• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

N.T.F.L v's S.F.L 2008

Milbourne from East Devonport is better than both Crawford and McDonald! If Milbourne played at any other club he would kick over 100goals! By far the best small forward in the comp. He would destroy his direct opponent with his amazing marking ability....the opposition would have no idea about him, and how good he is!

Crawford is definitely a no goer....individual, and won't play to team instructions!

Is that John, Sue or Nic Milbourne?

Seriously, Nic is a great kid, the exact opposite to Crawford in attitude and selflessness.

Yeh he might be worth a shot - he'd certainly slip under the guard of the Southerners. He's the best overhead mark for his size in the NTFL, but not convinced at a higher level whether those marks would come as often against better players, and whether he could play a crumbing small forward as well as Ling, Mcdonald, Toad Pearce or Brett Smith.

Injury robs SFL
BRETT STUBBS
June 17, 2008
GLENORCHY and the SFL representative team have both suffered a huge blow, with key defender Brad Curran suffering a suspected broken ankle on Saturday.
Curran, Glenorchy's premiership captain and co-captain of the southern team, suffered the injury in the second quarter of the Magpies' win over New Norfolk, and he will now miss the North-South clash in Devonport on June 28.

He was the ideal match-up for the NTFL's goal-kicking machine Adam Derbyshire, who already has 97 goals to his name for Launceston after just 12 rounds.

"He was probably one of the last ones I could afford to lose," SFL coach Darren Winter said yesterday.

"It really does put us under a fair bit of pressure. Derbyshire is on 97 and he was going to be the player we put on him.

"It means we are going to be a little bit short on talls.

"We have certainly got the depth to cover him, but you just can't afford to lose someone like Brad.

"He's a strong, imposing sort of a figure who is pretty hard on the forwards. He is a big body as well who likes to bash and crash.

"We will be able to cover him with another player, but I don't think the other player is going to be a Brad Curran by any stretch of the imagination."

The SFL match committee will meet again today to trim its squad ready for the North-South match.
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23876912-13222,00.html

The only thing that is robbing the SFL in the Premier and Regional Leagues (now with Curran's dilemma) is a quality defender, and in the regional it's defenders.

You could throw Sharman there, but I'd rather him around the centre half forward position. While the SFL beat the NTFL with their running game last year, I'm not sure it will do the same trick again this season against an NTFL side that will be fired up for redemption.

In the NTFA/SFL Regional League, which SFL defender(s) would you recommend to take David Wickham (74 goals, averaging 7.4 per game) and Josh Adams (45, 5.6)?

I would of thought that if you have player like Crawford your dont try to coach him @ all especially not for a one off game, leave the coaching to who ever is his coach @ North Launy , there is certainly nothing Ned Perry of all people could teach him. Although i do agree with the low percentage aerial stuff , he does like to jump that boy.

But if i can make a point he is twice the player Mcdonald is and should be in the side before him due to him being something different and a bit out there, I ask you this question , "how many people would go to the football to watch Chris Mcdonald?" the answer is about half as many as those who would go and see Darren Crawford.

as for not stepping up to a higher level?
I watched the Granf Final last year and through injury he played a dominate role for th Robins in attack, he is a match winner.

There is more chance of the moon falling out of the sky and hitting me in the head than Darren Crawford disrupting the likes of Justin Plapp, Adam Derbyshire , Finch , Jason Ling etc......

I guess Ned knows what he is doing! but then again i beat he thought he knew what he was doing when he coached Devonport!
talk about stepping up in big games,, Pffft that bloke could not coach a fish to swim.

I will be at the game watching, should be a great game, and the coast will support it, cant wait!!

to be honest, no one goes to the footy anymore but lets be honest, the local folk of launi aint going to wake up saturday morning and go " lets go watch darren " putrid " crawford play. having played against both of them, i think you underestimate macdonald and how good he is!
can play pretty much any where, kicked 65 goals for penguin three years ago when they finished pretty much last. crawf is a good player, i feel sometimes his teeth get in the way though

The amount of sledging of people involved in our game that comes from you blokes up North directed towards each other is a pity.

Really spoils what is usually a good read.

The amount of sledging of people involved in our game that comes from you blokes up North directed towards each other is a pity.

Really spoils what is usually a good read.

Don't stress too much about it. It just shows that we're passionate about our clubs and players up here :)

As for Crawf, I think he is definitely in good form in the NTFL this year, and would be on the fringes of the rep squad. But given the quality of other small forwards, including Ling, I don't think he'll get a look in. Wasn't great in the NTFL under 23 game against WA.

And losing Curran is a big one. Now the South has to find THREE mobile key defenders. Of course, we wouldn't expect to hear the South use that injury as an excuse if they lose, would we??

McKenna and Wells were great in defence against Ulvie on Sat. What does the SFL have in the way of key forwards?

"And losing Curran is a big one."

Well I still say SOS Cameron Blight.

Darren Winter if you are reading this for god sake get him in the team.

Blighty if you are reading this I don't accept that "it's good to give the younger blokes a go in these games" line you said to me last year. You are fit now mate so come on put ya hand up and we'll see ya there!

Come on mate you are a southern now and we need you in the team.

"And losing Curran is a big one."

Well I still say SOS Cameron Blight.

Darren Winter if you are reading this for god sake get him in the team.

Blighty if you are reading this I don't accept that "it's good to give the younger blokes a go in these games" line you said to me last year. You are fit now mate so come on put ya hand up and we'll see ya there!

Come on mate you are a southern now and we need you in the team.

Blighty in defence isn't a sight I'd want to see. You need a big mobile body to stop the rampaging Derba in the rep game. Not saying Blighty isn't mobile, but I'd rather him at full forward if he's available for the challenge.

Don't stress too much about it. It just shows that we're passionate about our clubs and players up here :)

As for Crawf, I think he is definitely in good form in the NTFL this year, and would be on the fringes of the rep squad. But given the quality of other small forwards, including Ling, I don't think he'll get a look in. Wasn't great in the NTFL under 23 game against WA.

And losing Curran is a big one. Now the South has to find THREE mobile key defenders. Of course, we wouldn't expect to hear the South use that injury as an excuse if they lose, would we??

McKenna and Wells were great in defence against Ulvie on Sat. What does the SFL have in the way of key forwards?

I forgot about his little impact against WA. Dont mind being mistaken or take points of view on board. I just thought one was better than the other. loosing Curran realy does hurt the SFL, but in my eyes and I am sure in the eyes of others, Derbyhsire is a far superior forward to that of what Curran has come up against week in week out for the last few years, not sure he would of been able to handle him , a great contest none the less.
I also think that Ling is with out a dubt the best small forward and has been for a while. Played some very good VFL games when he was in the devils system too.

SFL forwards would consist of Sharman ( may play on derb now ) De Goyer (derb option also) Hunt? they have a few players that can play either end. I wonder how Winter is thinking?

Is that John, Sue or Nic Milbourne?

Seriously, Nic is a great kid, the exact opposite to Crawford in attitude and selflessness.

Yeh he might be worth a shot - he'd certainly slip under the guard of the Southerners. He's the best overhead mark for his size in the NTFL, but not convinced at a higher level whether those marks would come as often against better players, and whether he could play a crumbing small forward as well as Ling, Mcdonald, Toad Pearce or Brett Smith.

Isn't that Toad Perace Max Brown's chauffer? I agree about Milbourne!!! I have seen him play, and he should definitely be in the rep team.

Is Max Brown Perry's assistant???

If not he should be......Max is the best coach in Tasmania and would be able to teach Perry how to win the big games.

Isn't that Toad Perace Max Brown's chauffer? I agree about Milbourne!!! I have seen him play, and he should definitely be in the rep team.

If not he should be......Max is the best coach in Tasmania and would be able to teach Perry how to win the big games.

Just for the record can you tell me what max can teach dale?? since all the clubs have come back to the ntfl he lost the pre lim in 01 lost the gf in 02 quit and has come back and lost the gf on 06. So for a big time coach, can you tell me why he is so good??

As for milbourne yes he plays ok, dont think he would have the qualities at the next level. his strength is over head and he is 5.10 at best.

Just for the record can you tell me what max can teach dale?? since all the clubs have come back to the ntfl he lost the pre lim in 01 lost the gf in 02 quit and has come back and lost the gf on 06. So for a big time coach, can you tell me why he is so good??

As for milbourne yes he plays ok, dont think he would have the qualities at the next level. his strength is over head and he is 5.10 at best.

Milbourne has been kicking a bag of goals in a side that can't play!!!! I doubt if many players could do what he has achieved this year. He is the only player the opposition targets, and they still can't shut him down!!!!

Brown is a multiple senior premiership coach and last year he got Uverstone within 15 points of a far superior side in Launnie.....enough said!

His record speaks for itself!!!

Our ex magpie premiership coach in David Newitt rates Brown the best coach in Tasmania, he played under him at Ulverstone and said he was the best in the business at getting sides playing at their optium level

Milbourne has been kicking a bag of goals in a side that can't play!!!! I doubt if many players could do what he has achieved this year. He is the only player the opposition targets, and they still can't shut him down!!!!

Brown is a multiple senior premiership coach and last year he got Uverstone within 15 points of a far superior side in Launnie.....enough said!

Our ex magpie premiership coach in David Newitt rates Brown the best coach in Tasmania, he played under him at Ulverstone and said he was the best in the business at getting sides playing at their optium level

almost won the premiership...
WHO CARES!!!!! doesnt get you a medal. fact is he won premierships in a second tier league when no one was in it. actually didnt his team get done by 98 points on the weekend with a full list to play.
As for milbourne as i said goes ok but is only 5 10 and his strength is over head. as for what he has acheived this year, can i ask that what that is?

Max Brown had the best side on paper in the Statewide league in 98 and couldn’t get the job done. He knew there was going to be players leave at the end of the season so he jumped ship. He went to Ulverstone in 2001 where they also had a good list, and couldn’t get the job done, he tried again in 2002 and couldn’t get the job done, he knew players were going to walk, so he jumped ship. Ulverstone went through a re-building phase and when they climbed back to the top again, along came the fox again. And guess what, he still hasn’t got the job done.

coaches

I'll go with what Newett says. Sounds like Max is the real deal but you can't always expect even a super coach to have success.

Look at Terry Wallace.

Hard nut is quite right. Brown gets in and gets out. when it is all good and easy Won flags when it was a poor comp. Since the big boys have come back his record has been not so good. Really you can see why Perry couldnt win a flag. Look at who fill the list at Ulvy. Duds like Banam Sodan Mcrosenn Cook. All ex Dport players! Have a look at Ulvy in big games now. Last week they were a disgrace.

Max Brown had the best side on paper in the Statewide league in 98 and couldn’t get the job done. He knew there was going to be players leave at the end of the season so he jumped ship. He went to Ulverstone in 2001 where they also had a good list, and couldn’t get the job done, he tried again in 2002 and couldn’t get the job done, he knew players were going to walk, so he jumped ship. Ulverstone went through a re-building phase and when they climbed back to the top again, along came the fox again. And guess what, he still hasn’t got the job done.

Wasn't 1998 the year that North Launceston went undefeated...? A pretty tall ask to claim they weren't the best side on paper...

In a full day of football the NTFL under-19 team will play the Tasmanian under 16s at 9.30am and the NTFA will play the SFL Regional League at 11.30am.
The NTFL under-19 team is restricted to players who have not played more than two senior games.
It is seen as giving the State under-16s a competitive game ahead of their national carnival instead of last year's one- sided result when the NTFL won by 120 points.
Both the NTFL and SFL will trim their squads after the weekend.
The SFL team is to be coached by Darren Winter and contains former Northern players Matthew Westfield, Gregg Sharman and Jason Howard.
NTFL SQUAD - J. Plapp, B. Davis, C. Brown, N. McKenna, M. Smith, J. Wells, K. Munday (Burnie); K. Heazlewood, M. Lowe, T. Dean (Devonport); S. Matheson (East Devonport); B. Finch, A. Finch, A. Derbyshire, S. Stephens, G. Shipton, S. O'Keefe, D. Ellis, K. McCabe, A. Miar, B. Green (Launceston); A. O'Sign, A. Viney, S. Whish-Wilson (Northern Bombers); C. Carpenter, J. Ling, C. McDonald (Penguin); S. Blizzard, J. Watling, S. Byran (Smithton); N. Buller (South Launceston); K. Ford, J.Gale, T. McCrossen, J. Rodman, J. Rootes, N. Williams (Ulverstone).
SFL SQUAD - N. Barwick, G. Delaney (Brighton); N. Paine, M. Westerfield, J. Baker, G. Sharman, A. Triffett, D. Archer (Clarence); M. Smith, J. Bowering, S. Chivers, J. Bowden, S. Piuselli, B. Curran (inj.), C. Glenn, D. O' Gradey (Glenorchy); M. Creese, K. Hall, C. De Gooyer, M. Geappen, A. Cox (North Hobart); M. Cassidy, C. Beck, J. Harvey (Hobart); R. Andrews, J. Howard, J. Philp (Kingborough); A. Hevey, M. Fitze, M. Robinson, T. Perkins, J. Siggins (Lauderdale); B. Carver, N. Ross (New Norfolk).

Full article here;

http://northerntasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/sports/green-given-fitness-deadline/1249331.html

Wasn't 1998 the year that North Launceston went undefeated...? A pretty tall ask to claim they weren't the best side on paper...
wiedamen, carelli, rainford, gaurd, rawlings and the list goes on, they had an awesome list of guys from around the coast. yes north went undefeated also great team.

SFL SQUAD - N. Barwick, G. Delaney (Brighton); N. Paine, M. Westerfield, J. Baker, G. Sharman, A. Triffett, D. Archer (Clarence); M. Smith, J. Bowering, S. Chivers, J. Bowden, S. Piuselli, B. Curran (inj.), C. Glenn, D. O' Gradey (Glenorchy); M. Creese, K. Hall, C. De Gooyer, M. Geappen, A. Cox (North Hobart); M. Cassidy, C. Beck, J. Harvey (Hobart); R. Andrews, J. Howard, J. Philp (Kingborough); A. Hevey, M. Fitze, M. Robinson, T. Perkins, J. Siggins (Lauderdale); B. Carver, N. Ross (New Norfolk).

Where the heck are the following for the SFL

Nathan Foale - the must unassuming player around, silky skills. Never misses a target. More flexible than Bowering I would have thought.
David Kamerick - Mr Reliable, smart player. Experienced. Surely one of the better defenders in the state. This one has me goofed!
Nick Santi - This guy will be drafted next year. Best kick for goal in the state & would have stepped up no worries.

Brad Carver has not played for a month and some of those named in the squad are prety lucky to be there I would think.

up-scalling the NTFL to 50 points. Hoping I am wrong.

Max Brown coached Devonport in 1998, where they got trounced in the Prelim by Clarence by about 10 goals, Matthew Armstrong had the Northern Bombers.

Like Hardnut said, they had Weidermann, Carelli, Rainsford, Guard, Rawlings, Smith and a fair bit of talent.
Certainly what hurt them IMO down the stretch was Rainsford's suspension in the Qualifying Final against Burnie where I think he was reported for striking/spitting and got a week.
Left them short against North in the second semi where the Bombers won by about 10 goals.

And yes, the Bombers side were far and above the best side in 1998, rightfully deserved their premiership...

Where the heck are the following for the SFL

Nathan Foale - the must unassuming player around, silky skills. Never misses a target. More flexible than Bowering I would have thought.
David Kamerick - Mr Reliable, smart player. Experienced. Surely one of the better defenders in the state. This one has me goofed!
Nick Santi - This guy will be drafted next year. Best kick for goal in the state & would have stepped up no worries.

Brad Carver has not played for a month and some of those named in the squad are prety lucky to be there I would think.

up-scalling the NTFL to 50 points. Hoping I am wrong.

Come on Duff.

Nick Santi, I agree is a good player , but he is not the best kick for goal in the state, if I'am wrong some one please tell me but dont you have to kick goals to be adjudged a good kick for goal, there was a bloke who as recently as yesterday kicked his 100th of the season, he plays in the north of the island, I suggest who think a little harder before making terrible statements such as that!
I like Santi , actually I really like him but he is far from an Adam Derbyshire Duff ! How many has Nic kicked for the year?
I think its a real shame he couldnt commit to the Mariners program and get himself fit ( he is carrying a little , but hey he is young not much to worry about ) has a little bit of freakish ability too , as i said i like him alot!

Come on Duff.

Nick Santi, I agree is a good player , but he is not the best kick for goal in the state, if I'am wrong some one please tell me but dont you have to kick goals to be adjudged a good kick for goal, there was a bloke who as recently as yesterday kicked his 100th of the season, he plays in the north of the island, I suggest who think a little harder before making terrible statements such as that!
I like Santi , actually I really like him but he is far from an Adam Derbyshire Duff ! How many has Nic kicked for the year?
I think its a real shame he couldnt commit to the Mariners program and get himself fit ( he is carrying a little , but hey he is young not much to worry about ) has a little bit of freakish ability too , as i said i like him alot!

There is a little known bloke by the name of David Wickham for Rocherlea in the NTFA, who's kicked 79 for the year from 11 games (av close to 7.5 per game). He is probably the next alternate to Derba, and can kick 50-55m barrels that can clear at goalpost height!
Derba at 106 from 12 (av abt 9 per game). I'd love to have both of them in a rep squad if the opportunity arose!!

Come on Duff.

Duff - in future before posting I reckon (after typing your initial thoughts) you should walk away from the computer, have a warm cup of Bonox or something, before coming back, re-reading them and toning them down a little. Might save you from copping a pasting everytime you post. Can't help but feel that your fingers go a bit faster than your brain at times.

That said, I have seen Santi play a couple of times over the past couple of weeks and my opinion is that he is the best kick of a football for a 16 y.o. that I have ever seen. Has a beautiful no-fuss action and they seem to always go long and very straight. Kicks it 50 metres + easily and regularly. He has alot of talent, leads hard and straight, beautiful hands and is very physical for his age. Can still get fitter but has slipped into the best forward line in the comp and held his own comfortably to date. Must have kicked close to 50 goals already combining his Senior and Reserve hauls. Too good not to be invited back to the Mariners program next year and from what I saw at Bellerive 2 weeks ago could have added alot this year and taken some pressure off his clubmate, Cornelius.

N.T.F.L v's S.F.L 2008