• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Full Foward said:
brad isone of the dirtest players i have ever seen, i have seen him play at least 10 games and he hits people after they get rid of it, that is in juniors anyway i dont no what he is like in the seniors but what he does in thirdas is not tough it is dirty

i must have a different definition of dirty but you see blokes king hit blokes or trip them etc thats dirty, he just tries to make his physical presence noticed and it works

Can see where your coming from R-T but..

Physical Presence - Contact which is very solid while player is in possession, contact around a pack that is in contest to receiving the ball or contact in a way which may free up a team mate to create play e.g. sheparding

Dirty - King Hit etc. or un neccasary contact with an opponent after they have got rid of the ball where the only point to be made is so THEY feel tough not there opponent...

personally i think people who do that are complete d*ickheads and are jus ****ed off they cant get to the bloke with the ball

head67 said:
I think you have the wrong bloke Jim I only have a little scone.:rolleyes: ......... Compared to that huge yap of yours.:p

Nah I have the right bloke, maybe you're becoming senile in your old age? Or maybe its a bit of brain damage from when you were beaten with the ugly stick on that beach ball you call a head?? :)

numba4 said:
so whos leading the way for bullen?

Bullen is playing his last game for Port Magpies at the weekend before moving back to Melbourne. Congupna are out of the race due to the extra travel coming from from Melbourne so it will definately be a GVFL club. The sides that are still in the race: Shepp United, Swans, Shepp and Mooroopna. Don't think he would go to Tat due to their position on the ladder. I think it will come down to which club can offer the most money. You wouldn't think Mooroopna would be able to squeeze another ex-AFL player into their budget. Swans claim that the most they will pay any player this year is $300 a game so this would count them out. So this would leave Shepp and United. Will be a very handy pick up where ever he ends up!

half time lollies said:
Bullen is playing his last game for Port Magpies at the weekend before moving back to Melbourne. Congupna are out of the race due to the extra travel coming from from Melbourne so it will definately be a GVFL club. The sides that are still in the race: Shepp United, Swans, Shepp and Mooroopna. Don't think he would go to Tat due to their position on the ladder. I think it will come down to which club can offer the most money. You wouldn't think Mooroopna would be able to squeeze another ex-AFL player into their budget. Swans claim that the most they will pay any player this year is $300 a game so this would count them out. So this would leave Shepp and United. Will be a very handy pick up where ever he ends up!

$300 a game is a bit hard to believe with all the recruits they have picked up??

half time lollies said:

Arnt the cats players supposebly taking pay cuts?

a.k.a. said:
$300 a game is a bit hard to believe with all the recruits they have picked up??

This is what the club CLAIMS. The catch with most of their recruits is employment. If they end up with Bullen then we know the $300 a game is a load of horse s*#t.

numba4 said:
Arnt the cats players supposebly taking pay cuts?

Not sure Numba 4. You would think it would be hard getting Balraj to take a pay cut but the Campbell's, Hall, Norman and others may have done so in order to try and lure Bullen to the cattery.

half time lollies said:

Agree with you hear lolly bag on a few accounts. It will come down to the club who will offer the most coin and i think he may have priced himself out of the market for a few clubs, as you have said, the cats and the swans. I would have thought united were the front runners however it will come down to a bidding war.

At this stage, i believe he has made no committment to playing with the side the following year, so really it is going to be a 10 or so week contract player and then he is gone.

Interesting to see where he lands, but agree, he will be a more than handy acquision for any club.

a.k.a. said:

$300 is the most Swans play but they have given good jobs that can lead to something. I think a couple have football development jobs plus they have sponsorship deals with Crazy Johns and a car dealership.

A lot of their recruits get free rent as well. Their players aren't going too bad.

The Swans reckon they have the inside running with Bullen because they can get him an apprenticeship in Melbourne. Whether this is true or not, we'll wait and see.

Have heard that Bullen adn Ben Hayes are both coming back.. as a package.

Shepp, North Heidleberg, Heidelberg, Marby Park and Noble Park have all thrown there hats into the ring for these two. That is my mail.

Can anyone confirm this or is Bullen a done deal to play GVFL.

kanga fan man said:
i heard Bullen is at Heidelberg with best mate Murphy
Nah kanga, he sint at Heidelberg but dont be suprised if he does end up there but my sources say it will be somewhere in the country. Will be very interesting.

No matter where he plays he will be a very handy asset for the club.

Dwight said:

Shepp, North Heidleberg, Heidelberg, Marby Park and Noble Park have all thrown there hats into the ring for these two. That is my mail.

Swans have given him the biggest offer. Will play at a Shepparton club and nowhere else. His father is ill.

JimCarter said:
Nah I have the right bloke, maybe you're becoming senile in your old age? Or maybe its a bit of brain damage from when you were beaten with the ugly stick on that beach ball you call a head?? :)
Now i'm getting a bit sus here Jim cos the Jim Carter i know has not much to do with footy, little lone be involved on a footy forum. Fess up Jim, stop hiding! Old? Ugly? Beach ball? I'm wounded Jim. :rolleyes:

half time lollies said:
Not sure Numba 4. You would think it would be hard getting Balraj to take a pay cut but the Campbell's, Hall, Norman and others may have done so in order to try and lure Bullen to the cattery.
yeah haha. I have no idea about what goes on at the cattery so this is pure speculation but if what you hear is true about the bloke that can singh there ain't any chance in hell of he sacrificing any piece of his cake in order to accommodate a new player, no matter who the player is. would maybe even think one of brad, blake and derek may have an issue or two with taking a pay cut.

anyway, if they can land bullen it'd be an awesome effort by them and they'd have to be flag fav's wouldn't they?? no question that in years gone by they have had a culture of unsuccess. I don't think they have seen september action since I have had any interest in the gv. you would think though that with the influx of so many high profile players it would erase any culture they had. not only should they play finals but derek could be a really big chance of holding the much sought after silverware aloft come 5:30pm on the first sunday in october.

Dwight said:

Would doubt that any clubs would be able to offer top $$$ at this stage of the season. However if any one was to find money where it dont exist, Noble Park could surely empty a few Pokies and get these blokes on board.

head67 said:
Now i'm getting a bit sus here Jim cos the Jim Carter i know has not much to do with footy, little lone be involved on a footy forum. Fess up Jim, stop hiding! Old? Ugly? Beach ball? I'm wounded Jim. :rolleyes:

You've always been a bit suss head67...

half time lollies said:

I don't think you can count congupna out just yet! Its not that far out of shepparton and roots run strong... he will probably play at a GVFL club but congupna can not be out of the race

centreman said:
Swans have given him the biggest offer. Will play at a Shepparton club and nowhere else. His father is ill.

Saw the best game of GV football today between Seymour and Shepp Swans.
It had everything, tough, hard, football.Shepp swans really impressed me, its the second time i have seen them this year and they do have some qaulity players in Veal , White , Ryan, Maher and Fitzpatrick. I think the lead changed 8 times before half time and 15 times after half time. Seymour also very impressive,and i noticed no Okeefe, Bailey,Thomson, and Douglas and Anderson played in the ressies and killed it. How a side can play that good of footy and win without these guns surprizes me. Paddy Ratray didnt play either not sure whats going on there? And i was told today that swans expect to sign Bullen this week.

good to see ya riding round town on that tricycle of yours jim!
with that big yap clapper of yours just waving in the wind......
oh and jim put a helmet on ya goose

Duff Man said:
Saw the best game of GV football today between Seymour and Shepp Swans.
It had everything, tough, hard, football.Shepp swans really impressed me, its the second time i have seen them this year and they do have some qaulity players in Veal , White , Ryan, Maher and Fitzpatrick. I think the lead changed 8 times before half time and 15 times after half time. Seymour also very impressive,and i noticed no Okeefe, Bailey,Thomson, and Douglas and Anderson played in the ressies and killed it. How a side can play that good of footy and win without these guns surprizes me. Paddy Ratray didnt play either not sure whats going on there? And i was told today that swans expect to sign Bullen this week.

You missed one to Duff Man , B Liddell didnt play either and P Ratray has had an operation and is expected to play the last half a dozen games. And i also got told yesterday swans are hoping to get Bullen signed this week .

No Heart said:
You missed one to Duff Man , B Liddell didnt play either and P Ratray has had an operation and is expected to play the last half a dozen games. And i also got told yesterday swans are hoping to get Bullen signed this week .

Did Sutherland play, dont think he was named in Fridays paper? How did Robbie Inness go and can we expect Chippa Douglas to return for the Echuca road trip?

Doona2 said:
Did Sutherland play, dont think he was named in Fridays paper? How did Robbie Inness go and can we expect Chippa Douglas to return for the Echuca road trip?

Sutherland did play but not real well.. he literally cant run.. he just sits in the centre of the ground and slowly jogs to the ball.. inness played okay and douglas was super in the seconds as was anderson.

Doona2 said:

Yeah, Sutherland played, but didn't spend a great deal of time in the ruck. Actually, Shotty was arguably the Lions' best player until he went off injured either late in the third quarter or early in the last.
Bobbie Inness again played a very important role. Shut that McCarty fella right out of the game. His goalscoring has been a reason why the Swannies have been taking all before them this year and I don't think he even registered a major on Saturday. Another victim to Inness.
And I suspect Douglas might have another run around in the Scoobies. He was taken off early on Saturday (at 3/4 time I think) which makes me think they'll give him a full game this week (fingers crossed) before slotting back into the Ones.