NMFC and principled positions

Today the club released this statement about it's position on January 26. It includes indigenous perspectives. Aboriginal and torres Strait Islander flags, and no Australian flag.

Let's keep the our discussion of explicit, implicit and perceived club related ethical/political/principled positions in this thread. It's absolutely valid for people to care about the stand the club takes on everything from Australia/Invasion day, to pokies, the Huddle, promotion of women's footy etc. But let's not have those discussions hijack thread after thread with repetitive griping that's no fun for anyone.

--

This statement is the sort of thing - like the position on pokies - that makes me most proud of the club. Celebrating the day that one group of people arrived and started obliterating another is an anachronism and underlies a mindset in which one kind of people - the anglos - are somehow the 'real' Australians whose experience is more important than others.

More fundamentally, I believe it's right that the club should have a view. Some will say that 'sport and politics shouldn't mix", but this approach is almost always a excuse to look the other way when something bad is happening. Values of care and inclusion are not just morally correct, they're the foundation of effective collective functioning. They are not things you can credibly turn on and off, which is why the community work the club does, the anti-pokie stance, the support for women and is not mere virture-signaling - it's the natural result of actually having values and living them.

I understand that others will disagree with this approach, but the nature of believing something is that you act on it without waiting for everyone to agree. Unfortunately, waiting for unanimity in the supporter base would mean never taking a position. This is the common stance of many corporates and other clubs. Someone looking for this will have no trouble finding a home. But in my view it is cowardly, it uses social polarisation as a cover to not do the right thing.

So I'm extremely proud of my club for it's stance. Just as it "welcomed refugees" on the banner to many years ago. If this means we self-select the fans to those who feel the same, that's much better than settling for the same fence-sitting bland corporate cr@p you can find anywhere else. It's a huge reason the club is special and why I am going to enjoy numbers 6, 7 and 8.

Awkward The Simpsons GIF

Just keep politics out of football. It just stirs up trouble. Why even go there. Everyone is entitled to their views but why do they have to tell everyone what it is. Celebrate or mourn. Its everyone's choice how they see it. Its like crying over spilt milk all the time. History is history and I think most people except it for what it is. And for what its worth I see both sides of the story but dont need to be told about it everytime Australia day comes around. It was good to see both Aussie and Aboriginal flags flying on the Mornington pennisula this weekend.

Just keep politics out of football. It just stirs up trouble. Why even go there. Everyone is entitled to their views but why do they have to tell everyone what it is. Celebrate or mourn. It’s everyone's choice how they see it. It’s like crying over spilt milk all the time. History is history and I think most people except it for what it is. And for what it’s worth I see both sides of the story but dont need to be told about it everytime Australia day comes around. It was good to see both Aussie and Aboriginal flags flying on the Mornington pennisula this weekend.
If they don’t say something - then that is saying something.

Only Australians would be stupid enough to celebrate the day the British stole land from people already living there.

What next Australia, cheering for the Poms in the Ashes?

Yes where us the link? Club posts a provocative and divisive post on its social media accounts, blocks all replies and there is not one single post or thread on this board all day.

I call bullshit

Do you use a ladder to get up on that Horse?

I wanted to read the alternative views. I'm to old and grumpy to give a **** about which argument wins.
Do you have the OP on ignore?
I dont know ? I wouldn't have thought ignoring someone would therefore ignore an entire thread that the board moderators put everything media particularly club media related items that some flog just so happened to start.

That would be a shit system.

NMFC and principled positions