The 'obscure footballers of the 1990s' thread.
A mate and are avid AFL supporters and were talking about 'obscure' footballers the other day. Perhaps it was the blokes who just didn't quite make it, the guys we'd completely forgotten about or the players who made an impact in only one or two senior games at AFL level before drifting off into nothingness.
Here are a few names we came up with:
Leigh Tudor - the bloke from Geelong. Is now a senior VFL coach (as far as I know). Was a forward line player who's greatest claim to fame was playing alongside Gary Ablett - that or his inclusion in 'AFL Finals Fever,' one of the worst computer games ever made. Not a bad footballer, though, from memory.
Ian Fairley - played with North for many many years. One of the most under-rated players ever to play the game. Wore the number six (I think) for all of his 200+ games. Good footballer.
Jason Watt - Footscray forward who kicked a few bags in his career. Wore the number 25, but seemed to fall off the face of the Earth around 1997. Only played around 50 odd games. Remember thinking he was a gun as a ten year old.
Illia Grgic - Footscray, West Coast and Essendon player from memory. Was a big ruckman who I think was involved in a steroids scandal. Didn't hear much of the big man after about 98.
Gordon Fode - St. Kilda forward. Traded to Hawthorn after a fair few years with the Saints, but never played a game with the Hawks.
Rod Keogh - big bloke. Played with the Saints. Don't remember much else about him.
Matty Clape - WHATEVER HAPPENED TO THIS BLOKE? Remember thinking he was an absolute gun for the Blues. Also think he played a game or two for West Coast. Talk about falling off the face of the earth.
John Stevens - former Sydney player. Granted, not as 'obscure' as the aforementioned...but still.....what happened to this guy? Remember he was quite a decent player, think he was a mature age recruit and must've been playing up until 2001-2002ish....then, nothing.
Anthony Ingerson - Adelaide and Melbourne defender. Quite a good player who retired around 2000. Probably not so obscure either, but still, I'd practically forgetten about this bloke.
Anthony Mellington - Fitzroy and North forward. Kicked 4 against the Hawks one day when he played for North. Looked like a decent type but just never made it. What happened?
David Brown - played for Adelaide and later Port Adelaide. Was a bit of a hack. Don't remember a whole lot about him.
Brett Chalmers - likewise.
Scotty Turner - number 41 for the Tiges. Had the pony tail. Played at full back. Absolute out and out champion (well, maybe not, but geez those bogan Richmond supporters used to raise the beer can every time big Scotty got near it).
Todd Curley - played for the Bulldogs. Cleaned up an ump and got rubbed out. Was a decent player but never came back after that.
Don Pyke - was a good player for West Coast in his time, might've played in 2 GFs actually, but another one nobody has heard a whimper from in some time. Many nights I have lay in bed wondering....where in the world is Don Pyke??
Chris Groom - CHF for North and Freo, IIRC. Did his knee also. Heard little of him after he was built up as being quite a good player.
Jacob Anstey - ruckman/tall bloke for the BlueBaggers who played probably mid to late 90s. Something tells me he played VFL after his short AFL career.
Jeff Hogg - Fitzroy and Richmond full-forward. Huge wrap for this bloke, possibly because I only remember one game of his and I think it was when the RoyBoys went over the top of us at Waverley Park.
Stephen Jurica - big full-forward for Richmond. Playing in the VFL at the moment. Looked early on in his career to be a decent prospect.
Todd Ridley - Freo/Hawthorn/Essendon. Went on to play in the NFL. Balding bloke with white-ish hair. Haven't heard much of him, except when Benny Graham made the initial crossover and I think he made a cameo on the Footy Show.
Luke Toia - on the subject of Freo, what about this bloke? Wore the number one guernsey when the club obviously thought he was looking like a decent player..........next thing, we haven't heard of the little nugget since.
Wayne Weidemann (or something like that) - bloke with a big ********er of a beard and whole lot of attitude. Played for the Crows in the early to mid 90s. I aspired to be like him, but lack the hormonal capabilities to grow a beard at the age of seven.
Greg Anderson - number 1 for Adelaide and I think played for Essendon before that. Good defender who would've played 100+ games. Still - I'd just about forgotten about him too.
Matthew Liptak - the sheilas loved him. Actually captained the Crows at one point IIRC, yet I don't think he played many games, maybe seven or eight seasons. I know injuries plagued him.
Paul Peos - bald little mongrel who played for the Bears. Can't remember much else, he was probably delisted when I was about seven. Still, I remember watching him on TV.
Peter Quill - Footscray player who may or may not have had a receding hairline. Struggling to remember this bloke - may have to get out the old footy cards.
Keenan Reynolds - Footscray and North. Played early to mid 90s and is remembered for being called Keenan. Don't think he was much of a player though.
Shayne Stevenson - left footer with curly blonde hair who played for Fitzroy and Hawthorn. Will go down as a 'great reserves player.' One day sprained his ankle for the Hawks, but given that Hawthorn already had a depleted side and a bench nursing four other injured players, Stevenson remained on the ground and IIRC kicked 4 goals. Shayne buddy......what happened?
Sedat Sir - remembered for his name. Played for Footscray, who obviously had the knack for drafting obscure footballers.
So - any other contributions......comments on the blokes mentioned........any memories of these great footballers.....anybody know where they are now
A mate and are avid AFL supporters and were talking about 'obscure' footballers the other day. Perhaps it was the blokes who just didn't quite make it, the guys we'd completely forgotten about or the players who made an impact in only one or two senior games at AFL level before drifting off into nothingness.
Here are a few names we came up with:
Leigh Tudor - the bloke from Geelong. Is now a senior VFL coach (as far as I know). Was a forward line player who's greatest claim to fame was playing alongside Gary Ablett - that or his inclusion in 'AFL Finals Fever,' one of the worst computer games ever made. Not a bad footballer, though, from memory.
Ian Fairley - played with North for many many years. One of the most under-rated players ever to play the game. Wore the number six (I think) for all of his 200+ games. Good footballer.
Jason Watt - Footscray forward who kicked a few bags in his career. Wore the number 25, but seemed to fall off the face of the Earth around 1997. Only played around 50 odd games. Remember thinking he was a gun as a ten year old.
Illia Grgic - Footscray, West Coast and Essendon player from memory. Was a big ruckman who I think was involved in a steroids scandal. Didn't hear much of the big man after about 98.
Gordon Fode - St. Kilda forward. Traded to Hawthorn after a fair few years with the Saints, but never played a game with the Hawks.
Rod Keogh - big bloke. Played with the Saints. Don't remember much else about him.
Matty Clape - WHATEVER HAPPENED TO THIS BLOKE? Remember thinking he was an absolute gun for the Blues. Also think he played a game or two for West Coast. Talk about falling off the face of the earth.
John Stevens - former Sydney player. Granted, not as 'obscure' as the aforementioned...but still.....what happened to this guy? Remember he was quite a decent player, think he was a mature age recruit and must've been playing up until 2001-2002ish....then, nothing.
Anthony Ingerson - Adelaide and Melbourne defender. Quite a good player who retired around 2000. Probably not so obscure either, but still, I'd practically forgetten about this bloke.
Anthony Mellington - Fitzroy and North forward. Kicked 4 against the Hawks one day when he played for North. Looked like a decent type but just never made it. What happened?
David Brown - played for Adelaide and later Port Adelaide. Was a bit of a hack. Don't remember a whole lot about him.
Brett Chalmers - likewise.
Scotty Turner - number 41 for the Tiges. Had the pony tail. Played at full back. Absolute out and out champion (well, maybe not, but geez those bogan Richmond supporters used to raise the beer can every time big Scotty got near it).
Todd Curley - played for the Bulldogs. Cleaned up an ump and got rubbed out. Was a decent player but never came back after that.
Don Pyke - was a good player for West Coast in his time, might've played in 2 GFs actually, but another one nobody has heard a whimper from in some time. Many nights I have lay in bed wondering....where in the world is Don Pyke??
Chris Groom - CHF for North and Freo, IIRC. Did his knee also. Heard little of him after he was built up as being quite a good player.
Jacob Anstey - ruckman/tall bloke for the BlueBaggers who played probably mid to late 90s. Something tells me he played VFL after his short AFL career.
Jeff Hogg - Fitzroy and Richmond full-forward. Huge wrap for this bloke, possibly because I only remember one game of his and I think it was when the RoyBoys went over the top of us at Waverley Park.
Stephen Jurica - big full-forward for Richmond. Playing in the VFL at the moment. Looked early on in his career to be a decent prospect.
Todd Ridley - Freo/Hawthorn/Essendon. Went on to play in the NFL. Balding bloke with white-ish hair. Haven't heard much of him, except when Benny Graham made the initial crossover and I think he made a cameo on the Footy Show.
Luke Toia - on the subject of Freo, what about this bloke? Wore the number one guernsey when the club obviously thought he was looking like a decent player..........next thing, we haven't heard of the little nugget since.
Wayne Weidemann (or something like that) - bloke with a big ********er of a beard and whole lot of attitude. Played for the Crows in the early to mid 90s. I aspired to be like him, but lack the hormonal capabilities to grow a beard at the age of seven.
Greg Anderson - number 1 for Adelaide and I think played for Essendon before that. Good defender who would've played 100+ games. Still - I'd just about forgotten about him too.
Matthew Liptak - the sheilas loved him. Actually captained the Crows at one point IIRC, yet I don't think he played many games, maybe seven or eight seasons. I know injuries plagued him.
Paul Peos - bald little mongrel who played for the Bears. Can't remember much else, he was probably delisted when I was about seven. Still, I remember watching him on TV.
Peter Quill - Footscray player who may or may not have had a receding hairline. Struggling to remember this bloke - may have to get out the old footy cards.
Keenan Reynolds - Footscray and North. Played early to mid 90s and is remembered for being called Keenan. Don't think he was much of a player though.
Shayne Stevenson - left footer with curly blonde hair who played for Fitzroy and Hawthorn. Will go down as a 'great reserves player.' One day sprained his ankle for the Hawks, but given that Hawthorn already had a depleted side and a bench nursing four other injured players, Stevenson remained on the ground and IIRC kicked 4 goals. Shayne buddy......what happened?
Sedat Sir - remembered for his name. Played for Footscray, who obviously had the knack for drafting obscure footballers.
So - any other contributions......comments on the blokes mentioned........any memories of these great footballers.....anybody know where they are now