Muzzas

OK I was there (from late in the first quarter, anyway)

Very good game by the MKs, overpowering early Blue challenges.
They were down early in the third, but managed to get to a ten point lead by the final change.

Then in the last quarter they piled on the goals.

BOG would have been Shannon Motlop, who played well all game. He was brilliant off a wing and kicked two lovely goals on the run in the final term.

Junior had a great last term as well, kicking three goals. He was isolated in the goal square for that quarter, and appeared unbeatable in the air, taking several strong marks.

Another to put his hand up was Drew. While he looked ordinary early, when he was moved to the forward line he was very strong, kicking several goals and taking the mark of the day running with the flight of the ball in the last.

Shannon Watt did a strong job on Lindsay Smith, while Watson, Sofi and McLaren provided plenty of run.

I'll log on again later in case anyone has specific questions...

Did Jnr get any goals prior to his 3 in hte last qtr?
Do you think he done enough to get a recall? (Possibly for Cochrane who played a ****e game against Carlton with 1 kick) I wonder how Jnr would go isolated in the goalsquare in the snrs..

How did Jonesy go?

And How did Crowey go?

Also, do u think S.Motlop done enough to get a game?

Go Roos
(Would love to see the Motlop Men get a go at the same time:D:D)

Qtr 1
Qtr 2
Qtr 3
Final

2 . 3
8 . 5
9 . 9
10 . 12 . 72

Murray Kangaroos
3 . 7
6 . 14
10 . 17
16 . 20 . 116

I was there.

Motlop x2 and Drew Petrie clinic. Absolute clinic.

I have calmed down from earlier this week, but it is crap that Petrie didn't play yesterday. He worked his arse off today, rucked for long periods, drifted forward and went nuts.

Corey Jones was our best in the 1st half, but the brothers and Petrie finished came home really hard. Shannon has to play next week.

Daniel and Drew showed they don't belong at that level, with JNR doing as he pleased most of the time. His defensive pressure was the best I have seen from him in VFL games, and it paid off. Went to FF, and did it with ridiculous ease. No more VFL games Denis.

Petrie was quite early, but played like a bloke who thought he didn't deserve to be dropped. Chases and tackles like a 200cm metre Stevo, so the "three ruckman" theory carries absolutely no weight with me. He would be one of the most commited chases and tacklers on the list.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
I was there.

I have calmed down from earlier this week, but it is crap that Petrie didn't play yesterday. He worked his arse off today, rucked for long periods, drifted forward and went nuts.

Corey Jones was our best in the 1st half, but the brothers and Petrie finished came home really hard. Shannon has to play next week.

Daniel and Drew showed they don't belong at that level, with JNR doing as he pleased most of the time. His defensive pressure was the best I have seen from him in VFL games, and it paid off. Went to FF, and did it with ridiculous ease. No more VFL games Denis.

Petrie was quite early, but played like a bloke who thought he didn't deserve to be dropped. Chases and tackles like a 200cm metre Stevo, so the "three ruckman" theory carries absolutely no weight with me. He would be one of the most commited chases and tacklers on the list.

BRILLIANT!

How'd Crowe go?

GO ROOS

VFL LADDER

Club P W L D Pts For Pts Agst % Points
Geelong 19 16 3 0 2005 1323 151.55 64
Werribee 19 15 4 0 2143 1397 153.40 60
Coburg Tigers 19 15 4 0 1936 1412 137.11 60
Port Melbourne 19 13 6 0 1969 1688 116.65 52
Box Hill Hawks 19 11 7 1 2120 1694 125.15 46
Murray Kangaroos 19 10 8 1 1954 1834 106.54 42
Williamstown 19 10 9 0 1865 1744 106.94 40
Sandringham 19 10 9 0 1739 1640 106.04 40

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Carlton 19 10 9 0 1732 1717 100.87 40
Springvale 19 9 10 0 1577 1616 97.59 36
Essendon 19 9 10 0 1996 2060 96.89 36
Tasmania 19 8 10 1 1676 1859 90.16 34
Northern Bullants 19 6 13 0 1770 1957 90.44 24
North Ballarat 19 4 15 0 1359 1964 69.20 16
Frankston 19 4 15 0 1470 2132 68.95 16
Bendigo Diggers 19 0 18 1 1182 2456 48.13 2

MK's now poised to make finals as 9th placed Carlton plays 2nd placed Weribee

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
I was there.

I was about to post a review on behalf of Carlos who rang me after the MKs game, but you've pretty much said what he's said. Thanx champ, you've saved me 10 minutes. :D

Comments yesterday from Pagan suggested he favoured the inclusion of Jones in the seniors next week - I imagine his performance today would have just about sealed it.

Any other changes for next week, based on the performances of D & S Motlop and Petrie today, and on the poor form or limited use of Cochrane, McCartney, Blakey, Harding and Smith yesterday?

My team next week would be..

FB: Sinclair, McCartney, Archer
HB: Teague, Colbert, S.Motlop
C: King, Harvey, Makepeace
HF: Jones, Morrell, Grant
FF: Harding, Petrie, Pickett
R: Porter, Simpson, Robbins

I: Rawlings, Smith, Burton, D.Motlop

In: S.Motlop, D.Motlop, Petrie, Jones
Out: Martyn, Blakey, Rocca (inj), Cochrane

Bringing in lots of run, less experience, more flair, longer futures. It is a rather short team, especially in the forwardline, but we need to utilise more run and get more run through the midfield, and if we have more forwards who can play further back the better, can't out run them, but we can have more options through the middle, with next years team looking more like this

FB: Sinclair, McCartney, Archer
HB: Teague, Colbert, S.Motlop
C: Pickett, Harvey, Makepeace
HF: Jones, Morrell, Grant
FF: Harding, Rocca, Petrie
R: Porter, Simpson, Robbins

I: Rawlings, Smith, Watt, D.Motlop

That's such a HUGE win for the club. Not only did the guys who were in contention stand up and make a claim, we now look like playing finals. I think it was Walshy who was talking during the week how important it is for the Muzzas to being playing finals for our senior side. Great win Muzzas!

Tashi, Crowe was fairly quiet, playing at full back. Didn't do much wrong, but didn't star either. He is probably starting to feel tired at the end of a long season.

Harris was strangely subdued too, which could be attributable to his back injury. He looked like he was working hard, but just wasn't getting to the ball the way he does when in form.

Shannon Motlop looked like he belonged in another league, and would definitely be putting his hand up for a recall.

Jones was good too, but mainly in the first half. Was probably struggling a bit for match fitness.

I think either Petrie or Jones will be named for Rocca, with the other a bit stiff.

Shannon Motlop will probably be named for Cochrane, while Junior will probably just miss, given that Dylan did reasonably well when given a chance on Sat.

I think Jnr and Petrie will come in (Both kicked 4 goals; McCartney kicked 4 goals the week before he came back; the same for Blakey)

Jones will prob come in as well..

And S.Motlop better come in.. or I think some people will be majorly pi**ed off..

Well its hard to star from FB..

Go Roos

Was a very entertaining performance by the boys. Was so refreshing to see a team wearing blue and white actually finish off their opposition.

Drew Petrie BOG for mine. I missed mosy of the the first quarter so cant comment there, but from there on in he rucked well, chased like a mad man and looked genuinly angry and aggressive all day. When he went forward i had to remind myself that this bloke is 198cm's with the way he moved. He HAS to come in for Rocca. Lead well, dominated in the air, took control of the forward 50 when he was there and looked a genuine forward. 4 goals was just the half of it people.

Daniel Motlop continues to fascinate. It is ridiculous how easy this bloke can make it look sometimes. Kicked 4 and as NorthBhoy commented, half the time he had the look of a bloke who just got out of bed on his way to a have his early morning slash! At times it was pure Harlem Globetrotter stuff, making an absolute mockery of the opposition and even his team mates at times with some inventive in close work and handballing. Other times he looked bored, such was the ease with which he was doing it all. Once again, 4 goals was only the half of it in regards to his overall game.

Shannon obviously was getting sick of our rapturous laughter everytime his brother put on one of his many exhibitions for the day and showed that he is just as capable of making the opposition look ridiculous. Did some very nice things and looks a more complete player than the bloke who kicked a couple in a grannie 4 years ago. Does the disciplined things as well as the sublimly skillful. His ability to turn out of trafic when he has no right to find any space and dish it off is unbelievable, something he just knocked up doing yesterday. Cannot understand what this bloke has to do to get a game. Ran hard all day and was often the link between half back and the forward 50. Played predominantly on a wing but was everywhere. Would be nice if he had a right foot though.

I liked Corey Jones' game. Started forward and was lively. Lead well, contested hard when the ball hit the deck and looked classy. After half time he moved into the center and got some really good Adam Simsonesque clearances and again was a hard worker when the ball was on the ground. Also spent time across half back and was a smart mover, often finding space and used it very well, repsonsible for some very thoughtful switches of play.

Watson impressed again. Drifted in and out of the game like he usually does, but makes every possession count and is a really smooth mover with terrific skills. Cant wait till he grows a body, but that said, still plays the majority in the middle and still does well, particularly with the first or second touch after a ruck tap.

Harris is a worry. Not for his form (or lack of) but the fact that he has a tan in August, doesnt have a single hair on his body and as NorthBhoy pointed out, has gone what looked dangerously close to a strawberry blond rinse in his hair. Question marks over the boy. I'm wondering if his priorities are in the right place. Didnt do alot yesterday and looked short of it.

Watt was ok. Noticed he was named as best in the papers, but i didnt think he was that good. Just solid. Took Linday Smith out of the game and contested well, but still looks a little dumb when it comes to knowing where to run etc.

Liked Lange's game. When up forward he was lively and agressive. Certainly made his presence fealt with some hard tackles and bumps. Moved into defense for alot of the second half and looked assured, using it well (was a common theme amongst the whole team actually) and setting up some nice forward forays as a result.

Crowe was ok. Did what he had to. Used it smartly, often going across the ground to a team mate in space instead of just bombing it blindly, ran well in support when teammates were moving the ball out and looked in control.

Pratt was really good i thought. Seems over all his injury concerns. Played an attacking half back role and was responsible for moving the ball forward on alot of occasions, but alos spoiled well when the pill was in the air. Definately worth keeping for next year IMO.

Clayton was ok. Didnt dominate, although it is amazing how much harder he looks at that level. Put his body on the line plenty yesterday and played mainly as a forward, but didnt do a heap and his disposal seemed to have gone backwards yesterday.

McLaren was ok. Provided a bit of drive and was finding space well, but doesnt always use it too smartly and goes missing alot for a bloke of his experience.

David Bourke actually did some reasonable things, but also did some inexplicably woeful, dropping some ludicrously easy marks in the forward line and messing up some really nice forward moves by confusing himself that he might actually be a footballer. Ended the day injured after a pretty rough landing in marking contest.

Special mention to the top up player (Villani??) who took one of the best marks i've ever seen. Did everyone see Russell Robertson's mark against the Dogs yesterday? This one was every bit as good let me tell you! He has flown up around half forward. His opponent was holding his arm, but he has still managed to catch the thing with his other while his body was fairdinkum horizonal to the ground about 7 feet in the air. From memory he then went back and put it straight down Petrie's throat for another goal. Super stuff!

All in all, yestrday was just about the most entertaining day i've had at the footy this year. Was full of highlights and classy bits of play. Our ball movement was first class and our forward line looked dynamite with Drew and Junior prowling the forward 50.

Drew has to come in for Sav. It was rubbish he was playing yesterday in the first place.

Would like to see S.Motlop in for Cochrane. He is simply a better all round player and Stuey has had his opportunities but hasnt done enough. But judging by Pags' comments, Jones is almost guaranteed a spot, and rightfully so after his game yesterday.

I know you cant make too many changes but i'd love to see Junior in contention also. I'd drop Blakey, only because i now think Motlop is more versatile and capable of 4 quarters (not that he'd ever bloody get it!!) than Blakes, and despite his 2 goals against Calrton, i find it a worry that forward is the only place they can find a spot for him.

Sorry for the essay, but was exciting stuff at Optus Oval yesterday.

carlos
i was interested to see you wrote that s motlop should play in the place of cochrane. i mentioned the same thought myself last week. i had thought that he would provide a bit more positive play than what cochrane does. in that shannon now has the physical presence to compete and negate most midfielders and in addition when he had the ball would be far more able to use the ball well. however, someone replied that they didn't think he had the discipline to play as a tagger.

Good work carlos. Sounds great and good to see your enthusiasm. You may be in with a chance off the bench next week.

Carlos

Not too sure about who the player was but i didn't see Villiani there at the breaks.

Our top up players yesterday were: Nathan Gilliland (48), David Gillespie (53) Joel Sofi (42) Durling, (51) Did u see the number he wore?

Junior, Drewy, CJ and Shannon all were fantastic yesterday and surely 2 or 3 will be in this week as they deserve their spot.

The great thing was our performance on the field quietened those Carlton fans who were very annoying.

Paul

Originally posted by magoo
however, someone replied that they didn't think he had the discipline to play as a tagger.

That was me but I am happy to bow to the judgement of those that have seen him play a bit than me this year.

Moomba

Personally i dont think i'd want to waste Motlop's talent by restricting him to a run with role. I guess every midfielder should have an opponent and some semblance of accountability, but thats as far as i'd like to see it taken with Shannon. I actually would like to see him running off half back or up on a wing where he can use his outstanding disposal and good pace. Whatever the case, HE SHOULD BE IN THE FRICKEN SENIORS!!!!

And Paul, i really cant remember what number the bloke was. 51 i think?? (NorthBhoy??) He had the Joel Sofi tipped blond hair. Was a ripper grab whoever it was!!

Muzzas