Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

how many were handballs

plus maybe he cant spend more than 55% game time... it sounds like his GPS numbers and effective pressure isnt there and never will be
Not sure if it really matters how many were handballs… in his second game of AFL football he was on track for 20+ & 2 goals which are elite numbers, he was playing fine in a side getting smashed all over the ground.

I reckon richo was shit scared that he can actually play after he'd already written him off... so to stem the embarresemnt and backup his de-listing decision he pulled and dropped him for another bloke already consigned to the bin.

I couldn't give a shit about some made up GPS excuse, leaked by the club... I'm sure billy hartung has amazing GPS numbers, he's just shit at playing footy. Mav has great effective pressure numbers...

After all that effort to then make a call after only 1.5 games, I think is absurd... which fits in perfectly with richos rich history of complete incompetence in player development.

Not sure if it really matters how many were handballs… in his second game of AFL football he was on track for 20+ & 2 goals which are elite numbers, he was playing fine in a side getting smashed all over the ground.

I reckon richo was shit scared that he can actually play after he'd already written him off... so to stem the embarresemnt and backup his de-listing decision he pulled and dropped him for another bloke already consigned to the bin.

I couldn't give a shit about some made up GPS excuse, leaked by the club... I'm sure billy hartung has amazing GPS numbers, he's just shit at playing footy. Mav has great effective pressure numbers...

After all that effort to then make a call after only 1.5 games, I think is absurd... which fits in perfectly with richos rich history of complete incompetence in player development.

that doesn't make sense, for starters its not richos call if they delist freeman. its the list committees. you hartung argument is valid but you're missing the fact you need a minimum base of running to be able to compete at AFL level

one of our big issues has been the run and spread in the midfield especially on transition. freeman is a liability in that regard, whilst not being that big bullish inside mid or key positional player you can carry a bit.

i do not like richo and he's a massive problem but the freeman call is the right one. he's just not up to it.

that doesn't make sense, for starters its not richos call if they delist freeman. its the list committees. you hartung argument is valid but you're missing the fact you need a minimum base of running to be able to compete at AFL level

one of our big issues has been the run and spread in the midfield especially on transition. freeman is a liability in that regard, whilst not being that big bullish inside mid or key positional player you can carry a bit.

i do not like richo and he's a massive problem but the freeman call is the right one. he's just not up to it.
Mind you, run and spread is also a function of how a team is coached, and the amount of times our midfield etc are not placed in strategic positions around stoppages has been horribly apparent this season, and you don't need to be a sprinter to run into space in a properly structured team.

The side has just 4 wins going into round 21 and can't give a guy who has worked through 5 years of injuries to get here and is showing a bit a couple more games to finish the season and try and prove himself? They won't even let him play out his second game!

Clearly, if he'd played a third and fourth game and picked up 25 and another goal or two, they wouldn't have been able to de-list him like they wanted.

It reeks.

I wonder, if the rumours of richo's demise are true, whether a new coach might throw freezer a rookie lifeline?

gday all,
Just thought I would post to say that I got in contact with Freeze after his delisting on behalf of the BigFooty Player Sponsorship just to say that we are pretty gutted and wishing him the best for future.
As always he was all class and replied and said that he appreciated the message and thanked us for our support through the sponsorship over the last couple years.

Great to hear that the club has possibly offered him a non-playing role if he isn't lucky enough to score a playing role somewhere.
Although that suggests to me that they have made a pretty firm decision that he wont get a playing role at saints, which means it might be difficult for him to find a playing gig elsewhere.

My rage has dissipated and sure people in here can say "he clearly wasnt up to it" til they are blue in the face but this ties into so much of what has made this season so bitterly disappointing. The 5 year plan, the promise of finals, the Freeman delisting, the abhorrent foot skils. All of it in isolation is tolerable, but combine it all then add the complete lack of communication and frankly respect for the supporters and that is what (for me at least) has done me in.

Anyone care to hypothesize what the Saints as a club are doing now? Are we rebuilding (cause Freemans delisting and the interest in Hannebery make no sense in that regard) are we committing to the list we have to deliver us success? Are we topping up.

Can someone let us in on the secret?

My rage has dissipated and sure people in here can say "he clearly wasnt up to it" til they are blue in the face but this ties into so much of what has made this season so bitterly disappointing. The 5 year plan, the promise of finals, the Freeman delisting, the abhorrent foot skils. All of it in isolation is tolerable, but combine it all then add the complete lack of communication and frankly respect for the supporters and that is what (for me at least) has done me in.

Anyone care to hypothesize what the Saints as a club are doing now? Are we rebuilding (cause Freemans delisting and the interest in Hannebery make no sense in that regard) are we committing to the list we have to deliver us success? Are we topping up.

Can someone let us in on the secret?

With the fourth-youngest list in the league, we're continuing to rebuild. We've had a bad year and have been exposed, but it's not like we are throwing everything out and starting again. Reading between the lines, the decision with Freeza is that they don't think he'll ever regain the thing that we traded him in for - his elite pace. Assuming they're on firm medical grounds, I think it's a crushing decision but defensible. Hannebury fills a need we're absolutely desperate for - elite leadership for our younger players. Losing the onfield leadership of Roo and Joey was clearly catastrophic, I think.

I find it puzzling that you would invest so much time and money to cut him when he finally comes good. I would have thought another preseason and see how he goes. Maybe knowing he required a shoulder op it was time to pull the pin.
Given we should have plenty of salary cap and we will be delisting quite a few more, Freeman would be a better risk than a last round pick or last rookie. All I can think is the club thinks his medical issues wont get better

With the fourth-youngest list in the league, we're continuing to rebuild. We've had a bad year and have been exposed, but it's not like we are throwing everything out and starting again. Reading between the lines, the decision with Freeza is that they don't think he'll ever regain the thing that we traded him in for - his elite pace. Assuming they're on firm medical grounds, I think it's a crushing decision but defensible. Hannebury fills a need we're absolutely desperate for - elite leadership for our younger players. Losing the onfield leadership of Roo and Joey was clearly catastrophic, I think.
Not at the cost of losing pick 4

It seems to me that the Freeman decision is the type of hard-nosed decision we've been crying out for. Unfortunately is was Freeza, an emotional fan favourite. We can only trust that the club's medical assessment is correct or we we may be looking to rookie list him if he doesn't get a gig somewhere else.

He does seem to be a smart bloke. I was lucky enough to have a chat with him, at the Player Sponsors Trivia night, about the potential new rules. He was against them in the main because coaches with find ways around them and the game will sort itself out in time, it always does. He also had interesting perspectives on some of the specific rules ...

Large goal square ... no different from playing on.
Set positions at the bounce ... you can't have someone out the back ... initially

It was great to have a chat with someone who had 'played' under those rules.

All I can think is the club thinks his medical issues wont get better
I'm absolutely sure about this Sainteric.

We aren't privy to all the medical data/gps data that the club has been looking at this season.

We've spent a lot of time and resources on Freezer but it appears as Fehring posted above....he's lost all the explosive pace we recruited him for as an outside mid.

It was IMO worth the punt but hasn't worked out.

I also believe as a few have stated that we did give him those 2 games to him as a "thank you"...….he earnt them with his VFL form and his endeavor over 3 years.

The club would have known his "status" quite a while ago IMO.

If he can't get a gig elsewhere....really hope he's kept at some capacity by the club.

Hopefully my other team, the Frankston Dolphins offer him a playing/assistant coach type role like Jakey Batchelor this year under Skrobers

I'd love to see him down at North Port Oval with the Borough!

So soft rebuild, can’t recall seeing one of those work for a team coming from 16th but sure, again is there any reason the club hasn’t said it? We’re all guessing because they won’t say, which to me looks like an easy way to hedge their bets. If we’re desperate for leadership let’s take Goddard back, he will cost less than Hanners and we don’t need to trade for him.

Shows what great leaders , Armo , Brown , Geary and Jake are then doesnt it

I agree that that crop of leaders isn't good enough. I like Jake as an emerging leader, though. I think Geary is a fantastic lieutenant but not an out-and-out leader.

The problem with this paradigm, when it involves Hannebery, is that his footy is just too awful to inspire anyone. He’ll be about as much use as the white captains the West Indies had foisted on them in colonial days.

Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates