News New Suns logo and guernsey leaked

It's a simple logo that has lots of depth.

I see a G, a C, a S, a footy, a sun, a reflection of water, a horizon.

It's a grower not a show'er
I think that's part of the issue though? They've tried to include 4 or 5 different design elements in it but they all kind of cancel each other out, and as a result it just looks muddled and messy. It was compared to the Green Bay Packers logo in another thread, and I can definitely see the similarities between the two, but that one works because the sole focus is on the G. In the Gold Coast logo the G is only vaguely recognisable, as are all the other elements.

IMO, it's a significant upgrade on the current logo.

That being said, it feels more like a draft of a scrapped concept halfway through a design process than an actual final design.
I actually think it's better than some are saying - maybe too much emphasis on the 'S', if anything, but the sun reflecting on the sea is kinda cool IMO.

1731326240395.png

on an away/clash they should consider a flash effect (think a more stylised nordic cross off-center, like Denmark just a tad more North Star), or maybe a sash with triangular rays along it

this one looks too much like an 80s/90s regional television ident

I’ll reserve my judgement until the full kit is released and branding rolled-out and applied to their promotional material.

The leak is of a Kmart style range of merch, the lighting and colours aren’t probably that accurate from the studio shots. Remember the rest of the AFL clubs cheaper merch isn’t always necessarily accurate either to the on field guernseys.

I still think it’s an improvement and looks like they’re ditching the blue which I’m excited about.

I'd ditch the whole brand & start again. Most AFL/VFL teams went through a few nicknames before settling on current ones. It's not like there has been any success associated with Suns nickname.

I don't hate this, I was not expecting much at all. Maybe its a little corporate/enrgy company looking but i will wait to see the way its used overall

If they use this logo, they cannot just plonk it on the guernsey.

The first time they went with a traditional look to be like carlton, it didn't work.

Give it time, I reckon this new logo will grow on people. Yeah it could be a bank or a software company or whatever but once it’s been a footy club logo for a few years then that’s what people will recognise it as. If that Green Bay logo was released today it would have similar things being said about it and be given heaps of sh1t for being basic AF.
I think it can be a good logo but just needs some work done. Thicker/bolder would be a start.

Yeah the bottom half could maybe have a line or two removed. It’s tricky though because they’re trying to represent a reflection of the sun on the water and if you remove too much you’ll lose that effect. I’m sure someone with skills could sharpen it up but overall I think they’ve done a pretty good job as it is.

News New Suns logo and guernsey leaked