• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

alfie said:
can anyone tell me how greg "put put" pearson and scott "The sunken rat" morath are travelling this yr @ shep united. Rumour has it scott may have had a bit of a nip and tuck whilst having his 3rd nose reconstruction. Any truth in that rumour.

Is Scott Morath originally from Swan Hill? If so how long has he played there at Shepp? What posi does he play and how does he rate?

anyone heard anymore about scanlon from the lions? how serious the knee is!

head67 said:
Can some one tell us if there is any changes to league squad.eg. injuries or form players added.

Spoke to Stevie D today and he seems to be happy with the way its going, you can never get much out of him at the best of times. But he did say one of the rochy boys pulled out because hes going over seas, im not sure who he didnt say.

No Heart said:
Spoke to Stevie D today and he seems to be happy with the way its going, you can never get much out of him at the best of times. But he did say one of the rochy boys pulled out because hes going over seas, im not sure who he didnt say.

that rochy boy that has pulled out is chrissy mccarty who is leaving for overseas in about 4 or 5 weeks.:thumbsu:

what's the john dory with the Sutherland incident?

who did he actually belt?
was it on video?
is it under investigation by the VCFL?

anything else.....................

last years incident involving that seymour player (I can't think of his first name but i think it's the same as his last name) mite not help the big mans case either, but I can tell you that Shepp Swans will have an adequate replacement to fill the big mans boots should he get rubbed out. Cam Heily is aparently returning to the Swans nest and the big fella comes with huge wraps..... he's a GV Ruckman

Pupster said:
apparently its similar to the injury robbie douglas did.

not only is Brendan liddell having a great season thus far for the lions, but it seems that the second eldest son of sparra is now the unofficial SFC club physio dishing out more diagnosis' than Dr Hibberd of Springfield- is there anything that man can't do?

what about Damo 'nuts' Liddell - is he a chance to play 1's this year? I should hope so, otherwise all the Old boys at Shepp Grammar will be getting stuck into him again at their next reunion - weak as water Damo ;)

HJ32 said:
not only is Brendan liddell having a great season thus far for the lions, but it seems that the second eldest son of sparra is now the unofficial SFC club physio dishing out more diagnosis' than Dr Hibberd of Springfield- is there anything that man can't do?

what about Damo 'nuts' Liddell - is he a chance to play 1's this year? I should hope so, otherwise all the Old boys at Shepp Grammar will be getting stuck into him again at their next reunion - weak as water Damo ;)

Brendan Liddell is a superstar. Damian had a ripper on saturday, kicked many goals and had plenty of possessions, i thought he was nearly best on.

HJ32 yeah sutherland is under investigation by the VCFL AGAIN! was alst year as well, needs to pick on somebody his own size if u ask me

HJ32 said:

Expect the Physio to be very busy around Teal Cup time...

Doona I reckon Shepp East might be far more advanced than others in that league. Do they have any aspirations about paying in a higher league? Sutherland may be looking at 6-8 weeks on the sidelines if he is found guilty. This would surely put his future at risk

HJ32 said:
last years incident involving that seymour player (I can't think of his first name but i think it's the same as his last name) mite not help the big mans case either, but I can tell you that Shepp Swans will have an adequate replacement to fill the big mans boots should he get rubbed out. Cam Heily is aparently returning to the Swans nest and the big fella comes with huge wraps..... he's a GV Ruckman

There'll be a few sleepless nights for all GV ruckman if this is the case! I can't believe more people haven't responded to this piece of ground-breaking information...Surely the biggest signing of the year! Would towel up Porter, Kirbs, etc no worries..

Seriously HJ, most at Colbo would be glad to get rid of the serial pest wouldn't they?? Ahh the skunk head...

HJ32 said:
what's the john dory with the Sutherland incident?

who did he actually belt?
was it on video?
is it under investigation by the VCFL?

anything else.....................

Sutherland was involved in a late hit on Jeremy O'Brien in the Swans Vs Bears game in round 2. The short version of the story is that O'Brien was laying on the ground after diving into a scrimage to get the ball, and Sutherland dropped his knee into Jezza's back breaking a rib and causing a punctured lung.

I've heard the Bears were video taping the game, but not good footage as the hit was quite late and the camera was following the ball.

The matter is under investigation after an official complaint was lodged. Not sure if the complaint was lodged by the club or by Jezza himself, but given Jezza works in the League Head quarters, I reckon he is obliged to follow this process as that is one of the reasons we have official GVFL offices and staff.

My mail is that a lot of the evidence will come from what nearby players and supporters recall of the event, rather than what the video was able to pick up, however Sutherlands prior record is likely to go against him as we all know he is capable of doing this sort of thing.

The Cat said:
Sutherland was involved in a late hit on Jeremy O'Brien in the Swans Vs Bears game in round 2. The short version of the story is that O'Brien was laying on the ground after diving into a scrimage to get the ball, and Sutherland dropped his knee into Jezza's back breaking a rib and causing a punctured lung.

I've heard the Bears were video taping the game, but not good footage as the hit was quite late and the camera was following the ball.

The matter is under investigation after an official complaint was lodged. Not sure if the complaint was lodged by the club or by Jezza himself, but given Jezza works in the League Head quarters, I reckon he is obliged to follow this process as that is one of the reasons we have official GVFL offices and staff.

My mail is that a lot of the evidence will come from what nearby players and supporters recall of the event, rather than what the video was able to pick up, however Sutherlands prior record is likely to go against him as we all know he is capable of doing this sort of thing.

How are Kyabram coping with the retirement of Brayden "Stonwell" Stone?

Is it true he is spending more and more time down at Punt Road keeping a close eye on his beloved Pettifer & Deledio?

Probably better off watching, he was far too injury prone.

Had dodgy collarbones I think

I have been looking around the leagues on past GVFL players.

Archard seems to be carving up the SANFL. I watched a game on Austar and him and Scott McGlone had countless possesions. The SANFL is stronger than the GVFL so that just shows how good they both are!

Wilson from Echuca has kicked a few goals for his new club North Beach while O'Callaghan is playing in the same league for Scarborough, not to sure how he has been going though.

Guthrie seems to be going along ok, while Dale Reyne has made a good first impression with his new club Echuca United, Echuca bombers would be dirty that they lost him!

Any other news from past GVFL players?

wobble said:
How are Kyabram coping with the retirement of Brayden "Stonwell" Stone?

Is it true he is spending more and more time down at Punt Road keeping a close eye on his beloved Pettifer & Deledio?

Probably better off watching, he was far too injury prone.

Had dodgy collarbones I think

Actually thought that Stoney was playing at Lancaster this year?? Obviously he isn't..I see he got his head in the Ky news alongside Matt 'scratta' Carver the other week - looking very important..

Doozy_Man said:

Jezza Campbell and Timmy Rasmussen, now coach and assistant coach at Blackburn in the EFL got smashed by last year's premiers and perennial flag favourites, Vermont, last week..I see Zane Coventry (ex-Kyabram boy) lined up for uni Blues in the A grade ammos on the weekend, Jake Trevaskis (ex-Tonny) has been carving them up for Sunshine in the WRFL, Adum Brunt (ex-Morrison medallist at Tonny now coaching Picola), kicked 10 or 11 for them a week or 2 ago..Ricky Windridge (ex-Rochy) is going alright at Moama, and Duayne Hueston (ex-United), Sime McCarty (ex-Rochy), along with Reyne (who snagged 9 last week) are killing them for Echuca United..

And how are the Shepp 2's boys going? I think they followed Hampshire to Congupna. Good to see tonny playing competitive footy, but I noticed they have lost quite a few from last year - where have they gone? Baker, Fonua bros and more - I think

Chance said:
And how are the Shepp 2's boys going? I think they followed Hampshire to Congupna. Good to see tonny playing competitive footy, but I noticed they have lost quite a few from last year - where have they gone? Baker, Fonua bros and more - I think

Connally has gone to Mooroopna, Baker and the Fonua's have all gone to West Preston in the DVFL..

Doozy_Man said:

Some news from a couple of ex lions.

Steve Shaw:- Only played in 3 practice matches and two 'real' games, but has humped 4 different chicks since joining cheltenham.

Matt Collins:- Has hung up the boots so is yet to have a kick this year. this means hes only 4 disposals short of what he had as at the same time last year.

:D

ringo1 said:
Doona I reckon Shepp East might be far more advanced than others in that league. Do they have any aspirations about paying in a higher league? Sutherland may be looking at 6-8 weeks on the sidelines if he is found guilty. This would surely put his future at risk

shepp east are just lucky to have a awesome ruckman in Pete Fantini. standing at 201 cm tall, he has a great overhead mark and great tap work, needs to work on strength but it will come. doing well in fitness and does well for the side, they play in a s**t league but ah well thought id mention that he's pretty good and should play at seymour coz it would be way better for him... better league neway.. GO LIONS...

waddo #6 said:
shepp east are just lucky to have a awesome ruckman in Pete Fantini. standing at 201 cm tall, he has a great overhead mark and great tap work, needs to work on strength but it will come. doing well in fitness and does well for the side, they play in a s**t league but ah well thought id mention that he's pretty good and should play at seymour coz it would be way better for him... better league neway.. GO LIONS...

I totaly agree waddo, he is an awesome ruckman and hard to match up, standing 201cm tall and having the hand skills he does with marking, tapping out of the ruck etc. It would be great for him to come play in a league with as good footy as the GV,

Doozy_Man said:
I have been looking around the leagues on past GVFL players.

Archard seems to be carving up the SANFL. I watched a game on Austar and him and Scott McGlone had countless possesions. The SANFL is stronger than the GVFL so that just shows how good they both are!

Wilson from Echuca has kicked a few goals for his new club North Beach while O'Callaghan is playing in the same league for Scarborough, not to sure how he has been going though.

Guthrie seems to be going along ok, while Dale Reyne has made a good first impression with his new club Echuca United, Echuca bombers would be dirty that they lost him!

all but one doozy man are echuca players. you really haven't looked into this.:mad: