NEAFL- 2014

This competition has been put together for 2 reasons, 1/ to give the Northern AFL clubs decent match practice for their excess players on a week to week basis.2/ to correct the doubt held by recruiting departments regarding the standard of competition and where the players they are interested in stand in the total AFL landscape.

For the ex Eastern Conference clubs if you get blown away your fate will be sealed along the lines of the 4 clubs now in the QAFL.

The inequity in the draw helps no one except the bean counters, as always short cuts have been taken but if a concerted effort had of been made to run the pathway programs comprehensively, inclusively, professionally, passionately and with care it probably did not need to come to this.But through poor management and protection of that management it has.

Looks like everyone gets a chance to play finals footy....the AFL/NT teams mostly play each other and there will be wins and losses in that lot; the "eastern" teams mostly play each other and, again, there will be some wins and losses; and likewise for the QLD teams.
So, when the final ladder comes around, everyone will have had a good crack at being there for a dance. Sort of a 'conference' system like we've had already.

But, oh dear, there will be carnage when they all come together for the finals and I can't see any Eastern club kicking a goal, and I can't see any QLD community team beating the Swans or GWS.

The idea sounds all warm and inclusive until the brown waste material hits the rotating object come finals time.
Reckon there will be the odd upset if the 3 Qld teams recruit well. Should be some very good footballers looking to put their case fwd for drafting and reckon in due course it could become attractive for southern blokes. Certainly having the best U18 boys in 3 teams will be better for them. Reckon it will fe case of wait and see.

Absolutely smy, can actually see the AFL sides struggling when they are not at full strength in games against local northern teams especially during the TAC cup/state carnival.
Going to be a fantastic comp in 2014 at NEAFL and QAFL level really looking forward to seeing how it all pans out!

LAB, Eastern conference sides all signed a three year licence this year so no fear of them being relegated until 2017...

Absolutely smy, can actually see the AFL sides struggling when they are not at full strength in games against local northern teams especially during the TAC cup/state carnival.
Going to be a fantastic comp in 2014 at NEAFL and QAFL level really looking forward to seeing how it all pans out!

LAB, Eastern conference sides all signed a three year licence this year so no fear of them being relegated until 2017...

Thunder will struggle with their draw. whole concept depends on how serious the AFL clubs are about this comp. If you play them in round 2 when they have a full list of 22 you will struggle but as is the case in previous years if you play them in round 18 when they are pulling players for injury management you might only play 9 !! Last year the AFL clubs have different rules in bothe conferences - Northern 16 listed players, Eastern 14 and I think less for finals/ How are they going to manage that ?

Looking at Aspley's list to date I think they will knock over everyone with the exception of a full AFL list, but will that ever happen ??
Still can't see the purpose of all this for the Queensland clubs.

Won't be any bullshit rules doc I think you will find. The whole idea is to pit good footballers against good footballers every week. AFL sides won't dominate like they have rules limiting listed players aside. If Ashley or southport have recruited well then they will win matches for sure. NT will have to step up as well or be smashed.

Thunder will struggle with their draw. whole concept depends on how serious the AFL clubs are about this comp. If you play them in round 2 when they have a full list of 22 you will struggle but as is the case in previous years if you play them in round 18 when they are pulling players for injury management you might only play 9 !! Last year the AFL clubs have different rules in bothe conferences - Northern 16 listed players, Eastern 14 and I think less for finals/ How are they going to manage that ?

Looking at Aspley's list to date I think they will knock over everyone with the exception of a full AFL list, but will that ever happen ??
Still can't see the purpose of all this for the Queensland clubs.
have Aspley recruited a few?

Good question Damon, unless this concept is embraced by the NT people and realise that the best chance of being drafted is to play footy in winter and the summer comp is 2nd fiddle then they will be belted. Reckon Ashley, southport and Redlands will be 10-15 goal better sides in 2014.

Question ---=is there a salary cap for the clubs or does market value prevail on what they have ??

Another quirk of the competition - yes there is for northern teams but nothing in place for eastern clubs they can spend as they please.

My understanding is that the traditional awards Grogan etc will stay with the QAFL so hopefully they will make a better effort of actually recognising the competitions elite with their new awards.Incidentally you have to feel for the Southport player who's turn it was to win the Grogan this year they are just unlucky.

Interesting Peanut, I was led to believe that two Eastern Conference sides were to go next year but if they have signed new licence agreements with an AFL body then I might be wrong, however I would be careful, my experiences with AFLQ would not having you putting the feet up comforted by an agreement.I would say there is plenty of water to go under the bridge and beware Greeks bearing gifts.

My understanding is that the traditional awards Grogan etc will stay with the QAFL so hopefully they will make a better effort of actually recognising the competitions elite with their new awards.Incidentally you have to feel for the Southport player who's turn it was to win the Grogan this year they are just unlucky.
neafl preso night would be awesome!! web cams and tallies at home................

how stupid is it. that none of the northern teams will have any under 18 teams playing in the top under 18s comp in qld

No damo disagree here. For the qafl to work properly then 18 comp should be the same as seniors and reserves as they have done. It's difficult for aspley to farm out its players that miss selection to sandgate/grange etc and then have the 18s play that team on the same day. Would cause angst between the clubs especially if talented 17 year olds from sandgate goes to aspley to chase neafl pathway and then plays for aspley 18's against sandgate 18's.

In my opinion the neafl clubs shouldn't have under 18's at all. They should concentrate on making the qafl 18''s a top comp. it only works if the majority of 18's stay with their clubs rather than gravitate to neafl clubs. The neafl 18's woold flog everyone- a waste of time and not good for devrloping footballers. The only way to have a really good u18 comp is for neafl clubs to not have 18s at all I reckon- thus strengthening the qafl. Also for the u18 player a qafl club can provide reserves and senior footy- which the neafl sides cannot ( aside from Conway/ weller etc no 18's would be good enough for neafl now) better for the development of the player too.

Make the cake (qafl) stronger and the icing (neafl) will also get stronger. The neafl clubs would be then encouraged to follow qafl and qafl 18's and the rep stuff and recruit for their 35 or rookie list who they want the following year

Agree 2010. But you are both assuming that the QAFL U18 comp is any good relative to the nth/sth/central conferences? There are 4 teams in the QAFL comp that will be very very ordinary based on 2013 form - Labarador, PBC, University, Surfers (can't remember if they are even putting a side in). If you took the best sides out of each conference and put them into one then there would be maybe 5 in the QAFL that would get a gig with at least 2 from each of the others.

The reasoning for putting the NEAFL U18 sides into the 3 "other" conferences was no doubt to provide credibility to these comps and ensure less movement of players from one club to another and then ending up with the same old scenario of 3-4 extremely strong clubs and the others terrible. The issue in recent years has been that the best Sandgate/Grange U17's get snaffled by Aspley on the premise that it will be better for their development... Doubtful at best as this standard revolves more around the coaching and less around the facilities attached to the club plus the best players are involved in development programs anyway with the Academies. Like 2010 said

I know Maroochy U18 side will be strong again and although it would have been better to be playing in an elite comp, then this restructure is the next best where, if good enough, will play in a cross conference finals series at the years end against all the best sides. We have the opportunity to put boys into our A grade side (as we did this year) and although the seconds comp will be weaker, we will still push boys into this where necessary.

new thread
NEAFL Eastern Clubs 2014
for matters about our clubs down south, that may not be especially interesting to fans of QLD/NT

Doesn't that seem like a waste of a thread considering it's one comp now? I'm interested in what the eastern clubs are up to and I would have thought it would be good to hear about it in here?

Totally agree Peanut01, one comp one thread - splitters not welcome - unless our southern cousins are feeling a little temporary in a now very strong league.

It's a fair call Peanut, but I wonder how many other banana-benders give a toss about what happens down here. Hardly anyone down here gives a toss about what goes on down here.

Your forum got heaps more activity than ours last season, and your teams seem to know each other pretty well - we have two Sydney teams and four Canberra teams and hardly any of us at either end of the road has the slightest idea what happens at the other end.
And then, one step removed, Qld/NT are different planets.

Next season, our southern teams will mostly play each other, and your teams will mostly do the same, so I reckon that interest will still be pretty parochial. If we have our own thread then at least we will be able to hear each other. But I'm happy to be persuaded.
Just watch the website crash now as our Eastern contributors rush to be heard.

Not.

I'm mostly just posting in this thread so it comes up in my subscriptions but yeah it seems like there might as well just be one thread.

Justa is correct, that down here there are only a few that contribute, there may be plenty that look and read but when it comes to voicing an opinion it is very thin on the ground ( a bit like what some of our teams will be next/this year).
I personally think the NEAFL is a great idea and for it too truly work then the old (all 3 years of it LMAO) Northern and Eastern must go. Do a proper draw and let the cards fall where they may (the 4 AFL clubs don't want this though as they want their developing players to play against other AFL developing players as often as possible).
Just reading here, the non-AFL teams in Qld look to be getting very strong (which is great) because of the number of sides.
I don't think that Canberra can sustain 4 sides but we will see, problem is no-one wants to play for anyone else down here that history shows was a deadly enemy. Starting new clubs from scratch would never work either as the admin and support staff needed aren't created overnight and club history is a wonderful thing to be a small part of.
I will probably be involved in both threads but I think this one is the main one to be involved in.

Just as a side note and to back Justabaraker up a bit, he did a tipping comp down here and there was about 6 or 7 at most that took part. Interest is not high.

Merry Xmas to all.:)

NEAFL- 2014