Off the Turps

Originally posted by Bee
Hey Spidey, there's nothing better than drinking champagne in a spa bath. I suppose the shower is close enough.

Bee drinking champers in a spa used to be one of my fave things when away on holiday - until I heard it isn't good for you! Something to do with the heat of the water, the bubbles relaxing your system and booze flowing thru quicker or something.......can't really remember exactly what it was......but it was enough to make me stop doing it!

Originally posted by Danni
Bee drinking champers in a spa used to be one of my fave things when away on holiday - until I heard it isn't good for you! Something to do with the heat of the water, the bubbles relaxing your system and booze flowing thru quicker or something.......can't really remember exactly what it was......but it was enough to make me stop doing it!

One of the greatest pleasures in life, Danni.

i love drinking. almost everytime im out. but not everytime and not to the point of self destruction. everyone is different. if it doesnt interfere with your functioning in life, how is it a problem other than a bit of fun?

Originally posted by Mcchawk
... Alf I don't think you should pass judgement on people you know nothing on?

Who's passing judgement?

I'm merely commenting on what people have posted. If you're going to tell the internet about your drinking habits you've got to expect the internet to reply.

The symptoms you describe about yourself are the classic symptoms of an alcoholic ... You've said you've tried to give up and you can't ... That makes you an alcoholic.

I'm not JUDGING you ... I'm just telling you what you have told me.

The only reason AA was useless for you was because you weren't ready for it.

It's your choice, mate. I'm not telling you or anybody what to do with their lives.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
"We had our fun but you're not allowed to".

Interesting comment.

When I turned up to my first AA meeting I was 30 years old. The guy at the door was in his 50s. He greeted me and said, "I wish I'd got to AA when I was your age."

I thought to myself, "It's all right for you to say that. You've HAD your fun."

After that meeting I didn't drink for 3 and a half years. Then I got back "on the turps" for a few years, on and off. I got sober, this time round, at the age of 40 ... seven years ago. Those last 10 years of relapsing were NOT fun, I'll give you the strong tip.

I now understand perfectly what that bloke at the door of my first meeting meant when he said he wished he'd got to AA at my age.

By all means, have your fun ... please ... And as long as drinking is FUN for you, then good luck to you.

If drinking was fun for me, I'd still be doing it.

It's when drinking isn't FUN any more ... that's when you need AA.

Alf i admire you for pouring your soul out to the internet even though it's fairly personal business. I'd watch my back though because there are a lot of snipers around here who like to pick up on peoples weaknesses and use it against them in the future! I guess its not a weakness if you admit to it but.

Originally posted by M29
It depends on what someone defines as a 'drink' BA. One or two (beers, not bottles of vodka) a week wouldn't be enough to qualify yourself as an alcho. Waking up every morning having eye openers and then forgetting what time of the day it is alcholism.

Is that what you mean alf?

Not necessarily ... It's not how much or how often or what time of day that you drink that makes you an alcoholic.

It's more a case of what drinking does to your soul. And I don't mean that in any religious way. Some people just weren't meant to drink. It tears them to bits. But they have a fatal attraction to it all the same ... These people are alcoholics.

Some people can drink really large amounts of alcohol without it having any negative effect on their lives. These people aren't alcoholics. Or, in some cases, they haven't become alcoholics YET.

There are also some people who only drink very moderate amounts, but because of their psychological disposition, it creates problems in their lives. These people are alcoholics, even though their symptoms might not be as blatant as they are for the round-the-clock drinker.

Alcoholism is a disease which progresses over time. I was an alcoholic in my teens, even though my symptoms were a lot less noticeable then than they were in my late 20s.

But an experienced recovering alcoholic (which I have become over time) can usually spot the symptoms in other people long before those people are aware that they've got a problem.

And it's not being judgemental ...

Would you call a doctor "judgemental" if he told you you had cancer?

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
Alf i admire you for pouring your soul out to the internet even though it's fairly personal business. I'd watch my back though because there are a lot of snipers around here who like to pick up on peoples weaknesses and use it against them in the future! I guess its not a weakness if you admit to it but.

I appreciate that comment. I really do.

But I've been pretty open about my past for as long as I've been posting on the internet. If people want to use that against me, good luck to them ... they can't really hurt me because I'm not ashamed of being what I am.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews

By all means, have your fun ... please ... And as long as drinking is FUN for you, then good luck to you.

If drinking was fun for me, I'd still be doing it.

It's when drinking isn't FUN any more ... that's when you need AA. [/B]

I'll drink to that !!!!!!:D

I appreciate that comment. I really do.

But I've been pretty open about my past for as long as I've been posting on the internet. If people want to use that against me, good luck to them ... they can't really hurt me because I'm not ashamed of being what I am.
An ex-Port turned Collingwood supporter? That's pretty shameful. :D

.. waits.

I think some people make things a bigger deal than they need to be...

I understand your case, Alf, but SpiderGirl what about you, why dont you drink? Do you not drink alcohol at all full stop, does it make you sick, what? Not being rude here, just very curious as to why people decide they are non drinkers, esp so young as you are.

Personally i like to have a drink sometimes. I am not an alcoholic, and i resent the fact that people claim one who NEEDS to drink isnt a strong person or whatever. I am a very strong person and i dont NEED to drink, but i damn well enjoy it, as do a hell of a lot of other people!!

Its all in your mind or not about whether you let it become the ruler of your life. Like gambling. Some people just have addictive personalities i guess.

Who's passing judgement?

I'm merely commenting on what people have posted. If you're going to tell the internet about your drinking habits you've got to expect the internet to reply.

The symptoms you describe about yourself are the classic symptoms of an alcoholic ... You've said you've tried to give up and you can't ... That makes you an alcoholic.

I'm not JUDGING you ... I'm just telling you what you have told me.

The only reason AA was useless for you was because you weren't ready for it.

It's your choice, mate. I'm not telling you or anybody what to do with their lives.

Does an alcoholic consist of having one drink a day?

Pffft. ****ing generalisations.
When are people going to realise that each case is different, and that each situation is too? You cant put a banner on it and go, ok, 5 drinks or more per week makes you an alcoholic. Its ridiculous.

And all this deep and meaningful conversations over my self congratulatory post on not drinking for a month.....

*shrugs shoulders*

Must remember not to self congratulate myself too much round here!

And you can't class an alcoholic on how many drinks they have, it's more their personality, whether or not they have obsessive or addictive personalities.....like gamblers...

Have to agree with ya BB!

:D

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
An ex-Port turned Collingwood supporter? That's pretty shameful. :D

.. waits.

Well ... that's where you're wrong. I didn't TURN Collingwood. I've barracked for Collingwood since about 1965. I barracked for Port Adelaide in the SANFL and Collingwood in the VFL.

When Port joined the AFL, I obviously had to make a choice. I chose Collingwood. It was the sensible choice because, by then, I had moved to Melbourne.

I don't see that as shameful.

Originally posted by BluesBabe666
... Personally i like to have a drink sometimes. I am not an alcoholic, and i resent the fact that people claim one who NEEDS to drink isnt a strong person or whatever. I am a very strong person and i dont NEED to drink, but i damn well enjoy it, as do a hell of a lot of other people!!

Its all in your mind or not about whether you let it become the ruler of your life. Like gambling. Some people just have addictive personalities i guess.

It's not about whether you're a "strong person" or not. Believe it or not, alcoholics are often very "strong" people. Let's face it ... it's bloody hard work keeping up a long-term drinking habit.

There's nothing wrong with liking a drink. And if you're not using it as some sort of psychological crutch or letting it rule your life, then you DON'T have a problem.

I don't actually agree that it's "all in your mind". There is, in fact a chemical imbalance in the brain of people who become alcoholics. I don't really understand it well enough to explain it in detail ... but it's an actual physical problem which is there, in some cases, even BEFORE the person has ever had a drink of alcohol. Sounds weird, I know. But they talk about it a lot in rehabs. And that's what predisposes some people to having "addictive personalities".

Originally posted by Blues Angel
And all this deep and meaningful conversations over my self congratulatory post on not drinking for a month.....

You should congratulate yourself on starting an absolute ripper of a topic ... Well done.

Must remember not to self congratulate myself too much round here!

Hey ... I haven't eaten cheese sandwiches before going to bed for at least a month either ... but I didn't feel that I had to start a thread on BigFooty bragging about the fact :)

And you can't class an alcoholic on how many drinks they have, it's more their personality, whether or not they have obsessive or addictive personalities.....like gamblers...

Correct.

Yeah ... look I'm sorry for taking up this issue. I know you only meant it as a bit of fun ... but it's a subject close to my heart so I couldn't resist.

I'm sorry if I sounded a bit confrontational in this topic. I know what it's like. I can't stand born-again Christians, even though I know a lot of what they say is the truth.

I think I might just lighten up and have a nice cuppa tea.

No ... I didn't say "light up" ... I don't smoke either ... I said "lighten up".

Yeah ... look I'm sorry for taking up this issue. I know you only meant it as a bit of fun ... but it's a subject close to my heart so I couldn't resist.

I'm sorry if I sounded a bit confrontational in this topic. I know what it's like. I can't stand born-again Christians, even though I know a lot of what they say is the truth.

I think I might just lighten up and have a nice cuppa tea.

No ... I didn't say "light up" ... I don't smoke either ... I said "lighten up".

No worries Alf...tis cool!

May I join you in that cuppa tea??

Off the Turps