Toast New Posters

Time for us to return the favour and borrow a concept from Carlton.

This is a thread for new posters to the Essendon board.

This place can be intimidating sometimes and those who have been around a long time tend to forget that it is hard to find your voice in this place when you are new to the scene.

Many have long standing friendships and net relationships, some funny, some confrontational, some downright confusing.

Consider this thread a decent starting point if you just want to check in, say hi, be welcomed etc. Give people a sense of where you are from and your history as a supporter.

Give others a chance to see what you are about, before you get thrown to the wolves.

To those that have been around a little while (or those that seem to have join dates preceeding the internet existing), please welcome those new to the board. :thumbsu:

Welcome to BigFooty my younglings. Remember, do not be tempted by the dark force. And Essendon is the greatest sporting club in the history of the universe. :thumbsu:

Go.

well as a 'youngin' i will kick it off... havent been on big footy for long.
live in the south eastern suburbs of Melbourne. am under 30 and have barracked for the mighty Bombers since primary school. I play local footy on Saturdays and am a very passionate supporter of our powerful club...

I'm 15 years old and live in the western suburbs on Melbourne. I barracked for Carlton until I was 6 (because my dad and my brothers were passionate blues), I then changed to Essendon (because my mum was a supporter) and have been a bomber ever since. I have been reading posts on here for over a year, although I only just decided to register so I can have my thoughts expressed.

First time poster, although I have been a reader of the Essendon supporter threads for a couple of years. I am a "mature age" Essendon supporter who went to a Melb v Ess game in 1960, aged 7, as a Melbourne supporter, and went home as an Essendon supporter, and have been following them ever since.
I hardly missed a game during the years '68-'75 which in many ways were a lot like currrent times for us - always watching for any young players in the 2nds who might be capable of being part of next glorious era. (Robbie Amos, Eddie Lake, Dirty Doug Tassell, Duke Wellington and lots of others, if anyone can remember that era). When we finally did get a rush of young guns out of the local zone and the Wimmera in 1975 (the original "Baby Bombers" under Bill Stephen), I had stopped going as often.
Now I only go occasionally, but follow like a bloodhound on TV.

Look forward to taking in part in some of the discussions.

First time poster... I'm not just new here, but to the game itself. I'm a Las Vegas native, so the first exposure I had was on the international channel... thankfully, ESPN3 has been showing the matches.

I caught the Round 9 match against Richmond... and I've been a fan ever since.

First post ever for me.
Been coming to bigfooty for about a year and just enjoyed reading the banter, but then tried to get on today and it made me register, so i did, and here i am. seemed like the perfect thread to get started.

Hey i'm 23 yr old student, love the dons! Come from a very strong essendon involved/supporting family, and i hope to potentially work in the game when i complete my studies.

Have only been on Bigfooty for a year, posting rarely, reading mostly, and its been great to hear from people with so much knowledge on football. I've learned heaps on here and hope to continue learning.

Peace :thumbsu:

hello everyone been reading bigfooty for the last few months it stoped letting me in so I registered. I am 14 and live on a farm outside benalla. Go to alot of games :)

I'm not exactly "new" per se but haven't really been around here much, so here goes.

I'm 16 and currently living in Auckland, New Zealand. Love of footy runs in my family, and my passion ignited when brought to a game by Melburnian family as a kiddie. Easy to follow from New Zealand, but really miss not being able to go every week, so I'll probably end up doing Uni in Melbourne and slumming it on my uncle's couch just so I can be close to my red and blacks :). GO DONS!

been reading bf for years never posted but im planning on starting
19 year old bloke love my footy and my bombers
get to as many games as i can and have a massive man crush on hurls!

go dons!

Stoked to see a supportive thread for Essendon. I'm Cam, 21, been a signed up member for over a decade and support for easily 16-18 of those 21 years. Love everything about the EFC and very excited by what I've seen this year and hopefully for the many successful seasons ahead!

I'm not exactly "new" per se but haven't really been around here much, so here goes.

I'm 16 and currently living in Auckland, New Zealand. Love of footy runs in my family, and my passion ignited when brought to a game by Melburnian family as a kiddie. Easy to follow from New Zealand, but really miss not being able to go every week, so I'll probably end up doing Uni in Melbourne and slumming it on my uncle's couch just so I can be close to my red and blacks :). GO DONS!

Do you also support the Auckland Blues?

Hi Guys, im a 30 year old bombers fan, only been following footy for the last 4-5 years. Was never interested. Have been on bigfiity for approx a yr or so, but not done much posting. I live in Tullamarine, so looking forward to the new Windy Hill being built close by! BigFooty presence and hopefully a better chance to watch practise!

20 year old here from the Eastern suburbs. Use to be a die-hard Essendon supporter since 1998-2007. Lost interest and have not really followed Essendon closely the last few years, but have watched the odd game here & there. Back watching every game now and trying to get to as many games as possible. I've been to 34 Essendon games in the 13 years I've supported Essendon. Seen them lose once :D

^^^I had a streak like that once, every game I went to between 97-01 we had a win or draw. Saddest thing was the winning streak ending with the '01 GF.:(

Anyway, I'm kinda new here (still in my first year on BF) and I'll be 30 in October and have followed EFC for 25 years. Signed-up member for the last 16 years and never plan to quit. I live bayside (in Melbs) because when I can't see the bay I miss it dreadfully. Love the ocean and most mornings, I'm in it (except for the really cold ones).

Life is beautiful and almost perfect but I live with an Eagles supporter..........................can't have it all I suppose.:D

First time poster, although I have been a reader of the Essendon supporter threads for a couple of years. I am a "mature age" Essendon supporter who went to a Melb v Ess game in 1960, aged 7, as a Melbourne supporter, and went home as an Essendon supporter, and have been following them ever since.
I hardly missed a game during the years '68-'75 which in many ways were a lot like currrent times for us - always watching for any young players in the 2nds who might be capable of being part of next glorious era. (Robbie Amos, Eddie Lake, Dirty Doug Tassell, Duke Wellington and lots of others, if anyone can remember that era). When we finally did get a rush of young guns out of the local zone and the Wimmera in 1975 (the original "Baby Bombers" under Bill Stephen), I had stopped going as often.
Now I only go occasionally, but follow like a bloodhound on TV.

Look forward to taking in part in some of the discussions.

Have a look a look at the YouTube thread and you'll find heaps of footage from the late '60s/early '70s that you'll enjoy.

Would be great to hear about anything you remember about the players of that era.

Graham Moss and Tuddenham for example...:thumbsu:

I'm not exactly a newbie on BF but I don't really post here very often (although I do read this forum almost every day), so I'll just take this opportunity to say 'hi' anyway :)

I'm 30 and have following footy and the Bombers since September 1993 (the first game of footy I ever watched was the '93 Grand Final). I live in Perth, so I don't get to go and see them play as often as I'd like to, but I rarely miss matches on TV (unless the F1 is on :p )

I don't post here a lot because my technical knowledge of footy isn't quite as extensive as some of you. Most here have an opinion about the style of footy that's being played, the game plan, and how well the coach is going etc etc, but I tend to watch merely for the enjoyment of the game and a team to cheer for. That said, I'm not exactly a newbie to footy - I know the rules, and I know a good game when I see one. Trouble is, when things go pear shaped I don't have much of an opinion about how to fix it. I leave that to Hirdy.

Do you also support the Auckland Blues?

Nah, wider family is split between Melbourne and Christchurch (now Auckland), I was born in Christchurch and spent most of my time from 1-10 living there, so support Canterbury Crusaders (bigger on the other rugby code myself though, Warriors member too). Nobody living in Auckland supports the Blues mate :).

Toast New Posters