Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Re: Offical 18's gvfl thread

How many are left from last years team? And are these tall kids any good though?
Watching them train last night there seemed to be a fair number of last years players still in the squad. Good players like Pullen, Joe and Paul Kelly, Edwards, Kennedy, Harriott, Williamson, Epps, Boyle.
They had some good sized new kids too, a massive unit Luke Lowden was good to watch. Stands about 6'7.

Yes Brayden is training with 18's at the moment and Luke is training with the under 16's

Looks like you might be without those guys for most of the year backtoback. How is the poaching season going anyway? Why don't you ring Walker and ask him what he's up to. I'm sure you have rang every other young bloke in the district.:D

Hey supastarr how they hanging?

Hey what is the go with walker, are shepp talking to him. Is he saying that he is going to shepp. What type of player is he?

Yeah all good here mate. Surely you can do better than this! Are Shepp talking to him? What type of player is he? Please...............................:thumbsu:

Pullen should play bushies do ya reckon?

I've only seen Brayden play a few games. He goes hard, good skills and is strong, but has he got speed? With his lack of height he'll need it to make the next step. Thought he played a good first quarter in last years GF but good soundly beaten after that.

Yeah all good here mate. Surely you can do better than this! Are Shepp talking to him? What type of player is he? Please...............................:thumbsu:
To my knowledge shepp have not spoken to him. Sounds like they should though. How is pre season going for you. rumour has it you will be back on the park in 07

I've only seen Brayden play a few games. He goes hard, good skills and is strong, but has he got speed? With his lack of height he'll need it to make the next step. Thought he played a good first quarter in last years GF but good soundly beaten after that.
yes fair comment about pullens height. had aknee reco in 05 and only playe about 10 games last yr. hard to say how much he will develop. Pace could be an issue at the next level of footy, but is not too much of an issue at GVFL u18s level.

I suggest get onto him asap. Bit early for pre-season for me but wouldnt mind having a kick. Mite play on you?

yes fair comment about pullens height. had aknee reco in 05 and only playe about 10 games last yr. hard to say how much he will develop. Pace could be an issue at the next level of footy, but is not too much of an issue at GVFL u18s level.

I know the Shepp coach has high expectations for him to make the next level.

can some1 from all teams post who they think will be thier better players in 07?

F**k i hate your league you dont develope your own players you poach from other clubs. Shepp bears have a squad of 29 players giving bull******** excuses to players that this is a better grade of football. Well all the other teams in the comp. Shepp Bears go to bushie training days and give cash incentives to player who make bushies to come play for their club. They willl dominate the competion so you should go to the minor leagues and play for a club that isnotdominated by cash but for the love of the club. I know i am telling you the truth Luke Lowden got paid 150 cash bu the bears because he made the u16 bushies. Learn to develope your own young footballers and dont suck in gullable parents with promises of better development hey Ian

What f*ck heads.. shepp bears really need to grow a ********, i thought fair enough they were just good because people wanted to play there that were all gun players and friends etc but to go to the level of paying kids... thats how you create your f*ckhead image by making a player that thinks he's made it and he walks around thinking his the ********, when hes so far away...

If that is true, I can see why Cain1 is pissed off. I don't personally have a problem with recriuiting players from outside leagues as most of these want to have another year at underage level before stepping up to seniors. I strongly think that the whole atmosphere at a GV club is more intense and at thirds level probably run more professionally then in the minor leagues. I reckon that all the clubs in the KDL and PDFL would get pumped by at least 2 thirds of the GV clubs. That said, clubs shopuld recruit players on what the club can offer, like coaching, facilities, the program on offer and the opportunity to improve. If they are offering cash incentives then I think it stinks and is totally unprofessional. Sometimes clubs will go to any measures to ensure a flg.

Hey Cain1 you seem to have a great knowledge of the Shepp bears, how do you know so much?
I know for a fact that shepp bears dont pay any of their under 18s. Dunno where you get you info but you are totally off the track.

I've heard a rumour that the AFL clubs pay their players and they have been poaching players for years from smaller leagues. Bastards! Think they are so good.

I also know for a fact that Shepp Bears don't pay players. Think you got the wrong mail there.

Hey i get my information from the horse he has know reason to lie, unlike others
Hey Cain1 you seem to have a great knowledge of the Shepp bears, how do you know so much?
I know for a fact that shepp bears dont pay any of their under 18s. Dunno where you get you info but you are totally off the track.

Hey i get my information from the horse he has know reason to lie, unlike others
Really fired up some of those Bears with this. Sounds like a few say it is happening and a few say it isn't. Maybe we need an independent source ( say the Shepp News, ha, ha, ha) to speak directly to young Lowden and get his response. I personally still find it hard to believe that any club would pay 15, 16, 17 year olds to play. It really would be opening up a can of worms for other underage players at that club. But, if anyone can produce hard evidence then I am happy to believe it. If it is happening then the league needs to step in an investigate the situation. Underage football is not about $$$$$$.

has there been any news on jackson from echuca goin to adelaide or was that just bull********

Really fired up some of those Bears with this. Sounds like a few say it is happening and a few say it isn't. Maybe we need an independent source ( say the Shepp News, ha, ha, ha) to speak directly to young Lowden and get his response. I personally still find it hard to believe that any club would pay 15, 16, 17 year olds to play. It really would be opening up a can of worms for other underage players at that club. But, if anyone can produce hard evidence then I am happy to believe it. If it is happening then the league needs to step in an investigate the situation. Underage football is not about $$$$$$.
Should take this to the Shepp news, they could look into it. They won't find anything.
Cain1 should keep pretty quiet on this, he is well known to have offered money to 17 year olds to get them to play at dookie.