NAB CUP: Essendon vs Brisbane

it's so far off that it's difficult to say. hurley won't be ready, but reimers, myers and probably pears should be. zaha you'd think will get a run. maybe even lucas might play a quarter.

if it was next week, i think lloyd might have skipped. i think gumby will play again - he just needs footy now, and a fair bit of it -, and i reckon Still will be given at least one game. quinn probably keeps playing

at a guess, i'll say Zaha, myers, reimers, Still in and dyson, nash, t slatts and lloydy out. but the fortnights break makes it impossible to say how the rotation will work - mcveigh looked well underdone, but probably has to play.

presumably there will be an intraclub next weekend to keep some continuity? i think this extended 1st round is actually counter-productive.

yeah id say all the players who were not meant to play on friday may get week 2 off, lloyd gumbelton watson hille?

Yeah, definately a possibility, Knights will probably like to get at least 2-3 games into most players like he did last year, so there could be quite a few changes.

P.S. anyone for NLM

There will probably be 8 or 9 changes as per the rotation system.

that depends on whether we have 8 or 9 players ready. hurley won't be, pears would be line-ball, reimers and myers are a bit of a mystery, stants would be close but quads can be tricky, darcy and winder unlikely.

maybe a few rookies get a run? i'd like to see klemke and carroll in particular.

it's so far off that it's difficult to say. hurley won't be ready, but reimers, myers and probably pears should be. zaha you'd think will get a run. maybe even lucas might play a quarter.

if it was next week, i think lloyd might have skipped. i think gumby will play again - he just needs footy now, and a fair bit of it -, and i reckon Still will be given at least one game. quinn probably keeps playing

at a guess, i'll say Zaha, myers, reimers, Still in and dyson, nash, t slatts and lloydy out. but the fortnights break makes it impossible to say how the rotation will work - mcveigh looked well underdone, but probably has to play.

presumably there will be an intraclub next weekend to keep some continuity? i think this extended 1st round is actually counter-productive.

I don't think Still will get a game as I think he is still a bit injured (a hammy, I think). Nothing serious, I don't think.

I don't agree that we will be looking at giving heaps of players experience.

We have some players that due to injuries need games, mainly Gumby and Jay, and these guys are seen as part of our future forward line.

With the 2 week break, barring injuries, you can guarantee they will both play as would most likely Lucas.

Still has no hope of playing with the above 3 and Lloyd in competition for forward positions.

I could see us giving a couple of players a rest for management reasons if we get past Brisbane though.

If we do drop players it will be either to give a player a run that is seen as being a part of our best 22 for this year or to replace a player who didn't perform, not to have a look at them.

IN: Winderlich, Stanton, Myers, Reimers, Lucas, Zaharakis, Klemke
OUT: T. Slattery, Quinn, Lloyd, NLM, McVeigh, Watson, Dyson

Yeah, cant really predict the ins and outs because game is in a fortnights time. Though you would probably suspect there will be some key changes, simply because of player management. Knights said the important thing is round 1 rather than looking at winning the NAB cup, wins are important though. Think up until round 1 there will be some intra-club matches during the week to get players who are not ready for a proper match some match fitness for round one. We all know that alot of players would have sat friday night out if it wasnt for the fundraiser. This will impact on next fortnights team you would suggest.

Gumby is an interesting one as he needs footy, but also needs to be managed. If gumby gets injured again soon I will most likely cry like a little girl

that depends on whether we have 8 or 9 players ready. hurley won't be, pears would be line-ball, reimers and myers are a bit of a mystery, stants would be close but quads can be tricky, darcy and winder unlikely.

maybe a few rookies get a run? i'd like to see klemke and carroll in particular.

I imagine that there should be 8 or 9 players ready for selection, or you are saying that we have more than 10 players injured before the start of the season.

I think German and Carroll may be behind in their preparation but Bock and Klemke should be available.

I assume that players like Neagle, Gumbleton, Houli and Dempsey will play most games.

Given there is no game for 2 weeks, it will be interesting to see how many players play Brisbane, having played the Doggies this week.

Nice draw though and we should win it...Because it's always good for the kids to play in some wins, even if it is a NAB cup match.

NAB CUP: Essendon vs Brisbane