NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2011 - Part 2

sorry i have never heard of these so called "humans"
I think i know why... because they are nobodies.
crook, hughes, gobbers, thoey, paine, tutt.... now we are talking class fooballers
do you guys still play bare foot?

this bloke has no idea. he doesn't even know who Andrew McLeod is. go back to doing your homework son

OK Pokey...you seem pretty confident. In fact after reading your posts in here it is evident that Ainslee should be starting as favourites for the event. Given your supreme confidence I think I should offer you an opportunity to steal some money on the game....what do you say on an even money wager...I suppose you would want to have a few k on at this price for such an easy victory.....let me know big fella :)..am sure we can set up a Betfair account to ensure everything is legal.....

Mate I'll give ya three to one odds ;)

I dont know if youve heard but we are Back to back premiers

I think i have heard of that McLoed bloke did'nt he have a few daughters?

Mate I'll give ya three to one odds ;)

I dont know if youve heard but we are Back to back premiers

I think i have heard of that McLoed bloke did'nt he have a few daughters?

Nice shit stirring Pokemon, are you still on the drink? Let's hope so.

Crook is an absolute gun, but I think you'll need 8 more of him to get close, NT are an awesome team.

Good piece of fishing by Pokemon - must be a boxer...:D (either that or the head of the NEAFL).

Reece Langan kept telling us how he basically controlled that club and the comp during the '90s Poke - current PHC B&F Luke "pie eater" Matthews is also an ex Canberra lad. Good roots here on the sunshine coast now.

To be honest I don't even think pokemon is from Ainslie. Can't even spell our players names. Just stirring a bit of sh!t before the game this weekend I think. He joined big footy this month, I think all u guys r falling for his crap. Oh well.

Amazing Pfeiffer didnt get any action with the vfl Suns last year.

A few other QLders also polled well, Spurr from Centrals with 9 and Crane from Sturt with 9.

Amazing Pfeiffer didnt get any action with the vfl Suns last year.

A few other QLders also polled well, Spurr from Centrals with 9 and Crane from Sturt with 9.

It would be nice to claim Luke Crane as a Qlder but he is a Tassie boy !! Hence he was never eligible for Qld AFL team of the year that the Courier Mail announces every year. (The one that included Karmichael Hunt this year !!!!!)
He simply cleaned up when playing for Zillmere and was their Best and Fairest for just about every year he was here.

Pfeiffer was impressive last year but let's remember Southport didn't even make the GF and their are many midfielders around in the local comp that I think are just as good if not better !!

Massive step up Damo but I reckon a sensible move. Stay in the same time zone, and much better for young NT boys to get recognised as potential AFL players if they are any good. Sounds like the government and some big business are right behind the Thunder which would make the transition a lot easier. In reality they should be miles too good for other NEAFL teams with all the advantages they have let alone being a one state side.

Their advantages are not as great as you think:
- at least half the squad come from outside Darwin - Tiwi Islands, Jabiru, Katherine, Alice Springs so they never really train as a unit
- there is no other football played in Darwin or Tiwi Islands during NEAFL season, AFL is a summer sport in that part of the world. If you are not playing in the main team you don't have the luxury of running around in the reserves as NEAFL clubs can do. You can only play the local Combined Services team !!
if you commit to Thunder you basically miss most of the NTFL season and that isn't always a popular choice in NT
- huge commitment from employers as any games requiring travel which means time off work
- very limited medical resources unlike SEQ. One MRI scanner in entire NT and it is a 4 week wait to get one, machine broke down earlier this year and was out of action for months. In Brisbane and the coast you can get one on the same day !! Very limited access to specialist care
I can't see this situation improving in quite a while and a possible move to the SANFL will most likely give them better access to medical care

Their advantages are not as great as you think:
- at least half the squad come from outside Darwin - Tiwi Islands, Jabiru, Katherine, Alice Springs so they never really train as a unit
- there is no other football played in Darwin or Tiwi Islands during NEAFL season, AFL is a summer sport in that part of the world. If you are not playing in the main team you don't have the luxury of running around in the reserves as NEAFL clubs can do. You can only play the local Combined Services team !!
if you commit to Thunder you basically miss most of the NTFL season and that isn't always a popular choice in NT
- huge commitment from employers as any games requiring travel which means time off work
- very limited medical resources unlike SEQ. One MRI scanner in entire NT and it is a 4 week wait to get one, machine broke down earlier this year and was out of action for months. In Brisbane and the coast you can get one on the same day !! Very limited access to specialist care
I can't see this situation improving in quite a while and a possible move to the SANFL will most likely give them better access to medical care

it would be good for them to go into the SANFL but they would need to recruit well (hopefully just ex NT boys) didnt the SANFL knock them back last time what would now change their mind? if they were to go it would be a great opportunity to bring in a Nth Qld team?

NOT TAKING ANYTHING AWAY FROM NT....Still deserved it.

We have to take into consideration that they did have a dream run of home games. if they played 50 / 50 home and away they may have finished 4 or 5th and a final away from home would have made it tough for them.....

just thoughts but i think the SANFL will not have these consessions for them and would make it very hard in the strongest comp outside the AFL

Yeah, fair points Thunderdoc. Obviously alot us "southerners" don't appreciate re facilities sometimes!
Reckon it could fast track a few more NT boys into the AFL though and prevent the issue of having to take them from their environment to school in Melbourne or SA or WA. Money will be the biggest issue and like you said the travel factor. SA clubs will play away from "home" once, NT boys 10 times or more.

Do the pros outweigh the cons?? Smarter ppl than us will probably decide that but at the end of the day it all seems +ve for NT footy.

the thunder might be looking to join the sanfl after 2013. big step up

It's a good move long term, but I can't see it overcoming the issues that were raised when it has been discussed before, namely the cost of travel for the SANFL.

It is obvious the Thunder are sort of in between standards. Previously, they have been too weak for SANFL sides. And maybe they might be better now, but they wouldn't be world beaters.

But it is definitely the right direction.

NOT TAKING ANYTHING AWAY FROM NT....Still deserved it.

We have to take into consideration that they did have a dream run of home games. if they played 50 / 50 home and away they may have finished 4 or 5th and a final away from home would have made it tough for them.....

just thoughts but i think the SANFL will not have these consessions for them and would make it very hard in the strongest comp outside the AFL

How could they have finished 4th or 5th - 4th (morningside only won 9 and half games) 5th Aspley only won 9 games. Thunder won 14 games (They were allocated 8 Darwin home games - won 8, 4 Alice games - lost 2) Thunder won both Gold Coast games (Southport and Broadbeach) , beat the Lions at Sherwood and beat the Suns at Cairns. They didn't play Labrador or Southport twice (who both finished out of the five) and their 2 cross conference games were against GWS, the second they play at Blacktown without the 98 Clontarf Academy boys.
If anyone is to fell aggreived it should be Broadbeach who finished out of the 5 on percentage and who played Ainslie in a cross-over game in Canberra and didn't Aspley draw the lowly Belconnen at Aspley !!

How could they have finished 4th or 5th - 4th (morningside only won 9 and half games) 5th Aspley only won 9 games. Thunder won 14 games (They were allocated 8 Darwin home games - won 8, 4 Alice games - lost 2) Thunder won both Gold Coast games (Southport and Broadbeach) , beat the Lions at Sherwood and beat the Suns at Cairns. They didn't play Labrador or Southport twice (who both finished out of the five) and their 2 cross conference games were against GWS, the second they play at Blacktown without the 98 Clontarf Academy boys.
If anyone is to fell aggreived it should be Broadbeach who finished out of the 5 on percentage and who played Ainslie in a cross-over game in Canberra and didn't Aspley draw the lowly Belconnen at Aspley !!

I think you'll find that broadbeach played Eastlake at Manuka oval. Eastlake getting the better of them by under a kick

True Doc, but Aspley beat Thunder "away" and Broadbeach couldn't beat them at home. The Hornets played Mt Gravatt three times for one win as opposed to Broadbeach once for a loss. I think you have to look at what you actually did with the draw you were given. I'm sure Broadbeach would be better served analysing themselves than crying over the draw as you would seem to be suggesting is justified.

Good luck to the Thunder on the weekend. They'll be a force to reckon with in NEAFL for a long time to come. All things considered, there'll be no NT team in SANFL for many years. Their departure would weaken the NEAFL Northern Conference considerably and remove significant AFL funding. AFL are prepared to throw in $$ to support and strengthen the competition. Why then would they turn 180 degrees and provide their blessing for NT to go south instead?

NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2011 - Part 2