Strategy North Melbourne Coaching Changes 2020 & Beyond

Anytime a senior coach leaves....the playing group responds positively with the care-taker coach.....no matter who it is.

The club viewed last years purple patch as Shaw’s influence and gave him the job. Beyond that.....what credentials did Shaw have that would make him the best candidate out of everyone that applied for the job?
Weren't Shaw's figures extremely good even for a a caretaker coach last year?

I don't think a mental health episode and a pandemic should re-write history. It seemed the right appointment at the time and anyone that wasn't involved in the process directly wouldn't really have any basis to say that it wasn't.

Coaches fail for a variety of reasons and they will fail for as long as professional sport is played. There's no guarantee that a different process this time around with yield a different result either.

I still reckon there was a ripper coach in Shaw once he'd gotten a couple of seasons under his belt, but sadly we'll never know.
Yeah. It's one of those things... we'll never know but I thought Shaw was the one to take us to the promised land. He ticked all the boxes I had in my head about what in wanted to see in a new coach. There were some questions about a couple of performances but on balance they weren't enough to bother me.

Club in a difficult situation anyway. A lot of candidates didn't apply because of how well Rhyce was doing, so they assumed he would get the job. Plus if we had appointed someone else and they had failed, everyone would have questioned why we didn't go with Shaw given his success as a caretaker.

Personally I would preferred that we went hard for Dunstall to be on the committee rather than Roos. He can be a clown sometimes, but Dunstall has a sharp footy mind and knows what is needed to be successful.

"So I'm 2% African. Do you have any African in you?"
"No", she says.
"Would you like some?"
46UO.gif

Anytime a senior coach leaves....the playing group responds positively with the care-taker coach.....no matter who it is.
Not true.

Caretaker coaches this century (became senior coach, in bold)

2017 Dean Solomon (Gold Coast) 0-3
2015 Scott Camporeale (Adelaide) 7-4*
2015 Matthew Egan (Essendon) 1-2
2015 John Barker (Carlton) 3-11
2013 Neil Craig (Melbourne) 1-10
2013 Mark Harvey (Brisbane Lions) 2-1
2013 Simon Goodwin (Essendon) 0-1
2012 Garry Hocking (Port Adelaide) 0-1-3
2011 Todd Viney (Melbourne) 1-4
2011 Mark Bickley (Adelaide) 3-3
2011 Paul Williams (Western Bulldogs) 2-1-3
2010 Matt Primus (Port Adelaide) 5-2
2009 Darren Crocker (North Melbourne) 3-1-6
2009 Jade Rawlings (Richmond) 3-1-7
2007 Brett Ratten (Carlton) 0-6
2007 Mark Riley (Melbourne) 3-6
2007 Mark Harvey (Fremantle) 4-3
2004 Donald McDonald (Hawthorn) 2-3
2002 Paul Roos (Sydney Swans) 6-4

2001 Grant Thomas (St Kilda) 1-6

2001 Ben Allan (Fremantle) 2-11

Not true.

Caretaker coaches this century (became senior coach, in bold)

2017 Dean Solomon (Gold Coast) 0-3
2015 Scott Camporeale (Adelaide) 7-4*
2015 Matthew Egan (Essendon) 1-2
2015 John Barker (Carlton) 3-11
2013 Neil Craig (Melbourne) 1-10
2013 Mark Harvey (Brisbane Lions) 2-1
2013 Simon Goodwin (Essendon) 0-1
2012 Garry Hocking (Port Adelaide) 0-1-3
2011 Todd Viney (Melbourne) 1-4
2011 Mark Bickley (Adelaide) 3-3
2011 Paul Williams (Western Bulldogs) 2-1-3
2010 Matt Primus (Port Adelaide) 5-2
2009 Darren Crocker (North Melbourne) 3-1-6
2009 Jade Rawlings (Richmond) 3-1-7
2007 Brett Ratten (Carlton) 0-6
2007 Mark Riley (Melbourne) 3-6
2007 Mark Harvey (Fremantle) 4-3
2004 Donald McDonald (Hawthorn) 2-3
2002 Paul Roos (Sydney Swans) 6-4

2001 Grant Thomas (St Kilda) 1-6

2001 Ben Allan (Fremantle) 2-11

I never said that they had more wins than loses.

There’s always response, a distinctive change in the way the team plays when the care-taker takes over.

That was the point.

Is Barrett just being a campaigner here or does he have a point? What was he saying after round 2 when Rhyce had coached a list that no one at all rated to a record of 10 and 5?

AFL Media’s Damian Barrett has questioned why North Melbourne board member Glenn Archer has been named on the club’s selection panel to find their next coach.

The Kangaroos announced a “well-rounded” coaching selection panel that includes football director Archer, premiership coach Paul Roos, CEO Ben Amarfi, GM of Football Brady Rawlings, board member Sonja Hood and Centre for Leadership Advantage co-founder and director, Terry Coyne.

North Melbourne has reportedly drawn up a shortlist of 10 candidates to replace the departed Rhyce Shaw.

Speaking on AFL Trade Radio’s The Late Trade, Barrett slammed North’s “cowboy process” to identify Shaw as Brad Scott’s replacement.

Club great Archer and chairman Ben Buckley were part of a five-person panel that appointed Shaw as interim coach last year.

“It’s unthinkable for the North Melbourne Football Club to have Glenn Archer as part of its committee to find a new coach,” Barrett said.

“I feel it’s only marginally more logical to have Roos chairman Ben Buckley on that same committee as well. Buckley and Archer have had their chances with such tasks - and they’ve failed.

“They extended Brad Scott’s contract as coach only to ship him out with a year and a half to go (on his contract).

“They then ran a cowboy process to find his replacement making Hail Mary calls to a few of their old mates in Simmo (Adam Simpson), Horse (John Longmire) and Clarko (Alastair Clarkson) - all those guys understandably said no in a heartbeat.

“All too smart to join their cowboy operation and a so-called thorough process then unveiled interim coach Rhyce Shaw as the man they were after.

“And like Scott in 2020, Shaw in 2021 will be paid by North Melbourne Football Club to not coach the North Melbourne Football Club – as will a lot of assistant coaches who have also been appointed and axed under their watch.

“It’s only club money though, isn’t it?

“No other business in the world would allow so many mistakes to not only be allowed but tolerated and ultimately ignored.

“And hiding behind the appointment of Paul Roos on this latest North Melbourne committee to find a new coach is simply a cop out – an attempt at good PR when the only thing that is needed is good management.”

Archer played 311 games for North Melbourne winning two premierships in 1996 and 1999.

Port Adelaide assistant coach Michael Voss has been linked to the vacant Roos job

As much as I hate Damo, not much to argue with there. It’s been a mess.

Bullsh*t Lamo is working on the Caro rule of journalism repeat something enough and the public will believe it, what has been a mess? Situations changed and we adapted.

I think we extended Bard for way too long for a start. Then having to sack him because he wanted to rebuild (rumour) then rebuild the year after anyway. All the while still paying him out.

Rhyce may well of been the best man for the job, but surrounding him with assistants which we just sacked (and paid out again) didn’t exactly set him up for success.

Then, with what’s happened with Rhyce, through no fault of anybody, made us a sitting duck for snipers like Damo.

You already know all of this, if it’s not a mess, then it certainly could of been handled better at the very least.

The last Scott extension was a mistake, but this idea that we sacked him because he wanted a rebuild is ridiculous. We sacked him because we brought in experienced players and then started a season 2-7 and he publicly admitted he hadn't been able to effectively prepare for the 6-6-6 rule change (which he helped implement). This in his 10th season at the club!

He was untenable at that point regardless of what he then wanted to do with the list.

How on earth can Barrett criticise the appointment of Shaw when he had the potential to be a top line coach - the impact he had on some of those players in a short period was significant.

We lose our best player and his first 14 odd games we actually had an identity.

Potentially we should have done more due diligence on the mental health side but it’s not like he hadnt won awards as an assistant or had high praise for his roles in development within the swans academy.

This guy and Wilson at poisons - hence why this appointment is crucial.

We are always at our best when our backs are against the wall - right now everyone is potting us - give it 3 years it’ll be a different storey

I think we extended Bard for way too long for a start. Then having to sack him because he wanted to rebuild (rumour) then rebuild the year after anyway. All the while still paying him out.

Rhyce may well of been the best man for the job, but surrounding him with assistants which we just sacked (and paid out again) didn’t exactly set him up for success.

Then, with what’s happened with Rhyce, through no fault of anybody, made us a sitting duck for snipers like Damo.

You already know all of this, if it’s not a mess, then it certainly could of been handled better at the very least.

It has been an extraordinary year and winning 1 game in the last 15 means we are the most out of form club in the league, with this comes change such as delisting 11 players and assistant coaches cracking under the pressure of this extraordinary year and thus getting the boot, and what has happened with our head coach, I don’t know how anyone except Caro and Lamo could attribute 2020 to Archer and Ben.

It has just been a sh*t year, Everything that could go wrong has and sometimes you have to accept that and move on and anything else is just kicking a club whilst they are down, a hobby Caro and Lamo both enjoy

Knowing what we know today it could be argued that keeping an experienced coach like Brad fir 2020 would have been a wise move but no one was thinking that at the start of the year

Potentially we should have done more due diligence on the mental health side

Lots of people have suffered this year that under normal circumstances would not have, it is ridiculous to blame anyone for this unless you have an agenda to point score

Adam Kingsley will be getting serious consideration.

The rumour was out last week he 'had the job' and the sub-comm was just a smokescreen. Fave with bookies - always follow the money. I don't know much about him. What do you think?

Strategy North Melbourne Coaching Changes 2020 & Beyond