**** off Damn-ian Barrett you oxygen thief

Lol, let her have her fun.

Of course, she's supposed to be a professional journalist.

But then again, they're all supposed to be professional journalists, and look what they do with their position, whether it be in sports journalism, politics or otherwise.

The Australian mainstream media is a disgrace, and desperately in need of proper government-level regulation. I know I say it a lot, but I figure it really can't be said enough at this point.

Gerard Whately was on a similar note on 360: "winning shouldn't be an event for Melbourne."
This is the reaction you should expect, especially beating GWS. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.
AFL journalism is predictable and its opinions irrelevant. And it wouldn't be any sort of an issue if these people didn't get paid for their "work". Barrett, Caro, etc., they're essentially overpiad bloggers.

Of course, she's supposed to be a professional journalist.

But then again, they're all supposed to be professional journalists, and look what they do with their position, whether it be in sports journalism, politics or otherwise.

The Australian mainstream media is a disgrace, and desperately in need of proper government-level regulation. I know I say it a lot, but I figure it really can't be said enough at this point.

****ing here ye man! I don't read papers or watch the news these days. Have you seen the movie idiocracy? Not long now until it's a reality I fear.

******* here ye man! I don't read papers or watch the news these days. Have you seen the movie idiocracy? Not long now until it's a reality I fear.

Coming perilously close in Australia mate.

I frequently wish I were able to easily move overseas when/if the worst should happen on September 14th this year - preferably to Norway, Sweden or Finland.

Seriously though, what we're doing right now, is exactly what Barrett and Carowhine want. They thrive on attention, they know everyone hates them, but so long as people talk about them, they're happy.

Be nice if some of us were in a position to engage in a little Keating-esque psychological 'cracking' of idiots in their position, and others.

To torture the collective morass of mainstream media morons as Keating did so well to Hewson in the leadup to '93.

PS- Or as I just did to that ManOfClay troll on the MB, with a little unexpected assistance from FP -> http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/well-done-demons.1000503/page-5#post-27900072
PO5a8b7.jpg

every journo is pretty much shit except for a maybe one or two if that. I hate them all
Emma Quayle.

I like Martin Flannagan and occasionally Greg Baum says something interesting when he's not just paying out on his pet subjects. Don't really enjoy the work of many other sports journos. Michael Jeh sometimes says interesting things about cricket, but that's about it.

Emma Quayle.

I like Martin Flannagan and occasionally Greg Baum says something interesting when he's not just paying out on his pet subjects. Don't really enjoy the work of many other sports journos. Michael Jeh sometimes says interesting things about cricket, but that's about it.

Bob Murphy is good for a chuckle.

Seriously though, what we're doing right now, is exactly what Barrett and Carowhine want. They thrive on attention, they know everyone hates them, but so long as people talk about them, they're happy.

I see where you're coming from, but on the flip side I would say the only chance we as the public have of improving our sports/AFL journalists, is to keep highlighting just how shit they are, and if people can be bothered, writing into the relevant people (not that they'll necessarily listen). It's really in a truly pathetic state.

Also, make sure if you do see them in the street, at the footy, or if you can be bothered writing to them on twitter (or crap like that), you give them the mouthful they deserve. ;)

I served Caro a drink in the Members Dining Room at the G a few weeks ago... saw her come up to the bar and was so so so sorely tempted to spit in her sav blanc. Just elicits so much rage. Not a journalist.

You're allowed to say something to her, even in a 'civil' manner if you'd prefer :p. "I think your journalism is incredibly unprofessional" for example. Next time make sure you do. These idiots need to be held accountable, especially seeing as they're being paid a lot of money to write such horrible garbage.

Is it just me or has the 'football media' spiralled into the abyss this year.

I was disgusted at the amount of journos smacking their lips at 3/4 time of your game vs GWS, all preempting Neelds sacking. Utterly disrespectful. And dont get me started on channel sevens coverage of the Melbourne-Essendon game.

Exactly right mate. And it's more obvious than ever that this malignancy goes way beyond just Channel 7, beyond just scumbags like Wilson and Barrett either - the MSM overall is rapidly descending towards that abyss.

Not limited to this year alone either, of course, it's just become even clearer now.

Exactly right mate. And it's more obvious than ever that this malignancy goes way beyond just Channel 7, beyond just scumbags like Wilson and Barrett either - the MSM overall is rapidly descending towards that abyss.

Not limited to this year alone either, of course, it's just become even clearer now.

I dont remember the media being this reactive in previous years, seriously when i read an article i'm genuinely thinking.

Not sure if srs, why is this on the main boa.... oh wait its on the herald sun/age whatever.

If you believe the journos, port will win the premiership, essendon are in deep shiii...wait no, they are good now #standbyhird, north are terri... oh wait they beat brisbane and played some tough sides to start the year, Bulldogs are on the right traaaa... wait nothing has changed they are terrible.

I could seriously go on for days, what a joke our media has become.

Look im happy with port being competitive and looking like they have turned corner but if the wheels fall of in next few weeks will anyone in the media retract statements that melbourne should take note. Which some of these comments were made after they beat GWS in round 2. Seriously :rolleyes:

I could seriously go on for days, what a joke our media has become.

And as I say mate, this is why I decided some time ago that I'd just stop reading any of the newspapers or watching any TV news. I get my straight news from sites like Independent Australia and New Matilda, for example, and get sports reportage from the AFL site and various other independent sites.

Basic standards of professional journalism in Australia have slipped so far they're virtually non-existent. The whole artifice of major Australian news outlets has been disfigured, to the point where it's all basically just an echo chamber now. A monkey for the organ-grinders, as it were.

Sometimes, of course, as is the case with Wilson, the organ-grinders are 'journalists' themselves.

The worst part about this frightening trajectory being that, well, if you change the media, you change the country. Clearly Murdoch always knew this.

And what kind of country we're turning into as a result... :eek:

Did you happen to watch Freo-Essendon?

Seemed like every 30 seconds someone was laying the boots into Melbourne and saying what a disgrace they were compared to Freo and how little effort they showed. Focus on the bloody game that is in front of you and stop filling the air with stuff that isn't immediately relevant for chrissake.

Did you happen to watch Freo-Essendon?

Seemed like every 30 seconds someone was laying the boots into Melbourne and saying what a disgrace they were compared to Freo and how little effort they showed. Focus on the bloody game that is in front of you and stop filling the air with stuff that isn't immediately relevant for chrissake.

Notice how it was all about how 'brave' the bombers were.

Do any journos actually read their articles. They were all bashing essendon all week and then come gameday the bombers are fighters and #diditforhirdy. And even if they lost it would have been all about how much the scandal and the trip affected them mentally.

Now fast forward to friday gone. Melbourne are dragged into the dank business, put up with talkback discussion, footy panel discussion plus the building heat from fans and media alike for bad start to year.

Put up a poor first 3/4 and somehow they flick the switch and show some true passion in the fourth quarter (breaking a club record in that time to mind you).

First thing i see this morning is 'Wolves still circling' or some crackpot headline crapping on about how lucky they are and pretty much general disappointment that they didnt lose.

Agenda much??? or just pure bloodlust??

He is what he is - and we need him in the media. If we all agreed to the articles written by journalists, it would be a pretty pathetic society. People may applaud his stuff, whilst people may jeer with vitriolic rage, but the truth is that his polarising effect ignites conversation and debate. Same with Caro.

Let's grin when we're (finally) winning. Can't wait to make him eat his words.

I reckon Fox Footy only had Jon Ralph there on Sunday in case we lost. The media should be there to report the story, not be part of it. They see themselves as in the entertainment industry.

Gerard Whately was on a similar note on 360: "winning shouldn't be an event for Melbourne."
This is the reaction you should expect, especially beating GWS. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.
AFL journalism is predictable and its opinions irrelevant. And it wouldn't be any sort of an issue if these people didn't get paid for their "work". Barrett, Caro, etc., they're essentially overpiad bloggers.

Is he wrong though? Did Gerard say anything that hasn't been said on these boards. Winning shouldn't be an once in a life time event. It should be a regular thing. And especially beating GWS.
I'm not sure what all the complaining is about. Yes journalists state opinions, but the opinions mirror what has been said and what continues to be said on this board and among other Dee's fans.

I don’t know, is it some mentality along the lines of, ‘we can tell ourselves these things, but how dare anyone else say it’?

There is a need/market for journalistic opinions; it keeps the broader AFL community informed about what is being said within a team’s community. Not everyone has time to trawl through a teams forum to get a sense of the feeling within a club. Opinion journalists distil this and offer it to a broader public.

I hate everything about the bloke. Flog of of journo who is trying his pig faced hardest to be like Hutchy(In his 'news breaking' days)...

Has a dig at Melbourne at every chance he gets. Doesn't mind potting most sides when they're down.

Just buy him a wounded puppy he can kick around at home and he'll probably drift into oblivion...

**** off Damn-ian Barrett you oxygen thief