Mappa

Feb 27, 2003
West Bromwich Albion
I have just read an interview with Jonathon Hay on the AFL website, and am fuming at the guy.

"I felt I needed a fresh start, I felt stale at Hawthorn"
Here's a guy that was given all he wanted at the club. Time off because he was homesick, councelling when he was on the sleeping pills, an unreasonable amount of cash each year. Show some gratitude.

"no doubt my best footy is ahead of me."
For North's sake, i hope it is. You were an All-Australian on the back of much better players, and since then you have been shouse.

"Ever since (coach) Dean (Laidley) and (chief executive) Geoff (Walsh) made the effort to see me at Byron Bay, my mind was made to come up here."
But you accused Hawthorn of lying, when you found out they were going to trade you ? Why did you meet with Laidley then ? Surely it was a coincedence and you happened to be in Byron and were chatting about the weather

"they are always a side that has a crack and I am looking forward to being a part of it."
Ha ha ha, yeah right ! They have A crack, they don't HAVE crack !

"Playing down back in an unsuccessful side makes it hard when the ball is coming down 60 times a game at a million miles an hour," he said.
"You don't get the chance to run off because you are always worried what will happen if the ball gets turned over."

Have you seen videos of yourself ? YOU were the main culprit with the turnovers. When you got the ball, supporters weren't shielding their eyes from the sun, they were covering their eyes, knowing you would balls it up.

"I think just staying at the same footy club for so long, you just need a change and you see how many players go to another club and their footy lifts so I am just hoping that will be the case for me here."
Yeah, I'm sure Arch will love hearing you say that. Speak to Tucky, Crawf, Chris Grant, James Hird, Ben Cousins etc etc. They don't need a change to be good players. Poor excuse.

I suggest all HFC supporters bring a box of Kleenex in our first game against North, and we will hold the tissues up for him to see. It would be a great sight to see 30,000 tissues being waved to show him what a sook he really is. We can't let him leave our great club, s**t-canning it so much, like he has, and get away with it. Let's stand up for the club that he wouldn't

I must admit i initially felt bad for him and thought he was hard done by, but with everything he has come out with since i'm thinking "phew" glad he's gone.
The club was good to him for many years, stop being so bitter and show some dignity Johnny.

What puzzles me, Ramma, is why the hell did our club persevere with this guy for so long. As for his future at North, he will now have to get out of bed and go to training. And in so doing wash the sleep out of his eyes and at least appear to be intelligent.

I'm presently converting so many video-tapes of Hawks' games to CD and really since 2001 Hay, in his cameo, appearances, has been appalling most games. The more I review games the more I shake my head.

After reading your post my blood is not only boiling but also curdling .... and I feel like vomiting!

To his credit, he has since come out and said that he said some silly things in the heat of the moment (and haven't we all, at some stage) and that the HFC will always be special to him because of the years it spent developing him as a player.

He's moved on and apologised.

I'm ready to move on to...

CyberKev said:
To his credit, he has since come out and said that he said some silly things in the heat of the moment (and haven't we all, at some stage) and that the HFC will always be special to him because of the years it spent developing him as a player.

Sorry Kev, I don't think I'm quite ready to forgive him just yet - come back and see me this time next century.

the fact that he said "my mind was made up when dean came up to byron" exempifies how he lied to the public , saying that he "wanted to stay at hawthorn" and how we were "offering him around" when he himself said he had made up his mind?

Hope you also have fun playing for Werribee mid season Jon

CyberKev said:

I m more with you CyberKev. He has apologised.

Lets remember he did not initiate the move to another club, that was all Hawthorn.

Its hard when looking from the outside in,but maybe, just maybe, there is something more to this pill popping incident that occurred earlier in the year?

I would like to think the club realised he had a reasonable year, certainly the second half was good and as such might attract some decent draft positions. Combined with his pill popping maybe they thought better to be rid of him now before he starts giving little blue and reds, uppers and downers to the younger players????

A much cheaper course than just sacking him.

philhawk said:
then why did he say "when dean laidley met me in Byron my mind was made up to move" ? Supposedly he was " puzzled and confused " when he came back from Byron Bay at the " disloyalty given to him by the hawks "

rubbish

Sounds quite plausible to me. You have 2 points here.

1. North want him - we dont know what did Laidley told him? Whatever it was, was enough to convince Jon that he should move. That leads to the second question Jon asks "

2. "but why have Hawthorn greenlighted the trip up here to talk to me? He is after all a contracted Hawthorn player. Why do Hawks not want me? leaving him "Puzzled/ confused."

lets just all rejoice in the fact that we recieved 2 first round draft picks 4 him. :D :D :D

body is shot, already training once a week, because his back and hamstrings r gone. i reckon he will be lucky to play another 60 odd games and thats a huge win 4 us !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i'm all smiles , never once have i felt jacked about anything that has happened in these hay dealings. i was getting a little nervous at 1:00 friday though.

Mappa said:
I suggest all HFC supporters bring a box of Kleenex in our first game against North, and we will hold the tissues up for him to see. It would be a great sight to see 30,000 tissues being waved to show him what a sook he really is. We can't let him leave our great club, s**t-canning it so much, like he has, and get away with it. Let's stand up for the club that he wouldn't

Great idea! :thumbsu:

LukeHodge15 said:
lets just all rejoice in the fact that we recieved 2 first round draft picks 4 him.

I still cant believe it :D

LukeHodge15 said:
i'm all smiles , never once have i felt jacked about anything that has happened in these hay dealings. i was getting a little nervous at 1:00 friday though.

Me too! :thumbsu:

He did say that he couldn't speak higher of the footy club in his speach etc... i know that he may have said otherwise during trade week, but I think he was just a bit hot headed at the time, doesn't have the best way with words etc.

Hope he does well at the Roos, we are looking elsewhere for next season, and I'm not overly worried that he is gone.

I don't think Jonathan is the smartest bloke going around.

This coupled with the fear of changing clubs, leaving his mates and some anger towards Hawthorn (rightly maybe, probably not in reality) and you will get some silly comments I am sure he regrets.

Please don't turn into Geelong fans. Colbert left that club in the last millenium and they still embarrass themselves many times a year. He is gone, you recieved adequate (more than bloody adequate if you ask me!!) compensation and that's that I reckon.

NorthBhoy said:

This coupled with the fear of changing clubs, leaving his mates and some anger towards Hawthorn (rightly maybe, probably not in reality) and you will get some silly comments I am sure he regrets.

Please don't turn into Geelong fans. Colbert left that club in the last millenium and they still embarrass themselves many times a year. He is gone, you recieved adequate (more than bloody adequate if you ask me!!) compensation and that's that I reckon.
I think a few supporters will have a go at him, but I'm not overly bothered with Jonny. As you said he isn't the brightest bloke going around. I have no bad feelings towards him, was one of my favourites back in the day. I think supporters are probably frustrated after years of him not getting on the park, and not delivering. He probably didn't mean what he said, and got blown out of proportion.

He'll be happier knowing about 3 other blokes down at the Roos anyway, I don't think he'll have any trouble settling in as half your blokes played for us anyway ;)

I'm happy to wish Jon Hay all the very best.

The tissues idea is very funny - and football is entertainment after all. But it's also hurtful. If it was my son and a crowd of 30,000 people did it to him I'd be incensed and devastated all at once.

Let's remember he's 26 years old and has just been through one of the most tumultuous fortnights of his life, following what has been quite a difficult few years. He was absolutely terrific in 2001 at the age of 21 and has clearly struggled with injury since. I daresay his own expectations have been sadly dashed.

He has also made an attempt to apologise for some rash remarks.

I want to barrack for a club where players are constantly supported.

I don't barrack for Jon Hay anymore - or Nathan Lonie - but I do wish them all the best.

Time to move on and support our draft pick numbers 14 and 18.

Kangaroos fans experienced the frustration Hawks fans had with Thompson as he failed to produce in the finals. They've got another one who looks terrific but delivers little when it matters most. Strap yourselves in Kanga fans, you're in for the Hay-ride of your lives. I really don't care that he's gone.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Kangaroos fans experienced the frustration Hawks fans had with Thompson as he failed to produce in the finals.

Hold on a sec.

We lost by 80 points. He was lucky to have football in his vicinity more than 5 times. If he hadn't have been present last year we would not have had the chance to embarrass the footy club in the finals.

NorthBhoy said:
Hold on a sec.

We lost by 80 points. He was lucky to have football in his vicinity more than 5 times. If he hadn't have been present last year we would not have had the chance to embarrass the footy club in the finals.

Keep holding onto the dream. Sav Rocca had the same lack of opportunities, plus a missus in hospital, plus a lack of preparation for the game, and he got far more of the ball than Thompson who was useless.

Maybe I'm not as forgiving as some, but I don't buy into the whole "heat of the moment" argument. Even someone as simple as him, should know better than to publicly slam a former club that has done nothing but bend over backwards for him, particularly the last few years of his drug-induced slumber where he was little-to-no value to us at all.

I'll be giving him plenty in the Nth game next game, and probably the return game as well (if we have one), but after that I'll let sleeping dogs lie, pardon the pun. ;)

I'm with Mr.L on it.

Can't see much point in being bothered with someone elses player. Like NBoy also said, we got decent compensation out of it as well (and also freed up salary cap space for the future).

All up, it's probably (if Jon can hold down F/B for them for four/five seasons) going to be a win/win deal.

Fabulous said:
Stretching it a bit. We received the picks for the combination of Hay, Lonie and pick 54.

i realise what we got. :D

lonie , i couldnt be happier to see the back of. squib who played really well in a game against carlton late in the year..........geez i could get a kick against carlton. just happy that we could offload him and r not paying his contract. he isnt in the future of the hawks.

pick 54 , we wouldnt be using that pick with so many draft picks already. and if we want to have a pick in the pre-season draft.

so in essence its hay 4 two first rounders in my eyes :D

Adelaide Hawk said:
They've got another one who looks terrific but delivers little when it matters most. Strap yourselves in Kanga fans, you're in for the Hay-ride of your lives.

That about says it all! Didn't he always look like he could produce something special one day but it just never really happened. He always got injured when it looked like his best was just around the corner.
Most recently has has looked nervous even when he has had no pressure on him. What was the reason he wouldn't kick a ball this year? Was it the bad knees?
If the Kangas on the lookout for players with only 1 good knee like Hay and Rawlings then they have drafted well. :eek:

NorthBhoy said:

Fair call NorthBhoy. Let's move on and hopefully both clubs can make the most of it! I thought Thommo was treated Ok by our supporters when we played North this year, but there were loud boos for stick man (rawlings) when we played the pups! I reckon Jade will be a good pick-up, hopefully laidley will play him where he played his best footy with the hawks. CHB!

Now my blood is boiling.