Nathan Thompson

BlackGun1

Oct 13, 2007
Qld
Brisbane Lions
After getting the boot from North, could be a handy pickup with Riewoldt the only legiminate target down forward (Kosi roaming up the ground.)

Just a suggestion though.

I don't think that he would want to play for another club again.

Anyway, if Gehrig can't get a game with St Kilda, what makes you think that Thompson would ?

No to Nathan Thompson.

The Saints should be looking at Cambell from Freo or Tim Boyle from Hawthorn. But I would prefer that we groom Jarryd Allen for the FF post for next year and draft a KP prospect

yeh i think allen is a good prospect but i think we should definitely chase boyle or campbell. last yr boyle showed good signs but he did go missing i am really quite a fan of campbell even though hes played limited experience. watched him in the wafl kick 7 goals and with that massive kick could really add some depth to our forward line and i think we need that real long booming kick. If he got sufficient game time i think he could really develop into a good player imo. but no to thompson too similar to gehrig and im pretty sure he was only going to play on with the kangas.

If you could get Thompson you would be able to do it with a late ( normally unuseable ) pick. So it costs nothing as far as draft's go.
I thought he was past it as well but I looked into it a bit.
He is 31 in February. Kicked 54 goals in 2006.
After coming back from his ACL injury in 2008 ( not sure if he did a full pre-season ) he kicked 29 goals this year (from 15 games ). Only two of the currently playing Saints have kicked more than that. With a good pre-season he could get closer to his 2006 form.
Not a long term deal but it is possible he could plug the gap while Allen and Macka mature. ( Without being Mr Doom and gloom, despite good early indications, we don't KNOW that Allen or Macca will be anything special ).

I don't like the comparison with Gehrig becuase they are different sorts of players with different sorts of problems.

Easy to bag the idea, but under the surface it could be as good an idea as getting King was.

Come on brothers. Tim Boyle??????? We already have Charlie Gardiner. Tim Boyle is not better.

No to Nathan Thompson. Sad for him the way his career has ended but not the same player after his knee.

Just because a player becomes available doesn't mean we have to get him!

Watching this year, Thommo is definitely passed it. Who could forget his game up on the Coast when Max kept him to 0 goals 6 possessions and he just looked lost. Sad way for him to go with North ****ing him over, but definitely the right time.

As for the other blokes, as far as I'm concerned Allen/Big Mac>>>Charlie G>>>hack from another club as 3rd tall options in 09.

Watching this year, Thommo is definitely passed it. Who could forget his game up on the Coast when Max kept him to 0 goals 6 possessions and he just looked lost. Sad way for him to go with North ****ing him over, but definitely the right time.

As for the other blokes, as far as I'm concerned Allen/Big Mac>>>Charlie G>>>hack from another club as 3rd tall options in 09.

If performance against Max is the criteria for "passed it" you had better pencil in Fevola and Lloyd as well.
An argument against Thommo is that he apparently had some tidy up operations late this year, what we don't know is how successful they were. Has also had ankle problems late this year.

I know we want to get Macca and Allen out there, but the rationale for picking up a hack from another club ( like King??) is I would bet that neither Macca or Allen will kick 20 goals next year. Who will?

I wouldn't play Thommo as a third tall. I would play him instead of Kosi and let Kosi play elsewhere.
Kosi roving > Kosi at Full forward

Maybe the Max game was a bad example, but think about his last 5 or so games. Useless, useless, useless, dropped, useless, dropped, useless in elimination final. Disposal wise it was his worst season since debut. Goal wise it was his worst since 2002 when he spent a lot of time rucking. Started the season well, but to me that is the pattern of an old tired footballer who is physically and mentally well past his best. I reckon G-Train was an apt comparison.

Allen and McEvoy probs won't kick 20+ goals next year, but they didn't this year either and we made a prelim (hopefully more) so I don't see the immediate need for a third forward option. Developing those blokes would be better for the club i reckon.

If Macca develops as I think he will, and we retain Gardi and King, I'll back him for a 20+ goal season. This guy is a seriously good kick at 200cm, and is great for his size below his knees.

I just can't see Kosi functioning with any other talls. A real worry for mine going forward.

I think we need to develop a backman, as cover for Max & Goose, which allows Gwilt to play forward. We have made little attempt to do this at Casey with Wall & Silvagni in the keys posts and Rix at FF.

Dont forget Maguire should be coming back next year some time, he's our CHB and he's only 24 and Attard is also a backman he's only 22, both should be tottally fit by mid next year or start of 2010. Sam Fisher is 26. Dempster 24, Gilbert 22, Goddard 23, Gram 24.

After getting the boot from North, could be a handy pickup with Riewoldt the only legiminate target down forward (Kosi roaming up the ground.)

Just a suggestion though.

BG - Pickers just stated on SEN that he spoke with Thommo at the club last week and confirmed:

> He needs another Knee Op over summer
> When the knee heals he then needs an op on his ankle
> at 30 and 100kg it would be very very difficult for him to comeback to play AFL footy.

I don't think so!

i still remember the first time i noticed him...that horrible day at waverley where the hawks made the record come back. Thommo and harford cut us up and sent the club back 3 years as those players who were in the running for top 4 at that stage in '99' collectively lost all confidence and went on to win the spoon in 2000

McEvoy and Allen are better players than Thompson currently anyway. So that justifies their spot in the side alone regardless of age.

The glasses are a bit rose colored mate. There is no way they could have kicked as many goals as Thompson did this year , even if they got a game.
McEvoy and Allen are the future , but not the now.
I hope they have a good pre-season and become a bit more usefull next year. Jury is still out on Allen IMO, but time is on his side.

Nathan Thompson