Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Football Thread XVI

I remember when they lost a few players Touk Miller stood up and said what a good place it was to play footy etc..thought he showed real leadership then …could he’s finding some success

I just love the Suns. Ugly duckling.. you know that if they ever succeed it will be because an exceptional group of young men have built something out of absolutely nothing. Touk Miller is such a star.

The post siren scenes tonight were amazing. Good on em.

They have ten young guys with massive leadership potential.
...and they're building some heart as a club. I think that's the second time they've pipped the Tigers at the last?

The famous Karmichael Hunt game in Cairns was an after the siren win.

I wish he had played another 5 years. I reckon he could have become dominant.
He was definitely fun to watch. Proper tackles and was better than Folau. Shame about the coke habit.

I got excited about the talk of Greg Inglis crossing over. He could have been amazing. His pace and agility for such a big bloke was really something. Mal Meninga grew into a similar player.

He had to think he just got a foot to it. No other explanation.
Not really in the spirit of the game though, that interpretation. There are times a kick dribbles even a foot or two post tackle.. that’s fair enough.

But at best this was a snicko graze of the shin and should not have been called correct disposal on any reading of the laws based in actual football reality.

A similar umpiring challenge happens when a ball is probably touched by a defender in a marking contest. Touched off the boot is play on but grazed by a defender’s fist means nothing if the forward grabs it cleanly.

Re last night’s free, I actually think the umpire would have called “play on, knocked out in the tackle”. Which is a garbage call when the attacker had had heaps of time. If that interpretation was paid all the time attackers would be encouraged to just drop the ball on feeling a tackle commence.

I'm sure the AFL will tick off & agree thats what happened but looks to me like the ball was dropped & bounced away, there's no indication it hit his boot.

Yeah I think it's just an error, saw something that wasn't there. The second free and the 50m were 100% accurate but blew the entire situation up.

I think if stevic gives a bit of leeway on the dissent, ie immediate reaction allowed, if the carry on happens then pay it, then its not as bad

As it is, sort of decision to boil a fans blood. So i get it

I'm sure the AFL will tick off & agree thats what happened but looks to me like the ball was dropped & bounced away, there's no indication it hit his boot.
The ump is only meters away and looking straight at it and he says it hit his boot. That's an indicator.
I think if stevic gives a bit of leeway on the dissent, ie immediate reaction allowed, if the carry on happens then pay it, then its not as bad

As it is, sort of decision to boil a fans blood. So i get it
He was going off at the ump about the decision to call play on and then he had another go when the free was blown. I hate umpires and I especially hate Stevic, but that probably gets blown as dissent in 2002 let alone 2022.

The ump is only meters away and looking straight at it and he says it hit his boot. That's an indicator.

Thats an indicator he saw the ball bouce on an angle & guessed, theres nothing there to suggest he got even a toenail to that ball. The first action was incorrect disposal which should have been rewarded.