NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2012

Maurie,
agree.Imo, As for the squad, kiel,burge,headland and hughes of the sharks shouldnt be there.in addittion bonney and michael.
Ins should be Poyas(how the hell could they leave him out)Jed Anderson (nt), Vearing (vultures) and Jay Neagle..... This guy is class, where his cat teamates are yet to understand his on the field movements because his mind is a step ahead of them. Not to mention his exceptional disposal be it by foot or hand.Neagle would star with the best of neafl players around him.
and what about zorko. Played his 1st game on the weekend and had 32 touches, 14 tackles and 2 goals.Does he qualify? Wrigley does, hes in the squad, is there a reason Zorko shouldnt be.

Zorko is listed and not eligible whereas wrigley is a rookie. Only qld rookies are eligible which meant that only 1 suns player was eligible and he was obviously not good enough. There has to be some recognition for guys that have done the job for qld previously so I can understand why shelton etc get in even though their club is struggling.

Regards to poyas- clearly good enough but perhaps his body could use a weekend off and for mine a young guy who just may get the eye of an afl recruiter could be selected. Same with knobel.

For what it's worth, for mine there are most likely too many southport guys in there. Not sure about headland and burge. Shreeve/emery from broadie and patterson from lab could have got an opportunity.

Zorko is listed and not eligible whereas wrigley is a rookie. Only qld rookies are eligible which meant that only 1 suns player was eligible and he was obviously not good enough. There has to be some recognition for guys that have done the job for qld previously so I can understand why shelton etc get in even though their club is struggling.

Regards to poyas- clearly good enough but perhaps his body could use a weekend off and for mine a young guy who just may get the eye of an afl recruiter could be selected. Same with knobel.

For what it's worth, for mine there are most likely too many southport guys in there. Not sure about headland and burge. Shreeve/emery from broadie and patterson from lab could have got an opportunity.

Thanks 2010 premier for the answer to my Zorko question.
Poyas is a fitness guru, thats his occupation.... wouldnt be a problem for him to play a rep game..and maybe he wud enjoy adding this honour to his already impressive list of acheivements in his footy career.
Emery not up to rep level, .... Shreeve, maybe... imo he has to eliminate his schoolboy playing days ,for this is evident on many occasions in his gameday performances

Still say, Neagle will be a star in a the rep side.

Having just under a 1/4 of the state players Southport do seem to have influence over the selection of players as others here have said. It must be time to have an independent coach and selection team for the the state squad to help ensure stacking does not occur in favour of any one team as seems to be the case here

i would have liked to have seen jack james get a look in. been playing some good footy, but the 2 aspley players are about right

Damo,

While I agree young jumping Jack is playing well at the moment the step up to Qld/NT Rep footy is a huge gap, I think Jack will have his time in a senior Qld/NT Jumper in the future, if some of the astute AFL scouts don't get him first, but at the moment he IMO would be better served honing his skills at the NEAFL level in readyness until then - he is one of a few young Aspley players and to that matter most other clubs that one day will get their chance - I hope????????

Thanks 2010 premier for the answer to my Zorko question.
Poyas is a fitness guru, thats his occupation.... wouldnt be a problem for him to play a rep game..and maybe he wud enjoy adding this honour to his already impressive list of acheivements in his footy career.
Emery not up to rep level, .... Shreeve, maybe... imo he has to eliminate his schoolboy playing days ,for this is evident on many occasions in his gameday performances

Still say, Neagle will be a star in a the rep side.

Can honestly say the whole state game this year does not interest me. We play cross conference games against them and would not get alot out of it for mine.
State selection always has an element of controversy. Expect no less from the QAFL system.
Why would Poyas want to play? Shreeve should definately be in as also a few very talented young players from other clubs.
To be fair I don't think Broadie deserves anymore than 2-3 at this stage.
Agree Neagle is all class and very selfless too. Helped Eagle out alot on the weekend.

Always difficult to agree on combined sides. I think Southport alone would beat the Eastern conference side to be honest.
Cotter has done a great job coaching the state side over the years.
Who else would do it?
I do like Shreeve and watched him on the weekend - thought he was good. First time I have seen him this year.
Tough for talented young players as under 21's would be a waste of time.
Don't think Broadbeach will get close to the sharks - expect a lopsided game. Sharks were simply outstanding on Saturday.

There has to be some recognition for guys that have done the job for qld previously so I can understand why shelton etc get in even though their club is struggling.

Why? On that basis, Bill Lawry would still be captain of Australia and Corey Fulton would be full forward for your Club! Is Ian Thorpe going to the Olympics this year? No, because his form doesn't warrant it.

If we pick state teams based on history and recognition, the team would be full of has has beens and great blokes. Enough of this crap...let's do something really innovative...let's pick the best team based on current form and free of club bias, mates, and who was a good player in their day. When we start doing this we may even start to earn a bit of credibility as a football state!

Maurie,
agree.Imo, As for the squad, kiel,burge,headland and hughes of the sharks shouldnt be there.in addittion bonney and michael.
Ins should be Poyas(how the hell could they leave him out)Jed Anderson (nt), Vearing (vultures) and Jay Neagle..... This guy is class, where his cat teamates are yet to understand his on the field movements because his mind is a step ahead of them. Not to mention his exceptional disposal be it by foot or hand.Neagle would star with the best of neafl players around him.
and what about zorko. Played his 1st game on the weekend and had 32 touches, 14 tackles and 2 goals.Does he qualify? Wrigley does, hes in the squad, is there a reason Zorko shouldnt be.

What an insult to the players of the rest of the competition that Jason Cotter would select so many from his own club. Is he seriously suggesting that Southport have 25% of the top 36 players in the competition if that was the case they would not have been smashed by the suns by 10+ goals a few weeks ago. Every club would have at least 4 players that would fit into this team.

This should really not be allowed to proceed the QAFL CEO should intervene and ensure we only have a maximum of 4 players from each club that would be far more equitable and truly represent the Northern Conference.

Quick reality check - Suns best performed team - no players due to guidelines for selection. Next most dominant team - Southport - Fair gap to rest of comp - apologies to Labrador - but IMO Southport will beat every non afl side comfortably and this has been reflected in the squad numbers. I agree a couple of names from the sharks maybe questionable. But I could say 1 or 2 from Vultures/Siders were not picked on form either.

Damo,

While I agree young jumping Jack is playing well at the moment the step up to Qld/NT Rep footy is a huge gap, I think Jack will have his time in a senior Qld/NT Jumper in the future, if some of the astute AFL scouts don't get him first, but at the moment he IMO would be better served honing his skills at the NEAFL level in readyness until then - he is one of a few young Aspley players and to that matter most other clubs that one day will get their chance - I hope????????

could have picked him in the squad. he'd probably get picked for the colts

If Blairy's picking the under 21 side then their is a fair chance that form will play a big part in making the side not past performances - not an easy job to select this squad as any number of kids could make it (when picked) and play very well - it shows good signs for the state system in the future - but alas - I dont think Southport will be able to fit them all in their ranks.

Quick reality check - Suns best performed team - no players due to guidelines for selection. Next most dominant team - Southport - Fair gap to rest of comp - apologies to Labrador - but IMO Southport will beat every non afl side comfortably and this has been reflected in the squad numbers. I agree a couple of names from the sharks maybe questionable. But I could say 1 or 2 from Vultures/Siders were not picked on form either.

Disagree a bit early for that call who have they played above them bar the Suns and NT and they are a different team in the alice and certainly have lost games their consistently over recent times. They beat MG Aspley & Redland. They have yet to play BB and Lab who have beaten everybody including the suns.

You've just answered everyones gripe, A couple of names from the sharks maybe questionable. Well what the f@ck are they doing in the squad?

but do agree northen will dominate due to the likes of dragcevic and lokan... passed used by date and unfit..... strggleing in eastern conference

Quick reality check - Suns best performed team - no players due to guidelines for selection. Next most dominant team - Southport - Fair gap to rest of comp - apologies to Labrador - but IMO Southport will beat every non afl side comfortably and this has been reflected in the squad numbers. I agree a couple of names from the sharks maybe questionable.

Ahhh the arrogance of southport! You sure that's not you Cotts? The delusional explanation as to why Southport are the greatest could be seen as some as a vindication of the state team selection!

Next most dominant team southport....why aren't they on top of the ladder? Have they won more games than Labrador?

Fair gap to rest of the comp! They ain't above Labrador old chum!

Will beat every non AFL side comfortably...mate, they havent played them all yet! That called guessing and hoping.

This has been vindicated in team selection...you're kidding me! They haven't played other teams yet. Until the weekend Danny Wise had been in the best players just once from five games....Do we owe him another state game?

Flying to Canberra in the morn to aclimatise to the predicted 0 degrees weather for Sat's game.Getting tips in early.

Panthers over Belconnen to get on the board.
Redlands over Tuggeranong.
Lions over Aspley.Bris due to get back Beams,Bartlett,Polkinghorne for starters.
Southport.
Suns.

The no state players Labrador Tigers can now turn their attention to the clash with the Redland Bombers brimming with State superstars at Victoria Point next week certainly adds some spice to the contest.

Eastern conference's best side isn't too bad, I think depth in eastern clubs is where the difference lies in cross conference games but I think they may just surprise a few ppl in the rep game. should be a ripper

I hope you are right in this call Jimmy Boy, not that I hope you guys win, but I hope that the Eastern Division take it up to our selected side when picked, after our game last year when we nearly knocked off the sleepy Sandgroppers and this year with a very biased squad with too many members IMO from one particular club, along with some other players selected who have shown very little form this season to warrant selection.

If your prediction is right, it may knock a few ego's down to size and have the selection policy for the future of AFLQ/NT/NEAFL side re-vamped to where players current form is the only consideration for selection and not what you have done in the past or which particular club you play for is the criteria !!!!!!! as it seems to be at the moment.

One bloke who should feel very dissapointed based on the current squad is young Trent Manzone from Aspley, from all reports in last years game was he played very well and got an honourable mention from the coaching staff after the game only to be overlooked this year - can only suspect due to current form (which is not that bad), if that was the case then there are at least 10 players in the current selected squad that should not be there for the same reason - go figure!!!!!!!!

You've just answered everyones gripe, A couple of names from the sharks maybe questionable. Well what the f@ck are they doing in the squad?
Everyone is focussing purely on the Southport slections or rather the quantity. They will probably have only 5 in the final side I would think.
Labrador are a very even side and do not rely on individuals from the the game I have watched.Mt Gravatt I have seen twice including Sunday and Gilliland is just going and Grose had 8 goals kicked on him by an out of form FF.
Morningside have 2 players also picked on rep or previous seasons form.
Redland have 5 because they are guns but they rely heavily on them as well. But agree especially Carse.
Broady pretty even side - poyas apparently not interested. No Zorko or Walton this year who would have been walk ups.
Aspley - sadly out of form. Big rep players inconsistent and teams form not aiding their selections.
I am sure some of the other young talent will be considered to be late inclusions if form warrants.

NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2012