Natural Forwards

its incredible how few people who go to the footy actually know anything about it. you would have thought dawson gave up ten goals and messed up every kick he had... in fact he had no goals kicked on him by his direct opponent and his disposal efficiancy was quite good. :confused:

Chimera, take a chill pill.

It was Lyons decision, not Mellingtons to get subbed out. He was subbed out a few minutes before half time to give Barlow a crack. He wouldn't have chosen to do anything but grin and bear it on the field for a few minutes or get a quick ice pack on the interchange for 3-5 minutes.
You reckon this would be fairly obvious to all, except the idiot that is Pav4AA.

He's also incredibly soft.

You're a funny man.

Yeah I'm talking about Mellington.

Who goes off with a severe cork during the game but gets back into full training Tuesday and then gets up for a Saturday game?

Soft.

Oops. Looks like you were serious.

Then you're a confused man.

Mellington is a unit. He'd easily be in our top 5 or so hardest players at the ball and the man... apart from DeBoer, Lower, McPhee, Dawson (and apparently Mz). He's also 19 or something.

Silly contention.

I spent half the match listening to 'kick it forwards' 'just kick it' and 'dawson you spud' by someone behind me - could have been surfsup ;)

Hah! No not me.
Though my angry mate next to me gets pretty vocal, his fave is "YOU SUCK UMPIRE!!", or "YELLOW MAGGOT!!"
But now you mention it there is an unfortunate lady in a motorised wheelchair not too far behind me that continually screams "JUST K-I-C-K I-T-!-!-!-!" ....and I mean continually! At any bloody time we've got the ball in our hands!! Absolutely-frickin'-annoying!!

Agree with the gist of the OP. The 2 obvious natural forwards on our list that currently aren't getting a game would be Crozier and Walters. Would be good to get one of them in the team
[To get the thread back on track] I agree with this.

If we are going to play this congested game due to Lyon's press, then it needs to be supported by quick, fast thinking natural and talented goal kickers who can work in limited space e.g. Ballas, Walters, Crozier, Mellington, to complement the (sometimes big) marking Pav, Fyfe, Bradley and Clarke/Sandi when the forward 50 occasionally opens up and to present marking contests even if only for the little guys to mop up. Will need to keep DeBoer and Mayne for the pressure though.

Watching AFL with the current presses being used, the forwards that are proving most successful ATM are the ultra tall (pack) marking types e.g. Kennedy, Reiw. (Rich) Reid, Buddy, or heffers like Cloake and Hawkins. The low 190cms reasonally big bodies traditional forwards e.g. Pav, Reiw (Saints) are finding it a bit tougher. Maybe we should be thinking about this in future recruiting? Though you would think Sumich would be on to this.

You're a funny man.

Oops. Looks like you were serious.

Then you're a confused man.

Mellington is a unit. He'd easily be in our top 5 or so hardest players at the ball and the man... apart from DeBoer, Lower, McPhee, Dawson (and apparently Mz). He's also 19 or something.

Silly contention.

Yeah, I was just about to post that he wasn't serious...... unfortunately he is.

I don't think we need a huge power forward. Just someone who can leap, grab and kick. I think Fyfe for FF :) I hope he pulls up OK from that shoulder injury.

And if we are resting ruckmen in the forward line (Sandi/Clark), we need at least 2 good crumbers snapping at their heels (Ballas/Mello). When we had a slew of tallish forwards against a hard flood, our accuracy was atrocious (8.16). All Brisban had to do was make sure it was congested around the footy, and we struggled to kick goals. Small Forwards need less space to work.

Pav/Suban/Hill kicking goals from outside 50 would also be an effective way to combat the hard flood.

the forwards being able to lead and take marks isn't a problem, it's our half forwards who are bombing it in on and over their heads that's the problem, or just waiting too long before they send it forward to the point were 30 secs later there are 35 players in our forward 50. send it in quick and low and to advantage and I have no doubt we'd improve with only a FF and 1-2 good crumbers in there.

Hah! No not me.
Though my angry mate next to me gets pretty vocal, his fave is "YOU SUCK UMPIRE!!", or "YELLOW MAGGOT!!"
But now you mention it there is an unfortunate lady in a motorised wheelchair not too far behind me that continually screams "JUST K-I-C-K I-T-!-!-!-!" ....and I mean continually! At any bloody time we've got the ball in our hands!! Absolutely-frickin'-annoying!!

Haha she's *behind* you? man I could hear her clear as day from where I was

Tell me about it!!

She's about two rows behind me!!

For a small lady with no arms and no legs she certainly makes a huge noise!!

"K I C K - I T !!" "K I C K - I T !!" "J U S T K I C K - I T !!"

Honestly, she's lucky she's not wearing socks!

Tell me about it!!

She's about two rows behind me!!

For a small lady with no arms and no legs she certainly makes a huge noise!!

"K I C K - I T !!" "K I C K - I T !!" "J U S T K I C K - I T !!"

Honestly, she's lucky she's not wearing socks!
Oh, I know who you are talking about. Saw her at the bus stop near my house all decked out before the game. Must live nearby as I see her around a bit. Wow, must get her frustrations out at Subi 'cause she's usually pretty quiet when I see her (like most of us I suppose).

[To get the thread back on track] I agree with this.

If we are going to play this congested game due to Lyon's press, then it needs to be supported by quick, fast thinking natural and talented goal kickers who can work in limited space e.g. Ballas, Walters, Crozier, Mellington, to complement the (sometimes big) marking Pav, Fyfe, Bradley and Clarke/Sandi when the forward 50 occasionally opens up and to present marking contests even if only for the little guys to mop up. Will need to keep DeBoer and Mayne for the pressure though.

Watching AFL with the current presses being used, the forwards that are proving most successful ATM are the ultra tall (pack) marking types e.g. Kennedy, Reiw. (Rich) Reid, Buddy, or heffers like Cloake and Hawkins. The low 190cms reasonally big bodies traditional forwards e.g. Pav, Reiw (Saints) are finding it a bit tougher. Maybe we should be thinking about this in future recruiting? Though you would think Sumich would be on to this.

Spot on. If you look at Carlton and North Melbourne last night it's their smaller quick guys who are causing all the problems. Fast movement from defence to attack is catching opponents with their pants down. I agree that this also creates more chances for the bigger guys . If we are expecting Pav or Kep to kick bags by playing the slow , kick it to a contest entries well.... it ain't gonna happen.

Yes we don't have a Buddy or a Cloke and we aren't going to have one any time soon so gotta find another way. I would rather we moved it quickly out of defence taking a risk. Not the stop , look this way, look that way, scratch the head ,kick to a contest because that can be just as risky. If we have speedy half forwards and forwards it tips the odds more in our favour at winning fast breaking plays.

Bring in Balla and Neale even Walters when ready

Natural Forwards