NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2011 - Part 2

aspley and the vultures to win for mine. aspley won't roll over in this one. the suns won't get close.

so if the suns get rolled. their home final would be at southport on a sunday. but than again i thought the vultures would get a home game. so the game will probably be played at beenleigh

My Tips;
Mt Gravatt by 6 goals
Morningside by 4 goals.

Maybe fingers too fat for the keys on the iphone hey dumbness.

Team lists just posted on website. Suns have shown their intentions. Didn't even qualify enough guys for finals by the look.

Suns team is the weakest by far that they have put out all year. Every NEAFL club would beat them by 10 goals. Expect Mt Gravatt to get the job done in the first half and go through the motions in the second.

The whole Suns situation with their top ups and what is happening now are the only blights on what has been a terrific year, and I hope this is addressed.

Very weak team from the Suns. Gc shouldve let Hutchins/Toy play as they are eligible yet only AFL emergencies. 14 listed players involved, none of huge note. Guys like Krakouer and Jolly need HUGE games. Vultures looking steady however, give me them by 8 goals.

Other match should be more interesting but Siders experience to prove too much.

Why the gloominess guys over whether the Lions / Suns put out their best 22 each week? Appreciate it would lead to a few "credibility" issues but bottom line is they are more than competitive when they want to be but obviously they play for a different agenda. It would be like the Aspley 2nds players bemoaning the fact that Morningside "experimented" with a few 18's players against them.

Bottom line is that the best side will still win the premiership and its not like its the only comp in Australia that has this unique issue - the VFL would have exactly the same problems I would imagine but with far more AFL club aligned sides in it.

Chikka, how did the naruran boys end up. did they win today. you commented how tough their game was against Tonga the other day. I can imagine that as the 2 islands have had it in 4 each other for years.would of been good to see.

Maurie,

Hope you have got a better excuse this week if the Suns give you a touch up - I can't wait to hear it.

Snorky..no excuses any game.....just heard "the rumours" last week that concerned me....If Vultures lose then they lose but reckon a win by 10 goals is on the cards...Its all or nothing now....

Maurie,

I think you are pretty right this week, you might be going to Darwin with the look of the Suns side, its a shame (and that can be read both ways) really as the Vultures probably need a tough game this week in readyness for next week, all going well of course.

Good luck for the blue and whites, lets hope they turn it around this week and play the type of footy we all know they can.

*Footnote* Its been a real learning curve for Mr. Football (Guy McKenna) and his coaching staff to go through the season with a very good reserve's side (probably this year the best chance to win a flag in the NEAFL they will ever get) and not have had enough players quallified to play finals footy -poor management in my opinion, add to that also to have at least 15 players on his list not to be given a game in the senoirs in a transition year - its not as if they were going to play AFL Finals footy this year and who knows he may have un earthed a couple of stars from within his midst, but we will now never know.

Chikka, how did the naruran boys end up. did they win today. you commented how tough their game was against Tonga the other day. I can imagine that as the 2 islands have had it in 4 each other for years.would of been good to see.[/quot

The boys lost by 6 points yest against Sth Africa in a play off for 5th and 6th.Down by 32 at qtr time,hit lead in 3rd qtr and a goal was kicked after siren by SA to win.

X Eagle and Labrador player Stanus Susave was named player of tournament,and no I did not have a vote on this.Wish I did not get in a shout with Dippa at Crown Casino last night.Long plane ride home.

Changed my tips to Vultures and Panthers
Suns asked Redlands for usual top up players but refused as they would not be able to play for Redlands reserves in finals series.

Reckon there might be smarter people than you snorkle in charge of their list - they have played 35 guys this year to date - thats a fair few. Unlike their 2's they probably do care if they are winning at senior level to a certain degree. I'm not sure they would be putting a 2's premiership cup (and that is what it is to them), front and centre of the trophy cabinet.

Fair point on that one Re: smarter people than me SMY, but it is not rocket science, just remember they set the NEAFL up at the request and for the northern AFL reserve sides to get a better comp and a better standard of game for their players, most of the other clubs in the comp especially in the Northern Division have lifted the bar to give them this, and they the Suns treat the Comp with contempt showing their who gives a rats attitude. Trophies may be all they have (if they win any and one is better than none) to look at and be remembered by when the AFL driven gloss wears off and the crowds drop off.

Interesting reading from Chickka, here saying they, the mighty GC Suns were ringing around (Redlands for one) begging for top up players to make their side competitive for this weeks final when they had 54 on their list this year and blew the chance to really compete, this is a joke and it shows how good they manage their playing roster or is that mismanage it. They may need a bit more of professionalism in this department for the future years depending on how long that will be one would think.

agree, Hornets to win with Mt Gravatt to bounce back.
Whisper is that Micah Buchanan will deffinetaly play. the weather will suit him and he will be the difference

Why the gloominess guys over whether the Lions / Suns put out their best 22 each week? Appreciate it would lead to a few "credibility" issues but bottom line is they are more than competitive when they want to be but obviously they play for a different agenda. It would be like the Aspley 2nds players bemoaning the fact that Morningside "experimented" with a few 18's players against them.

Bottom line is that the best side will still win the premiership and its not like its the only comp in Australia that has this unique issue - the VFL would have exactly the same problems I would imagine but with far more AFL club aligned sides in it.

Have to agree, We would all be whinging if these sides took it serious and no one could ever beat them. We should be thankfull that local established clubs have a great chance to compete against top players but still have a very good chance of winning the GF. Lions and Suns can do whatever they want, its their team.

see zorko has been invited to the pre draft school in melbourne in a few weeks time. this means at least 2 afl clubs are looking seriously at him. good luck to him as he has an unprecidented desire to make the big time.He mighten make it, but his form over the past 3 seasons shows he is up there regardless of being a little small in physical size. I just dont understand why the suns or lions have not grabbed him to at least give him a go and keep a queenslander in the afl qld clubs.

Just on Zorko, he is still only 21. Has won 3 B @ F at Broadbeach, and is miles ahead of some of the youngsters that have been given a crack at the elite level on the Suns AND LIONS LIST.As I said, he might not make it , but surely he deserves the oppurtunity.

With all this rain, it will be interesting to see the conditions of the playing surfaces at Morningside and Redlands tomorrow. obviously they will be wet weather surfaces and that will mean the competing sides will have to adjust.umm, could well shed a different light on the results.

i would rather see them have a crack every year and for play for a flag every year. they are treating the local league terribly and they have been for years. the league doesn't care, it's all about the money for them. that's why we have 2 afl reserves teams in the local league up here

Obviously you guys are too young to remember what happened when the Lions first came in with the Cubs if you are moaning about the Suns attitude now. You are dead set kidding yourself if you think a bunch of amateur footballers (basically thats what the majority of NEAFL footballers are) could compete on a level playing field with blokes on minimum $50K who train a million times a week. The Suns had a kindergarten team playing this year, when they start establishing some sort of list they would tear the comp apart as would the Lions if they were fair dinkum. Should the Magpies stop sending players to the Lions then bc it is compromising the comp??

Think some of you need to get your head out of the sand, recognise that the 2 AFL sides aren't playing for the same chocolates you are (Snorkle - you must be kidding re your last post - silverware is silverware?? Yeah right, 2's premierships are celebrated with vigour in a decades time) and it is all about development with their philosophy, not winning games. So be it, it is what it is. Get over it and make sure you win the premiership in any case I would argue.

NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2011 - Part 2