Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Re: Offical 18's gvfl thread

Babe Ruth said:
Well I'm tipping Ky in an upset BOG - Josh Pell

lets hope the KY boys get up this year...they desrve it.. i played in kys last under 18 premiership in '03' .someone keep it posted on who wins with best players. josh pell is a good player and could get BOG..come on the bombers.

RockyIII said:
Kyabram 3rds Should Have Won The Under 18 Gvfl Grand Final

Big call i think.

They were too slow getting into gear it took them a half of footy to get into it.

Why was weardon playing out of full forward?
he was dynamite everytime he was near it but ky needed a bit more drive out of the guts.

I know its only underage footy but if they wanted to win they should've got someone to hit sofi to shut him up, hes a good player but only a front runner, he didnt get near it in the 2nd half when ky took a bit of control of the game.

No point really worrying about it now though shepp are the best side in the league, its been judged by that game and theres nothing that can be done about it.

someone give us the match in details from the weekend between the ky boys in the granny. bog/ goals...did the opposition drop a heap of bushies back like always happens in those games

Ky were on the scoreboard first at the 3 minute mark with a great goal from Bernard Weardon. James Martin was matched up on Luke Sofi who kicked the bears next goal off the ground. From then on Shepp went on to kick the next four goals through Brayden Pullen, Andrew Edwards, Luke Crawford and another to Luke Sofi. Ky had several opportunities to score but could not convert. Matt Deledio went down with a shoulder injury in the first 5 minutes and was unable to recover for the rest of the game. He was a huge loss as he has been giving the Bombers drive across the half forward line. Kyabram's defence line was good led by Sam Lovison and Sam Nelson and Shepp had to work hard for their goals. Luke Crawford and Chris Cullinan were controlling the midfield and and driving the ball forward throughout the first quarter. The dashing Simon Walsh won the ball on many occasions only to see it overturned to the Shepp defence.

The bears had a five goal buffer after the first break and it was catch up footy from there on. The injury to Deledio caused upset for the team and several moves had to be made which saw Josh Pell into the centre and Tom Pryde to full forward. James Martin was moved up the ground and proved a winning move. Ky did manage to kick three goals goals to Shepp's two for the quarter - 2 to Bernard Weardon and 1 to Frank Besim. Ky had the ball in their forward line several times but goals were not easy. Cullinan, Chapman and Kelly for the Bears continued their dominance across the half back line.

The third quarter saw the bombers kick three goals to Shepp's one and there seemed a chance that they could really take control. Frank Besim kicked two while Tom Pryde kicked the other. Chapman was cutting off any forward drive the Bombers were making. The endeavour of the young bombers could never be questioned as they tackled hard and never gave up. Simon Walsh continued he's great form right throughout the game but goals were again hard to come by. Kane Howard along with Mochael Croxford and Ryan Jones also did some good work. Sam nelson and Kane huggard did some great work in the backline clearing the ball up the ground several times.

Finals Score
Shepparton 6.5 8.7 10.11 13.13 (91)
Kyabram 1.1 4.4 7.5 8.8 (56)

Goals, Shepparton : Sofi (3), Boyle (2), B.Kelly (2), P.Kelly (1), D.McIntyre (1), B.Pullen (1), L.Crawford (1), C.Cullinan (1)
Kyabram: Weardon (4), Besim (3), Pryde (1)

Best, Shepparton: M.Kelly, Chapman, Cullinan, Kennedy, McIntyre & J.Kelly
Kyabram: Walsh, Martin, Lovison, Croxford, Pell & Gentle

thats good news.. bad luck bout ur mob on sunday.. lol. umm wat u mean bout backline.. mansfield has the bes lights in the league dont u think

RockyIII said:
yeah good... you ever played backline before mate?
thats good news.. bad luck bout ur mob on sunday.. lol. umm wat u mean bout backline.. mansfield has the bes lights in the league dont u think

heard on the radio something about a sheep's heart been found in the ky rooms before the game? anyone with info on what the go was there?

fuzzyswan said:
heard on the radio something about a sheep's heart been found in the ky rooms before the game? anyone with info on what the go was there?

yeh thats right mate, what a bunch of arrogant and cocky ##### they are. found by the coach before the game in a corner in the rooms. in a shoe box, had a note with it saying something along the lines of, i think you left this in the rooms last time........ what more can you say! Heard the ky coach went to shake hands and the shepp coach made mention of it and it was nearly on.

ROO#32 said:
yeh thats right mate, what a bunch of arrogant and cocky ##### they are. found by the coach before the game in a corner in the rooms. in a shoe box, had a note with it saying something along the lines of, i think you left this in the rooms last time........ what more can you say! Heard the ky coach went to shake hands and the shepp coach made mention of it and it was nearly on.
Sounds like your getting pretty worked up Roo boy, i heard the Bears where very chirpy as usual on and off the field some may have to watch themselves stepping up to play with the men by the sound of things

Babe Ruth said:
Sounds like your getting pretty worked up Roo boy, i heard the Bears where very chirpy as usual on and off the field some may have to watch themselves stepping up to play with the men by the sound of things

Good to hear the shepparton culture is alive and well, what a bunch of ****s

Hmmm so the season is finally over......Well i know one thing Shepp wont be that good next season there gonna lose heaps of players, got some bad news Travis Leitch from Mansfield and Ross Brown from Mansfield have been in serious fire and they wont be able to play footy for two years what a tradegy......Travis number 5 is such talent and and he might not be able to play footy again, ross numba 17 good half back men.....

upthere said:
Hmmm so the season is finally over......Well i know one thing Shepp wont be that good next season there gonna lose heaps of players, got some bad news Travis Leitch from Mansfield and Ross Brown from Mansfield have been in serious fire and they wont be able to play footy for two years what a tradegy......Travis number 5 is such talent and and he might not be able to play footy again, ross numba 17 good half back men.....

going to tell us why up there? what will mansfield be like next season? there team seems fairly young.

lol yeah i wander how shepp will go without playing with a no 1 jumper and yes echucaboy no one likes shepp

have all clubs had best and fairests? winners?

did Nick Casey, Kys ruckman play on the weekend, he polled the most league votes for ky yet started on the bench in the prelim. Did he have an influence or run round tryin to whack blokes (which he did in the 4 games I saw).
Were Ky a little soft or intimidated by Shepp. Aaron Kelly also was quiet during the finals after a stella year, maybe a bit soft.

boppin said:
did Nick Casey, Kys ruckman play on the weekend, he polled the most league votes for ky yet started on the bench in the prelim. Did he have an influence or run round tryin to whack blokes (which he did in the 4 games I saw).
Were Ky a little soft or intimidated by Shepp. Aaron Kelly also was quiet during the finals after a stella year, maybe a bit soft.

Casey was leading vote winner for kyabram but was unfortunate and unlucky with form so was dropped to bench for most of finals... aaron kelly soft???? this man is the next glenn archer

wat happend to travis leitch? y wont he b playin for 2 years?

Footy08 said:
wat happend to travis leitch? y wont he b playin for 2 years?

????????????????????????????????????
Nic Casey is a gun and also a good bloke unfortunate for him having no form going into finals with him firing ky would of been alot stronger.

ky were always goin to b flogged with the team bears had. they were easily the best team in the league as they showed in the granny. cant wait 4 next year tho!

yerr lookin good.. only losing a few top age players and alot of new guys to train in preseason that want to play

Can som1 from each team make a list of how many and which players wont b playing 3rds in 2007.
Cheers