• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

N.T.F.L thread - 2010/11/12

Re: N.T.F.L thread - 2010

Any body that do not know Stick and Marilyn Broomhall have never been to a footy match at West Park for quite a few years. They both work their asses off for their belovered Dockers doing the many jobs needed to be done. Stick is Dockers property steward and if he could get away with giving a player ONE sock he would do it. I cannot believe some dick head dont know the Broomhalls.
I remember Me and Arch forgot our socks one home game and stick told us he didnt have any left to give us. We waited till he was busy and looked in his cupboard and he had a box full of about 200 pairs lol. Good bloke old stick!

As much as i used to pinch off stick, the bugger would always get it back, couldn't get nothing passed him! Great bloke, pain in the ass, but always has the clubs best interests at heart. Loves telling a story too!

Surprised by the lack of success.....or should I be from our Tassie side that was slaughtered in Melbourne a few weeks back...They had the best two coaches in charge that T
Tassie has ever had in Max Brown and Matty Armstrong ...gee how could that happen to our best team.

Not sure what paper you read, might be the "I have no idea chronicle". But Armstrong coached a successful u/18's side in melbourne a few weeks ago which took out the div 2 championships. Max had nothing to do with this. Max did assist with the senior side which played Qld in Qld about 6 weeks ago which was comprehensively beat by a far better side, is that what you are talking about? Or you talking about the Amateur u/23 side that was beaten easily by Victoria at Ulverstone which neither of them had anythign to do with?

No you are right.......I was referring to the team that as you said was thrashed by the Queensland second side six weeks ago. As you said Max was assistant.

Max was right. If you cant play like a footballer, at least act like one

Max may have been right, but at what point has he used his experience and reputation to help a young Coach out. Anyone can sit back and shake an apple tree, takes a brave man to climb it and pick the apple. Maybe he could have phoned scott a couple of months ago, instead of publicly berating him! IMO, thats as weak as p*ss.

Exactly my point. It's like he gets off on taking cheap shots at ppl.

Yes.....I agree . I reckon a far better column from Max would have been an inside to the way himself and Matty Armstrong prepared and coached the Tassie team and why they got the worst hiding in the history of Tasmanian football in Queensland 6 weeks ago.
Seems he has distanced himself from the Tassie team much like all the North West teams have distanced themselves from him.

Everyone seems to forget that Max was stating his point of view as a columnist for the Advocate. I know its not the same as the AFL, but people write columns about coaches, teams, players and other football people all the time. If there are truths untold, fair enough, hit back at the person responsible. Everyone seems to be taking Scott,s side in all this, but he,s been around football for long enough to know that he needs to lift his game as far as discipline is concerned, after all, he is the leader of the club. When your a coach, you can take the accolades for team success, and from all accounts, he has done a reasonable job, but its more than just the win loss column that counts, its the standard you set for your team and more importantly, the juniors coming through the ranks. He should put his pride aside, change his and the clubs attitude towards discipline, put his hand up and say, yes, we are going to do something about it

That was not really my point.I was talking about Max the coach not the part time assisted scribe. Max is the assistant coach of AFL Tasmania,s senior team ......probably something he is not all that proud of at the moment. He must have felt pretty sorry with his teams weak performance in Queensland. All us North West coast readers would have liked Max to have given us an inside into his team contribution. I know that he addressed the team and assisted in the game plan and was in the official team photo prior to the 150pt defeat .

After watching the Burnie v Devonport match friday night I can say the standard of NTFL football is very good and not a long way behind statewide league, we had a player from Burnie come to Penguin and he played seconds first week and was named in seconds for next game as well..... he is playing seniors at Burnie.

You are kidding yourself mate!

After being at Burnie last year I think from what i seen friday night the standard of state league has dropped off and the NTFL has improved. Have a look at the results of the last state game quality of footballers available is nothing like year before ..tassie won there game last year. I think that speaks for itself. I think you also have to look at the big exodus of state league players back to NTFL.

Mate Tassie played last year on home soil, this year had to fly up sit on a bus for ages and the Queensland side was alot better this year. There were barely any senior players that went back to the NTFL mostly only reserve players. I appreciate that you play in this comp, the fact that you love to slag Burnie at every chance you get and that there are some very very good players running around but the standard difference between the 6 team NTFL comp and the 10 team TSL is huge!

Josh Holland would be a stand out in ANY TSL club

Yeah Holland is an outstanding player along with some other Latrobe players that played Statewide..Wescombe Sheehan Langmaid Williams Woodcock all can play Statewide. Hey grills this is a forum and we are all entitled to our opinion.. give your DFA away for a few weeks and go watch a close competition

Latrobe seniors could beat burnie seniors, and latrobe reserves would definatly beat burnie reserves!!!!!

Not knocking your league as I think it is of good standard with close rivalry's. Just stating that I believe the TSL is alot better standard and yes we are all entitled to our opinions!

Your kidding yourself Twoblues, think you have been watching your side way to much. I think Holland could cut the mustard, the rest maybe not. There is a reason they are playing NTFL and not state league, generally the main reason is it's too hard for them! Why doesn't Holland. I think he should. But until he does, it's all guessing. Langmaid could of in his prime, but he is way past it now. Nils Williams, no chance, unless he found some drive and motivation. Sheehan still young but very dedicated. And Woodcock, i wouldn't have thought so, couldn't get a kick against Devonport Burnie and Ulverstone a couple of years ago when they were strong.

N.T.F.L thread - 2010/11/12