Nath has quit for good

forrrestGump

Oct 29, 2007
Toorak
Just on 3AW news Nath wants to come back to football.

To all the tools that did believe it when the great forrrest was giving you the breaking news, in your socks.

Will be back soon training with the guys, and playing with the guys in the 2s.

Don't believe the propaganda. They do not want any pressure on him.
He was never going o/s, and was never going to be a builder.

He doesn't like hard work, loves playing. Gazza was no different early on.

Nath will be back and playing seniors this year.

Now if i could get King back somehow.

Re: Nath Is back

I believe Thompson wan on K-Rock this morning and suggested that he would most likely be returning next year.

To all the tools that did believe it when the great forrrest was giving you the breaking news, in your socks.
Are you abusing the people who actually believed your shit ? :confused:

BTW,Thompson said last night on radio that NA most likely wouldn't play seniors this year even if he returned now.NA himself said he may return sometime this year to play VFL,so even if he is returning now why are you suprised ?

You really are so far up your own arse with all this "forrrest told you so" crap.You obviously suffer from the "Jimmy's" or "Purring"

Just on 3AW news Nath wants to come back to football.

Will be back soon training with the guys, and playing with the guys in the 2s.

Don't believe the propaganda. They do not want any pressure on him.
He was never going o/s, and was never going to be a builder.

He doesn't like hard work, loves playing. Gazza was no different early on.

Nath will be back and playing seniors this year.

Now if i could get King back somehow.

He doesn't like hard work but will be playing seniors this year???...what harder work is there than training to play AFL?

Training over summer is hard and painful no doubt but it is a highly structured environment and there is plenty of down time to relax

If you are a builder no-one is holding your hand to nicely inform you of your schedule, and make sure you get up at 4am every morning including Saturdays to be on site and be there all day busting your A$$. Builders don't get massages, rub-downs, free meals and perks around town

I'm tipping AFL footy > being a tradie

Nathan Ablett considering return

May 15, 2008 10:20am

CATS coach Mark Thompson says Premiership forward Nathan Ablett is considering a return to AFL football.
Ablett, the brother of Geelong star Gary, left the club in December last year, saying he had lost the passion needed to play footy at the highest level.

Thompson has been in contact with Ablett and says while he won’t play this season, the young forward is contemplating making a return next season.

“I’ve spoken to him a few times and it’s probably a bit late for this year, for him to play AFL, but that’s not the real point , the point is he’s missing footy and he is thinking about (a return),” Thompson said.

No doubt the media is going to beat this up massively. I wont really believe it until I see him back training with the boys. I hope Nath knows what he's doing. I'm surprised Thompson would come out and say this, might poor more pressure on Nath that he doesn't need or want.

hahaha

What a joke!

Since when can a player decide that he wants to have a little break to explore life and then come back expecting to be put back in the side.

If you let him back in, it makes you guys look so weak as a team...

He should defiantly be rested for the year...

hahaha

What a joke!

Since when can a player decide that he wants to have a little break to explore life and then come back expecting to be put back in the side.

Erm.. he wouldnt be playing in the seniors this year anyway doofus. And yes, the Son of God can do whatever the ____ he wants.

hahaha

What a joke!

Your team looks and is weak. What a joke... lol

Erm.. he wouldnt be playing in the seniors this year anyway doofus. And yes, the Son of God can do whatever the ____ he wants.

Well said!:thumbsu: I seriously think that some people just want to hang shit on him all the time. No wonder he's had a hard time trying to work out what he wants to do.

Training over summer is hard and painful no doubt but it is a highly structured environment and there is plenty of down time to relax

If you are a builder no-one is holding your hand to nicely inform you of your schedule, and make sure you get up at 4am every morning including Saturdays to be on site and be there all day busting your A$$. Builders don't get massages, rub-downs, free meals and perks around town

I'm tipping AFL footy > being a tradie

I suppose my point was how hard is he going to have to work considering he had no preseason and has not been training to enable him to return to the seniors at any time this year. If he doesn't like hard work then I can't see him doing that.
Also how would the other team members felt if they had to make way for him in any case?

Maybe the whole Melbourne team should take a little time out.. go and explore life. Couldnt do any harm imo. :D

It great to hear Nath will be back soon. :thumbsu:
Now now Shell... They might actually start winning some games if they do that. We dont want that.

I find the scrutiny of Nath retiring and then maybe coming back by opposition supporters quite comical.

Mal Michael retired and changed his mind a short time later
Gherig did the same

At least Nathan taken some time to have a good think and work out what he wants to do and isn't just flip flopping on the original decision like a girl picking out a dress for a 1st date.

BTW Cousins has also take a year out of the game (or will have) and yet on other boards supporters are talking about there teams picking him up and he is a 30yo drug user. Why wouldn't geelong also think about keeping a young key forward with no outside footy issues.

never thought he'd really leave to be honest...footy is in his blood. But hopefully he will get a few VFL games this year and work towards 2009 as his AFL comeback year. Makes an interesting dilema with tommahawk and nathan as one would expect next year Hawkins should step up to the next level. Ironically a few years ago the forward line was the biggest weakness we had and now our cup runneth over.

Nath is my niece's favourite cats player. She was unhappy that he left but will be happy when she finds out that her fave player is going to be back playing for the team that loves.

I think Geelong needs to be careful not to let sentiment get in the way of progress here.

Naturally there is a strong affinity among fans for Nathan because of his family but there are major question marks over his commitment. Geelong's professionalism and desperation are the reasons you're the best side in the competition. You demand the utmost from your players and there should be no compromises on this regardless of who your Dad/Brother is. If he's not prepared to do the work expected of a premiership favourite, you shouldn't take him back.

He has got talent and if he can change his ways, everyone would be happy to see him return. But I reckon you blokes have got to be careful not to start making exceptions to the rules that have gotten you where you are. As it stands, Hawkins is more talented, more tough and wants it more. Getting a spot back in the side ought to be difficult for Nathan. He'd need to earn it.

This could be awesome news.

I never got the impression that Nath was 100% committed to either Geelong or playing Aussie Rules in general. Even Costa tells the story that he only signed after they convinced him that he could buy his mum a house.

I was disappointed but not surprised when he said he was going.

Some people (particularly those who think that no-one deserves a place on a team on name alone) need to remember that Geelong chased Nath and pressured him into signing, not the other way around. Nath owes Geelong nothing, apart from maybe Geelong giving him the desire and opportunity to play top grade footy, a desire he never had in the past.

If he does come back, it will be the first time that he will walk in to GFC completely committed to the game.
He will have decided himself, that he WANTS to play, not that others want him to play, or even that others think he should play.

I hope he does come back when he is ready, and i dare to think just how good he might be in the future.

Take your time Nath, but I hope to watch you play again soon.

I think Geelong needs to be careful not to let sentiment get in the way of progress here.

Naturally there is a strong affinity among fans for Nathan because of his family but there are major question marks over his commitment. Geelong's professionalism and desperation are the reasons you're the best side in the competition. You demand the utmost from your players and there should be no compromises on this regardless of who your Dad/Brother is. If he's not prepared to do the work expected of a premiership favourite, you shouldn't take him back.

He has got talent and if he can change his ways, everyone would be happy to see him return. But I reckon you blokes have got to be careful not to start making exceptions to the rules that have gotten you where you are. As it stands, Hawkins is more talented, more tough and wants it more. Getting a spot back in the side ought to be difficult for Nathan. He'd need to earn it.

Thanks to the Hawthorn supporters for your kind comments. :thumbsu:

I think Geelong as a club has made too much progress with regard to culture and professionalism to let standards slip back to the bad old days. With the current group of players, coaches and administrators Nathan will have to earn his spot in the senior through hard work and dedication. But as has been said if he does come back it will be the first time he really wants to play footy for the GFC and hence he and the club will be all the better for it.

Nath has quit for good