• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Re: Offical 18's gvfl thread

VCFL_FAN said:
Ok a few changes made here, its helping me that Saker has changed leagues...

B: M. Kelly (Shepp B/Bushrangers) R. Tuohey (Rochester/Pioneers) D. McIntyre (Shepp B)

HB: R. Normington (Shepp U/Bushrangers) J.Pell (Kyabram) A. Hockey (Mooroopna/Bushrangers)

C: B. Weardon (Kyabram/Bushrangers) D. Connors (Echuca/Pioneers) B. Montague (Rochester/Pioneers)

HF: T. Warnett (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) M. Hebbard (Shepp S/Bushrangers) M. Chapman (Shepp B/Bushrangers)

F: T. Sheldon (Echuca/Pioneers) R. Hurst (Echuca) C. Nance (Echuca)

FOLL: P. Aumann (Benalla) J. Harbrow (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) C. Cullinan (Shepp B)

INT: L. Sofi (Shepp B) S.Harris (Benalla/Bushrangers) R. Butler (Tatura/Bushrangers) J. Florencee (Echuca/ Pioneers)

EMG: M. Hyden (Rochester) M. Rendina (Shepp U) A.King. (Echuca) N. Jackson (Echuca)

Any other changes? thoughts?

Would put Thomas Rockliff at full forward over Hurst anyday, rockliff should at 15 he could match it with the best 18's full backs, has played ones this year and was named in All-Australian sides to years running...
Also i would put Patrick Horsburgh in as an emg. before King and Jackson

think you Echuca boys think your better then you are, remember you just lost to the bottom team, stop talking yourselves up

Badger_33 said:
Also R. Hurst as an emergency your joking, id play horsburgh from euroa over him anyyy dayy in the same position

gotta be joking mate.....how can u not have the leading goal kicker in the top side....having him as an emegency is an insult to how well he has played. Sure he may have only kicked a couple in the past 3 weeks but is he not still leading??? and in the past few games disposal towards him has been terrible with echuca not playing very good football. it was also hard for hurst to kick many with N.Jackson slotting 7 and a very congested forward line. everyone has played each other and we are back to the start of the season (opposition wise) and he is leading by 8 or so. so every other forward has had the same opportunity of kicking as many as he has...[/quote]

easily mate he wouldnt be up to it. yeah he maybe leading but from what iv seen in the last few weeks he's shown nothing. good players should be able to make the best of what they get. he would have had the ball in his vicinity a dozen times on the weekend and would have had 3 kicks 1 handball at the most for 2 goals. he is every backmans dream mate. every forward in the comp would have beaten him in the month because they are all bought down to the same level with that level of disposal towards them. can anyone else give me an opinion on him please?

i do agree it would of been harder with jackson kicking 7 but still he couldnt get near it when it was there.

One believable rumour that is doing the rounds is that quite a few AFL clubs have dropped interest in drafting Connors.[/quote]

theres one at every club, stop talking **** wilson.. and leave it alone

Well done VCFL_FAN on the the selecting the team. It has resulted in some good discussion

VCFL_FAN said:
Ok a few changes made here, its helping me that Saker has changed leagues...

B: M. Kelly (Shepp B/Bushrangers) R. Tuohey (Rochester/Pioneers) D. McIntyre (Shepp B)

HB: R. Normington (Shepp U/Bushrangers) J.Pell (Kyabram) A. Hockey (Mooroopna/Bushrangers)

C: B. Weardon (Kyabram/Bushrangers) D. Connors (Echuca/Pioneers) B. Montague (Rochester/Pioneers)

HF: T. Warnett (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) M. Hebbard (Shepp S/Bushrangers) M. Chapman (Shepp B/Bushrangers)

F: T. Sheldon (Echuca/Pioneers) R. Hurst (Echuca) C. Nance (Echuca)

FOLL: P. Aumann (Benalla) J. Harbrow (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) C. Cullinan (Shepp B)

INT: L. Sofi (Shepp B) S.Harris (Benalla/Bushrangers) R. Butler (Tatura/Bushrangers) J. Florencee (Echuca/ Pioneers)

EMG: M. Hyden (Rochester) M. Rendina (Shepp U) A.King. (Echuca) N. Jackson (Echuca)

Any other changes? thoughts?

out of the 26 players on this list there is 7 from echuca- i dont think that would be entirely right. the two pockets and full foward are from echuca i could just about guarantee that those three from echuca owuldnt be the best fowards in the hole leauge. what about rockcliffe who is apparently a gun foward. i could imagine there would be at least one player from seymour or mansfield or somewhere like that that would be a conotender. also kyabram is on top of the ladder by two wins and only have two players in the line up- they have players playing seniors every week too:thumbsu:

sjwt said:
out of the 26 players on this list there is 7 from echuca- i dont think that would be entirely right. the two pockets and full foward are from echuca i could just about guarantee that those three from echuca owuldnt be the best fowards in the hole leauge. what about rockcliffe who is apparently a gun foward. i could imagine there would be at least one player from seymour or mansfield or somewhere like that that would be a conotender. also kyabram is on top of the ladder by two wins and only have two players in the line up- they have players playing seniors every week too:thumbsu:

yeah for sure mate i would slot jamie sheahan in the forward line he is a very good play, he is been in the mansfield seniors most week's, also Tom rockcliffe as quoted above has been named in benalla seniors best players a hand full of times this year, some one has to be able to have these two in the side!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

its going to be a hard game for the seymour boys when they take on Euroa, Euroa have been really good the past few weeks so it should be a good game

lilman#34 said:
its going to be a hard game for the seymour boys when they take on Euroa, Euroa have been really good the past few weeks so it should be a good game

Eurora have got some high class players in matt ivill, brad cunningham and Klay Giovanni it wil be a big test for the seymour boys this week. A few players from seymour really have to step up this week. so we will have to see how it all goes this saturday.

It was a good win by the seymour boys today, we worked hard in the wet conditions to provail with a 10 goal win, good job boys, it was well deserved

Congrats to all Winners this wknd.

Went and caught my First TAC cup game today, thought it would be interesting to see the Bushrangers play the Pioneers.

After watching that game and few things went through my head about this team.

Matt Hebbard plays down back and absoloutly killed it. Anybody who palyed on him came off second best including Daniel Connors. Probably on of the best games i have seen him play. Really impressed.

Tyson Warnett also was acting as a tight yet hard running back man, who for a backman had a fair bit of the ball and kept his man to only a few touches.

Daniel Connors showed potential, maybe a better dry weather but can certainly play the game, great skills in the wet as well, All Aus player.

Brodie Montague Showed signs but played the first half at Full Foward on Matt Hebbard who i said shut alot of players down including Montague.

Matt Kelly didnt seem to stand out much really, Played FB and On ball. To me seemed as if he was taging No. 31, or was playing just very tight on him.

Rob Touhey played a hard fought game, had to paly on some quality opponets though but i thought he was pretty good.

Jarrod Harbrow.. This bloke is an excitment machine, had plenty of the ball and every time he got it you felt as if something was going to happen. Close to BOG in my view.

Tom Sheldon showed a little bit, but as somebody mentioned is to much of an outside player to the conditions of the play and when the games on the line as at one stage it was you have to go in and get it not wait for it.

Sam Harris went off injured early in the game, had a few touches here and there but would liek to see him in a full game.

Normington, Hockey, Florence, Butler and Weardon were all absent.

To clear a few things up...

Zippa: Tom is a great player yes but i still think Hurst would be a better FULL FOWARD in my view, Tom could fit well into a pocket or some where there abouts. He is a midfeilder playing foward if you ask me, thats why he has the edge over Full Backs, Speed and Athleticism, not many Full Backs in any Under 18 compitions have that, only a few.

sjwt: I believe Hurst plays the Full Foward position correctly. As i metioned above Tom has the body of a midfeilder and plays there alot there for in a representive side not a local side he would fit in the midfeild or on the Flanks/Pockets. I am thinking about replacing him with Sheldon.
About the 7 Echuca players, they do produce talent and they all have areas that they would help the side in, Florence some say doesnt get many kicks but he is tall and creates a good Focal point to work around, his presence is great and could work into the ruck at 198cm.
Which player from Seymour or Mansfield do you think i should fit it, Sheahan? he's a young midfeilder, not saying that has any thing against him but look at who he is competiting with, very difficult. Seymour: Mckenzie? Where would i paly him in the back line, as good as i think he is, in a full rep side he would quiet comfortably fit in there is he was more athletic and quicker as he would be playing in a pocket (On small deadly fowards).

Take note guys that it doesnt matter if they are playing seniors as most of these players are/have/are playing TAC.

A Few changes to the side;

B: R. Normington (Shepp U/Bushrangers) R. Tuohey (Rochester/Pioneers) D. McIntyre (Shepp B)

HB: M. Hyden (Rochester) J.Pell (Kyabram) A. Hockey (Mooroopna/Bushrangers)

F: T. Rockcliff (Benalla) R. Hurst (Echuca) C. Nance (Echuca)

EMG: T. Sheldon (Echuca/Pioneers) A.King. (Echuca) N. Jackson (Echuca) S. Mckenzie (Seymour)

Hows it look?

If Royden Hurst kicked as many goals as he has pimples i would put him at full forward but he doesnt so get rid of him and put tommy pride at full forward!

Nathan Thomo said:
If Royden Hurst kicked as many goals as he has pimples i would put him at full forward but he doesnt so get rid of him and put tommy pride at full forward!

If Tommy Pride kicked as many goals as boys you have kissed he would be a good full forward. Sorry to stoop to your level Thomo, I was just trying to see if I could come up with something as immature as you produced.

Anyway boys what were the results on the weekend, any upsets?? Any big games on the cards?

Nathan Thomo said:

U are terrible not just as a bloke and person but also for calls u are a disgrace.....pull ya head in.... he was kicked more goals this year then u have ever go back to carryin drink bottles..

Thurry said:
U are terrible not just as a bloke and person but also for calls u are a disgrace.....pull ya head in.... he was kicked more goals this year then u have ever go back to carryin drink bottles..

if u have a good full back Royden Hurst is sh*t doesnt kick as many goal if not any when we played ECHUCA he only got 1 or 2 and our team was half p!*sed

lilman#34 said:
if u have a good full back Royden Hurst is sh*t doesnt kick as many goal if not any when we played ECHUCA he only got 1 or 2 and our team was half p!*sed

I agree. He might be quick and have all the skill in the worl but i dont think he is a very good full forward. he deserves to be in the side but maybe in a pocket or on the interchange.

If a quality full back plays on him and can match his burst speed he is no good. and after all, when u have a midfield that is so dominant, as echuca do, the delivery and the frequency of delivery would allow brian straughn to kick as many goals as hurst. u dont have to be a good player wen u play in a good side.

bazlurhmann said:
I agree. He might be quick and have all the skill in the worl but i dont think he is a very good full forward. he deserves to be in the side but maybe in a pocket or on the interchange.

If a quality full back plays on him and can match his burst speed he is no good. and after all, when u have a midfield that is so dominant, as echuca do, the delivery and the frequency of delivery would allow brian straughn to kick as many goals as hurst. u dont have to be a good player wen u play in a good side.

i dont believe he's quick, but he's got a big body and cant use it! i dont think he deserves to be in the side... the rest of the side would have been considered for senior selection along the road because of their talent, if he has i will eat my hat.. there are such better players out there.
you would play straughnny, cunningham, rendina, jackson or horsburgh out of a pocket any day over him.

Fellas, after your opinions. Is Rochy amoungst the contenders this year?? I see they have had some very good wins this year as well as having some very dissapointing losses. Now that there senior side is out of finals contention for the first time in ages, I am sure the club will do everything in its power to make sure any players than can be available for 3rds finals are available. Not sure how it all works with qualifying to play 3rds finals but if they could get players such as Brodie Monty, Robbie Tohey, Matt Hyden, Marty Mckenzie and a fit Scott O'Connor eligible to be playing 3rd Finals surely they would be amoungst the contenders. Thoughts?? I haven't seen a lot of 3rds footy this year, so I may be way off the mark.

lilman#34 said:

Wow aren't you's the coolest, playing when you were half ****ed, that certaintly would have made you the hardest bloke in town. Anyway I thought this site was about GVFL U/18s not Roydon Hurst. I ask a simple question like what are the key games coming up and all ya get is a hard dude like yourself thinking your awesome cos u get blind before footy.

Well said EB, lets keep the talk to footy boys and not downgrading blokes or talking your drinking ability up.

Thought i'd have a dip at trying to get the best GV U/18's team of '06, not everyone will be happy but this is what i think.......

B: R. Normington (Shepp U/Bushrangers) R. Tuohey (Rochester/Pioneers) D. McIntyre (Shepp B)

HB: T. Warnett (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) M. Hebbard (Shepp S/Bushrangers) J.Pell (Kyabram)

HF: S.Harris (Benalla/Bushrangers) M. Chapman (Shepp B/Bushrangers) T.Pryde (Kyabram)

F: T. Rockcliff (Benalla) C. Nance (Echuca) F.Besim(Kyabram)

FOLL: P. Aumann (Benalla) J. Harbrow (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) A. Hockey (Mooroopna/Bushrangers)

INT: L. Sofi (Shepp B) J. Florencee (Echuca/ Pioneers) P.Horsburgh(Euroa) C. Cullinan (Shepp B)

Unlucky To Miss Out:

T. Sheldon (Echuca/Pioneers)
A.King. (Echuca)
S. Mckenzie (Seymour)
R. Hurst (Echuca)
R. Butler (Tatura)
M. Hyden (Rochester)
M.Ivill(Euroa)
B.Cunningham(Euroa)

VT#23 said:
Thought i'd have a dip at trying to get the best GV U/18's team of '06, not everyone will be happy but this is what i think.......

HB: T. Warnett (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) M. Hebbard (Shepp S/Bushrangers) J.Pell (Kyabram)

HF: S.Harris (Benalla/Bushrangers) M. Chapman (Shepp B/Bushrangers) T.Pryde (Kyabram)

F: T. Rockcliff (Benalla) C. Nance (Echuca) F.Besim(Kyabram)

FOLL: P. Aumann (Benalla) J. Harbrow (Mooroopna/Bushrangers) A. Hockey (Mooroopna/Bushrangers)

INT: L. Sofi (Shepp B) J. Florencee (Echuca/ Pioneers) P.Horsburgh(Euroa) C. Cullinan (Shepp B)

Unlucky To Miss Out:

T. Sheldon (Echuca/Pioneers)
A.King. (Echuca)
S. Mckenzie (Seymour)
R. Hurst (Echuca)
R. Butler (Tatura)
M. Hyden (Rochester)
M.Ivill(Euroa)
B.Cunningham(Euroa)

Ahh mate do you realise that you've got C.Nance at Full forward? T.Sheldons stiff, but hey I dont know half the blokes in that side.......;)

Another thing VT its all well and good to do a side now, however you can't really gage how good a player is until you have seen what they can do in finals football.....just a thought.

ECHUCABOY said:
Ahh mate do you realise that you've got C.Nance at Full forward? T.Sheldons stiff, but hey I dont know half the blokes in that side.......;)

Another thing VT its all well and good to do a side now, however you can't really gage how good a player is until you have seen what they can do in finals football.....just a thought.

Yeh sorry EB Rocky is mean to be at full forward and Nance in the pocket.. Most of the players in that side have played finals and showed what they can do there maybe not the euroa, seymour, Tat or swans players, but the rest all could

g'day boys very good team but i think you have forgot one kid from benalla will martiniello he is a very good footballer and gets the job done every week. he is not only one of the best in the thirds he has been starin in the ones wit two best ons. he would have polled at least 10 votes in the thirds i reakon and would almost be favoiurtie to win the b and f if he plays more games in the thirds bbut i dout he will. i see him play most weeks and he gets the job done and he has just been named in the u/16 vic country team. vcfl fan fair comments on tom but i still think he uses his body just as well as when he is on the lead, he has only played 3 games in the thirds round against mansfield kicked 7 and coundnt run alot had a bad hip and used his body well, against shepp bears kicked 10 and played well and against moorutina got tagged all day didnt do much but got enough of it to come out on a par

ANT JESS said:
Fellas, after your opinions. Is Rochy amoungst the contenders this year?? I see they have had some very good wins this year as well as having some very dissapointing losses. Now that there senior side is out of finals contention for the first time in ages, I am sure the club will do everything in its power to make sure any players than can be available for 3rds finals are available. Not sure how it all works with qualifying to play 3rds finals but if they could get players such as Brodie Monty, Robbie Tohey, Matt Hyden, Marty Mckenzie and a fit Scott O'Connor eligible to be playing 3rd Finals surely they would be amoungst the contenders. Thoughts?? I haven't seen a lot of 3rds footy this year, so I may be way off the mark.

Rochy are definitely a good side especially if they get a few other players back. Possibly a chance come finals. Very capable of beating sides above them.