No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 3

I cannot believe some of you are even discussing the Rance cr@p

I’d tip those that are watch MAFS and other tripe like that while flicking through to the Woman’s Weekly

Thanks.

Sounds like Macca was quoting my posts here.

Begs a question how Jones would have gone under Bevo.
I suspect almost every player on the list at the time would have performed better under Bevo. Perhaps all. B-Macs last year from a player-care point of view was a disaster.

Hasn't fared a lot better at Melbourne lately. Perhaps he has a low tolerance for today's millennials' sense of entitlement. ;)

Yes and no.

I still reckon Macca has not received the credit he deserves for his cracking in training, which held us in good stead in 2015 and 2016.

Yes and no.

I still reckon Macca has not received the credit he deserves for his cracking in training, which held us in good stead in 2015 and 2016.

He was also the one who wanted and insisted on recruiting Clay Smith and the Bont, without them we would not have had 2016.

Lol he had nothing to do with Bont that was all Dalrymple.

Smith he did want and you can see why with his crack in mantra.

Im still stunned any club would allow him to coach woman after the way he spoke to some of our players.

He didn't target Smith specifically, he just wanted the best inside mid available.

The irony is Smith only slid because he was a horrible field kick, played his best football as a forward pocket (not as a mid) and kicked 8 goals 1 behind during our 2016 finals series. Further irony - if we didn't take Smith, our recruiting staff wanted Hayden Crozier.

What exactly is "cracking in training" and what reason do you have to think it contributed to successful seasons after he was long gone?

I understand it to mean an emphasis on inside skills, tackling etc.

But I live in what's left of NSW so have never been to training, so maybe someone else can better explain it.

What exactly is "cracking in training" and what reason do you have to think it contributed to successful seasons after he was long gone?
I understand it to mean an emphasis on inside skills, tackling etc.

But I live in what's left of NSW so have never been to training, so maybe someone else can better explain it.

Macca made winning the contested ball a big focus, as he said that set up the type of style that won us the flag. Manic pressure, hard mids that just kept going.

PS - but Macca turned out to just be a shit campaigner overall

Macca made winning the contested ball a big focus, as he said that set up the type of style that won us the flag. Manic pressure, hard mids that just kept going.

PS - but Macca turned out to just be a shit campaigner overall

So Bevo should have given his medal to Macartney instead of Murphy?

I think you're giving the guy way too much credit. The more you attribute our success to the coach who sent our club into crisis, the more you take away from the true architects.

So Bevo should have given his medal to Macartney instead of Murphy?

I think you're giving the guy way too much credit. The more you attribute our success to the coach who sent our club into crisis, the more you take away from the true architects.

Macca was an arseh*le, we know that now. But he did put some things in place that lead to success.

Macca was an a-hole, we know that now. But he did put some things in place that lead to success.

Yeah I don't buy that sorry. Bevo is better at getting players to go hard at the ball than Macartney. Some of our hardest players never trained under Macartney. Also, plenty of our players didn't even develop their contested game until Macartney was gone. Macrae is a good example of that.

One story I was told from Bevo's first training session.

He was watching the drills as pre-season had already started (under the assistants) when he arrived. After training he took them aside and asked what the &^%$ they were doing. He was pretty blunt.

The drills didn't seem to have any particular game-plan purpose nor have much relationship with one another, they were just a bunch of 'good things to do'. Bevo very quickly re-designed it to make sure one drill was relevant to the next one, then the next one, etc. If we consider how much better our ball movement was at the start of 2015 compared to the back half of 2014 the difference was stark.

You know it's peak offseason when the Macca talk comes up...and I'll contribute.

Not often you find a coach who's just as bad at managing players as they are at creating winning game plans. Macca lost the players and couldn't coach our team out of a paper bag. The rebuild talk made sense at the time; need to refresh the list, going to take time and quite a few losses (And we know the importance of getting high picks - Macrae, Bont, Naughton, Smith etc), 'five year plan' and all that. Funnily enough it was at the end of those five years that the team won a flag.

The idea was that it was going to be a few years of pain for some payoff, which is what happened, but just not at all in the way anybody imagined at the time. Instead of being a natural progression under Macca, Bevo inherited essentially the same team, but missing senior players that had left, and instantly turned it around.

Shows the importance of mindset and confidence. The Macca era was one that was very much resigned to losing, and to go with that we were severely lacking in the game plan area. Bevo takes the same team, makes some pivotal tweaks (Roughead>Ruck, Boyd>Defence, Picken>Ball winner to name a few), and installed the 'why not us' mindset from day one.

It's coaching ability at two extremes, and that's why the turnaround happened so incredibly fast.

You know it's peak offseason when the Macca talk comes up...and I'll contribute.

Not often you find a coach who's just as bad at managing players as they are at creating winning game plans. Macca lost the players and couldn't coach our team out of a paper bag. The rebuild talk made sense at the time; need to refresh the list, going to take time and quite a few losses (And we know the importance of getting high picks - Macrae, Bont, Naughton, Smith etc), 'five year plan' and all that. Funnily enough it was at the end of those five years that the team won a flag.

The idea was that it was going to be a few years of pain for some payoff, which is what happened, but just not at all in the way anybody imagined at the time. Instead of being a natural progression under Macca, Bevo inherited essentially the same team, but missing senior players that had left, and instantly turned it around.

Shows the importance of mindset and confidence. The Macca era was one that was very much resigned to losing, and to go with that we were severely lacking in the game plan area. Bevo takes the same team, makes some pivotal tweaks (Roughead>Ruck, Boyd>Defence, Picken>Ball winner to name a few), and installed the 'why not us' mindset from day one.

It's coaching ability at two extremes, and that's why the turnaround happened so incredibly fast.
I remember Griffen, at his last BnF, thanking his “coaches” including Rocket who “taught us how to win”. Macca wasn’t interested in winning, only in building good habits, which is great up to a point. Most players want to win at least a few games and my feeling was that they were being told not to do the things that they felt might get them a win, or to do things that prevented them from winning. Right or wrong, the player/coach chemistry broke down and Bevo was a breath of fresh air with a very different message.

I blame McCartney for climate change, the Iran crisis... and oh and breaking up the Beatles. Splitter!

Seriously though, it is hard to fathom how he was just such a sh1t coach. Not bad, not awful, not deplorable, but actually totally sh1t. I’m sure he must have some redeeming qualities as a person, but as a professional employed by a sporting organisation to manage its onfield assets and develop a positive culture, he failed across the board.
To the point that preceding him out the door in the space of weeks in late 2014 were:
- our best player and captain, pick 3 and 200+ games
- a pick 1 and Brownlow medallist, 200+ games
- a first round pick who, regardless of people’s opinions, has proven subsequently at North he is still a high quality footballer, 100+ games

Would be fascinating for someone like a Murph or Picko to write a warts and all expose of what the mood was like at the time, of the playing group and wider club. Imagine if Bevo didn’t come along and we continued meandering along with another less capable coach from 2015... 😲. Where would we be now?

Classic case of a bloke being about 6th in line in ascension and control in successful clubs.
Just because a club or organisation is successful does not mean that they all played a significant part in it.
We fell into the "good bloke", "great teacher of young men" spin over largely one polywaffle speech at the rising star ceremony one year.
Our due diligence failed hard on his appointment. Wonder if anyone asked him before his appointment about a game plan.
Kudos to him. He stretched the "cracking in" line to unbelievable proportions. And bathed in the "good bloke" and "great teacher" assumptions.
Both of which he was not.

I remember Bevo doing an interview with Robbo after the flag and Robbo asked whether Mcartney should be given credit for instilling the contested ball mindset into the playing group.

Bevo replied that the stoppage structure had completely changed since he had taken over and did give any hint that he thought he owed Mcartney any thanks for what was left behind.

BMac was poison from the second he got the job until the club were forced to sack the inept disgusting pig of a man.

There isnt a person that has travelled through our club that I have more utter disdain for than that skid mark

The only good part of McCartney's entire time was that his leaving happened at the right time for us to get Bev. That and getting Clay Smith.

What about pissing Griff off so much he had a breakdown and we got to swap him for Toyd?

I wanted to give BMac the benefit of the doubt. I live in Geelong and have to put up with the Geelong followers who made out that he was such a great coach and Geelong FC owed a lot of their success to him.

It was only in that last season when I was talking with Graeme Cook in past players lounge at Docklands and he said straight out that BMac wasn't much good and that he wanted him out. Graeme is a mate of mine and it made me realise how far downhill we had gone and all the spin that we were hearing. Bevo is a remarkable coach.

Was certainly time for Bmac to go but i don't buy the argument he did nothing positive. From memory he bought in King and Corey. Also liked the appointment of Scarlett part time. The mids still acredit Corey publicly. To suggest those guys have had no influence is a stretch. And I'm not sure they would have been they if it weren't for bmac.

Although, I wouldn't argue that his net effect was that we were worse off than when Eade went.