NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2012

Tips are......

Eastlake
UWS
Hills
Swans
Ainslie to get belted in FC

Also, great to see our very own ABH on NEAFL footy talk this week. Even if he was a bit biased towards the Tigers ;) but did a good job. Great initiative by the NEAFL.

Re: Aker

We could go back over the decades, and discuss the likes of Ainslie rapeing the hell out of the league for their own greedy benefit, through signing all the talent from other ACT clubs!

-
Ive heard this since I landed in this area, who and how many outside of their current list that used to be at Weston Creek? I took the same rap from an Ainslie supporter when the Tiges got four or so ex Ainslie boys in my early times here.

I can't comment pre 2002, but I'd be interested to hear the story? Was it that bad, or folklore to some extent?

ABH, you'd have have historical knowledge to set me straight about internal-league movements. (and good job.)

I am only going off memory as I have nothing historical.

Will only mention players who were top line (that I can remember) and will surely miss some obvious ones.

O'Brien from Belco to Ainslie
Sherridan from WC to Ainslie
Walenski from WC to Ainslie
Cooper from Tuggers to Ainslie to Eastlake
R.Jaques from Ainslie to Qbn
D.Jaques from Ainlsie to Qnb
Kav from Ainslie to Qbn
Matt Ryan from Sth Districts to WC
Michael Horne from WC to Eastlake
Tuggers ruckman in the mid 90's who went to Ainslie (can see the face but cant remember the name ATM)
Scott Christie from WC to Tuggers
Billy Neely from Qbn to Ainslie to Qbn
Gobbers from Belco to Ainslie
Mathis Brothers from WC to Ainslie
McGrath from Ainslie to Eastlake
Stone from WC to Ainslie
Gorman from WC to Ainslie
Knowles from Ainslie to Belco
Jansen from WC to Qbn
Mathison from Belco to Qbn

Let me think some more!

Mt Gravatt to get their first win of the season by 4 goals over Eastlake as Vultures have been getting better with each game, and are always hard to beat at Dittmer.

UWS over Queanbeyan for no other reason that fulltime footballers should beat part time footballers and I am not yet convinced on Queanbeyan by 6 goals

Hills to comfortably defeat Belconnen by 8 goals. Hills with a few quality players and will be finalists IMO

Swans to defeat Tuggeranong by 15 goals despite making 10 changes from last week.

Ainslie wil get whacked in foxtel cup

-
Ive heard this since I landed in this area, who and how many outside of their current list that used to be at Weston Creek? I took the same rap from an Ainslie supporter when the Tiges got four or so ex Ainslie boys in my early times here.

I can't comment pre 2002, but I'd be interested to hear the story? Was it that bad, or folklore to some extent?

ABH, you'd have have historical knowledge to set me straight about internal-league movements. (and good job.)

I was thinking the 80s and 90s as 1 example.

Tuggeranong always had strong juniors, but with no recruiting zones etc, and money tight down in the valley. It was easy for the rich clubs like Ainslie to take away all the good players.

I played for the Lions, but there was the Bulldogs also in the valley.

Tuggers charge $5 for Greenway so unless they hike it up to $10 when the Aker show is on.

Maybe Aker might generate more media exposure on WIN News for the Hawks and their sponsors which might justify the fee. But is he really getting the same match fee as Fev? I reckon it's $12k all up for the whole package.

My Rugby League mates have thrown up Aker as an example of why AFL is such a laughable game that will never really take off - if Aker generates more TV exposure, (and you're right in saying that he will), then it will be because he says or does something really dumb. TV won't give him much air time if he only plays some footy.
You guys mostly think he will come and go without much impact and I agree.

Re: Swans

I watched Jarred Crouch interviewed on NEAFL TV. His job is to develop players rather than win footy games and I reckon it must be hard to coach a team where your players are aiming to play as individuals and don't care if the team wins or not.
That's why we all support our own team and throw up old rivalries like you guys are doing at the moment....because it matters and it SHOULD matter.
It's all good.

My Rugby League mates have thrown up Aker as an example of why AFL is such a laughable game that will never really take off - if Aker generates more TV exposure, (and you're right in saying that he will), then it will be because he says or does something really dumb. TV won't give him much air time if he only plays some footy.
You guys mostly think he will come and go without much impact and I agree.

Take off how?

Explain to your ignorant RL mates, that the ACT (Canberra) was actually an Aussie Rules town (that's right, AFL is a competition) before the Faiders and Thrumbies came along. The upcoming 100th anniversary of the ACT will attest to that.

Secondly, RL doesn't have any respectable grass roots involvement outside of NSW/QLD, where as Australian Rules (indigeous game) only has Football (soccer) to compete with at the junior level Australia wide.

I am sure Aker's involvement with the Hawks, will not be a complete failure as some of you are alluding too!

Belconnen v Hills

you're right on both counts, but NRL is still strong up here in Sydney. Losing traction though.
The NRL-lovers who are nervous like to bagg out AFL.....because they're nervous I think. And every time some AFL empty-head gets onto the front page of the paper then that's a chance for bagging-out. And, of course, we'd all rather be doing the bagging out, rather than receiving it !!!!

Watched Belconnen v Hills yesterday. Belconnen started well and looked the goods - Lokan and Harris are great up forward and Hills couldn't contain them. But in the third quarter, Hills came back and Gus and Tangutalum were instrumental.
I know you guys have commented in this forum previously, but Tangutalum is quite something isn't he.
Hills came back despite inaccurate kicking at goal, and should have been way further ahead at the break. Last quarter they straightened up and won easily.
Belconnen faded badly and I wondered if the travelling might have something to do with it. But I see that, after the six "cross-state" clashes between the seven "community clubs" that Belconnen is the first team to catch the bus then lose.

Quote [Belconnen faded badly and I wondered if the travelling might have something to do with it]

Well the Canberra clubs have previously travelled up to play the Swans up until last year which was then more often with the QLD clubs (air travel!) and with GWS entering NEAFL.

I think over time clubs being used to travel interstate regularly will develop routines to deal with this even though most players in the Canberra comp are semi-professionals/amateurs.

Haven't had a chance to watch it yet (got it IQ'd), but did anyone catch Ainslie's Foxtel Cup effort?

Losing by 7 goals is probably much less than I thought it would be... Anyone see it/make any observations? Looking at the stats from afl.com.au, seems no one from the Tri-Colours had more than 13 possessions, where as Van Berlo unsurpisingly had 30+...

Might watch it tonight and see what the go is.

Yeah, great player, and will not stick around long term for the Eagles so what's the point and the long term strategy? and really not sure what the Eagles are about with Seebeck in the side, this guy is a slug, too big,too slow, not fit, has not played for a number of years and slots straight back in to a newly formed NEAFL side??? Are they serious, last week he was lucky to get around 4 or 5 touches at full forward and looked seriously out of place.

Cmon Eagles the NEAFL is not a let's give the boys a shot carnival, you owe it to the AFL (money injection $$$$$) and the opposition teams to front up each week with a serious squad of fit and committed players, not the old hacks of your premier years. Looks like for all the hype the eagles are still poorly managed and it's struggling with selection each week?

GOOD LUCK and should get soundly flogged by Ainslie this week.

I hate to drag up old new but I did say I would be following the progress of the Eagles closely.

I suppose our friend Sherrin Tragic is not following this thread anymore but I can't help but point out that Seebeck (who he gave such a glowing report on) kicked 6 in their win over Belconnen on the weekend.

Admittedly, they have played 1 more game than most in the competition so far, but after round 5, the Sydney Eagles sit equal top of the ladder (2nd on %)

If they are so poorly managed as you point out, they are doing a pretty good job of hiding it.

ST - Are you willing to come on here and retract your statement?

Of course, there is a long way to go, but I reckon we might see some extra Sydney presence in the finals this year. Could even be a few finals played in Sydney which won't keep the local Canberra sides happy.

Thoughts....

C'mon ST, be a man!

Yeah the "Slug" did ok 6 isnt too bad after a few years out of the game. Doubt ST will retract his or her comments though, will probably come up with more dribble.

Rd 5, very early to call for anything finals I would say, however a good start by the new Sydney team the Eagles.

Haven't had a chance to watch it yet (got it IQ'd), but did anyone catch Ainslie's Foxtel Cup effort?

Losing by 7 goals is probably much less than I thought it would be... Anyone see it/make any observations? Looking at the stats from afl.com.au, seems no one from the Tri-Colours had more than 13 possessions, where as Van Berlo unsurpisingly had 30+...

Might watch it tonight and see what the go is.

It wasn't a bad game - Ainslie had a pretty even contribution throughout without any standouts, probably true that no one got over 13 touches. It never looked like Ainslie would win, but they put together some really good passages of play. The difference was probably how clean West Perth were with the footy, especially in close. They looked extremely fit too.

Ainslie should learn a lot from playing opposition like that, and can hold their heads high, it was a good effort, they certainly weren't dominated. Would like to think they will beat belco by 10-12 goals this weekend at manuka.

I hate to drag up old new but I did say I would be following the progress of the Eagles closely.

I suppose our friend Sherrin Tragic is not following this thread anymore but I can't help but point out that Seebeck (who he gave such a glowing report on) kicked 6 in their win over Belconnen on the weekend.

Admittedly, they have played 1 more game than most in the competition so far, but after round 5, the Sydney Eagles sit equal top of the ladder (2nd on %)

If they are so poorly managed as you point out, they are doing a pretty good job of hiding it.

ST - Are you willing to come on here and retract your statement?

Of course, there is a long way to go, but I reckon we might see some extra Sydney presence in the finals this year. Could even be a few finals played in Sydney which won't keep the local Canberra sides happy.

Thoughts....

C'mon ST, be a man!

Not sure that us "Canberra" sides think that all finals should be played here???
The comp is now a southern area based comp and if we follow the lead of the AFL, then the team finishing higher on the ladder after the home and away season should gain the advantage of playing on their home ground (As all finals have been played at Manuka in the past this is not everyones home ground in the ACT and surrounds).
They are held at Manuka because of the excellent facilities and playing surface.
Again not sure if "the powers that be" have allocated where the finals will be played?

Not sure that us "Canberra" sides think that all finals should be played here???
The comp is now a southern area based comp and if we follow the lead of the AFL, then the team finishing higher on the ladder after the home and away season should gain the advantage of playing on their home ground (As all finals have been played at Manuka in the past this is not everyones home ground in the ACT and surrounds).
They are held at Manuka because of the excellent facilities and playing surface.
Again not sure if "the powers that be" have allocated where the finals will be played?

Interesting point, besides the SCG and Blacktown are the home grounds of syd uni and hills up to a standard that would warrant finals footy being played on??

[quote=le bron jim;23980736]Interesting point, besides the SCG and Blacktown are the home grounds of syd uni and hills up to a standard that would warrant finals footy being played on??[/quote]

Hills home ground is excellent - they have played NAB Cup games there.

Sydney Uni uses the Uni No 1 oval (you've probably seen it on TV being used for Union matches). It's pretty but a bit small and parking is hopeless. As well, the playing surface is crap as any Eastlake player will tell you.
Syd Uni also uses Henson Park which is excellent too.

Trouble is that these ovals are in hot demand come finals time, and more so than ever this year with the rapid expansion of the Sydney comp meaning more finals than ever.
Remember that Sydney was designed without AFL in the town-planning specifications and there aren't many AFL-size grounds anywhere; that's why the AFL is now spending so much money here on ground development.
Will be good in years to come but not yet.

How Uni oval number 1 has any games on is a disgrace. Any club coming to play there should think again. Tiny oval, trees over hang the boundaries, surface sub par ruined by rugby. How it is approved know one knows.

I went there about 3 years ago to watch a game in the afl Sydney comp. must agree the surface wasn't great and it looks pretty much a circle rather than an oval so from memory it's very short. Must say though, I went to a night game and the small club house and stand provided a good place to watch the game and it was a good atmosphere. I remember enjoying being there.

Facilities to watch great. Oval is too small definitely a circle. Trees overhang boundaries which whilst maybe a pretty look isn't suitable for footy. Apparently major works to go into the ground but until the ground is upgraded the league and clubs playing there near to rethink it as a venue.

if the league was fair dinkum . if the swans or uni are host has to be scg. if its giants or hills has the be blacktown Canberra sides at manuka. showpiece games need to be at showpiece venue's

NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2012