chikka ferguson....................99............4..........103
nqtragic.............................93.............5...........98
NorWest.............................93.............4...........97
billybunter...........................93............4...........97
Lifes a beach 1....................92............4...........96
justabaraker........................91............4...........95
stuyd1...............................90............5...........95
brewser..............................86...........x............86

Well done Blackdog, and well done to us all for sticking with it for the season. Hope we will all be back next year for another comp in the 'revamped, revamped NEAFL Mark 3'.

.................FINAL FOOTY TIPPING RESULTS
………………………………After......Round......After
……………………………...Rd 20........21........Rd 21

blackdog32.........................101............5.........106
Dogwarna...........................101............4.........105
chikka ferguson....................99............4..........103
nqtragic.............................93.............5...........98
NorWest.............................93.............4...........97
billybunter...........................93............4...........97
Lifes a beach 1....................92............4...........96
justabaraker........................91............4...........95
stuyd1...............................90............5...........95
brewser..............................86...........x............86

Well done Blackdog, and well done to us all for sticking with it for the season. Hope we will all be back next year for another comp in the 'revamped, revamped NEAFL Mark 3'.
Justabraker,
and a thank you for handling the tipsters scorecard all season. Well done.

Justabraker,
and a thank you for handling the tipsters scorecard all season. Well done.

Justabaraker,

Another big thanks from the Bunter, I am with you as I tip ASPLEY and THUNDER for next week as well.

I look forward to your accounting again next season.

Does anyone know when the NEAFL awards night is on and where it is to be held - or even - will the NEAFL live stream the evening as the votes are counted?????

Justabaraker,

Another big thanks from the Bunter, I am with you as I tip ASPLEY and THUNDER for next week as well.

I look forward to your accounting again next season.

Does anyone know when the NEAFL awards night is on and where it is to be held - or even - will the NEAFL live stream the evening as the votes are counted?????
yep.

done and dusted.

NT Thunder Facebook page has some news. go there. very nt based obviously but here you go

2014 NEAFL MVP award:
Winner - Matt Payne (Asp) 102 votes, Runner Up -Aaron Vandenberg (Ainslie) 77 votes

10570544_642434195872234_4077970149543699399_n.jpg

See on the NEAFL website, next weeks finals are Thunder vs Ainslie ( 3rd vs 6th) at Darwin, and Redland vs Aspley at Graham road (4th vs 5th). And the Swans and Giants get a week off. The teams that loose are eliminated and the teams that win will play the 2 AFL ressie sides where the loosers are out as well.Geez, like a round robin pre season comp. This is just wrong !!!.I say no more.

yep.

done and dusted.

NT Thunder Facebook page has some news. go there. very nt based obviously but here you go

2014 NEAFL MVP award:
Winner - Matt Payne (Asp) 102 votes, Runner Up -Aaron Vandenberg (Ainslie) 77 votes

10570544_642434195872234_4077970149543699399_n.jpg

Thanks Seanoff,

They certainly kept that quite - Where did they conduct this secret awards night?

Good to see Mathew Paine win he is a champion - I wonder if we will get to see the full run down of votes, including the Umpires votes for the year?

Bring on the Finals Series and the new Revamped, Revamped NEAFL Mark 3 Competition next year (Un-Compromised lets hope).

See on the NEAFL website, next weeks finals are Thunder vs Ainslie ( 3rd vs 6th) at Darwin, and Redland vs Aspley at Graham road (4th vs 5th). And the Swans and Giants get a week off. The teams that loose are eliminated and the teams that win will play the 2 AFL ressie sides where the loosers are out as well.Geez, like a round robin pre season comp. This is just wrong !!!.I say no more.

Isn't this how a final 6 works?

[QUOTE="

Well done Blackdog, and well done to us all for sticking with it for the season. Hope we will all be back next year for another comp in the 'revamped, revamped NEAFL Mark 3'.[/QUOTE]

Thanks Justabaraker for tallying the votes and you and the Eastern guys for your contributions,it certainly made for a better understanding of the overall NEAFL from your end.I too hope the NEAFL goes on to better things but it will need resource injections or realignments and a relationship overhaul with key stakeholders and that includes the local fans.

Isn't this how a final 6 works?
In any final six you would have played the other teams at least once if not twice. I know Aspley haven't played against three of them.

Perhaps the top 6 would have looked a little different had it been a full home and away comp. Hopefully we'll get to find out next year??

Michael,
As a supporter of the new concept NEAFL competition, it saddens me to see any club pull out of something which is currently, work in progress and once the bugs are ironed out, IMO I hope it will be a very, very good 2nd tier AFL Competition in Australia.

With the withdrawal of Queanbeyan and Belconnen, we still have a presence of the two other traditional clubs of Ainslie and Eastlake from the ACT area. Which although not ideal, it still gives the better player around the region (should they wish) a chance to mix it with the best in a 2nd tier AFL Competition without having to relocate to another state.

Having said that, I for the life of me cannot understand or fathom how the AFL Competition in Sydney can only support 1 NEAFL Team from the greater Sydney region.

I am not an advocate for the AFL body topping up teams that struggle at a financial level in any competition, but surely a form of low interest financial support to an already established team within the current NEAFL competition, would in this case continue to increase the standard of the AFL game in Sydney by keeping two NEAFL clubs operating out of the Sydney region.

I can remember the mooting of the AFL/Qld here in Brisbane, that if the current 3 NEAFL clubs did not sign on to the new NEAFL concept - the AFL would establish a side out of the new Morten Bay Complex to make up the numbers for Qld.

What is the difference in Sydney?????????

Surely if the AFL are fair dinkum about the NEAFL competition moving forward, then it is an absolute MUST that at least like in the ACT, a two team representation come's out of the Sydney region, if not IMO, we are going to end up going backwards - maybe the Giants concept is a big waste of AFL and our money, if we can't sustain in the very least another 2nd tier Sydney team to support their and the Sydney Swans reserves side to play against.
Bunter is right in thinking that it's looney to have just one NEAFL team operating out of Sydney, especially when that team (Sydney Uni) is alligned with the Swans on the coastal fringe, whereas, without the Eagles, there is no presence in Western Sydney where the GWS Giants thrust is.

Don't be surprised if there is another western Sydney team to be included in the 2015 NEAFL, along the lines of the "Morton Bay Complex" that Bunter outlined above.....(but that's a hunch rather than a rumour that I am starting).

Thanks for the kind remarks about me and the tipping comp - I only took it on because I thought I was going to WIN !!! Third last as it turned out....GO ME !!

Thunder to keep on winning these finals as long as they're played in Darwin at night, but for the Giants to win the flag when the Thunder falters. Swans to go only half-hearted because they'll chop/change/sacrifice as required to maxx out the chances of a flag for the Seniors.

We'll be back in 2015 - my guess is that there will be two ACT teams, two Sydney teams, four AFL Reserves, four from Qld/NT, and that the fixture will be loaded again as it has been so far.

In any final six you would have played the other teams at least once if not twice. I know Aspley haven't played against three of them.

Perhaps the top 6 would have looked a little different had it been a full home and away comp. Hopefully we'll get to find out next year??

yes, that's where I was coming from.... the finals fixture is similar to a round robin fixture with teams that haven't even played each other during the home and away season. or played each other 3 times!!! just not right.

See the SWANS have already booked players in for surgery, so that will weaken their playing list. Giants will be able to field a full list side during the finals and I se them winning the comp..Thunder and Aspley a outside chance to make the big game with the Swans list not being so strong now.

Justa, I'm unsure if any community club in Western Sydney has the $350K (players & coaches) required to compete at the NEAFL level. Just ask the Eagles how difficult they found it after recruiting as best they could but still being a long off the mark. Sydney Uni are a very different kettle of fish as many of their players are on scholarships therefore it doesn't cost them much at all. Their model is very sustainable (unless the Uni pull their support) however it will be interesting to see how they go next year. You would think that both Ainslie & Eastlake will get stronger with the exit of 2 clubs in the ACT and Uni wont have the Eagles to play either. From what I am hearing from the Eagles camp, not many (if any) of their players want to play at Uni and instead will move to Vic, QLD or SA to play their football. It's nothing against Uni its just that many of them have had enough of the NEAFL comp itself.

On another note, I watched the Eagles last NEAFL game on the weekend and as a club they can certainly walk away very proud of their efforts. They gave the Swans a very good run for their money for 3 quarters before being overrun in the last. At one stage I actually thought they were a great chance to cause the upset as they seemed to physically dominate the Swans in the first half. In the end the forgotten man of ROK, was the difference. The crowd was probably the biggest I have seen at a NEAFL game and the atmosphere was very good. Good luck to the Eagles as they go back to being a community based club in the local competition.

Eastlake prop up GWS they have an alignment there.

Well done Blackdog on the tipping, I thought I would take the lions on hearing just before the bounce Giants on had the 13 listed!! We were both of the belief Uni would roll the sharks, but with the Sharks 40-0 up early we weren't looking to smart.

Couple of cracking finals this weekend, Aspley v Redlands will be a beauty with both coaches keeping a few cards close to the chest last weekend, great poster on Facebook from Aspley..share if you can as it's probably the only promotion of the game available!

It would be nice to know the logistics of getting Ainslie to the top end this weekend, if the AFL send them the day of the game, Ainslie should forfeit and save $25000!!!

Justa, I'm unsure if any community club in Western Sydney has the $350K (players & coaches) required to compete at the NEAFL level. Just ask the Eagles how difficult they found it after recruiting as best they could but still being a long off the mark.
There is surely no community club in Western Sydney that would want to join NEAFL....they would have rocks in the heads if they did !!
I'm wondering whether the AFL would start up a club from nothing and scrounge around for personnel to add to their own resources - I'm thinking of the models of Gold Coast Suns, Freo, GWS, Blacktown Magic, Macarthur Giants. My knowledge of footy in the west of Sydney is that there are good players floating around, and some administrators that might be persuaded. There are crumbs that have fallen off the Eagles table that aren't going to absorbed into the Sydney competition.

There is surely no community club in Western Sydney that would want to join NEAFL....they would have rocks in the heads if they did !!
I'm wondering whether the AFL would start up a club from nothing and scrounge around for personnel to add to their own resources - I'm thinking of the models of Gold Coast Suns, Freo, GWS, Blacktown Magic, Macarthur Giants. My knowledge of footy in the west of Sydney is that there are good players floating around, and some administrators that might be persuaded. There are crumbs that have fallen off the Eagles table that aren't going to absorbed into the Sydney competition.
be no chance.

Justa, I'm unsure if any community club in Western Sydney has the $350K (players & coaches) required to compete at the NEAFL level. Just ask the Eagles how difficult they found it after recruiting as best they could but still being a long off the mark. Sydney Uni are a very different kettle of fish as many of their players are on scholarships therefore it doesn't cost them much at all. Their model is very sustainable (unless the Uni pull their support) however it will be interesting to see how they go next year. You would think that both Ainslie & Eastlake will get stronger with the exit of 2 clubs in the ACT and Uni wont have the Eagles to play either. From what I am hearing from the Eagles camp, not many (if any) of their players want to play at Uni and instead will move to Vic, QLD or SA to play their football. It's nothing against Uni its just that many of them have had enough of the NEAFL comp itself.

On another note, I watched the Eagles last NEAFL game on the weekend and as a club they can certainly walk away very proud of their efforts. They gave the Swans a very good run for their money for 3 quarters before being overrun in the last. At one stage I actually thought they were a great chance to cause the upset as they seemed to physically dominate the Swans in the first half. In the end the forgotten man of ROK, was the difference. The crowd was probably the biggest I have seen at a NEAFL game and the atmosphere was very good. Good luck to the Eagles as they go back to being a community based club in the local competition.

chook27,

I was pointing out that Sydney is our biggest City (by population) in the Country, surely among all that population in the region, an AFL second tier side can be either found or created by the AFL Body (it was threatened in Queensland, what makes NSW any different?), my opinion is that the Eagles pulled out too early as they had the makings of being a dam good NEAFL Side. Again I am not a supporter of AFL Funds being spent propping up clubs that can't find the funding to stand on their own - But in this case the Eagles with a few good key position players and with the help of AFL/NSW could have been a real threat to the NEAFL and with this, I am sure their current and potential sponsors would be falling over themselves to be involved (lets all call it a non interest required loan), with that this problem is solved.

Sydney with only having 1 team to represent their region is a joke and an AFL laughing stock - This capitulation of only one side is a white flag running up the sports flagpole to the rugby league and rugby competition in NSW, inferring that that the real Australian game - AFL is not worth fighting for in Sydney, Grass roots support for AFL in Sydney has either broken down or has been abandoned and not been pursued to the extent of the other non AFL States in Australia. Does this mean the Sydney Swans and GWS Giants are second class footy sides compared to their QLD counterparts???????

Where do the talented AFL kids go from the Sydney region if the want to test themselves in a second tier AFL Comp? Relocate to the Capitol to play with the remaining 2 ACT sides or even worse, move their whole life's to Southern or Western states. Its time for the AFL and the AFL/NSW to wake up and smell the roses, just because its a little hard - The game itself IMO, is at stake in Sydney and its time to roll the sleeves up from all Sydney Siders loyal to AFL and have a crack to find or invent another Sydney 2nd Tier AFL Side for the future of the game, Excuses not wanted, its time for ACTION.

Ainslie and Eastlake may have to do some big recruiting from outside of Canberra. I will be very surprised if more than one or two players from Belconnen go to either club. Apparently a large number of very good NEAFL players including last years league medallist James Bennett, club captain Lexie Bennett and first grade coach Jeremy Rowe amongst others have all agreed to stay on for next year. Great sign for Belconnen to field a formidable team in the Canberra first grade comp next year but looks like there won't be much contribution from Belconnen to strengthen the Canberra NEAFL teams.

Fair game to them if they can earn the same coin playing in what amounts to a reserves competition. If you don't require the satisfaction of playing at the highest level you're capable of or the best competition in town, but just want to play for the club you love, then they're in for a treat. I imagine, like you do, that a number of club stalwarts from both Belco & QBYN, whose priorities are their club, not playing top tier football, will stick with those clubs and barely consider a move to Ainslie or Eastlake.

It's the juniors coming through those clubs, who want to possibly get drafted or play interstate in quality 2nd tier comps, who are likely to sign with the remaining NEAFL clubs, who can sell to them development opportunities and greater exposure to enhance their draft or recruitment prospects.

Well your attitude is very different from ours at SHE. Whilst we are keen to be successful at SFL level we also would like to see our kids and exceptional players play at highest level possible.

With many, we are allowing them to explore options before sitting down to negotiate terms for 2015 & beyond to enable them to play at NEAFL or other State league level.

Not sure how you can consider signing 3 players can construe that others wont want to play NEAFL ?? We are hearing at SHE that Syd Uni, Eastlake & Ainslie have already swooped and had player meetings with several Belconnen & Qybn players - in fact these happened prior to season ending

Think you might be in for a bit of a shock

Tend to agree ZZZ. Same up here at Broadbeach when we exited the NEAFL. We said goodbye to probably 15 of our best 25.

Clubs have to understand that when you drop down a comp then you are no longer the best club for some players and the club has a duty to let them go and play footy a the higher level if that's what the player wants.

And to respond to what others have said I agree sydney should have 2 NEAFL clubs. I'm a bit surprised the AFL didn't offer more help to SHE to stay in.

I have no idea about the finances with SHE but I thought their NEAFL future was bright if they hung in for a few more years.

Thunder for mine to win this year as well. The afl sides to only have 15 listed... The northern sides I reckon will win the prelims

The club is definitely encouraging players to take opportunities that they have and we will lose players who can and want to continue playing at a higher level. We've had players travel interstate, especially to Adelaide to meet with clubs to feel out the opportunities that could be available to them. Some of the older guys aren't going to get drafted now and aren't chasing the coin. For some of these guys there would be more satisfaction in sticking with their mates at a club they've played decades of footy for and having a bit of fun and success (albeit at a lower level) than finishing their careers with another club. Nothing against players who will move on, it's completely understandable to want to push yourself and play at the highest level you can. We no doubt have a number of especially younger guys who fall in this category. Just from what I've heard not many guys are keen to go to one of the local NEAFL sides

But time will tell...

NEAFL- 2014