NFL NFL Gamepass

lando-calrissian-this-deal-is-getting-worse-all-the-time.gif

Euro conversion equals $300 Australian. The reason we pay more is because every American company thinks we can afford or are willing to pay more. Just look at the complaints about computer games/software. I guess the senate should have dragged the NFL to it's hearing a couple of years ago. I wonder if an ACCC complaint would lead to anything like the fine they issued Steam.

The most frustrating thing I've found regarding Gamepass is that I've had a lot of difficulties (on the new platform) with the clarity of the stream. When I'm on a 50/50 up/down speed I'm fine. But when I'm just on a standard ADSL 2+ connection, the clarity of the stream is all over the place. Really hoping they sort out the kinks in the new interface before the season starts.

This is "exhibit A" to my earlier post referring to it being an unproven platform.

Definitely avoid it this year at the cost and rely on other methods for coverage.

This is "exhibit A" to my earlier post referring to it being an unproven platform.

Definitely avoid it this year at the cost and rely on other methods for coverage.

I'll still buy it because it's a sure fire way to guarantee I'll have a stream. I'd rather the certainty when I wake up for a game at 3am that I'll definitely have a workable stream as opposed to searching through half a dozen links quickly trying not to miss the game. Just more practical at that hour of the night :yum:

I'd rather the certainty when I wake up for a game at 3am that I'll definitely have a workable stream as opposed to searching through half a dozen links quickly trying not to miss the game. Just more practical at that hour of the night :yum:

Absoutely. I get that.

For those of us who can't watch games live there's other options.

Exactly. There are cheaper/free options out there so its odd everyone complaining so much

If your referering to illegal streams then people who use these "services" do more to drive the price up for GamePass than those who continue to subscribe to GamePass even after the price hikes.

Maybe if all the free providers contributed something then it would be cheaper for all.

As it stands now, GamePass subscribers subsidise the pirates.

If your referering to illegal streams then people who use these "services" do more to drive the price up for GamePass than those who continue to subscribe to GamePass even after the price hikes.

Maybe if all the free providers contributed something then it would be cheaper for all.

As it stands now, GamePass subscribers subsidise the pirates.
That's what they want you to believe. Fact is if none of the illegal streamers have ever paid for game pass how are they effecting the cost and profit margin.

We do indeed keep stats on all these things even though we don't operate the product ourselves. Folks here are very much aware of how our products perform and what factors (e.g. price, availability on other platforms, etc) influence people's decision to purchase or not. We run our own surveys and do read the feedback from people, even if it may not be acknowledged in the email response you get from Customer Care. Australia is one of the markets we watch very closely as it's a bit of a bell-weather country and our subscription numbers have increased every year in Australia, which is probably reflected in whatever pricing they come up with.

It's not cheap, but like everyone else, I work out what I perceive as value for my entertainment and what I can afford and go from there. My WatchAFL subscription is free with my Club Membership....but I'd still probably take out a separate subscription for the service if I had to. I don't have NBA League Pass as I can't justify the cost so I miss a few Celtics games, but I'm cool with that.

I get the point re: loyalty for the "hardcore" fans, but the reality of sports marketing doesn't sometimes reward those guys unfortunately. Like the AFL, it's often about getting new fans rather than doing the best thing for those you have (hello Tassie!). I think we need to do both.

Without sounding patronising, I do love the fact that you guys are so passionate about the game. Cheers!

Wouldn't you be more likely to gain new fans/subscribers by having a reasonably priced product? I can't imagine many newbies jumping on at almost $300 a season. Only the hardcore fans are going to sign up at that price.

That's what they want you to believe. Fact is if none of the illegal streamers have ever paid for game pass how are they effecting the cost and profit margin.

Because if illegal streams were not available then you would have to pay for it legally, more subscribers allowing costs to be shared by more making it cheaper for everyone.

I've never understood how people think it is OK to steal intellectual property by ripping say, music off a pirate site yet scorn someone who shoplifts a music CD.

Because if illegal streams were not available then you would have to pay for it legally, more subscribers allowing costs to be shared by more making it cheaper for everyone.

Maybe at a simplistic level, not considering any other factors, but in practice what it means is that the NFL can put prices up as there is less competition.

I've never understood how people think it is OK to steal intellectual property by ripping say, music off a pirate site yet scorn someone who shoplifts a music CD.

I don't think it's OK to rip off IP, especially since I spend my days getting paid to create it, but it's still a fallacy to imply downloading has the same impact as shoplifting. While both represent some percentage of a lost sale to the original creator, the latter also impacts the retailer significantly.

Not sure about this debate. The NFL is a monopoly on available legal content. So, they can charge whatever they want, whether illegal streams and torrents existed or not. If there was no pirated content, the NFL imo would charge even more, not less. Owners of legal content probably have to keep prices down a LITTLE to encourage people to buy it and get superior quality and reliability.

Also, illegal streams are not really illegal, because those people who are providing the streams are not making any money from it. They're not allowed to redistribute it/etc if they're making money from it. It's like buying Gamepass/Foxtel/etc and letting your buddies come over on the weekend to watch the game with you. Or burning music on CD is legal as long as you're not trying to flog it for money.

That's incorrect. Charging money or not does not affect the legality of IP infringement.

For example, DVD ripping is illegal in the USA because it involves decrypting the video stream. CD ripping is legal there because there is no encryption. In Australia, both are legal. In all of those examples it only applies to personal use. It is illegal to sell that copy, but it's also illegal to give that copy to someone.

In the case of streaming, I think it's relatively legal in Australia to watch them. However it is illegal to transmit them. In the USA it is illegal to transmit them, but I don't know what the story is with watching. The issue is that it's potentially depriving the original copyright holder of income, not whether the performer is making $$$ off it. Check out the crackdown on dodgy streams through Kodi boxes in the UK - they're taking streamers, manufacturers and users of them to court because all are breaking the law.

Not sure about this debate. The NFL is a monopoly on available legal content. So, they can charge whatever they want, whether illegal streams and torrents existed or not. If there was no pirated content, the NFL imo would charge even more, not less. Owners of legal content probably have to keep prices down a LITTLE to encourage people to buy it and get superior quality and reliability.

did you forget about the ads they have. "rebroadcast or retransmission of this broadcast without the express written consent of the commissioner is prohibited"

I find this whole topic confusing tbh.
There are many cases where things are ok, or at least, the official bodies cannot do anything about it.
And other cases where the authorities have shut them down, etc.

most of the time its just that they cant be f**ked because there are thousands of them, and when they take one down the streamer just renames the stream or moves to a new service. Most of the time when there are so many of them its not worth the time to take them down unless they are on places like youtube.

Your kidding if you think the price would be cheaper today without illegal streams. Have foxtel dropped their prices over the years as the add subscribers.

Even the whole downloading music is a crock and had more to do the the industry slow to adapt to change. People for years since the release of tape copied music from other people and the radio to avoid paying for it. Look at physical cds that now cost less to buy than they did 20 years ago without accounting for inflation. I'm guessing downloading has played a part in that.

The simple fact is someone at the NFL has decided to chop the options believing that more than enough people would have had game pass long enough they would find it tough to go without. A lot of people already pay subscription for cable and don't need the extras and the NFL know this and are trying to double dip.

Corporations will once they have you hooked try to squeeze every last dollar out of you.

We've seen over the last few years that piracy was never about people being criminals or tightarses. It was always about access.

You look at Spotify/Apple music, and services such as Netflix, they show that people are prepared to pay a reasonable price for content.

People become "pirates" when they either can't access the content, or when prices become so prohibitive that they're no longer considered value for money. When you bare in mind that every playoff match is available in Australia on television, I don't think people are being unreasonable in believing that $16.50 for every week of a 17-week season doesn't represent value for money.

I will be downloading the Eagles games that aren't on 7mate or ESPN this season, and I won't be feeling bad about it - I've shown over the last 4-5 years that I was prepared to pay a reasonable price for it. It's the NFL that became insanely greedy, it wasn't me who became a tightarse, or who became less willing to pay a fair and reasonable price for the service.

We've seen over the last few years that piracy was never about people being criminals or tightarses. It was always about access.

You look at Spotify/Apple music, and services such as Netflix, they show that people are prepared to pay a reasonable price for content.

People become "pirates" when they either can't access the content, or when prices become so prohibitive that they're no longer considered value for money. When you bare in mind that every playoff match is available in Australia on television, I don't think people are being unreasonable in believing that $16.50 for every week of a 17-week season doesn't represent value for money.

I will be downloading the Eagles games that aren't on 7mate or ESPN this season, and I won't be feeling bad about it - I've shown over the last 4-5 years that I was prepared to pay a reasonable price for it. It's the NFL that became insanely greedy, it wasn't me who became a tightarse, or who became less willing to pay a fair and reasonable price for the service.

We'll put mate, I've got Foxtel as well so will just watch redzone for the most part and then download some Jets games (if it's worth it) or some condensed games each week. If I didn't have kids I'd probably fork out the extra $100 but time (and money) is limited and I just can't justify almost $300 for something I'm unlikely to use as often as I'd like and for which some cheaper alternatives exist.

Where is this ?
Hoxx proxy, log into UK VPN, Delete all nfl cookies on browser and log out, then go to gamepass site "plans and pricing" and you'll be quoted 138 pounds. Create new account, different email, use paypal to pay for it, not thru bank account but thru PayPal wallet (make sure you put money there)

NFL NFL Gamepass