News NMFC AFLW 2019

I believe the Bulldogs will be into Wyndham in about 4 years.
Any reason to believe that? The evidence suggests the opposite. The AFL has just given Wyndham to North Melbourne for an academy. Werribee Football Club has received funding for an upgrade of their ground to include space for a Werribee version of the Huddle, whereas the Bulldogs abandoned Werribee Football club years ago to align with Williamstown.

It's a joke.

'Twas but a jest. Read the Ballarat thread buried deep within the BF threads. Bullies are bereft of any innovative ideas of heir own.

Like has been said, unless this is completely subsidized by the AFL, we should be putting money into a stand alone VFL first.
Stand alone VFL would be great but won't happen and we could have a 1,000 girls on the books but AFL won't give us a licence because we hated with a passion by them.
They more time for clubs that have disgraced the AFL in Essendon - Drug Cheats and Draft Cheats - Melbourne

My girls are in Auskick purely because of watching that game last year plus a couple of local girls matches. They can see the pathway and know there will be heaps on tv next year and are thrilled with it.

If we don't get a team they will follow another club. I won't stop them on that front. If it's Collingwood or even worse * I will kill myself.

NMFC will then have lost 3 members for life.

Nothing wrong with it. If anyone has watched the women's league.. they'll be impressed with the standard. Better than most metro leagues of guys playing. 30% females have better mechanics (mobility) than 10% of the AFL players!!

I think Heppell is a DFA at years end. Would be a good signing for us.

More casual misogyny. You do realise that in calling Heppell a girl, you are casting aspersions upon the female gender and defining "woman" as a pejorative, as weak, and of less value? Do you have daughters? Do you tell them that they are less valuable and less worthy?

I thought he could help as a coach or as an assistant. I thought Wanye Carey might make his come back to the club but his past behaviour may have ruled him out.

We are running out of names if anyone with long hair or bad past behaviour can't be included.

I say absolutely go for it. The momentum behind Women's footy is crazy right now and it's about time talented ladies had somewhere to go after school. I think down the road it'll pay massive dividends.
Are you still playing over there? I got the impression from the little contact I've had with Ontario footy that the women's game is going gangbusters there and in North America in general.

Great comment (seriously, I'm 100% in agreement) but I believe the phrase is casting dispersions.

(Also, you don't want to be under any illusions.)

Article is a bit revisionist, everyone knows Kevin Sheedy and *Essendon invented women being involved in football.
Did you know Kevin Sheedy went to China and invented chopsticks

Are you still playing over there? I got the impression from the little contact I've had with Ontario footy that the women's game is going gangbusters there and in North America in general.

Yeah mate I am. Women's footy is huge here. We're getting way more numbers of girls who want to play (particularly with Rugby backgrounds) and I know that AFL Ontario and AFL Quebec are getting a 2-game series going this year in both Toronto and Ottawa. Very cool!

Hawthorn won’t have a team in AFL women’s league
origin:video_integrator.N0MngxMzE6_odB7x-WlxPenaSEm1fEfb

HAWTHORN won’t apply for an AFL women’s side for next season.

Hawthorn joins Port Adelaide and Gold Coast in opting out of jostling for one of an expected eight licences on offer for next season.

Pioneering clubs Melbourne and Western Bulldogs are expected to be granted a side alongside two other Victoria teams, with the other four sides interstate.

Bid submissions close on Friday.

“The commitment the AFL has made to women’s football, in particular the development of an elite female competition, is fantastic for our game,” CEO Stuart Fox told the club’s website.

“The prospect of a Hawthorn women’s team in the future is an exciting one. However, at this time we believe that our most sustainable contribution will be made by investing in women’s football at a grassroots level.

story-fni0cx12-7d310b7601fc239fef8331b7d0818c7c

“We have some core programs and relationships in place that we can leverage to deliver ongoing investment into women’s football.

“An important part of this investment is working with the Eastern Football League (EFL) to support its newly combined Eastern Region Girls competition.

“We will provide a dedicated program of support ranging from coaching and development opportunities, to the use of our facilities and financial support.

“We want to ensure that our commitment to women’s football is a long-term one.

“Our focus is on encouraging females to participate in the game at a grassroots level and help develop clear talent pathways.”