My first 2 Rounds

BlackGoanna

Premium Gold
Aug 17, 2006
I am going to have a crack at it nice and early. I have watched enough footy to have a reasonable idea on where I think these players are at. I dont need the draft camp to tell me how high they can jump or how fast they can run. There are a few players that I have only seen once so I have had to base my decisions partly on others.

I have attempted to mock the ladder. And yes I am a Carlton supporter so I could look like an idiot tomorrow if we lose to the Saints.

I have attempted some needs based decisions. Baiscally if there were 2 -3 players I rated the similar level, I would think about what that club needs. For example, unable to seperate the top 3 - I had Melbourne taking Watts (Greater need for a forward).

I dont profess to be an expert, just a typical footy head with his strong opinions from watching countless games.

1. Melbourne Watts
2. WCE Natanui
3. FREO Rich
4. Port Hartlett
5. Ess Hurley
6. Rich Yarran
7. North McKernan
8. Saints Suban
9. Carlton Shoenmaker
10. Bris Ziebel
11. Coll Zaharakis
12. Adel L.Johnstone
13. Syd Sidebottom
14. Haw M.Robinson
15. WB Cordy
16. Geel Trentgrove
17. Mel Vickery
18. WCE Blease
19. FREO Okeefe
20. Mel Hill
21. WCE Corenlius
22. FREO Pearce
23. Port Lynch
24. Ess Straus
25. Rich Roughead
26. Nth Banner
27. Saints Trapscott
28. Carl Rockcliffe
29. Bris Swift
30. Coll Hall
31. Ade Broadbent
32. Syd Jetta
33.Haw Walters
34. WB Heyne
35. Geel De Boer

Not a bad effort, a lot better than I wouldve done.

But I dont think Heyne will slide that far down..

9 is a bit high for Shoenmaker, I rate the kid highly - but I think he is more a 15-20.

Wouldve thought Walters wouldve figured somewhere.

9 is a bit high for Shoenmaker, I rate the kid highly - but I think he is more a 15-20.

Thought he was underage - just checked (will have to make an edit)

If WC got Cornelius at 21 I would be rapt.

Very good effort. Walters is a great player but his height is against him, i still think he will be a 2nd round pick.

I think Shoenmaker has alot of physical development left - could become a dangerous roaming forward - think scott lucas.

Well done. What does everyone think about this???

1, MEL Watts

2, WC Rich
3, FRE Natanui
4, PTA Hurley
5, ESS Hartlett
6, RIC McKernan
7, NTH Ziebell
8, CAR Yarran
9, STK Trengrove
10, ADL Sidebottom
11, BRI Vickery
12, COL Zaharakis
13, SYD Walters
14, HAW Lynch
15, WB Cordy
16, GEE Cornelius
17, MEL Suban
18, WCE Robinson
19, FRE Swift
20, MEL Roughead
21, WCE Hill
22, FRE Jetta
23, PTA O’Keefe
24, ESS Johnston
25, RIC Heyne
26, NTH Lisle
27, CAR Cahill
28, STK Rockliff
29, ADL Shoenmakers
30, BRI De Boer
31, COL Hooper
32, SYD Broadbent
33, HAW Klemke
34, WB Sheanan
35, GEE Blease

Collingwood will not use their first round pick on David Zaharakis (Who is a good little player) because he will not be picked in the first round.

Just a question from an Eagles supporter who hasn't seen any under 18's games yet this year. What sort of player is Blease (size, position etc) and why do you think that the Eagles would take him instead of say Hill or Walters who both seem to be the sort of player that the Eagles need ?

Rich, Robinson and Hill would be awesome. Quick attacking players with great footskills is exactly what we need.

I have watched enough footy to have a reasonable idea on where I think these players are at
1. Melbourne Watts
2. WCE Natanui
3. FREO Rich
4. Port Hartlett
5. Ess Hurley
6. Rich Yarran
7. North McKernan
8. Saints Suban
9. Carlton Shoenmaker
10. Bris Ziebel
11. Coll Zaharakis
12. Adel L.Johnstone
13. Syd Sidebottom
14. Haw M.Robinson
15. WB Cordy
16. Geel Trentgrove
17. Mel Vickery
18. WCE Blease
19. FREO Okeefe
20. Mel Hill
21. WCE Corenlius
22. FREO Pearce
23. Port Lynch
24. Ess Straus
25. Rich Roughead
26. Nth Banner
27. Saints Trapscott
28. Carl Rockcliffe
29. Bris Swift
30. Coll Hall
31. Ade Broadbent
32. Syd Jetta
33.Dogs Walters
34. Geel Heyne

it's quite clear you haven't with that pitiful effort... Schoenmakers at pick 9? surely you jest? and if you're so sure you've watched him enough to suggest he'd get drafted that high then i'm sure you wouldn't have butchered his name that badly either.. if you've been so attentive to this years crop then there is no way you would have mad such a mess of Trengove's name either, there is a post telling people how to spell it in every second thread.. anyone with credibility wouldn't mess these things up.. people spelling it as Trengrove is annoying but to call him Trentgrove is unforgivable.. at best i reckon the only games you've seen were on Wednesday.. that list almost screams of a list mixed with media hype and those that performed on wednesday....

It's only fair that i help you out after tearing you apart like that:p
here's my opinion (up to you whether you take it on board)

Johnston - too high, is a gun but you've got him way too high

Schoenmakers - again, way too high... early second round at best..

Zaharakis - probably a bit too high.. late first round/early second, rather than mid first round.. not a major flaw but still too high imo

Trengove - very very good player but i think he's going to slip and become a bargain pickup now.. early second round for mine.. too much cream rose to the top on wednesday.. Swift and Trengove will be the bargain pick ups IMO.. Trengove is a top 15, arguably top 10 pick.. as i said tho i doubt he'll go that high

Vickery - highly rated.. quiet carnival but finished strongly.. again, not a massive flaw in your list but i still think he won't go first round. you could be right here tho. as i said, don't have a massive problem with you having him there..

Blease - love this kid, mid to late second rounder tho... no higher

the bottom half of your list isn't too bad but Heyne is way, way, way too low.. bias aside there is no way he'll go any lower than Pick 25.. I'd say Pick 17, 18 or so at this stage.. you could almost straight swap him with Blease.. but as i said having Heyne at Pick 35 is almost criminal

Good on ya for having a crack, but i can't say i agree with much of it

Cheers:thumbsu:

(and no, don't ask me to do one.. IMO nobody could do an accurate one at this stage) (not even Kevin Sheehan)... its purely speculative

Mate, no one cares if he spelt the names wrong.

Theyre not heros, only under 18s footballers.

Everyone, including you, knew who he was talking about anyway.

1 Nata
2. Rich
3 Hartlett
4 Watts
5 Mckernan
6 Hurley
7 Yarran
8 Zieball
9 Sidebottom
10 Suban
11 Lynch
12 Walters
13 Heyne
14 Cornelious
15 Cordy
16 Roughhead
17 Zaharkis
18 Trengrove
19 De Boer
20 Vickery

thoughts?

sure, but all i'm saying is that if he had any idea what he was doing he wouldn't have made those mistakes..

At least he had a go. At this point of the season, there is still a lot of movement possible in the list, so its hard to accurately predict how the draft will pan out. Personally, I think its a pretty good effort at the current time.

In addition, there is a great deal of subjectivity in these areas. He obviously rates players differently to you. Just because his opinion is different to yours, does not make his attempt 'pitiful.'

As you said, its very speculative at this point, and he has every right to speculate. There is no need to attack him for doing so, just state how your perceptions differ.

Never said he didn't have the right to speculate.. but if you're going to have a crack, you've got to expect for people to give their thoughts on it.. after all thats why you'd post one wouldn't you?

i've got no problems with RiteBak@Ya, but that list wasn't anywhere near the mark (even if now it is purely speculative)

it just pisses me off that nobody visits this board all year and as soon as it heats up, people flock to the board visiting for the first time yet claim they've watched all the games and are self proclaimed "experts"

Did you miss the part of his post where he said "I dont profess to be an expert". Or the bit where he said "There are a few players that I have only seen once so I have had to base my decisions partly on others"?

You might question the wisdom of speculating at all on such a narrow knowledge base, but it's not as if he hasn't been up front about it, or pretended to have in-depth knowledge of all the U18s.

And let's be honest, many of the regular posters on this board know two-fifths of #### all.

Just a question from an Eagles supporter who hasn't seen any under 18's games yet this year. What sort of player is Blease (size, position etc) and why do you think that the Eagles would take him instead of say Hill or Walters who both seem to be the sort of player that the Eagles need ?

Bleaze looks alot quicker than Walters, he could be groomed as a pacy midfielder - and could cause a lot of headaches along side Masten and Rich in the future..

I rate Walters though, he could be played off the back flank, forward flank - or even midfield once he gained more pace, he looks to be lovely kick aswell.

I hope Melbourne pick up either players, or Shoenmaker - he looks promising.

RITE BAK@YA,

you are a carlton supporter, how would you be happy with that?
and you made it. personally, i would not be happy if that is the way the draft ended out to be for carlton. shoenmakers and rockcliffe...

(in your mock draft) before shoenmakers, for our probable pick 7-8 i would take-
o'keeffe
trengove
suban

i hope yarran slips down to our pick.
then with our 23-25 pick (i believe we will be recieving) i would like a shoenmakers, vickery, hill, heyne, jetta.

My first 2 Rounds