NAB Rnd 1 - Observations

You're grossly exaggerating with the "zero awareness" and "speaks volumes of how far of the pace he is" calls but you are right his awareness could be better and he should have kicked it prior to the Pears tackle.

How could I be grossly exaggerating and be right at the same time?

He is a capable lead up forward, that's where his qualities end.

Wilkes - No future at Westcoast.

Nicoski - Was our worst by a long way. Got touches by they generally where worthless, just pathetic disposal by foot and a complete headless chook. Complete waste of a best 22 position. Cost us numerous goals during the game and i would have dragged him after the first quarter.

Hansen - Might work if he actually stays at FF.

Embley - He's fine. Drop Hackoski and put Embley on the HFF.

Kerr - Was servicable, not allot of ball and was working into the game.

S.Selwood - Don't understand the hate. Was efficent and effective playing numerous roles through the game.

B.Jones - Start was shocking but worked into the game, cant say just yet after one game.

Priddis - Non event. Flat footed as usual and was not even close to clean inside. I think he is a negative influence in our midfield structure, he generates no space and only adds to the congestion. :(

Lynch - What is his future? Wont be a Ruck.

Smith - Pretty impressive, obviously a big test for him and he handled it well. Still needs to keep up the hard work but the signs are good. :thumbsu:

Sheppard - All class but really needs some bulk.

Shuey - Love the way he plays. If we want speed then Shuey just screams power and has a pretty complete midfield game.

Schofield - Very impressive display from him.

Dalziell - :eek:

Embley should have hung it up last year, couldn't believe we gave him an extra 2 years.

Wilkes, Jones, Hansen, all awful.

Agreed on Embley. Throw Jones in the same basket. But you will get shouted down on here for saying it. There are many posters on here who can't understand or refuse to acknowledge that if you look at a calender today it says 2010. They want to keep picking blokes based on the fact that they were good players back in 2006. They don't seem to understand that 99% of players have a bell curve to their career and hit their peak around 24/25 and then decline and to expect blokes in their late 20's who have had several poor seasons in a row to all of a sudden go back the form of their mid 20's is just insanity and denial.

Nicoski - Was our worst by a long way. Got touches by they generally where worthless, just pathetic disposal by foot and a complete headless chook. Complete waste of a best 22 position. Cost us numerous goals during the game and i would have dragged him after the first quarter.

I suggest you watch the game again. So far off the mark it's not funny.

Sheppard is a f**king jet, same with Shuey and Smith. Nice to see some pace back in the side.

Also, Nicoski was much better than I expected. Still made some poor decisions with the ball in his hands, but was hard at it the whole match.

Already have. I'll go have another look at his high and mighty second quarter some other time but it wont provide much insight.

Watch the game again and tell me how many times he hit a target going inside 50.

I was about to agree with you, then saw he was only at 64 (I think) DE%. I honestly thought he played a lot better than normal, maybe because he wasn't getting tackled as often as he used to, but it still seems the turnovers were an issue.

His Super Coach Score was a whooping 33 and thats inflated by his five uncontested marks. He was utterly shocking.

Scott Selwood who i notice some have ragged had allot less game time and played both HF and HB, but had a disposal efficency over 80. Did not have the desired impact you would want but looked well drilled and efficent.

Efficiency is always going to be lower when your going into the forward 75m.

Naitanui - the most exciting Eagles player to watch since Judd. Still has a lot of room for improvement too which is scary.

Lynch - Has to re-establish himself at full forward, if he can't then his only role is a 3rd ruckman who plays if Cox or Naitanui is injured.

Hansen - if he plays it's because we have injury problems amongst our talls.

Kennedy - our best key forward prospect since ???, I dunno. Won't reach the heights of the elite like Reiwoldt or Brown, but is a very handy player.

Wilkes - not an AFL standard defender.

Nicoski - still has deer in headlights moments but showed enough to suggest he can play a role across half forward.

Masten - had a horrible run of disposals midway in the 3rd quarter, but was pretty good for the most part. Can kick the ball well (his pass to Hansen from the opening bounce was quality) but needs to do it more consistently.

Kerr - is still going to get whacked at every opportunity by the opposition so he'll need to be managed throughout the season. Will have to wait until the real stuff to see if he has learnt to shake a tag.

Dalziell - looks like a rojo clone. Has the same good and bad traits that Rojo had too.

B Jones - if it comes down to a choice between him and ash Smith for a spot in the side then I choose Smith

Shuey - really like the look of this kid. Looked at home out there.

Priddis - as the likes of Shuey, Swift, Masten and Ebert command more midfield time he will struggle to hold his spot.

Good win but we were a lot closer to full strength than Essendon and at home so it's probably the result we should have had. Coughing up goals in chunks like we did in the latter half of the 1st quarter is still a problem carried over from previous years.

Was sitting about 10 rows behind the Essendon dugout. Not sure I was watching the same game as some people. (EDIT: Though clearly Keys and I were watching the same game - it's actually a little scary how close some of my comments are to yours...)

Naita - just fantastic.

Kennedy - hard working as always, capped off with three goals as well as giving a couple away.

Hansen is still far too one-dimensional, I'm convinced he's not in our best 22. Would have liked to see Lynch given more time up forward to compete for that spot, because when Cox comes back there'll be no room for him as a backup ruckman.

McKinley handed off a couple of goals, missed a couple that he would normally get but I thought his workrate was reasonable.

Nicoski was better than some have made out, did some good things and didn't have the deer-in-the-headlights look that he regularly displayed in defence. I particularly remember a very clever sideways kick to McKinley at the top of the 50 which, if it hadn;t been dropped, would probably have led to a goal.

Glassy doesn't seem to have gotten much of a mention so far, maybe because we just have come to expect it of him, but he was his usual self - always in the right place, putting his body on the line and marshalling the defence.

Not convinced that Schofield can hold down CHB, but I suppose McKenzie or Brown will come back into that spot. Prefer Schofield as a third tall defender who can run off.

Wilkes strikes me as a great team man, does whatever is asked of him (rucked briefly tonight and also went forward when both Hansen and Naita were on the bench) and gives his all but his ability is limited.

Butler looked quite natural in defence, hopefully he can solidify a spot there this year.

I thought Hurn's disposal was a little down, I suppose I'm used to seeing perfect passes but a fair few missed the target tonight.

Apart from the obvious (Naita) I was most impressed with the midfield. Masten, apart from a quiet start and a horror stretch in the third quarter, was very very good. Ebert also was in everything despite seeming to spend a fair amount of time on the bench.

I thought Priddis stepped back up to the level we saw of him circa 2007. He worked particularly well with Naita at the stoppages I thought.

Scooter Selwood I thought had an off night, but everyone has them sooner or later.

Dalziell reminded me of RoJo, not only because he was wearing the same number but because he ran and ran all day then butchered the ball.

Didn't think that much of either Shep or Shuey while I was at the ground, but after watching the replay can start to see what others have been raving about. Obviously both still have a way to go but you can see what the coaching staff see in them, particularly Shuey.

Think I've covered everyone, have I? I thought Rosa and Embley were far from our worst, and Stevenson showed glimpses in very limited time.

Coughing up goals in chunks like we did in the latter half of the 1st quarter is still a problem carried over from previous years.
My theory is this is a by-product of playing against Essendon's style.

They kick goals in bunches but their lack of defensive pressure hurts them when momentum changes.

The Phoenix Suns of football.

Some serious overrating and underrating going on here, but I guess that's to be expected for the first competitive game. Naitanui doesn't count, because, as I've said for 4 years now, you can't overrate him.

Nicoski, Bones, Hansen, Wilkes and Dalziell were terrible early. Those comparing Dalziell with RoJo should wash their mouths out, RoJo wasn't afraid of the contest. Stevenson should never go near the backline again either, or needs to attack the ball harder when in dispute, not sure which?

Impressed with Smith, Shuey, Ebert, Masten, Sheppard and the new Butler, there was something different about him. Maybe his confidence is coming back? Embley was nowhere near as bad as some are saying.

It seems Masten's kicking skills are still slightly off. why the hell did he take jumper No 7 then:D, the last wearer of that jumper had some disposal issues, just hope it's not a cursed number :)

Whilst only a NAB cup game it was good to see some of the young talent show some potential, that hopefully will take us to our next flag go ok.

For once our NAB Cup performance lived up to the pre-season hype.

All the hype surrounding a pre-seasoned Naitanui, Kerr and Masten, the Kennedy-CHF-solution propoganda, another solid three goal performance from LeCras without being our standout forward was very promising.

I'm not usually a Nicoski hater, but I didn't rate his game overall. Did some good things, but didn't look confident with the ball, and definitely butchered a few.

Was happy with Embley's game.

Rosa was handy. Definite best 22.

Butler was composed down back, but would still like to see him through the midfield in waves this year.

Dalziell wouldn't be in best 22 plans on the back of that. Played out of position, he's a runner, put him on the wing. Definitely rate him a chance for round 1 if he gets a proper run in the next few weeks though.

Shuey was the other who lived up to his hype (well, maybe not all of it, but enough). 13 possessions in half a game, still with some fitness issues but his quality of disposal was exquisite and he showed some great work in the clinches. Hope his fitness is ready for round one, I'd like to see him start.

Based on that Round 1 will look like

FB: Waters Glass Butler
HB: Brown McKenzie Hurn
C: Rosa Masten Swift
HF: Embley Kennedy Ebert
FF: McKinley Lynch LeCras
R: Naitanui Kerr A.Selwood
I/C: Cox Priddis Sheppherd Shuey
EMG: B.Jones Nicoski Schofield

Mark my words boys, after watching tonights game it's fairly obvious that the hype about Luke Shuey is correct. By the end of 2011 he will be regarded as our best midfielder. Has power, pace, gets after the footy, does the hard things.
A few of my observations;
Adam selwood is the most overrated player in the AFL. Skills ordinary, lacks pace, composure, weak overhead.
Priddis best days are behind him. Too slow, inefficient. Gets smashed on the T/O
Ebert has a long way to go. Thought his ball use was horrible. Lacks class.
Masten needs to use the ball better, he too lacks class and needs to find the goals more.
Rosa is a soft outside reciever.
Kerr is half the player he was.

Without being too negative, I think it will be a long year for the eagles. It hurts me to say it.

Wilkes - No future at Westcoast.

Mate - i was watching a different game

Watch the 1st half again - he was one our best 3 players when everyone else went missing

It seems Masten's kicking skills are still slightly off. why the hell did he take jumper No 7 then:D, the last wearer of that jumper had some disposal issues, just hope it's not a cursed number :)

have to say, every time i saw no 7 with the ball last night, my instinctive thoughts were "here comes a clanger"

masten is an infinitely better kick (and all round player) than fletcher though.

Mark my words boys, after watching tonights game it's fairly obvious that the hype about Luke Shuey is correct. By the end of 2011 he will be regarded as our best midfielder. Has power, pace, gets after the footy, does the hard things.
A few of my observations;
Adam selwood is the most overrated player in the AFL. Skills ordinary, lacks pace, composure, weak overhead.
Priddis best days are behind him. Too slow, inefficient. Gets smashed on the T/O
Ebert has a long way to go. Thought his ball use was horrible. Lacks class.
Masten needs to use the ball better, he too lacks class and needs to find the goals more.
Rosa is a soft outside reciever.
Kerr is half the player he was.

Without being too negative, I think it will be a long year for the eagles. It hurts me to say it.

i actually agree somewhat with this point.

NAB Rnd 1 - Observations