NRL round 1 TV ratings

truth

Rookie
Oct 18, 2007
Australia
Although they haven't been officially released to the public yet, I have been informed that, along with the crowds, they are overwhelmingly disappointing. I've been told within the vicinity of 450,000 in Sydney and 310 000 in Brisbane. For local derbies that's fairly low. Remember Melbourne got around 450,000 just for the Footy Show. Sydney is really losing support for rugby league if that's all they can manage. Melbourne usually gets above 600,000 for round 1, and there are fewer people in Melbourne. Brisbane's is also pretty low. That's what they get for Underbelly. Is underbelly more important to Brisbane residents than the NRL? I think so! Finally some proof that the NRL is waning, and on its 100th year no doubt! Oh he irony!

I think you'll find that the Gold Coast and Townsville are seperated by 1,180 kilometres :p

Maybe they're ok. I probably shouldn't compare them to the AFL. I only did because most NRL people say the NRL is the most watched sport in Australia.

maybe what's ok. oh you mean the imaginery figures you have no proof for. seriously can't believe how many losers pre occupy themselves with the AFL vs NRL crap.

Can this be moved to the NRL board, what had this got to do with the AFL?

Btw- the AFL in Melbourne rarely gets above 550k during the H/A season and although by comparison it rates better in Melbourne compared to the NRL in Sydney (on average) it is pretty useless to compare the two.

Can this be moved to the NRL board, what had this got to do with the AFL?

Btw- the AFL in Melbourne rarely gets above 550k during the H/A season and although by comparison it rates better in Melbourne compared to the NRL in Sydney (on average) it is pretty useless to compare the two.

Ditto.

All those figures show is how unsporty people in Sydney are. If Brisbane are getting 310k watching the footy Sydney in comparison should be getting close to a million.

I agree! 450, 000 in Sydney is pathetic. Watch out NRL! I try to think of myself as a typical AFL fan but this is beyond the reasoning of the natural order of the physical being. Go AFL!!! Woo hoo!!! We're gonna thrash ya hahaha!!! Swing as high as you can try because it won't come back down to this anymore buddies! I reckon you'd go fairly far and high but not until the sky is pulled down from below and shoved into the abyss. I honestly don't see why the NRL doesn't just give up ffs! Try this next week and you'll soon realise for not only yourselves, but for the entire army that is supposed to have helmets on protecting the oh so innocent spectators that the day of reckoning is soon approaching. If only we had a wish. If only we had a dream to not care! Soon will be the day all hell breaks lose when we rise from the scavenges below and feed on the sweet nipple of sociology! For only then will we see the entire truth!

:eek:

*backs away slowly out of thread, not daring to break eye contact*

I have just moved to NSW and to be honest, there doesn't seem to be any enthusiasm for NRl as the is for footy in Melbourne. Footy is all you hear about in Vic, in Newcastle, where I am based, it isn't all that's talked about. You gotta be a Victorian to really understand what I mean but AFL is a religion in Victoria, us Victorians and lovers of the greatest game in the world know that, but in NSW, NRL is not religiously followed, it's a game that people like.

I hope you get some kind of card for spewing this rubbish onto the main board.

Yep 26,000 at ANZ/Telstra Stadium a for their big game on friday is pathetic.
The brutal incident involving Wing in that game wont help the remove the thuggish image the RL has always had.This sort of dirty behaviour was looked upon as ok 50 years back but it just dosent cut the mustard in 2008.

A 20,000 crowd in NRL is great to see for supporters...in AFL, 20,000 means big issues. Just shows the huge difference between the codes. Another...State of Origin is the only thing keeping the NRL remotely interesting, wheras the AFL doesn't even need SOO to increase popularity.

Hear hear sister blister. The NRL is hanging on with all it's might to the outreached paw of the ARL. Its only lifeblood that will eventually tire and perish akin to the diminishing favor of the national competition itself. As I said before, that day is coming. The day of reckoning when that very fate manifests into a bleeding cesspit of lost hope and weary eyes. Watch for it. The backpedaling ethos of virtue is upon us. I can feel it echoing around my vessels like a holistic weapon of choice. The truth is out there. We just need the search harder!

The 2 game styles are vastly different,And 1 game style is vastly better to watch than the other.
I have read numerous times about the Nrl guys claiming they have the best game of the lot.
Unfortunatly the League game style is repetative and lacks variety compared to AFL,and simply league is not the best game of the lot.
This is the biggest downfall of their game,even though they can not see it,and argue reasons as tv deals, tv ratings,access and travel to stadiums,culture and history.
If they had the better product,it would show in crowd attendances,club profits,sponsors and by now would be Australia wide.

The 2 game styles are vastly different,And 1 game style is vastly better to watch than the other.
I have read numerous times about the Nrl guys claiming they have the best game of the lot.
Unfortunatly the League game style is repetative and lacks variety compared to AFL,and simply league is not the best game of the lot.
This is the biggest downfall of their game,even though they can not see it,and argue reasons as tv deals, tv ratings,access and travel to stadiums,culture and history.
If they had the better product,it would show in crowd attendances,club profits,sponsors and by now would be Australia wide.

Aint that the truth?! You can only flog a second rate over priced product for so long before the public wakes up.
Thats one of the reasons the Storm is such a failure in Melbourne the game of RL is uninteresting to the Melbourne general sporting public brought up on the much better AFL Game - product.

The thugby trolls that come on here banging on about how good their game is are deluding themselves.

See kids, this is once again proof the drugs are bad!!

NRL round 1 TV ratings