusted I was at the behaviour of a visiting football club at the weekend.

As a visitor to Deniliquin, my family and I thought we would go along to see the local team, the Rams, compete against Rumbalara.

Rather than seeing a good display of sportsmanship, I watched as a young man was elbowed in the face and knocked to the ground by a Rumbalara opponent.

In the next game (I think it was the firsts), I watched in disgust as a Rumbalara player jumped on the leg of a man who lay injured on the field.

If that wasn't enough, my own children were accosted by a group of visiting youths, who threw rocks and what appeared to be tiles, at them.

I won't even go into the shocking display of umpiring.

Were the umpires from Rumbalara or were they simply intimidated by a very physical side?

Disgusting! I certainly hope that the Deniliquin Rams Football Club takes some sort of action against Rumbalara for their disgraceful display on and off the football field.

They should be banned, or at least severely fined for their lack of respect for fellow footballers and the clubrooms of teams they visit.

Shame on you Rumbalara, and well done to Deni for playing with honour against some pathetic excuses for sportsmen.

Yours etc,

S Mackey

what are people's thoughts on this? pretty scathing attack on the rumba footy club.

OUCH!!
I must be missing something. . . . Because i was playing i guess i had a touch of tunnel vision, so i dare say the best prospective would come from a third party just watching. But surely the senior game wasn't as "bad" as this bloke make it out to be. . . .Was it??(ringo if you weren't playing i reckon you might have a bit to say??)

I never saw the incident in the two's so i can't comment on it. But as for our kid's I don't think their as bad as this letter points out. I'd just like to point out that our club doesn't condon this sort of behaviour at all and it is quite embarrasing to have us implicated like that but because of our wide spread supporter base, we (or any other club for that matter) shouldn't be hung out to dry for the actions of individuals that haven't/can't been readily identified as active club members But had this really happened and I saw it, and these "visitors" were infact part of our club, rest assured they would be swiftly punished!

OUCH!!
I must be missing something. . . . Because i was playing i guess i had a touch of tunnel vision, so i dare say the best prospective would come from a third party just watching. But surely the senior game wasn't as "bad" as this bloke make it out to be. . . .Was it??(ringo if you weren't playing i reckon you might have a bit to say??)

I never saw the incident in the two's so i can't comment on it. But as for our kid's I don't think their as bad as this letter points out. I'd just like to point out that our club doesn't condon this sort of behaviour at all and it is quite embarrasing to have us implicated like that but because of our wide spread supporter base, we (or any other club for that matter) shouldn't be hung out to dry for the actions of individuals that haven't/can't been readily identified as active club members But had this really happened and I saw it, and these "visitors" were infact part of our club, rest assured they would be swiftly punished!

Mate can't help as I was'nt there I just think we've only heard of a complaint from one person so its a bit harsh to make assumptions from that. If there were heaps of letters etc then it is a different scenario. perhaps this writer of the letter had a bad day!

a few thoughts.

1) Mackey is not a very comon surname but there are several Mackey's in Deniliquin, so the idea that the writer is somehow a disinterested third party from melbourne is questionable. Probably an ex-local or a relative of a local who has an issue with Rumba being in the MFL. how would this disinterested third party know about how rumbalara might have treated the deni club rooms, what is s mackey refering to here anyway?

2) since when has physicality on the football field been grounds for a club being banned? if any incident was outside the rules a player would be reported and the matter would be dealt with by the tribunal, just like any other team. I assume the Deni players are all angels out on the footy field.

3) as for kids fighting or doing stupid things like throw rocks at each other i am sure that this aleged incident would be a first at a country footy game, and that all clubs are responsible for the actions of anyone from their home towns/comunities.

any incident needs to be dealt with on its merits, these generalisations about Rumba are a tired old chestnut that i though we had all moved on from...

a few thoughts.

1) Mackey is not a very comon surname but there are several Mackey's in Deniliquin, so the idea that the writer is somehow a disinterested third party from melbourne is questionable. Probably an ex-local or a relative of a local who has an issue with Rumba being in the MFL. how would this disinterested third party know about how rumbalara might have treated the deni club rooms, what is s mackey refering to here anyway?

2) since when has physicality on the football field been grounds for a club being banned? if any incident was outside the rules a player would be reported and the matter would be dealt with by the tribunal, just like any other team. I assume the Deni players are all angels out on the footy field.

3) as for kids fighting or doing stupid things like throw rocks at each other i am sure that this aleged incident would be a first at a country footy game, and that all clubs are responsible for the actions of anyone from their home towns/comunities.

any incident needs to be dealt with on its merits, these generalisations about Rumba are a tired old chestnut that i though we had all moved on from...

Good comment:thumbsu:

Word is that a meeting took place between the MFL ,VCFL & Rumbalara FC
yesterday (Thurs.)

yeah right, i think if there was a meeting between rumba, mfl and vcfl i would know for sure and any other coach from the club would know of any such complaint.

had a flick thru todays pastoral times (deni's local rag) and was interested by this letter on the back page:

Sir,
May I through your newspaper express how disgusted I was at the behaviour of a visiting football club at the weekend.

As a visitor to Deniliquin, my family and I thought we would go along to see the local team, the Rams, compete against Rumbalara.

Rather than seeing a good display of sportsmanship, I watched as a young man was elbowed in the face and knocked to the ground by a Rumbalara opponent.

In the next game (I think it was the firsts) nah it was club 18 you fool, I watched in disgust as a Rumbalara player jumped on the leg of a man who lay injured on the field. this is a good one. yeah right, if anyone had done this why weren't they reported or a complaint put in from denny?

If that wasn't enough, my own children were accosted by a group of visiting youths, who threw rocks and what appeared to be tiles, at them. bring out this old chestnut and blame the kids, as they are usually soft targets of a person clutching at straws. the fourths and thirds kids had left straight after the 2's on a bus back to shepparton.

I won't even go into the shocking display of umpiring. the rams had more free kicks than us and from memory our runner didn't man handle any players from the rams.

Were the umpires from Rumbalara or were they simply intimidated by a very physical side? how were we physical? we are a running side, anybody that has played us this year will testify to this and we are far from being a threatening and intimidating side.

Disgusting! I certainly hope that the Deniliquin Rams Football Club takes some sort of action against Rumbalara for their disgraceful display on and off the football field. i know that i heard a denny supporter directly behind the visitors coaches boxes being very abusive and as soon as he started swearing, people moved away from him.

They should be banned, or at least severely fined for their lack of respect for fellow footballers and the clubrooms of teams they visit.
at least we bothered to go into there social rooms and have a beer or 2 and we left there change rooms clean.

Shame on you Rumbalara, and well done to Deni for playing with honour against some pathetic excuses for sportsmen.
a very poor sore loser me thinks, i am sure that the person who wrote this dribble has nothing better to do with there time. i am sure that there from melbourne.
Yours etc,

S Mackey

what are people's thoughts on this? pretty scathing attack on the rumba footy club.

I am sure that we will be definately writing a counter letter to these false accusations. i am sure that the club would have no problems driving to deniliquin, i mean melbourne to meet with the phantom writer of this letter.

Might stay out of this one!! I think you would need to hear from others at the game and then make comment. Its hard to make assumptions on one letter

to tuckylives maybe instead of [FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Criticizeing maybe take a look at how your other club members have approached this.This letter was obviously written for a reason expecially into a newspaper.
unfortunately one person cant see what happens around the ground/on the field the whole time and i mean no one.
Rather than seeing a good display of sportsmanship, I watched as a young man was elbowed in the face and knocked to the ground by a Rumbalara opponent. you didnt comment
In the next game (I think it was the firsts) nah it was club 18 you fool, I watched in disgust as a Rumbalara player jumped on the leg of a man who lay injured on the field. this is a good one. yeah right, if anyone had done this why weren't they reported or a complaint put in from denny?Unfortunatly some things are amiss on football fields and not all things are seen by players that are seen by spectators.
If that wasn't enough, my own children were accosted by a group of visiting youths, who threw rocks and what appeared to be tiles, at them. bring out this old chestnut and blame the kids, as they are usually soft targets of a person clutching at straws. the fourths and thirds kids had left straight after the 2's on a bus back to shepparton.He never accused your 3rds and 4ths directly you can't account for all the other children that attended your match
I won't even go into the shocking display of umpiring. the rams had more free kicks than us and from memory our runner didn't man handle any players from the rams.Of course you would say that rams prob think you had more than them?
Were the umpires from Rumbalara or were they simply intimidated by a very physical side? how were we physical? we are a running side, anybody that has played us this year will testify to this and we are far from being a threatening and intimidating side.
Every side is intimidating it only takes a couple of players just take it on the chin.
Disgusting! I certainly hope that the Deniliquin Rams Football Club takes some sort of action against Rumbalara for their disgraceful display on and off the football field. i know that i heard a denny supporter directly behind the visitors coaches boxes being very abusive and as soon as he started swearing, people moved away from him.You are just as bad as the Author in this answer. pointing the finger just as bad as each other.
at least we bothered to go into there social rooms and have a beer or 2 and we left there change rooms clean.I would expect you to leave the change rooms clean as far as going in for a drink it was your choice? i say a good choice but stupid answer
a very poor sore loser me thinks, i am sure that the person who wrote this dribble has nothing better to do with there time. i am sure that there from melbourne.Maybe this is a concerned parent who dosn't like the shit that happens at football matches now days i have been going to football matches for many years and now days its disgusting .i have children and some of the crap that goes on is embarassing for our game its just not your league its others aswell.

[/FONT]

This could be a significant day for season 08. Nathalia beaten by Rumba and Barooga defeated by Moama! Is the tide turning? Also the Tonny boys go 3-1 and maybe a finals chance

to tuckylives maybe instead of [FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Criticizeing maybe take a look at how your other club members have approached this.This letter was obviously written for a reason expecially into a newspaper.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']unfortunately one person cant see what happens around the ground/on the field the whole time and i mean no one. [/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Rather than seeing a good display of sportsmanship, I watched as a young man was elbowed in the face and knocked to the ground by a Rumbalara opponent. you didnt comment [/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']In the next game (I think it was the firsts) nah it was club 18 you fool, I watched in disgust as a Rumbalara player jumped on the leg of a man who lay injured on the field. this is a good one. yeah right, if anyone had done this why weren't they reported or a complaint put in from denny?Unfortunatly some things are amiss on football fields and not all things are seen by players that are seen by spectators.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']If that wasn't enough, my own children were accosted by a group of visiting youths, who threw rocks and what appeared to be tiles, at them. bring out this old chestnut and blame the kids, as they are usually soft targets of a person clutching at straws. the fourths and thirds kids had left straight after the 2's on a bus back to shepparton.He never accused your 3rds and 4ths directly you can't account for all the other children that attended your match[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']I won't even go into the shocking display of umpiring. the rams had more free kicks than us and from memory our runner didn't man handle any players from the rams.Of course you would say that rams prob think you had more than them?[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Were the umpires from Rumbalara or were they simply intimidated by a very physical side? how were we physical? we are a running side, anybody that has played us this year will testify to this and we are far from being a threatening and intimidating side.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Every side is intimidating it only takes a couple of players just take it on the chin.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Disgusting! I certainly hope that the Deniliquin Rams Football Club takes some sort of action against Rumbalara for their disgraceful display on and off the football field. i know that i heard a denny supporter directly behind the visitors coaches boxes being very abusive and as soon as he started swearing, people moved away from him.You are just as bad as the Author in this answer. pointing the finger just as bad as each other.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']They should be banned, or at least severely fined for their lack of respect for fellow footballers and the clubrooms of teams they visit.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']at least we bothered to go into there social rooms and have a beer or 2 and we left there change rooms clean.I would expect you to leave the change rooms clean as far as going in for a drink it was your choice? i say a good choice but stupid answer[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Shame on you Rumbalara, and well done to Deni for playing with honour against some pathetic excuses for sportsmen.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']a very poor sore loser me thinks, i am sure that the person who wrote this dribble has nothing better to do with there time. i am sure that there from melbourne.Maybe this is a concerned parent who dosn't like the shit that happens at football matches now days i have been going to football matches for many years and now days its disgusting .i have children and some of the crap that goes on is embarassing for our game its just not your league its others aswell.[/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif'][/font]
[FONT='Calibri','sans-serif'] [/font]
well tucky didn't write the response i did!
well writing to a local paper to try and attack a foty club is very low, considering some of the comments that we have got from rival clubs this year and yes from supporters directed at the kids which is quiet low.

didn't see the elbow, but seen the guy come off the ground and i am sure that it will be dealt wth.

so your saying that the guy who was ALLEGEDLY jumped on by a rumba player was missed by all? well i can tell you that unless you have some kind of evidence or footage/witness, this is a load of crap unless any such evidence can be produced.

well how do you know that it was a HE that wrote the concocted story of dribble and lies? kids are kids and ALL kids give as good as they get and i am sure that the little denny kids ain't exactly angels.

we do a free kick count during the course of the mactch and they were ahead by about 8 or 9 from memory, so that is a fact.

how were we any more intimidating than denny?like i said earlier, a player of ours was manhandled by the DENNY RUNNER and was witnessed by many at the game and the umpires done nothing about it. maybe we should do a denny and write into the shepp news complaining about such behviour and something maybe done about it.

well we have many incidents were clubs leave our change rooms in a state and we don't go to the LOCAL RAG crying about it. how is it a stupid answer? at least we show respect, more than i can about your mob!

maybe the article as written by a denny supporter or committee member who didn't like losing to rumba. my oath it happens in other leagues and alot worse than what ALLEGEDLY happened up there.

i was told that moving back to the country was like going back in time, but i didn't think this far back, oh gee isn't ignorance bliss.

thank god for once in his life ringo speaking some sense,
the deni rumba crap will be sorted out by the league if their is any substance in it.
Shoudnt we be talking about rumb and moama's wins
a breath of fresh air in the competition or the first time in about three years.
im excited ringo!!:):thumbsu:

awesome results for the league on the whole. congrats moama for knocking off barooga - surely finals bound now. they've really turned it around under shannon keam and good to see they are getting rewards.

and rumba what can you say - they're fair dinkum now.

so get talking. best players, did the girls win a grade? was it a tight game...

to tuckylives maybe instead of [FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']Criticizeing maybe take a look at how your other club members have approached this.This letter was obviously written for a reason expecially into a newspaper.
unfortunately one person cant see what happens around the ground/on the field the whole time and i mean no one.
Rather than seeing a good display of sportsmanship, I watched as a young man was elbowed in the face and knocked to the ground by a Rumbalara opponent. you didnt comment
In the next game (I think it was the firsts) nah it was club 18 you fool, I watched in disgust as a Rumbalara player jumped on the leg of a man who lay injured on the field. this is a good one. yeah right, if anyone had done this why weren't they reported or a complaint put in from denny?Unfortunatly some things are amiss on football fields and not all things are seen by players that are seen by spectators.
If that wasn't enough, my own children were accosted by a group of visiting youths, who threw rocks and what appeared to be tiles, at them. bring out this old chestnut and blame the kids, as they are usually soft targets of a person clutching at straws. the fourths and thirds kids had left straight after the 2's on a bus back to shepparton.He never accused your 3rds and 4ths directly you can't account for all the other children that attended your match
I won't even go into the shocking display of umpiring. the rams had more free kicks than us and from memory our runner didn't man handle any players from the rams.Of course you would say that rams prob think you had more than them?
Every side is intimidating it only takes a couple of players just take it on the chin.
Disgusting! I certainly hope that the Deniliquin Rams Football Club takes some sort of action against Rumbalara for their disgraceful display on and off the football field. i know that i heard a denny supporter directly behind the visitors coaches boxes being very abusive and as soon as he started swearing, people moved away from him.You are just as bad as the Author in this answer. pointing the finger just as bad as each other.
at least we bothered to go into there social rooms and have a beer or 2 and we left there change rooms clean.I would expect you to leave the change rooms clean as far as going in for a drink it was your choice? i say a good choice but stupid answer
a very poor sore loser me thinks, i am sure that the person who wrote this dribble has nothing better to do with there time. i am sure that there from melbourne.Maybe this is a concerned parent who dosn't like the shit that happens at football matches now days i have been going to football matches for many years and now days its disgusting .i have children and some of the crap that goes on is embarassing for our game its just not your league its others aswell.

[/FONT]
hey hey hey i didn't write that!!! if you're implying that im from the deni rams footy club, i'm not. i just put the letter on here to generate a bit of conversation and debate, not to cause trouble between the two clubs and/or the league. just thought it would be fair to hear rumba's side of the story.

so get talking. best players, did the girls win a grade? was it a tight game...

we (rumba) started of very slow going into the wind, Purples got a 4 to 1 goal lead on us by quarter time of memory. I think we kicked 5 unanswered in the second by memory (i'm still pissed so could be mistaken). Unfortunetly it was kinda all down hill for Nathalia from about the second quarter. Our tackling, chasing, foot skills and leg speed all picked up and nathalia kinda fell apart. Their skill errors were very costly for them, they got the fumbles and started wondering were the next "hit" was coming from. I can't remember who our best were, it would have been fairly hard to pick them because with 5-6 players out of our strongest side, everybody pulled their own weight. . . . . Not like the Rumba of yester year. Very proud of our team at the moment.

Although Nathalia was beaten, i reckon they'll bounce back. All good teams do.
Nathan Gemmil clearly best on for Nathalia in my opinion. He's an absolute freak and never stop trying all day.
They sustained 3 fairly big injuries Marc Quarral did his hammyin the 4th. Ash Gemmil f#$%ed one of his legs and didn't play the second half. And Parker was missing most of the day aswell.

And although we didn't cop any injuries, as i said earlier we've still got afew key players to come back in including our Captain and bendigo bombers players. . . . .I'd hate to be on the selection table this week!!!

What were the scores/stories from the rest of the round??

hey hey hey i didn't write that!!! if you're implying that im from the deni rams footy club, i'm not. i just put the letter on here to generate a bit of conversation and debate, not to cause trouble between the two clubs and/or the league. just thought it would be fair to hear rumba's side of the story.

she's right mate. I for one am glad you put it on, because i/we wouldn't have heard about it other wise, and it's better to know then to not:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
But i think it's all bullshit and the bloke that wrote that letter is full of it.

But lets move on now because i'm on a high. . . . .We're sitting two games clear on top of the ladder!!@@#$@#
Barooga at barooga will be a great test for us. I hope we can stick it to them up there!

she's right mate. I for one am glad you put it on, because i/we wouldn't have heard about it other wise, and it's better to know then to not:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
But i think it's all bullshit and the bloke that wrote that letter is full of it.

But lets move on now because i'm on a high. . . . .We're sitting two games clear on top of the ladder!!@@#$@#
Barooga at barooga will be a great test for us. I hope we can stick it to them up there!

Woo up Goodgolly24, think you might be only one game clear of Moama and technically four other sides who have had byes and only the one loss.
But awesome win for you blokes and it sounds like you are lapping it up. All the feedback is that you did a decent pre-season for the first time and you are now paying dividends.
Hasn't the premiership race just widened right up now, still think the four sides that played each other yesterday(Moama, Barooga, Rumba, Nathalia) will fill the top4 spots and the rest of us will be fighting tooth and nail to sneak into 5th and 6th.

Woo up Goodgolly24, think you might be only one game clear of Moama and technically four other sides who have had byes and only the one loss.
But awesome win for you blokes and it sounds like you are lapping it up. All the feedback is that you did a decent pre-season for the first time and you are now paying dividends.
Hasn't the premiership race just widened right up now, still think the four sides that played each other yesterday(Moama, Barooga, Rumba, Nathalia) will fill the top4 spots and the rest of us will be fighting tooth and nail to sneak into 5th and 6th.

leave me alone hank. . . . . .ha ha ha haWhen this hangover wears off i might agree with you (about games clear) but right now two sound's better to me(lol). . . . so stop messin up my chi, and we'll sort out the techni. . . . everything else later:D:p:D:D

Go Rumba!!

leave me alone hank. . . . . .ha ha ha haWhen this hangover wears off i might agree with you (about games clear) but right now two sound's better to me(lol). . . . so stop messin up my chi, and we'll sort out the techni. . . . everything else later:D:p:D:D

Go Rumba!!

Hahaha, all sounds good, don't worry about the hangover just have a solid sundy sesh and you'll all be the better for it, surely you owe it to yourself!

no worries buddy. i nearly fell off my chair when i heard that you guys had beaten the purps and moama had carved up barooga. great stuff for the competition. really throws things around and makes everything much more interesting. thing is though, the ladder at the moment looks like an upside down version compared to last year hahaha.
don't over-do the celebration though. most certainly celebrate, but remember it's only one game, just keep it up.
next week add corey wanganeen and rexy taylor to the team: watch out barooga!!

thank god for once in his life ringo speaking some sense,
the deni rumba crap will be sorted out by the league if their is any substance in it.
Shoudnt we be talking about rumb and moama's wins
a breath of fresh air in the competition or the first time in about three years.
im excited ringo!!:):thumbsu:

James Hirdy I believe that your submissions on this sight depend on 2 brains not one, How could u alone read and then write?? Yes great for the comp and could enliven what was looking like a drab season. :thumbsu:look forward to catching up soon when I'm up ur way

how did tom sheldon for moama go agaisnt baraoga? he came back from port melbourne this week
Yeah not too bad. Moves well and gave our blokes some headaches. Wasn't in the program so had to ask some of the Mower thirds as to who No. 2 was? Whyman had a great game (although got well looked after by the umps early). Took a great contested mark with two Hawks bearing down on him. Also impressed with Sleight's game. Gave them heaps of run through the midfield / back. Lobb was good and Harrison played a terrific game across half back. Our boys were extremely disappointing, with their skill level, especially by foot, terrible! Coming up against a rampant Rumba will certainly test their mettle. I think we got a big wake-up call yesterday, so we'll see how the team responds????? Big round of MFL footy gave up some very interesting, and perhaps season defining, results! Game on for everyone!!!!!;););)

Hahaha, all sounds good, don't worry about the hangover just have a solid sundy sesh and you'll all be the better for it, surely you owe it to yourself!

Well done Hank on the Tonnie boys with another win. Did Me mate Townsend sneak the 3 votes on Saturday or did Souts or u have a day out? Good to see our ones give Mooroopna a run for their money for 3 and a bit quaters..our closest margin for the year! Hard to believe that The cats were up 10 goals to 4 at the 7 min mark of the 3rd quarter. Final score 26 goals to 5! Cats for premiers 08 i think.....:D:D