Expansion New AFL strategy in Tasmania?

Tasmania need to unify if they want their own team, a split Tassie will make it harder to get their own team. I doubt the AFL want a Tasmanian team as there wont be the benefits in terms of revenue to the AFL as Tasmania is already a football loving and watching state, they want to get into new markets, especially in NSW and QLD where they are big revenue marketing economies like Victoria.

It is why I think the AFL is supporting this Hobart venture, if Tassie invests heavily in a stadium in Hobart and continue spending on upgrading Launceston then a Tassie team is doomed imo. They need a central stadium supported by North and South otherwise Tassie will be dicked around for decades to come.

That may benefit teams like North and Hawks, not really what Tassie people want.

If North play the 4 games in Tassie we will have 4 games in each area, 8 games in total - pretty regular games over the year, good for footy in tassie, good for maintaining interest and ratings too.

If North can commit long term (and that is not just North committing - its also a stadium & AFL commitment) they will end up splitting the island with the hawks over a period of several years and that is a pretty solid quanity of people and should be profitable long term.
They could show a real commitment is several ways - one would be a solid long term agreement (10 or 20 year deal), always have a pre season game in Hobart too, establish and support a social/members club and do a name change to reflect the second home say the North Melbourne & Hobart FC - doing all of these would be best.

What they should not do is: relocate (death by another name), play less than 11 games in Melborne or ever drop North Melbourne as the first part of the clubs name. The club must still be North Melbourne - even if it includes Hobart in the name.
Something they and the Hawks should also consider in a couple of years (not yet, give it a couple of years bed in and grow) is playing a local derby game each season, alternating between Hobart and Launceston. It will be the main sporting even in tassie every year and will dominate media coverage in tassie for weeks. (a tassie Queens Birthday game?)

Finally, no team should be required to play away in tassie more than once per season - the AFL would have to agree that one.

How would a name change help commitment.. wouldn't it be better for a 10 year contract with an opt out clause every second year after the 4th if the club feels it would benefit financially from ending the deal (or something to this matter)
This so f*ing North Melbourne.

Give us a big long contract, that we can break whenever something better comes along.

Absolute Parasite. :thumbsdown:

This so f*ing North Melbourne.

Give us a big long contract, that we can break whenever something better comes along.

Absolute Parasite. :thumbsdown:
Your right in that if they go in with attitude as a club it will fail. (I can understand the feelings behind the original comment - but that is a fan, not the club).
If the club commits they will have Hobart all to themselves in a few years.

Your right in that if they go in with attitude as a club it will fail. (I can understand the feelings behind the original comment - but that is a fan, not the club).
If the club commits they will have Hobart all to themselves in a few years.

I'm very surprised with the little spat here between Premier Bartlett & Kennet. I'm not into conspiracy theories BUT I think something may be going on behind the scenes. I reckon Eric Abetz may know something when he indicated his concern over the amount Hawthorn receive from the taxpayer. Maybe the amount of sponsorship is in doubt? The amount payed per game may remain but maybe a revision in the sponsorship component could be on the cards????

Abetz is a Federal Senator, and ultimately it's a matter for the State Govt and the voters.

It wouldn't matter if the sponsorship dried up, the Hawks would stay anyway, that's how committed they are to Tassie.

They are not there for the money.

:)

Hows this for an idea?

North and Hawthorn divide the seconds players in to the 10 TFL clubs in order to build up the standard of the competition for when Tasmania do eventually push for a side?

Hawthorn - Burnie, Devonport, Nth Launceston, Sth Launceston and Launceston in the north.

North - Clarence, Hobart, Nth Hobart, Glenorchy and Lauderdale in the south.

Wouldn't that be a decent show of commitment?

It wouldn't matter if the sponsorship dried up, the Hawks would stay anyway, that's how committed they are to Tassie.

They are not there for the money.

:)

I'd expect Carlton to leave Mars and Hyundai on their jumper and backdrops of press conferences etc if they stopped the sponsorship, that how committed they are to chocolate and shit cars. :rolleyes:

Hows this for an idea?

North and Hawthorn divide the seconds players in to the 10 TFL clubs in order to build up the standard of the competition for when Tasmania do eventually push for a side?

Hawthorn - Burnie, Devonport, Nth Launceston, Sth Launceston and Launceston in the north.

Nice try but AFL clubs & the AFL dont give a rats arse about Tasmanian football. As long as they drag out a few draft picks, thats all they care about. The AFL didnt care about the Devils team in the VFL. Hawthorn & NM are only interested in the money. They are self interested professional clubs. They should aim at success & money. The standard of the local game has gotten pretty ordinary over the last decade. If the AFL put some money into each club to lift the salary cap then we may keep some young lads from drifting off to Qld, WA,SA, Vic Country etc. But also attract experienced ex AFL guys who might want to start a coaching career. That would improve our local comp.

Please, enough with the negative crap.

What do you think of the idea?

If the Tassie interests made this a contractual condition then I can't see the 2 clubs budging. Surely this could only be good for the TFL?

Please, enough with the negative crap.

What do you think of the idea?

If the Tassie interests made this a contractual condition then I can't see the 2 clubs budging. Surely this could only be good for the TFL?

The TFL died in 1998. Is now the TSL
Liking the idea is irrelevant, I just don't see it as any kind of possibility, it would cost a fortune. AFL clubs want their seconds back under their control anyway.
I dont try to be negative. Seeing whats happened here over the last 30 years has made me a bit (quite a bit:D), cynical, but I do try to be somewhat realistic IMO

The TFL died in 1998. Is now the TSL
Liking the idea is irrelevant, I just don't see it as any kind of possibility, it would cost a fortune. AFL clubs want their seconds back under their control anyway.
I dont try to be negative. Seeing whats happened here over the last 30 years has made me a bit (quite a bit:D), cynical, but I do try to be somewhat realistic IMO

So, you are claiming that the AFL NEVER want a Tasmanian AFL club in the competition?

Hows this for an idea?

Hawthorn are commited to Box Hill. City oval is being redeveloped in an on going multi stage arrangement right smack bang in the centre of the eastern suburbs. Hawthorn will carry this alliance into what ever form the restructure of footballs second tier takes.

So, you are claiming that the AFL NEVER want a Tasmanian AFL club in the competition?

Well of course they didn't. The current status is a contractual arrangement to pay & sponsor Hawthorn to play some matches in Launceston. We have some rumours & possible indications that the AFL will allow some matches to be played in Hobart. I didn't see any past indications that the AFL have ever really been interested in Tasmania, other than a place to obtain a few draft picks & for struggling Melbourne clubs to suck up a few $$$ so they could survive. However I do think that the 2009 GEMBA report on the Tasmanian submission to the AFL may well have put a lie to the assumption that Tasmania couldn't afford to be in the competition. I've always felt quite strongly that a team could be relocated or started from scratch & play games in Hobart & Launceston. People would become members to watch top class footy, even though still following their old teams. Maybe the AFL can see that now also? Maybe Premier Bartlett's stiring up of Kennett may also indicate that we want now want a permanent relationship rather than getting shagged with short term & one night stands.:eek:

Abetz is a Federal Senator, and ultimately it's a matter for the State Govt and the voters.

Having gone through school with the much esteemed Senator Abetz, I can assure you he has zero interest in Footy. Never played, couldn't kick a ball...irrelevant I know, but..?

The whole issue is vexing. The smallest state has definitely punched above it's weight over time....Hudson, Hart, Baldock, I Stewart, Cazaly, Richo and many many others. Today our elite AFL crop includes J Sherman, G Birchall, the mighty S Wiggins ( OK J Riewoldt & Brad Green deserve a doff of the cap ). How did it get to this.
1. Provincial Melbourne ( The Lvov of the South ) attitudes, currently epitomised by A Demtriou's endless procrastination on the issue. At the end of he day he clearly does not want a team in Tas for perceived views on $$ & attendance
2.Disastrous local management of the game with endless re-configurations of the competition at a local level and the sleep inducing North-South crap
3. Limited support for Grassroots ( at a per capita level ) footy from the AFL comparative to elsewhere
4. Experiments with Hawks, Saints, Roos as well highlighted by other posters are simply exercises in " feeding the chooks". I detest arriving at Hobart Airport and seeing a huge billboard of the "Tassie Hawks". Birchall aside, the Hawks are about as local as a Palestinian in Tel Aviv
5. If I was young tyro with an ounce of talent, would my destiny be better served dreaming of playing for the Hawks, Dockers, Suns whomever or might I better follow my dream playing for the let's say Tassie Devils. Look at cricket. Before the shield team one Baggy Green owner, a Charles Badcock - two tests I believe...since Shield entry Boon, Ponting and numerous others. Soccer & Basketball are doing just fine in Tasmania, Aussie Rules isn't what it was when I was younger. I know TV ratings are exceptional, attendances at Hawks games are credible etc..but where is the next generation of Hudsons.
6. Victorian population 5 million - AFL teams = 10 Tasmania population 500 000...you do the Maths

To make it happen the AFL has to lead, not the Tassie taxpayer. Demetriou and his Melbourne mafia must go for sanity to prevail

Hawthorn are commited to Box Hill. City oval is being redeveloped in an on going multi stage arrangement right smack bang in the centre of the eastern suburbs. Hawthorn will carry this alliance into what ever form the restructure of footballs second tier takes.

Hawks committment is 100% the Hawks .. sleazing Tassie fans, no intewrest in anything bar their wallet . Goady et al just lacks the g&d, the cohunas to call Jeff for what he is?

Tassie need their own side, there are too many teams in Melbourne thats why the Hawks are bludging on the Tas taxpayer .. the big A to the Hawks, bludging on Vic pensioners, an immoral collection if ever you saw one.

Would the Taswegians accept such a group of unprincipled degenerates?

Hawks committment is 100% the Hawks .. sleazing Tassie fans, no intewrest in anything bar their wallet . Goady et al just lacks the g&d, the cohunas to call Jeff for what he is?

Tassie need their own side, there are too many teams in Melbourne thats why the Hawks are bludging on the Tas taxpayer .. the big A to the Hawks, bludging on Vic pensioners, an immoral collection if ever you saw one.

Would the Taswegians accept such a group of unprincipled degenerates?
If I was Jeff K over a late nite capuccino somewhere in Melboooooourne I'd be pissing my pants telling the tale of how I did those yokel cuzzies down south for 15 millaroos

.Look at cricket. Before the shield team one Baggy Green owner, a Charles Badcock - two tests I believe...since Shield entry Boon, Ponting and numerous others.

They used to say Tas wasnt worthy of entry to Sheffield Shield. What a joke that has been shown to be. More than viable.

6. Victorian population 5 million - AFL teams = 10 Tasmania population 500 000...you do the Maths

Easily stacks up for Tas (plus add in govt support and massively lower stadium break even numbers.

The only argument against a Tas team is tv revenue.

They used to say Tas wasnt worthy of entry to Sheffield Shield. What a joke that has been shown to be. More than viable.

Easily stacks up for Tas (plus add in govt support and massively lower stadium break even numbers.

The only argument against a Tas team is tv revenue.
As I have said before Footy rates it's sox off in Tassie and not a soul I know in the Western 'Burbs of Sydney watches AFL on a Friday/Saturday night, yet they get a team and well Tasmania ..keep dreaming and " show me the money" Strange days indeed!!!

Expansion New AFL strategy in Tasmania?